Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6 (Taken 4/2011)
3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee (Long Position)



Reviews: 85
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Mt. Awesome

2-4    7/13/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Richmond Hill is off the chain! 100% what you would expect from a town like Asheville. Heavy trees + heavy elevation = exceptional disc golfing. The first and last holes are not typical of this equation. The magic is in the middle. I love the elements an mixture of looks you see on this course.

All of the equipment is fine. Blue rims on the Innova baskets are different and cool. Tees all have signs and only one box per hole. There are multiple pin placements for many holes, mostly in the shortest one when I last played. Good benches on all holes. A lot of nice work with stairs, bridges, and landscaping to make the course easier to traverse.

I won't give a hole by hole breakdown, or bore you with the details of my round. Too many highlights to describe. Expect to be challenged on almost every hole. Number 5 is the prototype for my favorite kind of hole, and there are several variations similar to it on this course. Elevated tee over a fairway that drops steeply and climbs the opposite side of the valley to the target. Numerous trees force accuracy and separate great drives from bogies. One cool feature I haven't seen anywhere else is the mirror hung in the tree behind the 6th tee, enabling you to see the basket standing on the box. Although it was disorienting, and on a short hole so you don't have to walk far to leave the blind spot, but still unique. 9 is another gem crossing the valley the opposite, then 10 turns you around to do it again, but further up the incline. A true beast. I also liked 14 a lot. There are really no bad holes here, with good variety of distances, types of throws, elevation change in a forested setting.
Cons: If you're looking for reasons to disparage the course you'll have to read other reviews. I have none. I guess the tees could be improved, but the decking with rubber mats/outdoor carpeting that is in place was fine to me. Carrying concrete up those slopes would not be fun. If you don't like hiking up and down steep inclines, this may not be the place for you.
Other Thoughts: All I can say is I strongly recommend Richmond Hill, and if you have the chance go play it. The course speaks for itself. I had some trouble finding center on several of the fairways, but made some good saves, and wound up 4 over par on my second visit here. Also had my share of great throws that are so satisfying on a course like this. A very cool course that it worth the physical exertion and frustration you will likely encounter. Reminds me of East Roswell Park near ATL enough for comparison purposes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Course

2-4    5/27/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: flipdog0
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Directions to the course were great, and the course was easy to find. The course has informative placards on each hole showing where the baskets may be located on each hole. Nice large tee-boxes with astroturf. Usually 4 benches on every hole, plenty for bags, and larger groups. Somewhat challenging hike through the woods and extremely challenging disc golf course. The course makes good use of a valley with an abundance of elevation change.
Cons: No information on which pin placement is current(from what I could tell). There are a few holes that could use minor tree removal as they are nearly impossible to score under par. Some holes are hard to find, it would be nice if there were more sign's directing you to the next hole, although if you pick up a scorecard there is a nice map of the course.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended course, although it is very challenging it is a great disc golf experience.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wow!

1    5/1/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Lots of pros. Steps in the deep woods where needed to prevent going up and down slippery slopes. Great holes with wonderful use of elevation. Accuracy more important than distance which I liked. I love the wood chip fairways. My fear of the carpet tees was quickly ended. Great footing. Go too left on 18 and you disc will beat you to the parking lot some 75 foot away. Good signage where needed to next hole.
Cons: Nothing to do for family if not playing golf. While tee signs show two baskets only one. I know plants a little. Lots of 3 leaves around trees that were Poison Ivy. Other than that none.
Other Thoughts: I was in Asheville on business. I played around 7AM on Sunday morning. Only one on course. By the finish there was at least 10 cars in the parking lot some hour later. This is a must play course for anyone. I had played Hilton in Hickory this week also. Hilton is really good and i still liked Richmond Hill better.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One off the wish list

2-4    4/10/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: Zenzubar
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course and marked really well. This course will make you play your best, your not going to just walk through this one. The up keep is nice, maps are usely left a the start of the course. There are also lot of other players there to get tips from. One big pro is there are places to set and enjoy the outside at every tee.
Cons: One big con for me is the trash along the course which is not the parks falt but the people that go there. This is something that needs to stop people, if we want to keep these Disc Golf course we must show we want them and keep them clean. Something that might help this would be to place trash cans at some of the tees. thats just a thought
Other Thoughts: I see this being a course I will keep coming back to again and again. I hope I can find more course as good as this one near where I live.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular! Truely worth the drive...

2-4    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Zaneism
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow, not sure where to begin. First of all, other courses should look to this one for direction, they have put in the work to make this an awesome course. The course is a little difficult to find because of the hilly roads but I didn't have any real trouble. ok, pros....scorecards with map available at kiosk (fantastic) also great tee pads with astroturf-like boxes...very different(although can be slippery when it rains I heard from a local) Baskets are blue instead of normal innova yellow which is unique. multiple hole locations is nice but not multiple baskets. hopefully soon. The stairs and other wood work along the course is beautiful and well done, I will try to post a video of hole 9 which is my favorite!
Cons: Honestly, it is hard to find cons on this course without sounding picky or prudish....I would like to see a few more directional signs telling you which path to take to get to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Elevation is a little much if you are only a casual or beginner but for those who like to play, it's a fantastic change of pace!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course Up and Down

5+    5/30/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 235  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides a stern challenge to shoot well. Beyond holes 1 and 18 the entire course is wooded with demanding fairways. Bring your technical game and make sure it is on to have a chance at scoring well. Accurate drives are prized over distance in most cases and the course can be played with anything from only a mid-range and putter to over stable drivers. All but two holes have multiple pin placements that are switched frequently, especially during tournaments. Seemingly all baskets are on some sort of slope which can leave you with a dangerous putt if you're unlucky enough to miss or roll away. There are constant elevation changes on the course with numerous ravine shots coming into play. The course has a good flow to it with few back up holes which aren't usually a problem as most of the locals I encountered were very nice friendly people that I enjoyed playing with.
Cons: As mentioned by other reviewers, the tee pads are turf. The pads are excellent for the most part in dry conditions but can be slick after a rain storm and affect footing. One or two may become flooded with water too if there is a lot of rain. I saw multiple people wearing soccer cleats to combat this. With the multiple pin placements, there is no indication of where the basket is located on the sign so beware before you throw. I found different pin placements required vastly different discs and type of shot. The only other con I can think to mention is the location of the practice basket. As the course is almost completely wooded, the practice basket is in a wide open flat area next to the parking lot. This is the complete opposite of the type of greens on the rest of the course. Not that its a problem, it just seemed odd to me.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fantastic course where low scores can be achieved but not without a good complete round. There's a board with scorecards and a chalkboard where people can write about lost/found discs near hole one. If you just can't get enough through the 18 holes, the locals add a 19th onto the course. From the tee pad of fifteen to the basket of number one is an extra where you can let them fly in the open. Also there are no trash can on the course itself, only around the parking lot. I noticed this and it was pointed out that it discourages people from leaving their trash on the course. Please keep this course top notch. I look forward to going back and playing it again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very enjoyable

2-4    4/24/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Gary Wittig
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clear paths with score cards for navigation. Nice tee pads, steps, signs. Very well maintained and designed. Excellent terrain with challenging holes.
Cons: Most holes were too short. I never needed anything aside from a single tee drive and putting.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play this course over and over... it is fun enough to spend time perfecting. Plus they have multiple basket positions marked at each tee... which I can imagine is nice for frequent tossers at this course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation is the name of the game

1    9/16/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, Challenging hole layouts, ELEVATION CHANGE!, Well worn in and easy to navigate, excellent tee signs with hole locations, Alternate holes in 16 out of 18 holes, great club that bases their home on the course, Hole 18 offers you a view of the world from the teepad.
Cons: Teepads although better than natural tee's, are still slippery and have sunken in in areas to pool water (and ice when cold). Honestly, I was so impressed with this course that this is one of my only complaints.

Another complaint would be a couple shots that seemed redundant, although this is amazing and completely not what I am used to (highpoint, NC) I could easily see people tiring from these holes that go down the ravine, and then up the ravine, then down the ravine, then up the ravine (about 4 in particular)

Don't let that sway you from visiting this AMAZING course!
Other Thoughts: This course is the epitome of disc golf in western north carolina. For those looking to experience true "mountain golf" please go play this gem!

Watch out for crowds on the weekends as this is one of only a few courses around the area, and fills up very fast. Long waits are expected on just about every hole.

Keep an eye on your discs, the severe elevation makes for intense tree kicks, watching your disc sail sometimes up to 200ft in the wrong direction down a ravine.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Richmond Hill means business

5+    8/29/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.6 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Richmond Hill is a course that was built from the ground up and a tried and true, fully dedicated disc golf course. This isn't some rec park or nature center where they worked in a course on the spare land to bring in a few more people. When you show up and roll into the parking lot, you're there to play!

Several days out of the week, you'll find a disc vendor there that sells all kinds of discs and equipment from several of the classic DG brands. There is a kiosk with course info, scorecards, and upcoming events at the park. There is also public restrooms in the parking lot.

Before you begin your round, take a minute to practice your putts at the spacious practice basket / putting green. Once your ready to see what you're made of, you can check the handy natural signs at each tee box. These signs will give you distances, pars, and pin placement (distinguished by a small screw located next to whatever placement is in use at the time).

Now you'll find yourself being challenged by the course itself. This course demands it all! You'll need accuracy to make it through the often tight fairways, multiple shots to maneuver left and right and S your way down the lanes, power to make it across the steep valleys you will encounter on several holes, and lots of luck to help keep your score low.

Benches on each hole help you regain your energy and maybe even your composure if you had a bad last hole. The course loops back to the parking lot at the turn so you can grab a drink or something from your car before you start the back nine, or simply allows you to play only the front or back 9 if you've only got time for half a round.
Cons: The more I play here, the less cons I find. I do, however, find myself playing there these days with friends who are just starting to learn the sport. For them, they tell me that Richmond Hill just frustrates them. I can totally see that. When you're just beginning and don't have that accuracy tuned in yet, it can be a real downer to keep hitting tree after tree. I tell them that they have to remind themselves that Richmond Hill is more the type of course you go to to test yourself and see what you're really made of. Keep that in mind when you play here.
Other Thoughts: I cut my teeth on the old Richmond Hill just down the road back in 2002. It was a real shame to see that course go. In my opinion, it was a better course all around, yet lacked the amenities that the new one has to offer. Every time I play the new course, I find myself yearning for the old one. Oh well.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Pros and Cons

1    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: JoshJohnson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes laid out in beautiful mountain terrain! 1# and 18# are open beyond that this course could hold a Lumberjack skills competition. The most challenging course I have ever played and I should have birdied the second hole!
Cons: Hit the wrong tree and you may lose your disc. The turf tee-boxes are slick when they are wet so be careful. Well laid out course but they must do a better job of sign placement from hole to hole (very small next tee signs).
Other Thoughts: They have controlled the brush along the fairways quite well but off the beaten path gets very dense. Bring water and shoes with good traction!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.