Talco, TX 
Selah Ranch - Lakeside Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 189ft.   3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Red Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Ideal

2-4    3/12/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: jenb
Played: 84  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2013
16 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course really raises the bar. You just have to play it to appreciate how much better it is than other courses. I played ball golf for years, and this course is better than most ball golf courses.

There is a pro shop with restrooms and a fairly good disc selection.

For people who crave challenge, the long tees made some advanced players in my group regret their choice of which tees to play. It's really long. Even the shorts are long, and there are some shorter holes, but none of them seem like they are comically short, or throwaway holes. There's room to see the disc fly on this course, with plenty of length, plus some technical lines to manage.

It's not really busy on the course.

Two sets of concrete tees, plus well marked tee signs and cart paths make for safe play and easy navigation.

Cabins, guest rooms, camping available on site.

It really is a beautiful area with fresh air. A nice relaxing experience.
Cons: It costs money to play. For two people to rent a cart and play all day is about $70.

The drive into town to get lunch eats up too much time. You might want to pack lunch to make sure you can finish both courses, especially on shorter days in the winter.

Not much elevation.

You might have to make reservations months out if you want to stay overnight. They fill up.

The water here will eat your favorite discs.

I played once after a lot of rain and there were a few muddy spots on the course that had to be avoided when driving the cart.

Watch out for snakes. They've had several sightings out there. Water Moccasins are aggressive. Keep that in mind when deciding whether to go swimming after that disc you just lost.
Other Thoughts: I don't know what else to say. You just have to play it to appreciate what a top notch disc golf course can be.

Update: At the Feb 9, 2013 Paige and Eric Fundraiser, ratings produced indicated an SSA of 65 on Lakeside longs, and 63 on Creekside longs. Conditions were tough, and it was just one round with few propagators. I asked Will Schusterik what he thought of the course, and he said it was "all right," but needed some more people to play it and beat down the vegetation.

16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome water shots

1    4/14/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.2 Years
25 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course blew me away, with some of the coolest water holes I've seen and a really nice mix of technical and more open holes. The lake comes into play in several ways, offering all kinds of tricky shots and risk/reward decisions. Unlike many courses playing around a central water feature, the lake comes into play on both the left and right sides, keeping things equally challenging for left and right handed players. The island green is a really cool touch, and the hole leading up to it with multiple landing zones and the choice between braving the water or trying to lace a shot between mature trees on shore makes for some amazing golf.

There is a lot of length on this course, but none of it feels gratuitous. The par 4 and 5 holes offer challenges on each shot, with defined landing zones and chances to execute tough shots to earn birdies. A handful of holes play through tighter woods, with more technical lines and enough rough to punish errant shots. These call for a nice mix of shots with left and right turning holes in good balance. There are some minor elevation changes throughout the course, and though they don't offer any huge hill shots they are used well to add even more challenge and variety.

The amenities here are fantastic, they're not a big part of my ratings but I still love to see courses with this amount of work put in to the extras. The tees are excellent, with two large concrete pads on most holes, often offering different lines and a very different level of challenge. The signs are top notch, I love the Houck signs, and having distance and hole layout is nice with long and sometimes blind shots. It's obvious that a lot of time and effort goes into the maintenance here, the couple wet spots or places where grass was long were mentioned in the pro shop along with reasons and a timetable for taking care of them.
Cons: There was some long grass in spots, though the Lakeside course didn't have nearly as much as the Creekside layout. Through no fault of the designer, there's not a lot of elevation here, something I like to see on challenging courses like this. There are some long transitions between holes, though that's not a huge deal with good course maps and carts.
Other Thoughts: Beginners may find this course a bit much. There is a lot of length and the water is lurking on a lot of shots. The shorter tees are a great challenge for intermediate to advanced players, and the longs will challenge even the best players. You'll need distance, accuracy, and a variety of line shaping skills to be successful.

The design here is top notch, I had a blast. This is the better of the two Selah courses, but having two phenomenal courses on one property makes this an excellent destination. The carts are a nice touch, I wouldn't want to use one everywhere, but for a special treat they're fun. I understand the amount of time and work that has gone into this place, so I didn't mind the relatively high fees to play, but it is on the high side compared to other pay to play courses at this point.

25 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Can't wait to get back

1    3/18/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: slicemaster
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Exceeded every expectation I had. You know how when everyone says something is great only to find out it isn't. Well this isn't one of those times. This course is everything you could want and more. Beautiful scenery, expertly designed holes, fantastic risk/reward shots, a golf cart :), and a ride along dog. ( at least I got one named Pete)

When you step up to #1 you are thinking "Oh this is a good opening hole, I can let er rip and lay up easy." I thought that until I saw my approach. I love holes where the approach shot is the most difficult and #1 is the epitome of this.

#4 just may be the most difficult on the whole property. Not only is the approach shot a doosie but teeing off ain't no walk in the park either. Really loved this hole.

#7 - Don't know what to say that hasn't already been said. You can't know how awesome this hole is until you step on the tee. Pictures do it no justice. I donated 5 discs to the disc golf gods on this hole. Didn't care one bit. So AWESOME!

#14 may have the most numerous paths to the basket ever. When you walk up and look at the tee sign then look at the hole you just have to shake your head. Grip it and rip it and hope the trees ain't mean.

#16 - Loved this fairway. It was so pretty it was worth mentioning.

#18 - Really fun hole to close out a perfect course. When you finish your last shot there is an instant urge to start again and you should.
Cons: ZERO
Other Thoughts: Bring OFF to this course. Especially #14 and #15. You will be eaten alive by mosquitoes. Fortunately the course is so awesome you will not care. I think everyone should try to stay overnight here at least once. I was lucky enough to be here all weekend and my wife and I pretty much had the entire property to ourselves. Breakfast was great, picnic lunch was amazing, and the steak dinner was unbelievable. Believe it or not there are quite a few things to do in Mt. Vernon other than disc golf. Take one of the historic driving tours, go visit Dandy Don Meredith's museum, stroll around beautiful downtown and take your picture next to the tallest soldier to fight in the Civil War. He was 7'7" and lived to be 76 years old, pretty cool I think. Bottom line, if you love disc golf, you will love Selah Ranch, period.

10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 First Class DG

2-4    1/22/2012   1/23/2012
Review By: mike_james
Played: 54  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Not much to say that hasn't already been said. Truly beautiful and designed perfectly. Honestly, every shot could be used and there are multiple lines to almost every shot. I played once in extreme heat and once in January with a stout wind and both times were phenomenal. both courses a nice compliment to the other. Lakeside was more fun to me. More signature shots. Just a great time.
Cons: None. These are championship courses and could probably empty a newbies bag in short order
Other Thoughts: Championship frolf and top notch hospitality. One of the best times I've had playing DG. Go pay your money, lose a disc or two and have a great time doing it. It's well worth it.

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 words cant describe

1    1/14/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: teamtapin13
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.9 Years
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: these parks are beautiful, fun, challenging, and golf carts make for a ball golf atmosphere.... this was a truely awesome experience
Cons: there are no cons except these parks are 100 miles from my house...
Other Thoughts: the people were really nice, and the two dogs were totally cool, they had a couple firepits on each course burning to warm up with on the cool morning...

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 As Good As It Gets

1    10/19/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: Clue
Played: 109  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.1 Years
7 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This is everything a disc golf course should be. Not only is the course perfectly laid out to provide the best of challenges, but everything else is as high end as you'll find anywhere in disc golf. The concrete tees are huge, the signs and scorecards make it easy to navigate, the golf carts are a bonus, and the scenery is amazing. I played it on a very windy day toward the end of one of the worst droughts on record and still found this course to be very playable and enjoyable. I can't wait to come back when it's in even better condition.
Cons: There are none. The price is absurdly cheap for what you are getting. The owners have put a LOT of money into the course to make it as professional a venue as you'll find anywhere. Despite being a par 69, I thought it played much shorter. The shots are not just good, they're fun which makes for a good experience.
Other Thoughts: There's a lot of resistance to paying to play disc golf. I pay more than twice as much for a single round of regular golf and most disc golfers pay way more to play tournaments. This is worth every penny and then some to play. I'd recommend making a full weekend of it and playing both the short and long tees on both courses.

7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 What a great disc golf resort

1    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: Short holes, Long holes, open holes, technical holes. Amazing tee pads, amazing tee signs, amazing course design
Cons: It is really hard to find cons of this place. Other than you would have a hard time playing this place with out a golf cart, I can't say anything bad

2 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/2/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: frizbro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.4 Years
2 Helpful / 22 Not
Pros: The Lakeside course is my favorite (although I shoot better on the Creekside course). You must have every shot imaginable to master this course. The best golf experience you can have. Be prepare to stay and play these course more than once.
Cons: A cart is needed. Watch the water on holes 1, 2, 4, 7, & 18.
Other Thoughts: Play the short tees first, then go for the longs.

2 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/6/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: DoctorDisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 25 Not
Pros: Like the Creekside course, this is a tremendous all-around disc golf experience. Long and challenging, even in most cases from the Am pads, the course makes great use of a huge and beautiful piece of private property with lakes, creeks, woods, and rolling hills. It's well-groomed, the pads are long, and the holes are a variety of left, right, open, tight, flat, and hilly. Championship quality in every way. The property owners are very friendly. While it's not cheap to stay and play, my wife and I had an ideal disc golf vacation here, and we'll be back.

2 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Masterpiece!

1    8/12/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: Kamala
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.4 Years
7 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: This is hands-down the finest course I've ever played. In my mind, Hole 7 alone does the trick as it's approach mildly resembles ball-golf's famed 17th hole at TPC Sawgrass. THANK YOU JOHN FOR THIS MASTERFUL LAYOUT! Lakeside is completely different than Creekside and the names certainly hold true. Lots of wooded tunnels with undulating fairways that can really challenge your depth perception. I've never played a course that punishes you for choosing distance over accuracy, from time to time, Lakeside will make you re-think your decision to over-extend your shot. Don't let the "Clubhouse" distract you when your hugging the lake on hole 18 as the facilities here are Grade-A! Definitely stay overnight and play some night golf, NIGHT GOLF-W GOLF CARTS! Lakeside is easier to navigate at night than Creekside; oh and your luck may grant you an extremely comfortable mattress to rest up on and get an early morning round in!
Cons: I live in Austin which is 5 hours away! Bring an extra mud towel if you find yourself on the lake's approximate fringe as your relief is in the water. Bring money to spend at the Pro Shop, throwing over 200ft of water onto hole 7's green could easily get the best of you if you become awe struck. Listen up for them Coyote from afar at night!

7 of 20 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.