Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #5
4 / 343ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: A long drive across a valley. The short pin is straight across. The long pin is straight up on top of the ridge.



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 seperates the men from the boys

5+    8/12/2010   8/23/2010
Review By: jimmazz
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Difficult, yet acessable fairways. Great hike and a relaxed atmosphere. Bring your A game, and dont be afaraid to use you putter. glide rules.
Cons: Douchebags, and poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is my everyday course. Pack out your trash, and enjoy this truly amazing course/

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    8/15/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: philman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation and trees. Very pretty park and well kept.
Cons: Better signage would be good to cut down confusion on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: We played this because it was the closest on the map at the time we were driving home from a trip to the IDGC in GA. It was the perfect end to a fun golf trip to the south. I had so much fun here I want to play it again some day.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular! Truely worth the drive...

2-4    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Zaneism
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wow, not sure where to begin. First of all, other courses should look to this one for direction, they have put in the work to make this an awesome course. The course is a little difficult to find because of the hilly roads but I didn't have any real trouble. ok, pros....scorecards with map available at kiosk (fantastic) also great tee pads with astroturf-like boxes...very different(although can be slippery when it rains I heard from a local) Baskets are blue instead of normal innova yellow which is unique. multiple hole locations is nice but not multiple baskets. hopefully soon. The stairs and other wood work along the course is beautiful and well done, I will try to post a video of hole 9 which is my favorite!
Cons: Honestly, it is hard to find cons on this course without sounding picky or prudish....I would like to see a few more directional signs telling you which path to take to get to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Elevation is a little much if you are only a casual or beginner but for those who like to play, it's a fantastic change of pace!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course Up and Down

5+    5/30/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 220  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides a stern challenge to shoot well. Beyond holes 1 and 18 the entire course is wooded with demanding fairways. Bring your technical game and make sure it is on to have a chance at scoring well. Accurate drives are prized over distance in most cases and the course can be played with anything from only a mid-range and putter to over stable drivers. All but two holes have multiple pin placements that are switched frequently, especially during tournaments. Seemingly all baskets are on some sort of slope which can leave you with a dangerous putt if you're unlucky enough to miss or roll away. There are constant elevation changes on the course with numerous ravine shots coming into play. The course has a good flow to it with few back up holes which aren't usually a problem as most of the locals I encountered were very nice friendly people that I enjoyed playing with.
Cons: As mentioned by other reviewers, the tee pads are turf. The pads are excellent for the most part in dry conditions but can be slick after a rain storm and affect footing. One or two may become flooded with water too if there is a lot of rain. I saw multiple people wearing soccer cleats to combat this. With the multiple pin placements, there is no indication of where the basket is located on the sign so beware before you throw. I found different pin placements required vastly different discs and type of shot. The only other con I can think to mention is the location of the practice basket. As the course is almost completely wooded, the practice basket is in a wide open flat area next to the parking lot. This is the complete opposite of the type of greens on the rest of the course. Not that its a problem, it just seemed odd to me.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fantastic course where low scores can be achieved but not without a good complete round. There's a board with scorecards and a chalkboard where people can write about lost/found discs near hole one. If you just can't get enough through the 18 holes, the locals add a 19th onto the course. From the tee pad of fifteen to the basket of number one is an extra where you can let them fly in the open. Also there are no trash can on the course itself, only around the parking lot. I noticed this and it was pointed out that it discourages people from leaving their trash on the course. Please keep this course top notch. I look forward to going back and playing it again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tree...Love?

1    7/4/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the more challenging courses I've ever played. Richmond Hill includes a number of extremely tight, straight shots through trees over medium distances, with EXTREMELY punishing rough.

We played the course as the raspberries were just getting ripe. And while being able to walk 3 ft from the center of the fairway and pick fresh raspberries is fantastic and uniquely rewarding, it also presents a challenge...raspberry bushes have thorns...as does all the other rampant underbrush on the course. We nearly lost a disc that went 6 ft outside the fairway's centerline. And because much of the course is played along the length of a hill, (with the hill sloping from right to left) it's easy to get 60 ft off the fairway, let alone 6!

The area itself would be worth hiking through. It's a beautiful place of the country. And the course takes advantage of it. 340ft drive across a deep ravine, with the pin placed 20ft higher than the tee box, with tall, mature trees littering either side of the correct (dead-nuts straight) flight line.

The teeboxes are turf. This was my first experience playing on turf tees, and I think I can say with confidence that it's my new favorite, especially when they're as well kept as at Richmond Hill. Some of the fairways are actually bedded with fresh wood chips. To call the course well-maintained is probably insufficient. It's manicured.
Cons: The course largely asks of one skill-set from the player -- throw it straight and accurate. And certainly, that's not an easy charge to handle, given the severe penalties for missing. However, some more line-shaping shots would be fun.
Having said that, players with 350-400ft of controllable driving power will have the opportunity to use some line-shaping to really make a run at a birdy on a couple baskets.

The teepad signs show all possible pin locations, with no reference to which location the pin is actually sitting. So in effect, you still have to hike up to the pin to find your target. It would be nice if they'd mark the active pin with a sticker or something similar.

When we played, the pins were set mostly at their farthest positions. And while that's what I think most experienced players would enjoy most, it's difficult to envision a time of year when the shorter pin locations would be more appropriate. This course would be exponentially easier once a quick frost kills off some of the violent brush that lurks just a couple feet from the perfect line.
Other Thoughts: Bring:
1) hiking shoes
2) knee-high socks
3) your straightest driver
4) water

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  I gotta get in better shape

1    5/27/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: Sennman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, great scenery, helpful map on score card, benches at every tee box, good work out, requires a variety of shots and distances.
Cons: Non-concrete tee boxes, some trouble with finding your way from one basket to the next tee box, very strenuous terrain requiring better than average stamina, very busy course.
Other Thoughts: This course was enjoyable to play and beatiful to look at. The terrain made it quite a work out for two guys from Arkansas. The reviews that list this course as "hilly" have it all wrong....this course is on the side of a mountain. Overall, a very fun place to play, just know what you are getting into.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course/ Great Town!

1    4/22/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 46  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 15.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had the honor of playing here while on a mini-vacation to Asheville. When playing a wooded courses, I appreciate defined fairways with realistic shot shapes, controlled underbrush, and variety of distances and directions. Richmond Hill mostly delivered based on those metrics. It was obvious that the locals take great care of this course. I've never seen so much mulch used on a disc golf course before. There was no litter! Stairs, bridges, and mulched pathways were abundant. Drastic elevation changes came into play on about half of the holes. One hole had a mirror placed on a tree about 25 ft up so, from the tee, you can spot the hidden basket down the hill. VERY COOL! Hole 17 was a great uphill longer hole with an elevated, well-guarded green. A lot of baskets were placed on the edge of hills, making you think twice about going for birdie or laying up for par. I was proven wrong about my notion of concrete tee superiority. The turf/carpet pads were grippy, level, and long enough. I played with a fun local "Jeb" that told me the tees are great except in snow and ice (which is understandable!).
Cons: With the amount of great local craft beer consumed on this course, I was surprised to see no trash cans located throughout most of the course. Hole one was a waste. I appreciate an open hole to warm up on but this one was way too short to get the arm going (about 250 ft). It looked like there was plenty of land available to improve upon this. Typical to most courses, at least 70% of holes fade left to appease the RHBH crowd. This course needs more distance variety. With all the room provided, some hole lengthening could help. Provided you navigate the trees effectively, most baskets are easily reachable from the drive. I noticed multiple pin placements were available. A few holes shouldn't have even bothered with the short pins as they stripped the holes full potential. Busy course! This is the only 18 hole course in the area so it is very busy. If you play through the groups with a little urgency, this can be played in about an hour. Those playing with a larger group, lots of waiting is in store. I was hesitant to give the course the 4 star rating it has been commonly given. I think the main reason for my 3.5 is due to the lack of distance variety and some redundancy of holes. All other aspects of the course are fantastic in my opinion. If in the area, this is a MUST-PLAY.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is well worth the visit. The area is absolutely beautiful and the course is immaculately maintained. I visited Asheville for a few days to see a band play and sneak in a little golfin. What a great town! If you like craft beer, unique restaurants, and beautiful appalachain scenery, this is an awesome trip. I just wish there were more courses of similar caliber around here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very enjoyable

2-4    4/24/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Gary Wittig
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clear paths with score cards for navigation. Nice tee pads, steps, signs. Very well maintained and designed. Excellent terrain with challenging holes.
Cons: Most holes were too short. I never needed anything aside from a single tee drive and putting.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play this course over and over... it is fun enough to spend time perfecting. Plus they have multiple basket positions marked at each tee... which I can imagine is nice for frequent tossers at this course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played yet

2-4    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long shots, technical shots, elevation challenge, etc... this course has it all! Love holes 9, 10, and 14...feels like your throwing across the grand canyon. seriously no but its cool to throw from one ridge top to the next if you dont knock wood, ha. Definitely for the more experienced players but even my wife got through it in one piece.
Cons: The only bad thing I can say is, some trash cans out on the course would be good and the long hike up and down the hill tops but that really is a complaint from the wife, I thought it was a great work out and envy the people that live right down the street from this park. Did spot a copperhead in a woodpile off of hole 12, sooo.... gotta watch where you step, other than that SWEET course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 NO WATER BRING YOUR OWN

1    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: nice long wooded course. to much mulch and brush. but i belive this course is new. great pin placements but pads are slipery when wet. which is alot. a few holes are repative. suits the big arm thrower with a roc game and side arm. locals are great just need water there
Cons: the took down the old course for this, lets improve this park just a small bit, overall nice layout.
Other Thoughts: front nine comes back out to the cars so if you bring extra beverages take half with you.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.