Fort Snelling, MN 
Fort Snelling Share
Uploaded By: Steve West Hole #14
3 / 204ft.   3 / 273ft.   3 / 327ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket: #16 basket in background



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Golf course disc golf

1    5/19/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Excellent distance variation on this course with a few short reachable holes, some that will require a drive and an upshot to get close, and some that will take a few drives to get there. I love it when you have to be able to throw everything iny our bag and all shots on one course, and this is one of those courses.

2) This course uses the trees on the golf course very well to define fairways and also provide some obstacles. There are plenty of trees that come into play and that surprised me a little bit, but because this is an old course the trees are mature and can be much more of an impact. The design did a lot of running between golf fairways or crossing golf fairways so you start in the trees and end in the trees on the other side of the golf fairway. This is essential to being a well designed course on a golf course.

3) The design of this course does not surprise me in the least . . . Steve West is a ver analytical designer and probably did dozens of calculations to figure out specifics of the layout. The course basically plays 18 holes on a 9 hole golf course. While 9 holes of golf typically take 2 to 2 1/2 hours to play 18 holes of disc golf takes somewhere between 1 to 1 1/2 hours. What this tells me is the course was designed specifically to not disturb the golfers on the course. Disc golf is secondary to golf in this world (as it should be because of the costs associated with golf versus disc golf) and they didn't want the golfers to be disturbed or slowed down by disc golfers. If anything . . . the disc golfers should have to wait for golfers. I think there may have actually been room for a few more holes to tighten the gap up since the disc golfers will play much faster than the golfers. We actually had 3 disc golfers (2 rec or lower level and 1 intermediate level) and we were holding up the 2-some of golfers behind us for the first 4 golf holes, but eventually we pulled away. If the golf group were to have been a 4-some we never would have slowed them down except on the first hole.

4) Nice powder coated baskets with Blue and Yellow. They catch well and look great.

5) Nice # sign attached to the basket at basket level. It does not affect play at all but is very helpful to decipher what basket you are supposed to throw at. You can easily see the # on the sign from most of the tees (except the really long ones). This helps navigation and also speeds up the disc golfers.

6) Recycled plastic posts mark the tees and a color coded per each tee. There are also two small discs inserted into the ground to mark the tee area. They are also color coded so you know what tee you are on.

7) Incredibly nice looking signs (Equivalent to the nicest golf signs I have ever seen). They are made from the recycled plastic and show the Hole #, Par, and Distance of each hole (albeit it in yards and not feet). No map of the holes unfortunately but do the job for sure.

8) Some nice rolling elevation changes on this course.

9) Using the golf fairways is a way to get more distance if you know how to throw rollers. Since I learned the roller I have always wanted to throw rollers on a lush golf fairway, unfortunately I forgot my roller disc at home on this trip. Ahh what could have been.

9) Dual pins on the entire course to cut down on wear and also change up the variety of the shots from time to time. I like this idea for functionality as well as variety.

10) Low branches on the trees might be considered a hinderance to golfers, but they act to force really tight low shots or force you to go out and around trees. There might be more options if the branches were ever limbed up, but I like that it forces you to really think.

11) Carts are available and a beer cart on occasion. What more could you ask for on a disc golf course. . . oh yeah a nice clubhouse with refreshments afterwards. Check!

12) $5 to play is a deterrant to the douchiest of disc golfers which is good. I am all for it if it means we can have more courses and a better variety of courses to play!

13) Next tee signs hanging from the underside of the baskets . . . and they have one for each tee and are color coded!!! Awesome

14) Mandos are used well to protect golf greens, the safety of the golfers and the disc golfers, and are appropriate when used. They are not shown on the course, but they are discussed on the

15) Scorecards!!!!

Cons: 1) While the design incorporated most of the trees well, I still prefer more wooded courses or at least more variety of the density of the woods. Here it is what I would consider mostly open with a smattering of trees.

2) No maps on the course signs. Always a negative in my mind even if the signs are super nice. I like to see the general layout of each hole before throwing.

3) It might be considered a little dangerous with golfers and disc golfers intermingling. We had two balls come very close to us, one from the group behind us playing golf not waiting long enough fo us to leave Our green area, which was off in the rough so they probably couldnt even see us, and another from a group on an adjacent holes hat missed their fairway and ended up in between two golf fairways right where our basket was. I would hate to think a golf or disc golfer would ever get really hurt out here for fear the course might be shut down. This is something I am going to address in my designs on golf courses and having a decade of experience on golf course management and being a pretty good golfer will help me to be sure to avoid the common spray areas of the golf ball as well as the discs.

4) Grass tees are always a negative, but they picked flat and level spots at least. They are in perfect condition which means this course is not played all that often. Considering we were the only disc golfers at 7:30 on a saturday morning mixed with only 20 golfers I would guess this is a perfect place to intermingle disc golf with golf.

5) Technicality is missing on many holes. Just throw your longest drive whatever direction you want and then approach from there. I played the blues, so maybe the reds would have been more technical for me and the golds would have simply added longer throws and distance to the blue tees, it wouldnt have altered the holes much.
Other Thoughts: This is now my third disc golf course set on a golf course that I have played. The first two were closed to golfers when we played so some issues are non-existant at that time, but when intermingling disc golf with golf has its ups and downs. I hope to account for all of these things in my disc golf course designs.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent shared course

1    11/30/2011   11/30/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course shares space with a golf course, so it's beautifully manicured and nicely taken care of. Carts are available, which is always a fun bonus. Big arms will find lots of opportunities to open up here and throw for distance, and the short mowed grass makes for great rollers. There are three sets of tees for different level players, all are fairly long for their respective player levels but the shorter tees do offer a little less distance.

The available trees are used as much as possible to keep the course from feeling completely wide open, and a few mandos add some difficulty. The tees are grass, but all were level and in pretty good shape. The basket numbers were large enough to see from the tees, even on the longer holes, and the next tee arrows are helpful. There is a course map and scorecard available in the clubhouse.
Cons: The difficulty here comes primarily from distance, it's definitely not a technical course at all and can feel a bit repetitive at times. Many of the tees are difficult to find, even with the map and next tee arrows, the carts make it a little less annoying to have to search for them, but it still adds a little extra time and frustration to the round. Golfers have the right of way, so you'll need to keep an eye out ahead and behind your group.
Other Thoughts: As shared courses go, this one tries really hard to keep from being totally one dimensional. The available obstacles were used well, but it still feels mostly like a bomber course with just a few holes requiring interesting lines. Beginners will find even the shorter tees a little long and frustrating. More experienced players who want to test their distance will find some challenges here, but there are other parts of your game that you'll need to find challenges for elsewhere.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Bring the long game

1    10/6/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: EpicScientist
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course has some LONG holes. I'm talking 300 YARDS long. Which for being a metro course (the only other I know of being Wabun...which isn't long in the least)
-Very nicely maintained. Next to no litter.
-Nice baskets with soft chains
-A proshop with all you need. Beer, soda, snacks, discs, and an awesome old guy who will piss the breeze for as long as you want.
-The format is a change of pace. You play alongside stick golfers most of the time. And while most would think this is a deterrent, I found most of the golfers to be very amenable and friendly to us discers.
Cons: -WINDY. As I come from North Dakota, I know wind. And if you get the cross winds from the open airfield right next door, it makes for a pretty tough round. I used my Nuke OS and Groove on just about every hole.
-Not overly challenging. Not alot of elevation change (though they make use of what they do have nicely) and a good portion of the wholes are right around 100 yds.
-No tee pads. I normally don't have much of an issue with this. I'm not a stickler when it comes to pads as long as what's there isn't wrecked. It makes for a very interesting long game when you're trying to get some power in the legs.
Other Thoughts: My biggest complaint is that I lost my phone. And that's not the courses fault. It's just a bummer. Anyways, despite that I had a great time here. If you live in the downtown metro or close to it, this is probably your best option that's somewhat close. I usually play Acorn in Roseville, but I'll be making alot more trips here. Like I said, the dudes in the proshop are cool as hell and you don't get a whole lot of riff-raff from snobby golfers or immature discers.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course near MSP airport

2-4    7/21/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: ertai
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - beautiful course with long, open fairways (this course is great if you like to throw for long distances)
- clean and well kept with restrooms near the club house
- the club house near hole 1/18 has drinks/food/score card/course map and friendly staff
- there are signs near every tee
- grass tees (some may think of this as a con but it adds some to the challenge)
- new, bright colored baskets
- mando's (added challenge was nice since there isn't much risk/reward here)
- easy to navigate with the help of a course map
- $5 pay-to-play, which isn't a bad price when you consider that you play on a nice golf course)
Cons: - many holes with multiple baskets were missing a basket but due to the openness of the course it was easy to see if the basket wasn't there - so not much of a con
- the tee pads - there were markers (gold, blue, red) in the ground indicating where you would tee off but they were very difficult to find, although not impossible (I'm optimistic that they'll install something better for the tee pads someday)
- mostly flat course with little elevation change
Other Thoughts: Most memorable hole: hole 12 mostly due to the length. Least favorite hole: hole 14 because it's short and straight with no technicality, even from the longer tees.
This is a great course if you like a lengthier, open course where you could throw a driver sometimes twice on one hole. Some of the holes may be a little long for a beginner, but otherwise a great beginner course. You do share the course with stick golfers, which tends to slow the game down - I played 1 round in 2.5 hours on a course that shouldn't take much more than 1.5 hours (I didn't think of this as a con). Again, stay aware of the other golfers there and you shouldn't have problems (e.g. get hit by a little white ball). The stick golfers were friendly and some were very interested in disc golf. There were biting flies the day I was there, so I might suggest bug spray or just ignore them as I did. I'd recommend this course any time it's open and I would definitely come back the next time I visit Minneapolis.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Growing the sport of disc golf.

1    7/8/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: joe po
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Championship caliber course.

Great Upkeep! No nasty tall grass.

Awesome baskets, bright and easy to see.
Cons: Tough navigating your first time through. Tees can be hard to find. They'll improve this down the road if disc golf format works on the golf course.
Other Thoughts: Some good things to keep in mind when playing here.

1. The golfers that play Ft. Snelling have been out there for years. We disc golfers are very new to them. If you play respectfully the golfers will become more postive towards disc golf's presence on the course.

2. If you choose to rent a cart, please use it in an appropriate manner. Don't drive down the fairway, use the rough as a path. Whether there is rough or a cart path, please leave and return to the path at a 90 degree angle.

3. Keep a respecful distance from other patrons of the course. Its very rude to ride up on other groups on the course.

4. To the best of your ability, please refrain from bringing outside liquor/beer or "other" items of consumption. The course does sell beer and snacks at reasonable prices, plus you can rent a cooler for a refundable deposit.

I know we need to be respected by the golfers. If we can play with etiquette and respect, they will come around to our presence on the course. Be friendly, play well, and be smart.

There are more golf courses out there that want to incorporate disc golf. They're reluctant to given the culture of disc golf and the culture of golf and the problems that arise combining the two. I'm volunteering with Minneapolis Parks at both new disc golf courses. I'll be out there rangering the course and improving golfers knowledge of disc golf. Hoping to create a diplomatic and positive relation between the two groups.

Hope to see you out there!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Be ready to bomb

1    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Adontalis
Played: 56  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are many things that can be said for this coarse:
-Very long holes as said by previous reviews. Multiple drives required.
-Very well groomed. You will spend little to no time searching for your discs here.
-For a golf coarse, I was pleasently surprised at how well they used their trees to make shots much harder than they could have been.
-Multiple tee locations allowing you to decide how hard you want to make your round.
Very detailed map/scorecard provided.
-Employees extremely friendly and helpful. The employee I met admitted to being very new to the disc golf on the coarse. He was however very honest about the coarse and eager for input about ways it could be improved.
Cons: Bugs and stick golfers.
-You are on a golf coarse, and there are golfers. It is important to remain vigilant about the possabilty of a small white ball flying at you. The employee stressed this point seeing as how a disc golfer got hit last week.
-I found that some of the stick golfers that I ran into viewed this coarse as a golf coarse and would play whether I was there or not.
-Sometimes it is possible to see multiple pins from your tee location. Ensure that you have looked at your map in relation to the fairways of stick golf to know exactly where you are going.
-They usually have flags on the coarse next to the tee markers, however when I was there the mower had ran them all over.
-Maybe it was just the day I was there but there were gnats EVERYWHERE!!!
Other Thoughts: Overall I had an enjoyable experience while I was there. The P2P of $5 (plus tax) was not terrible however I would hope that they make that into a day pass later. At least make it a day pass if you rent a cart as well as pay for the round.

Some holes afford a lot of room for driving so the coarse really lets you work on your driving technique if you are new and would like to incorporate that into a game instead of driving in a field.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.