Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 91
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 A Pleasant walk in the woods

2-4    10/25/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: DiscJunkie
Played: 38  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes. It has short and long, hilly and level, up and down, open and tight. This is the way you want your course to play. Lots of elevation changes. The walking trails between holes were safe and maintained. The baskets had a clearly-visible light blue rim. A LOT of work has gone into this course and it shows. There is always a clear flight path to the basket, sometimes two. Not so tight that it was frustrating, not so open that it was easy. No gimmicky holes, just pure disc golf. Most greens areas were covered in wood chips, which made the footing excellent. We played the day after an all-day rain, but the course was well-drained and not slippery. Benches at every hole. I loved the way the hole was laid out on a post at every hole. I loved the way a bolt was sunk into the post to indicate the basket placement.
Cons: Not a beginner course (con?). No facilities/playground for the wife and kids while Dad is playing, unless you count the walking trails. No water fountains. No permanent Rest Rooms. The pars for the holes were not marked anywhere that I saw. No scorecards were available when I visited. My visit was a last-minute affair so we could not look this info up beforehand. I didn't even see a copy of a scorecard anywhere. No course map anywhere that I saw. The markers that are used for indicating short- and long- placements were incorrectly placed on most of the holes. However, I don't know if this is normal. Navigation is a little confusing at times. No really visitor-friendly.
Other Thoughts: I like that this course was obviously designed from the ground up as a disc golf course. It is a fun course to play, as long as you don't mind the inconveniences (no course map, no scorecards, poor directional markers, Porta-potties, no water fountains). What would have made this a "5" would have been better facilites fand considerations for visitors and out-of-towners like me. The DG alone was great and we really enjoyed ourselves. I'll have to come back and play in the summer.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond In The Rough

1    6/12/2009   9/25/2009
Review By: Kiknwitcooper
Played: 65  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: One of the best and toughest courses I have ever played. Tests how far you can throw with accuracy at this course. Fairly busy. Nice Disc Golfers that don't mind newcomers tagging along.
Cons: Poison Ivy/Oak, so wear long pants or High Socks.
Other Thoughts: Redesigned recently

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Richmond Hill means business

5+    8/29/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: Tin Machine
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.3 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Richmond Hill is a course that was built from the ground up and a tried and true, fully dedicated disc golf course. This isn't some rec park or nature center where they worked in a course on the spare land to bring in a few more people. When you show up and roll into the parking lot, you're there to play!

Several days out of the week, you'll find a disc vendor there that sells all kinds of discs and equipment from several of the classic DG brands. There is a kiosk with course info, scorecards, and upcoming events at the park. There is also public restrooms in the parking lot.

Before you begin your round, take a minute to practice your putts at the spacious practice basket / putting green. Once your ready to see what you're made of, you can check the handy natural signs at each tee box. These signs will give you distances, pars, and pin placement (distinguished by a small screw located next to whatever placement is in use at the time).

Now you'll find yourself being challenged by the course itself. This course demands it all! You'll need accuracy to make it through the often tight fairways, multiple shots to maneuver left and right and S your way down the lanes, power to make it across the steep valleys you will encounter on several holes, and lots of luck to help keep your score low.

Benches on each hole help you regain your energy and maybe even your composure if you had a bad last hole. The course loops back to the parking lot at the turn so you can grab a drink or something from your car before you start the back nine, or simply allows you to play only the front or back 9 if you've only got time for half a round.
Cons: The more I play here, the less cons I find. I do, however, find myself playing there these days with friends who are just starting to learn the sport. For them, they tell me that Richmond Hill just frustrates them. I can totally see that. When you're just beginning and don't have that accuracy tuned in yet, it can be a real downer to keep hitting tree after tree. I tell them that they have to remind themselves that Richmond Hill is more the type of course you go to to test yourself and see what you're really made of. Keep that in mind when you play here.
Other Thoughts: I cut my teeth on the old Richmond Hill just down the road back in 2002. It was a real shame to see that course go. In my opinion, it was a better course all around, yet lacked the amenities that the new one has to offer. Every time I play the new course, I find myself yearning for the old one. Oh well.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/16/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: holmslice
Played: 25  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course situated in a standalone park dedicated to disc golf. First couple holes are decently wide open but the course quickly gets very tight. Signage is pretty helpful and usually correctly identifies which of the two pin locations is being used. Decent variety of holes between right and left and elevation change.
Cons: Tee pads could use a bit of work. Concrete is a must and some are a bit hazardous ending in a shear drop off. A couple extra next tee signs would make this course a little easier to navigate for the first timer.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes for this course. There are not many holes where you have to go straight up or down hill, but most holes have a large down and up component to them. Course ends up wrapping back to the parking lot twice (once at the turn and at hole 14), so if you keep a couple extra drinks in the car they will be easily accessible. Course is pretty tight and technical, not much of a chance for big drives. I found myself often going with a mid-range off the tee pad for increased accuracy through the trees. Overall this a beautiful hike through the wooded hills of Asheville (we even found some wild blackberries on the side of the course) and should be fun for all.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 It's either a Birdie, a Bogey or Worse!

5+    8/31/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 378  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
- It's a great course once you get past the initial seemingly unfairness of it. There are lots of great holes that test your skill set off the tee-pad and throughout... and several holes that test your strategic golf game. You'll need to bring your - BH, FH, Overhand, Short, Medium, Longish, Tight, Tighter, and Luck - game to Richmond Hill.
- There is a great DG Club that is responsible for the maintenance of the course. It's unbelievable how much work they have done to make this course...stairs, walking paths, bridges, retaining walls, tee-pads, and multiple benches on every hole. I've never seen a "mountain" course with more work done to it.
- Great use of elevation in terms of danger. However, I believe more could have been done with the shots themselves having a vertical elevation component. Vertical elevation only really comes into play when you mess up. The canyon holes are awesome, when you get across 'em.
Cons:
- unFAIRways... Some of the holes are slightly unfair in that you could throw a great shot and be snookered out of a reasonable 2nd shot (or) Are unfair in that a lucky shot is the best way to get there.
- There is a general lack of variety... tight gap tree hole after tight gap tree hole. The holes feature slight variations on distance or direction, but tight gap nonetheless. And, don't get me wrong... I like tight holes. I just like other types of holes too.
- I'm worried about erosion issues for the future.
Other Thoughts:
- At Richmond Hill... it is either a birdie, a bogey or worse. Seemingly, there are very few Pars. Although, now that I have played the course numerous times, the pars are there... but, this is how the holes generally play: You either lace a money drive for the biride opportunity (or) Hit a tree somewhere in route, get deflected to some terrible place, have no look at anything except more trees, and are forced to play for bogey or worse. Pars tend to be the result of missed birdie putts or excellent layups. A bogey free round at Richmond Hill is something to write home about.
- Bring your A game to Richmond Hill. This course will test you. If you can't hit gaps 15' wide at 30, 40, 60, 80, 150, etc+... feet away... you're in for a long day.
- And, bring your fairway plastic. Aviars, Leopards, Tee-birds... any disc you can throw straight through gaps and keep on the fairway.
- Really cool locals. I moved into town two months ago and feel as though I was readily accepted (although, we'll see if my review has an effect on that).
- Your GPS will take you to the national guard armory... thus the closest houses address is: 276 Richmond Hill Dr... then drive down the hill, 1/3 around the roundabout and down to the parking lot on the right.
- My Best Score: -4


16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: rossaroo
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: No water please bring water. had disc vender on saturday.. lots of benches every hole is a smoke hole. Women playing golf!!!! and familys.
Cons: bring water.... dont like multible baskets.. Short guy stole one of my discs. lots of wood chips.......
Other Thoughts: bring water... hole 9 brings you back to parking lot.

3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Hardwood Heaven and a Great Sunset!

5+    8/10/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 24.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2015
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Encased in the tight hardwoods is this gem of mountain country with those signature "Tarheel Blue" baskets. This course features shot shaping and crazy elevation over length, which is what I like. The course seems to be dedicated to disc golf too. Signage was nice, stairs placed in the many hillsides - thank goodness because you are constantly going up and down this long gully. It's very woody, but the fairways are reasonably wide to allow you to shape your shots.
Cons: The tee pads have some AstroTurf layer right over the dirt that is uneven and gets slick after rainfall (I had a nasty slip a couple of times). They are short and uneven as well. Please put Flypads or cement.

Repetition of crossing the gully gives a sense of Deja vu on holes 5, 9, 10, 14.

Some of the ups and downs across the gully are a bit repetitive- would have been nice if there were a dogleg or two.
Other Thoughts: The view from 18 tee is a beautiful sight to behold at sunset!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pros and Cons

1    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: JoshJohnson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes laid out in beautiful mountain terrain! 1# and 18# are open beyond that this course could hold a Lumberjack skills competition. The most challenging course I have ever played and I should have birdied the second hole!
Cons: Hit the wrong tree and you may lose your disc. The turf tee-boxes are slick when they are wet so be careful. Well laid out course but they must do a better job of sign placement from hole to hole (very small next tee signs).
Other Thoughts: They have controlled the brush along the fairways quite well but off the beaten path gets very dense. Bring water and shoes with good traction!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

You'll Come back again and again

5+    6/7/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 146  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2016
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is designed perfectly for the most challenging mix of shots. You'll have to throw nearly every technical shot in your arsenal, but you won't get the chance to really bomb one out.

There are many elevation changes which create distance by themselves. There isn't any hole close to 500 ft, but what it they lack in horizontal distance they make up for in elevation.

There is a decent mix of short, medium and long holes due to alternate pin positions. Only one tee pad per hole, but up to 3 different pin positions. This allows the course to take on a whole new persona, but can intimidate some novice players in the long.

Navigation isn't an issue at all, as most holes are intuitively located. Many tee signs are constructed out of a stump, which is unique.

The difficulty of the course will keep the seasoned players coming back. You could stand to three or four putt holes if your disc takes a wrong bounce and rolls down the hill.
Cons: Only two "open holes" with only a few trees at each. A truly great course will have a balanced mix of technical and open, in my opinion. Richmond hill lacks that balance but makes up for it in difficulty.

Play conservative if not confident in your shot due to the extreme thickness of the brush, especially in the summer. You'll easily lose a disc and at the very least get poison ivy.

Some shots do become repetitive as they cross the same valley multiple times. Don't get me wrong, they are still fun shots, but holes 10 and 14 feel like filler holes, just to get you to 11 and 15.

There isn't any water in play. This is a major drawback to a course of this caliber.

The tee pads, although well constructed and large, are made of turf. While great when dry, they will be extremely slick when wet. Play with care after/during a storm.
Other Thoughts: A fully supportive community maintains many tournaments and doubles tourneys. Three days a week (weather permitting) a traveling pro shop is available on site for your disc needs.

An awesome course from start to finish and a must play for any serious disc golfer.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A workout

5+    10/1/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: Rockwell
Played: 97  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Park dedicated solely to disc golf.
Well manicured, well thought out design requiring skill in execution of shots.

Hole 5: Signature Hole? I think so. Standing on the tee gives you a sense of your smallness in this big world (and big hole). Lace a drive over the gully and halfway up the other side, and you'll feel a little bigger.

Hole 9: A gantlet of a shot over wooded ravine that begs you to split the V-trees and scoot up the hillside for a birdie. But it is a fickle hole, and you will often find yourself at the bottom of the ravine, hoping for a par save.

Hole 17: A beauty of a three shot hole when in the long position. You are given choices off the tee of how you want to set up your second shot, which will take you up to a terraced green. This hole requires the often neglected upshot.

Hole 18: A scary way to finish a round. After being jailed in by huge trees for an hour, you are birthed onto a teepad overlooking a semi open fairway that can spell disaster or triumph. Strong winds are always a factor here. Don't be lulled by the great mountain view, you still have work to do.
Cons: Can get busy. (which is a pro for our sport, so just play at non peak hours)
Other Thoughts: What a disc golf experience should be like.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.