Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #15 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 326ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket (Short Position)



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
RUN TO THE HILLS

2-4    8/6/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 45  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Richmond hill is a very good course in the Appalachian mountains on a nice part of a hill. This place is all about disc golf and hiking! Definitely worth the time alone or with a friend who loves the game.
-Very large parking lot for a place only for disc golf or going on the hiking trail. Parking should never be a problem here.
-It's close to downtown Asheville so the rest of my family dropped me off to play a couple rounds and they could go somewhere nice to hang out or do something fun.
-At the kiosk beside #1, there are maps with a scorecard on them. Navigation was no trouble at all.
-Extreme elevation comes to play here. Many valley shots that drop up to 75 ft and gain just as much if not more! Hole 9 comes to mind here and some holes are the other way around. Hole 10 drops about 25 ft and then rises maybe 60 ft. My favorite hole is 15. It's all the way downhill, nearly extreme downhill. Drops maybe 50 ft! It was in the long position and its 326' feet but I could get down there with a putter!
-It's very hilly so it has benches on every hole and there are trash cans on your way to the first tee. There are portajohns as well.
-Very cool pin positions, usually they have a hill beyond the basket so you could catch a roller. Definitely a test of your putting game! #17 long is on a 15' hill which is always great. I love elevated baskets!
-I liked the Tarheel blue baskets! They were something different and very easy to see. They catch well too! There is a practice basket as well!
-Great tee signs. Baskets were easy to find. The layout is great as well. I think this is definitely a fun mountain course and has many well placed holes!
-#18 ends close to the parking lot making this course layout a circle. #9 is close to the parking lot as well if you are in a hurry.
Cons: -If you read a lot of my reviews, you know that I love hilly courses! I prefer them to any flat course just like New013. I usually rate a hilly course higher than 3.5. That's because this course isn't maintained well. This place has extreme elevation which is good but it also has extreme vegetation. It's not maintained well on the front nine and #12 already has an erosion problem. I lost a white Dx rhyno on 12 and I'd like it back. I lost two other discs in the crap. Three Holes here have extreme vegetation. Those holes are #6, #7 and #13. It's just fine if you stay straight or to the right on #6 but there's a 90% chance you will lose a disc if it goes left, #7 is really bad to the left as well and on #13, it's just wild. Especially to the right and if you throw it in the crap, you're disc has been released for the last time. RICHMOND NEEDS MAINTENANCE!
-Carpet tee pads. They aren't as good as rubber or concrete. After a rainfall, they can be intolerably slippery. They were fine today but they are not always dry.
-I really wish there was a water fountain out here but there isn't so you better bring your cooler or you won't feel well after a while.
Other Thoughts: -Great place to stop by! I love mountain courses and I think this place was fun and I think it could be better with some maintenance. After hole #13, the lost disc factor goes down. I think that this course is probably the best in the area but it can be frustrating when your shot goes bad. It can happen and I just need to get out there that your disc can very well vanish. Even with a good tee shot. I lost an XL on #3 and I had a good throw with it. I lost my beloved pro wraith as well on #6. I recommend this course if you are within 45 minutes away but not alone. I would want someone to lookout for my discs.
-Very many signature holes here! So many epic tee shots. Prepare for a very fun mountain course and bring hiking shoes and bring a cooler of water and then go to Mellow Mushroom.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun mountain course.

1    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's in Appalachia so all that scenic goodness and nature vibes are in abundance. The holes are mixed up pretty well thanks to the elevation change and topography, although it suffers a bit from "straightness." The only thing that felt monotonous was the hiking but it's mountains so you have to expect that sort of thing and as a fat asthmatic that played 2 more mountainous courses the day before I didn't think it was that bad. Plenty of steps and bridges, etc to help ease your traversing.

I really liked the light blue baskets, made them easy to spot in the woods. A variety of tees, most of them a sort of lumpy astroturf variety but they get the job done for the most part. Benches galore, many set up kind of like theater seating. The fairways are nicely defined and the greens are mostly fair, although some better placed logs to prevent bad rollaways would be appreciated. But the mostly old growth trees and many valley shots are well worth a visit.
Cons: A bit of erosion here and there, to be expected with its popularity. On the whole though it seems well taken care of, for example mulch being put down in numerous spots. Hole 8's fairway I believe, could use some choice tree removal IMO. It has roughly 3 distinct fairways off the tee and goes slightly left. The problem is that the fairways kind of disappear after that. Seems like a hole that rewards luck as much as skill because even a good drive can be spoiled by plenty of late trouble.

I've read some reviews that said the valley shots got repetitive, I can't really agree. There are a couple holes where they're strung together but it doesn't feel like you're playing up and down all day to me.

Concrete tees and some longer, more strategy inducing placement style par 4s and 5s here and there would have greatly boosted this course's rating.
Other Thoughts: Just a highly enjoyable course. It felt like a much more mountainous Reedy Creek to me. This course is more fun than it is necessarily challenging for more experienced players. You do need a certain level of skill to hit placements over valleys and such but you don't need to be an advanced player to have fun here. It's basically a difficult terrain par 3 course in a way. A little dated but I highly recommend it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Richmond Hill

2-4    9/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very, very cool mountain course. Several reviews have said it, but if you can drive it straight and get over the large "canyon," you can score well. This review comes after my second time playing the course. I felt much more confident in my throws. Elevation change is what makes this course fun. Be ready to huff and puff!! Tee pads are nice and baskets are visible. Pick your lines and let it fly! I switched to a forehand drive and had a lot of success. I watched several other groups and saw a lot of forehand drives, as well. Something to consider.
Cons: This is a strenuous mountain course. If you're not prepared for that, you will run out of steam very quickly. It was rainy when I played, and the course got really muddy. I'm not whining, just bring several towels if its wet.
Other Thoughts: Being from Charlotte, this is such a great change of pace! If you're in the area, give it a shot! The locals are always happy to help keep you going!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Up, Down, Up, Down, Up....

5+    5/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2013
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout - Richmond Hill is the epitome of mountain disc golf. Elevation defines the course and the layout itself. While some courses try to skate around long up and down hikes throughout the course, this course embraces it.

You're more likely to be throwing up, down or over a valley then you are on relatively flat ground here. Even the holes that play sorta flat have severe drop offs if you ricochet the wrong direction. All of that elevation forces you to be incredibly accurate not only through gaps but in where you are landing your disc; because a miss can really cost you.

Most of the course is wooded and the elevation can cause some serious headaches but the fairways are fair here. Nothing to tight to make it overbearing, nothing that easy either.

The course does a really good job of mixing up the holes so that it doesn't get monotonous; even though many of the shots are relatively straight ones. It mixes in some hyzer/anhyzer holes here and there as well as sending you up and down in a way that keeps in fresh and interesting.

The course also does a good job of keeping the holes mixed in terms of length. You'll find some shorter shots here and some long shots over valleys that are crucial to hit; if you don't you're at the bottom looking up and that's where your score will go.

There's multiple basket locations now and in some cases it changes the direction the hole ends or it makes the hole play much longer.

The greens here are tough mainly because of the elevation. In some cases a missed putt can leave you hundreds of feet down a hill. It adds an entirely new level of pressure to putting.

The course flows really well, it's always pretty easy to see where you're going next, and the paths throughout the course are well defined.

Three or four signature type holes that will stop you for a second just to take it all in.

Equipment - Solid baskets with light blue bands that really stand out in the surroundings. The signage is done in a neat way here, the layout and distance is put on a log top sliced at an angle. Mulch used very well to keep fairways and paths sturdy. Benches, stairs and bridges everywhere they're needed.

There's only portajohns out there but the course loops back to the parking lot multiple times.

Atmosphere - Beautiful Appalachian land framed perfectly for a disc golf setting. The course is always in great condition. Some awesome looking holes on this course, probably one of it's best upsides.

The vibe you get out there from the trees and fellow discers is amazing, everybody is down to earth and friendly.

For a course not that far outside of Asheville you really get a remote feeling on parts of the course, if there wasn't as much traffic it would be even better.
Cons: Layout - I wish there were more holes that made you shape your shot instead of just going straight up/down hills. In a way you might just get to much of that even though it's done well.

A few more open holes within the middle of the course would serve it well but it's not possible. 1 & 18 are open but 1 is just a short little shot that almost seems out of place and forced in at the beginning. 18 is great and more holes like that would really put this course over the top.

I could see a few holes needing a shorter tee designation for less experienced players. As it stands beginners shouldn't come here unless they just like to hike and don't mind throwing uphill a lot.

Equipment - The pads are large but astroturf. I personally didn't have a problem with it but if it was rainy and wet I could see that being a problem. Concrete tees would really help I think.

I think the signs are cool but at times I thought a more traditional descriptive map would help describe the hole better.

This is one course where it really got to me that there wasn't traschans on the course. You need water/beer out on this course because it's such a hike and to not have a place to dispose of it is insane.

Atmosphere - It is normally really crowded here because the course is so great and the other options around aren't that great. It takes away from it all even though everyone is usually cool.
Other Thoughts: Richmond Hill is a good course and will give you a super fun round if you don't mind the hike.

I know some people don't like all of the poisonous vines here, and there is a lot of it. I'll just remind everyone that these types of plants really help stop erosion and that could eventually be a huge problem here.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rollercoaster

1    4/2/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Much-appreciated benches at every hole, and many steps at the steepest portions of the course.

6'x10' astroturf teepads. Multiple pin positions for most every hole.

Simple course to navigate, even w/o the quality map, which is available at the kiosk.

Alternate starting locations: if tee-1 is crowded, tees 5, 10, and 15 are all relatively close to the kiosk,

Practice basket. Plenty of parking. Area dedicated to disc golf.
Cons:
Single tee location. Current basket location not marked on teesign,
Other Thoughts:
Don't let the mostly-open starting and finishing holes fool you - this course, playing up, down, and across a pair of densely wooded slopes, separated by a healthy-sized ravine, is almost entirely about control. While the course can seem a bit short, I had the privilege of playing the course when every basket, sans #10, was in its long position, which made a few holes difficult to reach from the tee, even if all the trees en route were missed.

Holes 2-4 are quite tight, with more tree than air between the tee and the basket, with subtle elevation changes to account for as well. Only the relative shortness of these holes offer the chance to recover with a par after a wayward drive - assuming you can work your way through the trees on the approach.

Numbers 5, 9, 10, and 14 are the across-the ravine holes. While none of these holes is very tight, they all have scattered trees the entire duration. Number #5 long is quite tough, and an early V-shaped mando adds to the challenge on #9.

Holes 6-8 offered, relatively-speaking, generous fairways, but you certainly didn't want to go fade left down the slope on 6-7, as the shule was quite thick down and to the left.

Most-challenging number-11, offering only narrows lines to a basket located far in the distance, left at the end, was followed by easiest hole number-12, which had a highway for a fairway when compared with the hole just played, needing just a little left fade at the end of a straight ~200' toss. There was a downed-tree sitting on tee-13 the day I played, but the basket sat straight ahead, slightly downslope.

Number-15 requires a touch shot, as the basket sits at the bottom of the ravine, but also having many large trees to avoid along the way. Holes 16 and 17 play along the ravine floor, as it slightly heads upwards, with baskets located in challenging mid-slope positions.

While a walking stick isn't necessary to play this course, my 50-year old knees were glad that I had one with me the day I played. If you like a good technical challenge, and enjoy navigating some slopes while doing so, you'll want to play this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very good area course

2-4    12/23/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively easy to find; course starts right next to parking lot; pretty good flow; multiple pins that look regularly moved; tees are generally in good shape; sign at each tee showing general layout of pins along with distance; course demands accuracy over power; beautiful course map available at parking area.
Cons: Lots of similar shots required for the holes; not a lot of shot variety required. WAY too much crossing of the major ravine. Signs at tees don't show which position the pin is in. Tees are astro-turf (fine), and can get water-logged. Several pins on different holes are close together - lots of back-and-forth. Some tees are short. Signs between holes are non-existent.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course, that has the potential to be excellent. I played the course in its "short" configuration (par 3s all around) and didn't get to play it "long"; perhaps the long config would change things up enough. As it was, I found lots of repetitive shots, similar distances on each hole, and WAY too much back-and-forth across the ravine - five times out of 18 holes, all requiring similar shots. I would have loved to see hole 17 in long config; way up on a hummock for a hard par 3/normal par 4. Instead, it was a much easier par 3.

All that said, I had a great time playing the course. It's obvious that the locals take care of the area; lots of built-up stairs, water bars to protect the tees from getting washed away, wood chips to help prevent muddy areas; really well done. To improve, perhaps lengthening the tee on hole 4 (really short), some general maintenance on the rest (some are really low and waterlogged), a sign or two for locating the next tee (especially in the 5-6/8-9 area - very confusing, even with a map), and - perhaps - revamping the layout for less throws over the ravine. It's cool the first time, nice the second time, and it goes downhill from there.

Thanks very much for this course, folks. Keep up the good work!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    9/4/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: DBdiscgolf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean Porta-Toilets, very scenic, sense of being at a top notch course, and interesting layout. It made you think about what shot would be the best before you threw which I thought made the holes very interesting.
Cons: Some holes were beyond challenging and just frustrating. (especially #11) The rough was ROUGH.
Other Thoughts: It rained while we were there which made it a little frustrating at times. Plus I will gladly admit that this course was a bit above my skill level.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a View!

1    4/2/2011   4/21/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Richmond Hill, located in the scenic mountains of Asheville, plays through a mature forest area comprised mostly of pine trees. The terrain is exceptional, with tons of tasty elevation, and nicely defined fairways through the trees that force you to hit your line without being too tight or punishing. Although the mountains and forest make this course seem very isolated, it somehow still has a very park-style vibe to it.
- Massive elevation changes throughout. A valley runs between two large hills and many holes (such as #5 and #9) take advantage of the opportunities to throw from one hill across the valley to the other hill, with minor variances. Despite basically setting up the same shot in a couple of places, the flow between hole styles seemed fresh and never repetitive.
- Tee pads made of plastic grass carpeting, bounded by boards. Footing was never an issue on these, and they played much better than they look. Signs show alternative pin positions, but in places are fairly basic. Next tee signs as needed. Port-a-john and trashcans by the parking lot. Bridges and stairways as needed.
- Good balance throughout between up, down, left, right.
Cons: - Mulch is used heavily in many places. I understand that mulch helps certain areas not become muddy messes, but it seemed a bit like overkill. Maybe it's just a personal preference, but I really dislike playing down fairways of mulch. Not really much of a con, as I suppose I'd rather have the mulch than mud.
- This seems to be a popular, crowded course. Not conducive to peaceful, leisurely rounds; however, for as crowded as the course was when I played it, the pace of play wasn't too bad.
- Not many trashcans (although the course was impeccably clean when I played it).
- There is one or two places you might get temporarily turned around at if you're new to the course and not paying attention, but not an issue if you keep your eyes peeled.
Other Thoughts: - Check out the stunning view from #18's fairway as the sun sets. You will NOT be disappointed.
- Odd sign posted by the parking lot says that sex offenders are not allowed in the park by state law. I hadn't seen anything like that before.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Asheville's Signature Course

5+    2/26/2012   2/18/2011
Review By: ashevillain
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 2/26/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Update as of 2/26/12 - I guess this occurred sometime over the past couple days but there is now a new alternate basket location on Hole #6. I'd guess it's about 175' fade left...but here is the kicker...the basket is raised up so the bottom is about 8' in the air. There are a couple of log steps at the base so you can retrieve your disc. I imagine short people will need a stick or something to get their disc out...or else they will have to shimmy up the pole. ;)

I believe this now leaves Hole #9 as the only hole with only 1 basket location.

Extremely challenging. I like to think it makes me a better player because it forces me either to focus or score a triple bogey. I also like how the course is set up so the front 9 ends and back 9 begins right by the parking lot. All courses should do this.
Cons: A little repetitive with 5, 9, 10 and 14 playing across the ravine. I feel like they maybe could have made one of those holes similar to 15 and the course would have still maintained it's flow.

The course is not real spread out. When it gets crowded (which is often) it's hard not to feel like you are constantly waiting...either waiting on the next hole or waiting until the path is clear around 9, 10 and 15. I didn't take this into account in my rating but I absolutely hate the long position on #8! In general, I'm noticing improvement in my game except when I play this hole!
Other Thoughts: I have to say I prefer the old Richmond Hill course before the Armory showed up. It was more spread out so I never felt like I was throwing near anyone else and it had more variety. This is still a good course though.

One thing I've been noticing recently is the complete lack of course etiquette by an increasing number of people at this course. It's weird because I play about 4-5 different courses around here on a regular basis and Richmond Hill is the worst for course etiquette. For example: I mostly play solo and I encounter lots of groups. It's pretty standard for a group to let a solo player play through. Sometimes this doesn't happen and I'll have to try to figure out how to skip ahead of them (sometimes just easier to skip a hole). Other times (and this one really pisses me off) a group will let me play through and then throw into me as I walk to my disc. Completely uncalled for!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    12/6/2010   12/6/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: fun course. challenging. this and mars hill is a good day of disc golf. mostly wooded. some holes are very tight.
Cons: playing back and forth across valleys. some repetitive shots. not enough open holes for my taste.
Other Thoughts: still fun and def worth the time.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.