Talco, TX 
Selah Ranch - Lakeside Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 195ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 What a great disc golf resort

1    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Short holes, Long holes, open holes, technical holes. Amazing tee pads, amazing tee signs, amazing course design
Cons: It is really hard to find cons of this place. Other than you would have a hard time playing this place with out a golf cart, I can't say anything bad

2 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/2/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: frizbro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.7 Years
2 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: The Lakeside course is my favorite (although I shoot better on the Creekside course). You must have every shot imaginable to master this course. The best golf experience you can have. Be prepare to stay and play these course more than once.
Cons: A cart is needed. Watch the water on holes 1, 2, 4, 7, & 18.
Other Thoughts: Play the short tees first, then go for the longs.

2 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/6/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: DoctorDisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: Like the Creekside course, this is a tremendous all-around disc golf experience. Long and challenging, even in most cases from the Am pads, the course makes great use of a huge and beautiful piece of private property with lakes, creeks, woods, and rolling hills. It's well-groomed, the pads are long, and the holes are a variety of left, right, open, tight, flat, and hilly. Championship quality in every way. The property owners are very friendly. While it's not cheap to stay and play, my wife and I had an ideal disc golf vacation here, and we'll be back.

2 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Masterpiece!

1    8/12/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: Kamala
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.8 Years
7 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: This is hands-down the finest course I've ever played. In my mind, Hole 7 alone does the trick as it's approach mildly resembles ball-golf's famed 17th hole at TPC Sawgrass. THANK YOU JOHN FOR THIS MASTERFUL LAYOUT! Lakeside is completely different than Creekside and the names certainly hold true. Lots of wooded tunnels with undulating fairways that can really challenge your depth perception. I've never played a course that punishes you for choosing distance over accuracy, from time to time, Lakeside will make you re-think your decision to over-extend your shot. Don't let the "Clubhouse" distract you when your hugging the lake on hole 18 as the facilities here are Grade-A! Definitely stay overnight and play some night golf, NIGHT GOLF-W GOLF CARTS! Lakeside is easier to navigate at night than Creekside; oh and your luck may grant you an extremely comfortable mattress to rest up on and get an early morning round in!
Cons: I live in Austin which is 5 hours away! Bring an extra mud towel if you find yourself on the lake's approximate fringe as your relief is in the water. Bring money to spend at the Pro Shop, throwing over 200ft of water onto hole 7's green could easily get the best of you if you become awe struck. Listen up for them Coyote from afar at night!

7 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 B..E..A...utiful!!! So much fun!

2-4    8/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: Brucewitte
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Everything! nice teeboxes, very challenging shots, water holes that will make you buy a Wahoo! Seriously buy a Wahoo! Beatiful transitions from lake to woods and then holes with the lake and woods! Really fun! Its a big boy and Creekside is right there with it! I love Lakeside!
Cons: The water is dark so discs go bye bye, the ground in the water is so soft your feet sink in like a sandpit, so don't where your shoes in as mine almost didn't come back out with me.
Other Thoughts: I LOVE THIS PLACE AND BOTH COURSES! Stayed in a little house there for a bachelor party and it was a amazing time! I wish I lived closer!

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite Selah course.

1    8/14/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: Nascar Dave
Played: 110  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.1 Years
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: We played in extreme heat and even though we had golf carts, I was very happy this course was mostly wooded and provided a lot of shade. Even though it is wooded, the fairways were still very fair as long as you only tried to take what the course gave.
This course challenges you to use every shot with distances varying from 890 feet to 213. From Hyzers to Annies, you will use everything in your bag.
This course has the famed Hole 7 which plays along the right side of a lake to an island 890 feet away (or 580') and everyone with the exception of myself was in the water at least once and carded circle eights and nines. BUT, you can card a par five easily enough, and if I could putt, I wouldn't have taken a six.
Cons: A bad tree hit here or there and you could find yourself off the fairway and into the woods but that is really the only con. That and maybe a little water. The only disc I lost in the water was on the last hole of the day, and I just didn't follow through.
Other Thoughts: Next time I go, I may play the shorter tees so I'll get more than five birdies, but these courses I can not adequately describe herein. You must go play them, they are fantastic and I can't wait to play them again.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Love the Lake

1    8/14/2011   9/9/2011
Review By: dduffer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.3 Years
12 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Absolutely amazing. Just wait until you play the island hole. It was worth the trip just to play a hole that will one day be famous like the holes at Augusta or St. Andrews in ball golf. Can you imagine watching Disc Golf on national television 20 years from now and being able to say you were one of the 1st to play it? That's what Selah ranch will be. I'm happy to say I was there. I'm looking forward to watching and playing in tournaments in the future. The big arms will have some advantage on certain holes, but it is the finesse player and those with mental stamina that will score the best. The course doesn't favor righties or lefties, flicks or backhands. You will use every shot in your bag and others you haven't even thought of. As I mentioned in my review of Creekside, I can't remember many specifics about particular holes as it was all so overwhelming. One I do remember is the Island Hole. If you throw between 300ft and 340 ft to the 1st landing zone you are good. If you try to throw 400 you had better make sure you don't land short, because there is a little inlet of water that's gonna get you. After that 1st shot and safe landing (hopefully), you have the same decision to make again. Do you go for the 400 ft bomb to make the green on the island or do you play it safe? That is what is great about this whole course, the decision making.
Cons: None I can think of. The courses were a little tricky to navigate between holes. John knows about it and is getting that taken care of. It shouldn't be a problem in the future.
Other Thoughts: Like I mentioned in the Creekside review you need to spend the extra money for the golf carts. It is a long walk unlike many local courses.

12 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Absolutely Incredible, also

1    7/21/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: hookem41
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.3 Years
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: OK, we played Lakeside second yesterday, and glad we did. It was a lot hotter and this is the more wooded of the 2 courses. It's not quite as long, but it's still almost 8900 ft. from the blue tees that we played from. You do get a hand drawn map when you sign your waiver and pay to help with navigation. Once again, there is great use of elevation and water, and there are multiple lines to choose from on the majority of the holes on both courses. As with both of the Selah courses, you'll have a chance to throw pretty much every shot in the bag and use just about every disc you've got. Lakeside was my favorite of the two courses, but probably only because of the 7th. In my opinion, the best hole on the ranch, weighing in at almost 900 ft. with water all along the left side and a beautiful island green (and I do mean ISLAND, that bridge in the pictures is the only way on and off that green). Even though this is the more wooded course, there's still 6 holes around the lake that you have to avoid the water on. Lakeside holes that stood out to me were the 1st, a great par 5 start at 700 ft. with the basket right on the waters edge, the monster 4th plays over 800 ft along the water, the signature 7th, the 14th is a fun 425 footer through trees and up a hill, 16th was fun at 525 ft. par 4 with trees to avoid off the tee and at the green, and the 18th is another great finish, a reachable par 5 with water all along the left. More excellent risk/reward and fun factor throughout the entire course. Just like Creekside, Lakeside is a fair course with plenty of opportunity to score if you take advantage when you can. Depending on how many finishing touches are put in, these two courses have the potential to end up being one of the top 5 disc golf experiences in the country, if not the world. Championship disc golf at it's finest.
Cons: Same as Creekside, basing these reviews on being able to picture the finished product, zero cons for Lakeside for those that aren't frustrated easily. Again, signage has yet to be installed, a few trees will be removed and planted. A sprinkler system is being installed, so there will be more grass eventually, still a little dusty right now.
Other Thoughts: ***BRING "LOOSE-ABLE" DISCS!!!*** Do yourself a favor and make the drive to Selah Ranch and experience this unbelievable disc golf. Again, there's rooms, cottages, and a house to rent. Check the website for rates. Bring your cooler and come prepared with water and snacks, and bring bungee cords to strap the coolers and bags to the carts. $10/play all day for overnight guests, $20/play all day for public (call ahead), $25/golf cart

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, simply amazing!!!!

1    7/21/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.7 Years
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: We drove out here this morning, and to be honest, I had my doubts as to whether or not this was going to be worth the money/drive. After playing today I can honestly say it was worth every penny and maybe more. This place is amazing!!!! Every hole, yes all 36, are the most incredible use of land, water and some elevation that I have ever played disc golf on. Every hole has a fun factor all it's own, and the long tees, which we played, offers the most incredible test of distance and endurance I've ever been a part of. Every hole has multiple driving lines, and lanes to get to the baskets. Some holes have so many choices you'll find yourself second, third and even eigth guessing yourself. Hole 7 is the most amazing hole I have ever thrown. 800+ft,, with water all down the left side ending with an island green 100 ft or so out in the lake, The mixture of wooded and open holes gives you a chance to reach back and chunk a couple, but be careful every hole requires some thought not just raw power. The Lakes was definitely my favorite of the two courses, simply Amazing!!
Cons: This course is definitely not for the easily frustrated or the occasional par 54, short course players. This course requires a lot of thought and a lot of fortitude, It's everything you could want and way more.

I guess the only con was that there wan't signage and the course is still a little rough. This really isn't a con, it's just early in the life of this course and I'm sure that Houck isn't completely through just yet. There looks like there is a lot of trees still marked for removal and some lanes to be designed
Other Thoughts: I can't wait till fall to come back when this place is complete. There are some cabins that would be great to hang out for the weekend in. These courses can be played over and over again, and with actual golf carts you can play without getting so worn out so quick. I will definitely be making this trip many more times in the future.

Hats off to Mr. Houck this was an Amazing Disc Experience!!!!

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Greatness!

1    7/3/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2011
24 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely amazing. This is what disc golf is supposed to be. Championship caliber is exactly right. There is every single shot in the world here and then some. The variety is great and it changes from hole to hole making for an exciting round at all times. The short "birdie" holes aren't gimmies and if your not careful they can be a lot worse. Then you have many par 4 and 5's that challenge you in different ways too. The course plays very fair for both leftys and rightys with a mix of lines and openings depending where you are and what you want to try. 2 sets of tees on every hole changing it up again if you like. Elevation is used everywhere and makes you think about not only your placement on your shots but also your putts. The water that is there is used brilliantly as well also making you think at all times. And these views around the lakes are sweet! The sandy terrain looks like it will resist water after a rain very well which is a plus. This course has tons of shade keeping the hot Texas sun off of you for the most part. Brand new discatchers make for easy spotting in the woods and are a welcome sight when its time to hit a putt. All concrete tees are nice and are all brand new as well. Get a golf cart, its fun, and unless you want your legs to fall off, you will need one. My favorite course of the 2 for sure and hole 7 is awesome!
Cons: Not for the faint at heart. If you like playing short par 54's and don't like championship level golf, stay away. This course is long and can be brutal if you are not careful. There are tons of places to lose plastic in the water if you throw a bad shot or if you get to greedy and it will be lost forever. No tee signs or trashcans, but the course is not technically open yet so that will be resolved in the near future. The first round can be tedious if your not patient because the fact you have to look for baskets and or fairways, but after a round I think you will feel much more comfortable.
Other Thoughts: These 2 courses will be host to many fine tournaments in the near future I am sure. There are cabins/rooms available on sight as well as many different activities for the family to do. The cart fee is 25 along with a 20 green fee for all day play. The land an course go together just like peanut butter and jelly. You will be amazed the whole time how perfect it feels. These will be in the top 10 in no time at all.

24 of 27 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.