Disc Golf Store
Carmel, IN 
The Hill @ Northview Church Share
Uploaded By: holyschmidtski Hole #3 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 145ft.   3 / 224ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Blue Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Great addition to Indy area

1    7/2/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: jcfluhr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Fun new course in Carmel. Bring your walking shoes, you'll need them. Lots of elevation and big arms will come in handy on this one.
Cons: Not a ton of variety.
Other Thoughts: Worth the drive over to Carmel to play. It's at a church so check their schedule of events. Friendly atmosphere. Great area of town.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  One of the most diverse in Central Indiana

1    7/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: kevinp
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great new course that should only get better with time! Plays up and down some of the most varied rolling hills in the area. Several of the first 4-5 holes are fairly short holes, favoring shot placement over power, with baskets placed among strategically placed trees. The back 9 is more open, but still plays short enough for a beginner or an average arm to be successful. The grass tees are in great shape, time will tell how they'll hold up to constant traffic. All in all, this has quickly become one of my favorite courses within an hour drive for me!
Cons: Signage isn't always clear, mainly on the wooded holes where the next tee is not visible. Initially threw at basket #9 from the first tee, instead of basket #1. Once we got started, we didn't have too much trouble. The walk from #9 to the #10 tee can easily cross the fairway for #1, so be careful.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A beautiful thing

5+    6/27/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: ZipperBlueZ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2011
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: expertly designed, professionally maintained, extremely challenging without the punishment of losing a disc due to a slightly misplaced shot, beautiful grounds (this can't be stressed enough). Very long course with pro and beginner tees, dual pin placement adds variety to a course that is already dripping with it. Wide, clearly defined grass tee boxes and greens with manicured borders.
Cons: 3 of the holes on the front 9 are very buggy on hot days. The signage is unclear.
Other Thoughts: This course will quickly become known as the premiere disc golf course in central Indiana. No other course I have played can compare to it's variety, it's elevation changes, it's manicured tees and greens, and overall ambition. Only 2 of the 18 holes on this course can be described as anything other than fantastic (2 holes on the front 9 are flat and straight-forward). Having an arsenal of shots and discs at your disposal are a must to birdie most holes and the few that require power over finesse do require quite a big arm. I suppose a few discs could be lost due to errant throws on holes 3-5, but you don't have to brace yourself for the inevitable loss of a beloved disc when you play here (anyone who plays James Dillon park regularly knows what I mean). Go play this course ASAP. You will not be disappointed.

Oh, and I have heard no talk whatsoever of the proposed "Super Pro" tees. Many of the holes are already at the extremities of the usable property.


*Full Disclosure: I am a volunteer who has been mowing this course for the last 2+ months. I have tried to be objective....but not very hard. Hi Marcia!*

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Gradually Longer & Tougher

2-4    6/13/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First, and foremost, the Topography! For mostly flat central Indiana it is unique to have such a beautiful piece of land for DG. Constant rolling mounds and hills with grassy fairways and mature growth throughout. Professionally maintained grounds only adds to the enjoyment of the course. HUGE (15'x30') grassy tee areas and greens are another unique feature. Two tees & Two pin placements for the DISCatchers per hole-moved approx. every two weeks. Very nice color tee signs-located on the red tees,with all needed info.,including "next tee". A few roll-a-way greens-depending on pin locations. 3 "tech" holes-#3,#4 and #5-from the blue tee, is the only tunnel shot. #6,#8,#15 are the open "Let it rip" holes with wind being the only obstacle. #9 is the only water hole with a 75'x15' nasty little marsh. This may be extended into #8 fairway in the future. Holes 10-18 has the most drastic elevation changes. All but one hole has mature trees with no underbrush. Novice & Intermediate players will have fun going for aces. But only advanced and true pros will be hitting them,due to perfectly placed pin locations.
Cons: The cons are few and minor ones. First, no concrete tees-they may be added in the near future? (another boy scout project?) No Trash cans-bring it in, take it out! Benches-just two or three would be great, Especially on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: Enter off Hazel Dell,south of 131st St. Between the softball fields,to "The Barn". The front 9 holes are more rolling mounts than hills.The front 9 RED tees play just under 200',when in the "A" placement. Perfect for kids,families and new players. The front 9 BLUE tees play an avg. 285', when in the "A" placement. Which makes for a great avg. for the kids & new players to take that first step in testing their game. It's an ego boost for most other players. The front 9 RED tees play an avg. 235', when in the "B" placement. This configuration, on some holes, makes for tougher putts. The front 9 BLUE tees play an avg. 317', when in the "B" placement. The back 9 holes are more rolling hills than mounts. RED tees play an avg. 250', when in the "A" placement. The back 9 RED tees play an avg. 273', when in the "B" placement. The back 9 BLUE tees avg. 345',when in the "A" placement. The back 9 BLUE tees avg. 383', when in the "B" placement. This configuration is not only the longest, but also has the most drastic elevation changes. The first few times you play use a spotter! on holes #2-from the blue tee. #4 if the DISCatcher is in the "B" placement. #5 from the blue tee. Better safe than sorry! The Cross country course runs close to the holes. More trees are planned and better directional signs are too. Until then turn right after #2, walk over the cross country course to get to #3. From #3 DISCatcher go left. From #4 DISCatcher go left, use the cross country trail to #5, look for the tunnel shot,it will be on the right. For #5 red tee go down the tunnel. A "Speed round" took me 30 mintues to play the front 9 and 40 to play the back 9. 5 minutes from Dr. James A. Dillon DGC. Since the huge grassy tee areas have movable red & blue markers, take in consideration the hole distance was measured from the front of the tee. So, add the needed distance to where the red & blue markers actually are. Last, but not least, a BIG thanks to Connor. I hope this project gives you your Scout badge!

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 This course rocks!

1    6/13/2011   6/14/2011
Review By: bluto61
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: For starters, there are two tees on every hole, as well as two pin locations for each hole. It is clear, upon playing this course in relation to the other courses in the area that Northview was designed by an experienced DGer (shoutout to Dennis Byrne). Lots of mature trees make for some great lines, and the one water hazard on the course defines hole 9 without being a grave danger for wayward discs.

For my first round, I found the course to be very challenging. Many of the defined lines are unforgiving, and a lack of accuracy of the tee will generally wind up in bogies. This may well be the hilliest part of Indiana, and lots of rolling hills make for great elevation changing shots.

The difference between the Red & Blue tees is ENORMOUS! An experienced player could/should use the red tees as an opportunity to work on shaping lines with his/her putter/mids. It's almost like having two courses in one.

There is also a very convenient Pro-shop located at the Capstone Cafe. Make sure you load up on fluids before you start, as the course is noticeably longer than any other nearby courses.
Cons: 2 or 3 holes are still very wide open, but if they can hurry up and fill those holes with trees or other obstacles, this course would be almost perfect. The only other suggestion I can make is to add additional tee signs at the Blue tees, as the distance between Red & Blue is usually enough to be obnoxious, and the arrow on each tee sign pointing to the next hole is all but useless if you never stop to look at the tee signs.
Other Thoughts: For my first round at Northview, I shot a +3, in comparison to the -4 or so that I usually shoot at James Dillon park. I would strongly advise you to warm up before you start your round, as the constant elevation changes will start to tire you out by the end of the round if you're not in good shape.

I don't know if there are plans to pour concrete tee pads. There are currently just two stakes in the ground representing the end of each tee pad, which is a VERY welcome change to the restrictive concrete pads at every other course in the area.

I hear that there is still talk of adding a 3rd tee pad location to each hole - a "Super-pro" tee, if you will. While I don't know that I'd ever play it, that would certainly put this course on the Midwest regional map.

edit: I forgot to mention that, obviously, the course is located on the grounds of a HUGE Church. The posted rules are a bit excessive. I'm not going to tell anyone how to enjoy their game of DG, but at the very least, respect your fellow man.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just about the best in IN

1    6/13/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: jrmorin9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Challenging coarse! Trees! Shade! Paths! Hills! Enough said right? This could eaily be the best coarse in IN with a few more tweaks. Accessible for the beginniner or advanced.
Cons: Could use some better signage and trash bins.the first couple of holes were hard to find.. Also would be good if there were small concrete tees and small paths to walk throu the grass border track. It would be a shame to see that ruined.
Other Thoughts: Well balance, crazy trick shots available, doesn't feel like it was over extending the welcome- fun time and looks like I'll be putting James Dillion in my back pocket for a little cuz I found a new favorite! Thank you!

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 top five

1    6/12/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: madman1101
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice layout, utilizing the hills and trees on the property. flowed very well and felt very natural. although the holes are short, most are very difficult
Cons: did not go from one hole to another easily at times. be sure to look at signs to figure out where to go. one of the best courses, but not much places for you to put trash. Holes 4, 5, 6 are back in a wooded area of the property. be sure to watch out for poison ivy. speaking with the groundskeeper she told me she sprayed SIX GALLONS of ivy killer and she still has to get more. so be careful
Other Thoughts: overall, my favorite course so far. liked the layout and glad to have a new place to play. be sure to bring your "A" Game, as well as your legs. plenty of hills. HAVE FUN! also talking with the groundskeeper, there is not enough money in the budget for concrete pads. but they will put them in once the funds are raised.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to "The Hill" at Northview Church

5+    5/11/2011   5/13/2011
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 31.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/23/2011
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course has a rolling terrain that inlcudes the highest point in Hamilton County. You will get to throw shots that are open, tight, wooded, downhill, lightly wooded, and uphill. It is manicured by a seasoned golf grounds professional; Marcia Schwartz. She is dedicated to making this course something special!

The course has many features that will imediately remind the player of a "ball" golf course. The tees are large, grassy patches, cut to 3.5" with movable, colored tee markers. There are also fairway-greens areas that are also cut at 3.5". All the rest of the "rough" is cut at 5". Almost every hole has some degree of elavation change on it. Vegitation runs from wide open, tight wooded fairways, and others with a little of both.

The 4 combinations for Red & Blue tees with an "A" and "B" pin location on each hole produce layouts that allows brand newbies, intermediate, and advanced level players to enjoy the course.

Pro-shop on site at Capstone Bookstore/Cafe (like a really nice Starbucks).
Cons: It could use a few more trees on some of the holes (there is a plan to add several in the future). The course will be closed during a few other large events at the church, like various large cross-country meets that are held on the grounds highly rated running course.
Other Thoughts: Of course no alcohol. And trash collection is limited, so please pack it in-pack it out.

Special thanks to Connor Powell who did fundraising and provided labor for this course as his Eagle Scout project. Congrats to him and his mom Kim, with thanks to all of the donors who made this course possible!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.