Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #16
3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: Plays straight, slightly uphill to the 'short' pin. The long pin carries on up the hill to the right.



Reviews: 88
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Not as advertised

1    11/19/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: willstradamus
Played: 32  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.9 Years
6 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: -Course is well kept

-Holes 1 and 18 are very good and a couple other holes are decent.

-park looks beautiful when you arrive at course

-signs, tee pads, baskets, benches
Cons: -Course was fun on about 4 holes the entire round.

-Tee pads were artificial grass and very slick. 2 people in my 2 man group almost slipped and fell on #2s tee pad. That was enough to make every tee shot timid for the rest of the round.

-design is rendundent and uncreative. Plays back and forth over the valley a half dozen times. Same shot, same risk, same reward (which is very little), over and over.

- Made me think of stump creek more than enough to regret the 1 and a half hour drive.

-This course is billed as top ten in the state. That isnt the fault of the course, but it sets up great disappointment for those of us who have played disc golf in the rest of the state.
Other Thoughts: I rated this course a 2.0 which is "reasonable". When I left Richmond Hills I didnt even feel that it was that. Part of the problem was that I expected more. Unfortunately, I played a course that wouldnt even be a top ten course in charlotte much less in NC.

6 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 The best course I've ever played!

2-4    10/23/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Everything! This course has elevation, birdie ops, long, short, technical shots and open bombs. Plenty of bench space at most holes. Great signage and nice flow. Loved Holes 1/5/15/18 especially. Nice practice area and a mobile pro shop even pulled up selling discs! Huge carpet tee pads. I also really dug the blue basket tops. They really stand out in the woods.
Cons: Not a one I can think of unless your too old or fat to climb mountains all day.
Other Thoughts: I WILL make the 5 hour trip to come back here as soon as I can. What a great course. We played the first round at 8:30am and there was only 1 other person out there. Epic scenery + brilliant design = amazing course

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 beautiful, well-maintained, and challenging

5+    9/25/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: smiller
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: beautiful scenic course through a hilly, wooded area. well-maintained tees and baskets. nice combination of challenges.
Cons: poison ivy in the summer is terrible. hills make approaches critical, as a bad bounce or roll can make for a tough recovery.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. the trees are definitely a little tight on some of the holes. there aren't many opportunities to really chuck it for distance. it is all about finesse here.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: bsh301
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 35.3 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I really like the turf pad's. I tend to drag my left foot, and concrete pads tear my shoes up.
A wide variety of shots, pretty well laid out.
Cons: Steep hills with little ground coverage can turn a missed birdie shot into a boogie or even a bd with a bad roll.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course twice now while driving thru, and will continue to play it anytime I get the chance.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 seperates the men from the boys

5+    8/12/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: jimmazz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Difficult, yet acessable fairways. Great hike and a relaxed atmosphere. Bring your A game, and dont be afaraid to use you putter. glide rules.
Cons: Douchebags, and poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is my everyday course. Pack out your trash, and enjoy this truly amazing course/

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    8/15/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: philman
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and trees. Very pretty park and well kept.
Cons: Better signage would be good to cut down confusion on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: We played this because it was the closest on the map at the time we were driving home from a trip to the IDGC in GA. It was the perfect end to a fun golf trip to the south. I had so much fun here I want to play it again some day.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular! Truely worth the drive...

2-4    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Zaneism
Played: 32  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow, not sure where to begin. First of all, other courses should look to this one for direction, they have put in the work to make this an awesome course. The course is a little difficult to find because of the hilly roads but I didn't have any real trouble. ok, pros....scorecards with map available at kiosk (fantastic) also great tee pads with astroturf-like boxes...very different(although can be slippery when it rains I heard from a local) Baskets are blue instead of normal innova yellow which is unique. multiple hole locations is nice but not multiple baskets. hopefully soon. The stairs and other wood work along the course is beautiful and well done, I will try to post a video of hole 9 which is my favorite!
Cons: Honestly, it is hard to find cons on this course without sounding picky or prudish....I would like to see a few more directional signs telling you which path to take to get to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Elevation is a little much if you are only a casual or beginner but for those who like to play, it's a fantastic change of pace!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course Up and Down

5+    5/30/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 254  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides a stern challenge to shoot well. Beyond holes 1 and 18 the entire course is wooded with demanding fairways. Bring your technical game and make sure it is on to have a chance at scoring well. Accurate drives are prized over distance in most cases and the course can be played with anything from only a mid-range and putter to over stable drivers. All but two holes have multiple pin placements that are switched frequently, especially during tournaments. Seemingly all baskets are on some sort of slope which can leave you with a dangerous putt if you're unlucky enough to miss or roll away. There are constant elevation changes on the course with numerous ravine shots coming into play. The course has a good flow to it with few back up holes which aren't usually a problem as most of the locals I encountered were very nice friendly people that I enjoyed playing with.
Cons: As mentioned by other reviewers, the tee pads are turf. The pads are excellent for the most part in dry conditions but can be slick after a rain storm and affect footing. One or two may become flooded with water too if there is a lot of rain. I saw multiple people wearing soccer cleats to combat this. With the multiple pin placements, there is no indication of where the basket is located on the sign so beware before you throw. I found different pin placements required vastly different discs and type of shot. The only other con I can think to mention is the location of the practice basket. As the course is almost completely wooded, the practice basket is in a wide open flat area next to the parking lot. This is the complete opposite of the type of greens on the rest of the course. Not that its a problem, it just seemed odd to me.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fantastic course where low scores can be achieved but not without a good complete round. There's a board with scorecards and a chalkboard where people can write about lost/found discs near hole one. If you just can't get enough through the 18 holes, the locals add a 19th onto the course. From the tee pad of fifteen to the basket of number one is an extra where you can let them fly in the open. Also there are no trash can on the course itself, only around the parking lot. I noticed this and it was pointed out that it discourages people from leaving their trash on the course. Please keep this course top notch. I look forward to going back and playing it again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tree...Love?

1    7/4/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the more challenging courses I've ever played. Richmond Hill includes a number of extremely tight, straight shots through trees over medium distances, with EXTREMELY punishing rough.

We played the course as the raspberries were just getting ripe. And while being able to walk 3 ft from the center of the fairway and pick fresh raspberries is fantastic and uniquely rewarding, it also presents a challenge...raspberry bushes have thorns...as does all the other rampant underbrush on the course. We nearly lost a disc that went 6 ft outside the fairway's centerline. And because much of the course is played along the length of a hill, (with the hill sloping from right to left) it's easy to get 60 ft off the fairway, let alone 6!

The area itself would be worth hiking through. It's a beautiful place of the country. And the course takes advantage of it. 340ft drive across a deep ravine, with the pin placed 20ft higher than the tee box, with tall, mature trees littering either side of the correct (dead-nuts straight) flight line.

The teeboxes are turf. This was my first experience playing on turf tees, and I think I can say with confidence that it's my new favorite, especially when they're as well kept as at Richmond Hill. Some of the fairways are actually bedded with fresh wood chips. To call the course well-maintained is probably insufficient. It's manicured.
Cons: The course largely asks of one skill-set from the player -- throw it straight and accurate. And certainly, that's not an easy charge to handle, given the severe penalties for missing. However, some more line-shaping shots would be fun.
Having said that, players with 350-400ft of controllable driving power will have the opportunity to use some line-shaping to really make a run at a birdy on a couple baskets.

The teepad signs show all possible pin locations, with no reference to which location the pin is actually sitting. So in effect, you still have to hike up to the pin to find your target. It would be nice if they'd mark the active pin with a sticker or something similar.

When we played, the pins were set mostly at their farthest positions. And while that's what I think most experienced players would enjoy most, it's difficult to envision a time of year when the shorter pin locations would be more appropriate. This course would be exponentially easier once a quick frost kills off some of the violent brush that lurks just a couple feet from the perfect line.
Other Thoughts: Bring:
1) hiking shoes
2) knee-high socks
3) your straightest driver
4) water

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  I gotta get in better shape

1    5/27/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: Sennman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, great scenery, helpful map on score card, benches at every tee box, good work out, requires a variety of shots and distances.
Cons: Non-concrete tee boxes, some trouble with finding your way from one basket to the next tee box, very strenuous terrain requiring better than average stamina, very busy course.
Other Thoughts: This course was enjoyable to play and beatiful to look at. The terrain made it quite a work out for two guys from Arkansas. The reviews that list this course as "hilly" have it all wrong....this course is on the side of a mountain. Overall, a very fun place to play, just know what you are getting into.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.