Fort Snelling, MN 
Fort Snelling Share
Uploaded By: notapro Hole #8 (Taken 7/2012)
4 / 249ft.   3 / 249ft.   2 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Gold Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 GREAT TIME.

1    6/5/2012   6/6/2012
Review By: Arnie
Played: 34  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of great shots, through trees, around trees and over small mounds. I like #15, because you shot over a small mound and through the trees, into the open. The baskets were easy to spot, with the big signs under them. Also under the baskets were the next Tee box, in the color gold, blue and red.You look for the big Tee sign then you look for the color sticks.Couple of the holes are a short throw, were you could get an ACE. One hole is over a wide dip, and the basket is setting on the slope. If you can throw rollers, you are luckly. A great place for rollers. I love the layout of the course.
Cons: The bugs were bad. It was hard to follow the course at first, but the course map on the score card helped. This was my first time here. You don't need any special throws here, so that part of the game will be hurt.
Other Thoughts: The staff is outstanding, at this course. They were very helpful and super nice. I play at 0630AM, so bring a towel, because the grass is wet. I love watching the airplanes takeoff, right next to the course. Because, you are on an ball golf course, it does seen to be wide open and far. I had no problems with the ball golfers. Over all, I really had a time, even that I shot 9 over from the Blue course. I shall play here again and again.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Looking for a wonderful laid back round?

1    9/7/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: frylock
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: ~This course is a laid on top of a beautiful 9 hole ball golf course, making for very upkept terrain. Awesome fairways.
~Even with all the openness the trees were still very much in play.
~Great use of the mandos
~Even though there are no concrete tees I had no problem driving out there
Cons: ~No concrete tees
~Signage measured in yards (not that big of a deal)
~Can be a little confusing to navigate
~You have to pay $5 per round
Other Thoughts: Be sure to bring your drivers because you'll be letting them rip allllllll day. Be sure to respect the ball golfers as they respected us very much.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fourrrr!

5+    5/11/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 104  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained long course and requires many different shots to be used. A great idea for the Twin Cities area which is over-run by partially used ball golf courses. Gold Tees are a superior challenge to that of ANY MN course, specially with distance. No stupid trees or thick bushes. Nice Baskets, Good Signs, great views and easy to navigate as well as play. Huge drives needed from Gold, Solid Pars (no gimmes) and plays fairly quickly given not a high ball golf traffic time. Easy on the body even with long holes due to not much elevation but it is used as much as possible. Nice guys working in the clubhouse. Being adjacent to airport makes for some very windy rounds at times given no surrounding trees and adds to the difficulty where the elevation lacks.
Cons: Golfers are not a issue if you don't go out during IDEAL golfing times... but just call before you go and ask if they are busy! Some trees were removed which opened things up this year (2013) Some odd mando's due to trying to keep players safe and mostly flat course which gets slightly repetitive.

Other Thoughts: Once finished and set in stone (concrete tees) course will be one of the best advanced distance courses to play in MN.

Golfers and Airplanes are not even a big deal at all and if anything add to the character of the course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 $5 Well Spent

1    5/24/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: Zambono
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are two things you must do before you go check out Fort Snelling:
1. Dust off that old max distance driver in your bag...or go buy a NUKE!
2. Call ahead and make sure there are no golf leagues, so you can get a tee time.

When you get there, make sure to stop inside the clubhouse and chat it up with whoever is on duty. They gave us a great rundown of the course rules and design. Also, after the round, they were very open to honest critique of the course, and I believe they will improve it directly.

The Gold Tee at this course must be the longest course in the cities! I hope your ready to THROW!!

Other Pros include:
- Multiple tees for varying skills and experience
- Professional Map and Scorecard allow for nice playthrough
- Long, open fairways for fun drives.
- The course is well groomed and includes all the amenities you need
- Can even rent a cart for a change of pace
Cons: This is not just on a golf course, it IS the golf course. You tee off in between players, and are considered a golfer. Since discing is typically a faster paced game, getting behind a slow group can make for a boring afternoon.

During our visit, we have a very rude couple tee off behind us. They would consistently slice balls at us without warning, even though we were waiting for other players. Luckily, the group in front of us were friendly, and let us play through. It is just the chance you will take here.

- Hole #2 plays along a barbed wire fence surrounding the airport. A poorly thrown disc will be lost for good. I recommend turning into the fairway.
- I personally think $5 is worth the course, since we played a good 2 hour round. However, it is still P2P which will discourage some people.
- the tees are markers in the grass, which are not always easy to find, and could very easily get moved or lost. the map is a must
Other Thoughts: Interesting fact: This is the only course I have seen in the area that measures in yards and not feet. It goes to show you how LONG it is. There was one hole that was well over 300 yards. That was 3 NUKE bombs just to salvage par.

Follow the directions on this site closely. Mapquest or Google will lead you astray. It is tough to find your first time here.

We started on the gold tee, and ended up moving to the blue tee for the back nine. Don't underestimate the difficulty of this course. If you are an intermediate/expert thrower, consider taking the blue. It provides plenty of challenge to maintain par.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.