Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee (Long Position)



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 91
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Good but not great

1    2/27/2016   2/27/2016
Review By: Rosco
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The front Nine were very fun, and had variety. 6th basket is over 10 ft high from the back and has a small step up to the front nicely designed. Each of the front 9 seems to be well thought out and are very enjoyable. 1-9 start and loop back to the lot and 10-18 do the same. bathrooms for players is a nice plus, and the parking is ample. Good elevation changes.
Cons: I was not impressed with the back 9 much at all. its just weaving back and forth acrosss the very large ravine. Two shots like this would have been plenty, but 4 or 5 of them doing the exact same thing got old quickly. Especially if you have some shots that dont go your way. You can end up in a big struggle to get back on track. We played in late winter conditions so vegetation was down. I can imagine it to be much worse in the other seasons
Other Thoughts: If you find yourself in Asheville, a wonderful town, definitely give Richmond Hills a go, but I would probably play 10-18 first because it can sap your strength if you aren't ready for it. I wouldn't travel more than an hour to play this course as the primary stop on my Disc Golfing road trip.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

I like it!

2-4    10/8/2014   10/8/2014
Review By: Jackattack828
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2014
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: It has some nice and long holes. Good mix of downhill, uphill and flat. I think it's good for both beginners and experts. It's a good, hard course that will definitely help anyone and everyone's skills. Always see people there practicing and playing.
Cons: Not enough mix of wooded to unwooded. Sorta hard to find the tees from the hole sometimes. Going back and forth from one hill to the other on like 13-16 was sorta rough. Some places are very heavily wooded and finding a frisbee in those places can be very difficult.
Other Thoughts: I like it. I havnt really been to much in the area yet but I like it so far!

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Be in shape for this bad boy

5+    6/27/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Supreme edge to those who can drive with accuracy. Good tee boxes. Easy to navigate. Underbrush is beat down well. Porta toilets at the parking lot are greatly appreciated with how far this is from a public bathroom. Friendly local players.
Cons: The grand canyon ravine. A good half of the holes go back and forth over this enormous ditch, 200ft across and 100ft deep. If your drive hits anything on these holes, or doesn't get a solid landing on the other side, you will be dead in the bottom of this ravine. This also takes a lot of energy to navigate up and down, and to make heavy uphill throws if you are unlucky enough to grip lock one or have a slightly off center drive.
Other Thoughts: Dogs are allowed on leashes and are common to see off a leash, I don't mind it but some people do. I wouldn't suggest a tourny bag your first go around on this course. Take something smaller and lighter and you'll thank me later.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: rossaroo
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: No water please bring water. had disc vender on saturday.. lots of benches every hole is a smoke hole. Women playing golf!!!! and familys.
Cons: bring water.... dont like multible baskets.. Short guy stole one of my discs. lots of wood chips.......
Other Thoughts: bring water... hole 9 brings you back to parking lot.

3 of 19 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.