Fort Snelling, MN
Fort Snelling Share
Uploaded By: alexaaron Hole #2 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 519ft.   -- / --   4 / 696ft.   5 / 933ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Beautiful course near MSP airport

2-4    7/21/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: ertai
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - beautiful course with long, open fairways (this course is great if you like to throw for long distances)
- clean and well kept with restrooms near the club house
- the club house near hole 1/18 has drinks/food/score card/course map and friendly staff
- there are signs near every tee
- grass tees (some may think of this as a con but it adds some to the challenge)
- new, bright colored baskets
- mando's (added challenge was nice since there isn't much risk/reward here)
- easy to navigate with the help of a course map
- $5 pay-to-play, which isn't a bad price when you consider that you play on a nice golf course)
Cons: - many holes with multiple baskets were missing a basket but due to the openness of the course it was easy to see if the basket wasn't there - so not much of a con
- the tee pads - there were markers (gold, blue, red) in the ground indicating where you would tee off but they were very difficult to find, although not impossible (I'm optimistic that they'll install something better for the tee pads someday)
- mostly flat course with little elevation change
Other Thoughts: Most memorable hole: hole 12 mostly due to the length. Least favorite hole: hole 14 because it's short and straight with no technicality, even from the longer tees.
This is a great course if you like a lengthier, open course where you could throw a driver sometimes twice on one hole. Some of the holes may be a little long for a beginner, but otherwise a great beginner course. You do share the course with stick golfers, which tends to slow the game down - I played 1 round in 2.5 hours on a course that shouldn't take much more than 1.5 hours (I didn't think of this as a con). Again, stay aware of the other golfers there and you shouldn't have problems (e.g. get hit by a little white ball). The stick golfers were friendly and some were very interested in disc golf. There were biting flies the day I was there, so I might suggest bug spray or just ignore them as I did. I'd recommend this course any time it's open and I would definitely come back the next time I visit Minneapolis.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Growing the sport of disc golf.

1    7/8/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: joe po
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Championship caliber course.

Great Upkeep! No nasty tall grass.

Awesome baskets, bright and easy to see.
Cons: Tough navigating your first time through. Tees can be hard to find. They'll improve this down the road if disc golf format works on the golf course.
Other Thoughts: Some good things to keep in mind when playing here.

1. The golfers that play Ft. Snelling have been out there for years. We disc golfers are very new to them. If you play respectfully the golfers will become more postive towards disc golf's presence on the course.

2. If you choose to rent a cart, please use it in an appropriate manner. Don't drive down the fairway, use the rough as a path. Whether there is rough or a cart path, please leave and return to the path at a 90 degree angle.

3. Keep a respecful distance from other patrons of the course. Its very rude to ride up on other groups on the course.

4. To the best of your ability, please refrain from bringing outside liquor/beer or "other" items of consumption. The course does sell beer and snacks at reasonable prices, plus you can rent a cooler for a refundable deposit.

I know we need to be respected by the golfers. If we can play with etiquette and respect, they will come around to our presence on the course. Be friendly, play well, and be smart.

There are more golf courses out there that want to incorporate disc golf. They're reluctant to given the culture of disc golf and the culture of golf and the problems that arise combining the two. I'm volunteering with Minneapolis Parks at both new disc golf courses. I'll be out there rangering the course and improving golfers knowledge of disc golf. Hoping to create a diplomatic and positive relation between the two groups.

Hope to see you out there!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fourrrr!

5+    5/11/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 101  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2013
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained long course and requires many different shots to be used. A great idea for the Twin Cities area which is over-run by partially used ball golf courses. Gold Tees are a superior challenge to that of ANY MN course, specially with distance. No stupid trees or thick bushes. Nice Baskets, Good Signs, great views and easy to navigate as well as play. Huge drives needed from Gold, Solid Pars (no gimmes) and plays fairly quickly given not a high ball golf traffic time. Easy on the body even with long holes due to not much elevation but it is used as much as possible. Nice guys working in the clubhouse. Being adjacent to airport makes for some very windy rounds at times given no surrounding trees and adds to the difficulty where the elevation lacks.
Cons: Golfers are not a issue if you don't go out during IDEAL golfing times... but just call before you go and ask if they are busy! Some trees were removed which opened things up this year (2013) Some odd mando's due to trying to keep players safe and mostly flat course which gets slightly repetitive.

Other Thoughts: Once finished and set in stone (concrete tees) course will be one of the best advanced distance courses to play in MN.

Golfers and Airplanes are not even a big deal at all and if anything add to the character of the course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Be ready to bomb

1    6/11/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: Adontalis
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are many things that can be said for this coarse:
-Very long holes as said by previous reviews. Multiple drives required.
-Very well groomed. You will spend little to no time searching for your discs here.
-For a golf coarse, I was pleasently surprised at how well they used their trees to make shots much harder than they could have been.
-Multiple tee locations allowing you to decide how hard you want to make your round.
Very detailed map/scorecard provided.
-Employees extremely friendly and helpful. The employee I met admitted to being very new to the disc golf on the coarse. He was however very honest about the coarse and eager for input about ways it could be improved.
Cons: Bugs and stick golfers.
-You are on a golf coarse, and there are golfers. It is important to remain vigilant about the possabilty of a small white ball flying at you. The employee stressed this point seeing as how a disc golfer got hit last week.
-I found that some of the stick golfers that I ran into viewed this coarse as a golf coarse and would play whether I was there or not.
-Sometimes it is possible to see multiple pins from your tee location. Ensure that you have looked at your map in relation to the fairways of stick golf to know exactly where you are going.
-They usually have flags on the coarse next to the tee markers, however when I was there the mower had ran them all over.
-Maybe it was just the day I was there but there were gnats EVERYWHERE!!!
Other Thoughts: Overall I had an enjoyable experience while I was there. The P2P of $5 (plus tax) was not terrible however I would hope that they make that into a day pass later. At least make it a day pass if you rent a cart as well as pay for the round.

Some holes afford a lot of room for driving so the coarse really lets you work on your driving technique if you are new and would like to incorporate that into a game instead of driving in a field.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  spare yourselves

1    6/5/2011   6/5/2011
Review By: PErickson
Played: 311  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.9 Years
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: little to none. I guess the course is mowed frequently. Next to a historical site. Good baskets. You get to see planes take off from the airport.
Cons: getting hit by golf balls, getting lost on course, missing baskets, pay to play.
Other Thoughts: Terrible, probably gone by the end of the summer.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 $5 Well Spent

1    5/24/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: Zambono
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are two things you must do before you go check out Fort Snelling:
1. Dust off that old max distance driver in your bag...or go buy a NUKE!
2. Call ahead and make sure there are no golf leagues, so you can get a tee time.

When you get there, make sure to stop inside the clubhouse and chat it up with whoever is on duty. They gave us a great rundown of the course rules and design. Also, after the round, they were very open to honest critique of the course, and I believe they will improve it directly.

The Gold Tee at this course must be the longest course in the cities! I hope your ready to THROW!!

Other Pros include:
- Multiple tees for varying skills and experience
- Professional Map and Scorecard allow for nice playthrough
- Long, open fairways for fun drives.
- The course is well groomed and includes all the amenities you need
- Can even rent a cart for a change of pace
Cons: This is not just on a golf course, it IS the golf course. You tee off in between players, and are considered a golfer. Since discing is typically a faster paced game, getting behind a slow group can make for a boring afternoon.

During our visit, we have a very rude couple tee off behind us. They would consistently slice balls at us without warning, even though we were waiting for other players. Luckily, the group in front of us were friendly, and let us play through. It is just the chance you will take here.

- Hole #2 plays along a barbed wire fence surrounding the airport. A poorly thrown disc will be lost for good. I recommend turning into the fairway.
- I personally think $5 is worth the course, since we played a good 2 hour round. However, it is still P2P which will discourage some people.
- the tees are markers in the grass, which are not always easy to find, and could very easily get moved or lost. the map is a must
Other Thoughts: Interesting fact: This is the only course I have seen in the area that measures in yards and not feet. It goes to show you how LONG it is. There was one hole that was well over 300 yards. That was 3 NUKE bombs just to salvage par.

Follow the directions on this site closely. Mapquest or Google will lead you astray. It is tough to find your first time here.

We started on the gold tee, and ended up moving to the blue tee for the back nine. Don't underestimate the difficulty of this course. If you are an intermediate/expert thrower, consider taking the blue. It provides plenty of challenge to maintain par.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 ear-plug huk-zone

1    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: keepDGobscure
Played: 94  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is exactly what Twin Cities DG needed, a long open course that is not in the suburbs. The shortest hole is 285ft, so you are going to throw a driver on pretty much every hole (two or three drives sometimes). There are enough trees to force different kinds of shots. The ball golf 'rough' is still short grass by DG standards, so finding discs is super simple (and great for rollers). If you cut across the course on foot, the club house is a 5min walk from the Fort Snelling Light Rail Station!!! Not bad for what is now the longest course in the metro area.
Cons: The course is adjacent to the MSP airport. On the left side of the second fairway is a barbed wire fence with a runway on the other side. The constant plane traffic made it difficult to relax, but as you work your way to the other side of the course there is a noticeable drop in decibels. The $5 (plus tax) green fee is a bit steep, but its to be expected for a decent course in the Twin Cities these days. Also, it is a flat course, really no elevation to speak of (sans a few berms).
Other Thoughts: It is designed so there are basically two DG holes that run parallel, on, or across each of the nine ball golf holes. Keep that in mind and you shouldn't be taken by surprise when you come across a small white ball. Because of the 2:1 DG to ball hole flow, there should be a healthy flow of coexistence with the other kind of golfer. I played on a mon. afternoon, so I did not get a real sense of how much ball golf traffic they usually get. I had the feeling, though, that the course had seen better days - the sand traps were dirt with plants growing in them - it was quite obvious they were looking for new clientele. I fancy that it will become more popular as a disc course and permanently converted .... maybe. If you are looking for a quintessentially technical MN course don't bother coming here, this course is for the throwers!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Can disc golf and ball golf get along?

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: slimshadyemb
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course runs along across and through a 9-hole ball golf course next to the airport along the Mississippi River. It is a pay course, so you expect certain amenities, and this has them. There are garbage cans and porta potties along the course, but are part of the ball golf tee areas. Course has signs marking par and distance for 3 different tees: short, long, and championship. By championship, I mean it. This course has some serious length. All told this course is about 8,500 feet. Not only is it long, but some serious potential to be windy because of the pretty flat terrain it sits on. The course itself offers a wide variety of shots, turning left, right, and several straight. You will mostly be throwing longer shots here. Not many holes shorter than 300ft, but 5 Mando's require some careful shaping to stay in play. Because it is a part of a ball golf course, the grass is well mowed. Baskets are nice and new, as this course has only been open about 2 days as of this review.
Also a neat offer, you can rent a power cart for the round for $8 in the clubhouse. If you play more than one round, think about it.
Cons: Oh boy where do I start. First, when I say it plays on a ball golf course, i mean ON the course. You will share many fairways. Several tee area's are directly in front of the ball golf tees. You have to watch ahead of you to not hit ball golfers, and behind you to not get hit. We teed off along with a foursome of golfers. They were often in the way of our throws from hole 1 to about 5. They got a little in front of us, and the ball group behind played slow, so we found a nice pocket. But I imagine this will not always be the case.
Tee "areas" are all grass. On one hole you get to throw from the cartpath. Tees are flat and maintained, but all grass.
It is long. Seriously long. If you do not throw over 300', you will have a tough time staying around par here.
The map from the clubhouse is necessary. Several times we had to stop and refer to the map to figure out both where the next tee starts and where you are throwing to. Some holes are tough to find the pin because they are 700+ feet.
Oh did I mention you have to share the course with ball golfers?
The course plays VERY flat. Almost no elevation change at all. Some very minor mounds but no real adjustment for up or downhill.
Many holes MUST be played low. Because you are cutting back and forth across a golf course, there are several distinct lines of trees which must be avoided. Often feels like you are "fighting" against the design of a golf course, rather than a uniquely designed "disc" course
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course it not bad. It made for an enjoyable day of disc golf. You can see where money went into this course in order to justify charging for it. Very nicely made scorecards, map provided (and was essential). Nice signs, manicured grass. On it's own merit, a course worth trying. It offers a unique challenge compared to other courses in the area, and a good mix of left and right shots. That said, there are too many cons to bring me back soon. Grass tee pads, ball golfers on the course, lack of elevation or technical shots, not a real risk/reward course, and the abundance of other excellent courses in the area turn this into a VERY occasional visit on the course circuit for my group

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.