Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket (Long Position)

Reviews: 88
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    7/16/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: holmslice
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful course situated in a standalone park dedicated to disc golf. First couple holes are decently wide open but the course quickly gets very tight. Signage is pretty helpful and usually correctly identifies which of the two pin locations is being used. Decent variety of holes between right and left and elevation change.
Cons: Tee pads could use a bit of work. Concrete is a must and some are a bit hazardous ending in a shear drop off. A couple extra next tee signs would make this course a little easier to navigate for the first timer.
Other Thoughts: Bring your hiking shoes for this course. There are not many holes where you have to go straight up or down hill, but most holes have a large down and up component to them. Course ends up wrapping back to the parking lot twice (once at the turn and at hole 14), so if you keep a couple extra drinks in the car they will be easily accessible. Course is pretty tight and technical, not much of a chance for big drives. I found myself often going with a mid-range off the tee pad for increased accuracy through the trees. Overall this a beautiful hike through the wooded hills of Asheville (we even found some wild blackberries on the side of the course) and should be fun for all.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 It's either a Birdie, a Bogey or Worse!

5+    8/31/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 331  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2011
16 Helpful / 1 Not
- It's a great course once you get past the initial seemingly unfairness of it. There are lots of great holes that test your skill set off the tee-pad and throughout... and several holes that test your strategic golf game. You'll need to bring your - BH, FH, Overhand, Short, Medium, Longish, Tight, Tighter, and Luck - game to Richmond Hill.
- There is a great DG Club that is responsible for the maintenance of the course. It's unbelievable how much work they have done to make this course...stairs, walking paths, bridges, retaining walls, tee-pads, and multiple benches on every hole. I've never seen a "mountain" course with more work done to it.
- Great use of elevation in terms of danger. However, I believe more could have been done with the shots themselves having a vertical elevation component. Vertical elevation only really comes into play when you mess up. The canyon holes are awesome, when you get across 'em.
- unFAIRways... Some of the holes are slightly unfair in that you could throw a great shot and be snookered out of a reasonable 2nd shot (or) Are unfair in that a lucky shot is the best way to get there.
- There is a general lack of variety... tight gap tree hole after tight gap tree hole. The holes feature slight variations on distance or direction, but tight gap nonetheless. And, don't get me wrong... I like tight holes. I just like other types of holes too.
- I'm worried about erosion issues for the future.
Other Thoughts:
- At Richmond Hill... it is either a birdie, a bogey or worse. Seemingly, there are very few Pars. Although, now that I have played the course numerous times, the pars are there... but, this is how the holes generally play: You either lace a money drive for the biride opportunity (or) Hit a tree somewhere in route, get deflected to some terrible place, have no look at anything except more trees, and are forced to play for bogey or worse. Pars tend to be the result of missed birdie putts or excellent layups. A bogey free round at Richmond Hill is something to write home about.
- Bring your A game to Richmond Hill. This course will test you. If you can't hit gaps 15' wide at 30, 40, 60, 80, 150, etc+... feet away... you're in for a long day.
- And, bring your fairway plastic. Aviars, Leopards, Tee-birds... any disc you can throw straight through gaps and keep on the fairway.
- Really cool locals. I moved into town two months ago and feel as though I was readily accepted (although, we'll see if my review has an effect on that).
- Your GPS will take you to the national guard armory... thus the closest houses address is: 276 Richmond Hill Dr... then drive down the hill, 1/3 around the roundabout and down to the parking lot on the right.
- My Best Score: -4

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.


1    8/18/2009   8/29/2009
Review By: rossaroo
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: No water please bring water. had disc vender on saturday.. lots of benches every hole is a smoke hole. Women playing golf!!!! and familys.
Cons: bring water.... dont like multible baskets.. Short guy stole one of my discs. lots of wood chips.......
Other Thoughts: bring water... hole 9 brings you back to parking lot.

3 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Hardwood Heaven and a Great Sunset!

5+    8/10/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2015
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Encased in the tight hardwoods is this gem of mountain country with those signature "Tarheel Blue" baskets. This course features shot shaping and crazy elevation over length, which is what I like. The course seems to be dedicated to disc golf too. Signage was nice, stairs placed in the many hillsides - thank goodness because you are constantly going up and down this long gully. It's very woody, but the fairways are reasonably wide to allow you to shape your shots.
Cons: The tee pads have some AstroTurf layer right over the dirt that is uneven and gets slick after rainfall (I had a nasty slip a couple of times). They are short and uneven as well. Please put Flypads or cement.

Repetition of crossing the gully gives a sense of Deja vu on holes 5, 9, 10, 14.

Some of the ups and downs across the gully are a bit repetitive- would have been nice if there were a dogleg or two.
Other Thoughts: The view from 18 tee is a beautiful sight to behold at sunset!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Pros and Cons

1    8/15/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: JoshJohnson
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 18 holes laid out in beautiful mountain terrain! 1# and 18# are open beyond that this course could hold a Lumberjack skills competition. The most challenging course I have ever played and I should have birdied the second hole!
Cons: Hit the wrong tree and you may lose your disc. The turf tee-boxes are slick when they are wet so be careful. Well laid out course but they must do a better job of sign placement from hole to hole (very small next tee signs).
Other Thoughts: They have controlled the brush along the fairways quite well but off the beaten path gets very dense. Bring water and shoes with good traction!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

You'll Come back again and again

5+    6/7/2009   6/12/2009
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 122  Reviewed: 52  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2015
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is designed perfectly for the most challenging mix of shots. You'll have to throw nearly every technical shot in your arsenal, but you won't get the chance to really bomb one out.

There are many elevation changes which create distance by themselves. There isn't any hole close to 500 ft, but what it they lack in horizontal distance they make up for in elevation.

There is a decent mix of short, medium and long holes due to alternate pin positions. Only one tee pad per hole, but up to 3 different pin positions. This allows the course to take on a whole new persona, but can intimidate some novice players in the long.

Navigation isn't an issue at all, as most holes are intuitively located. Many tee signs are constructed out of a stump, which is unique.

The difficulty of the course will keep the seasoned players coming back. You could stand to three or four putt holes if your disc takes a wrong bounce and rolls down the hill.
Cons: Only two "open holes" with only a few trees at each. A truly great course will have a balanced mix of technical and open, in my opinion. Richmond hill lacks that balance but makes up for it in difficulty.

Play conservative if not confident in your shot due to the extreme thickness of the brush, especially in the summer. You'll easily lose a disc and at the very least get poison ivy.

Some shots do become repetitive as they cross the same valley multiple times. Don't get me wrong, they are still fun shots, but holes 10 and 14 feel like filler holes, just to get you to 11 and 15.

There isn't any water in play. This is a major drawback to a course of this caliber.

The tee pads, although well constructed and large, are made of turf. While great when dry, they will be extremely slick when wet. Play with care after/during a storm.
Other Thoughts: A fully supportive community maintains many tournaments and doubles tourneys. Three days a week (weather permitting) a traveling pro shop is available on site for your disc needs.

An awesome course from start to finish and a must play for any serious disc golfer.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A workout

5+    10/1/2008   6/12/2009
Review By: Rockwell
Played: 79  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Park dedicated solely to disc golf.
Well manicured, well thought out design requiring skill in execution of shots.

Hole 5: Signature Hole? I think so. Standing on the tee gives you a sense of your smallness in this big world (and big hole). Lace a drive over the gully and halfway up the other side, and you'll feel a little bigger.

Hole 9: A gantlet of a shot over wooded ravine that begs you to split the V-trees and scoot up the hillside for a birdie. But it is a fickle hole, and you will often find yourself at the bottom of the ravine, hoping for a par save.

Hole 17: A beauty of a three shot hole when in the long position. You are given choices off the tee of how you want to set up your second shot, which will take you up to a terraced green. This hole requires the often neglected upshot.

Hole 18: A scary way to finish a round. After being jailed in by huge trees for an hour, you are birthed onto a teepad overlooking a semi open fairway that can spell disaster or triumph. Strong winds are always a factor here. Don't be lulled by the great mountain view, you still have work to do.
Cons: Can get busy. (which is a pro for our sport, so just play at non peak hours)
Other Thoughts: What a disc golf experience should be like.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful, yet Easy

1    5/21/2009   5/29/2009
Review By: nosajeel99
Played: 37  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 14.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Richmond Hill is a great course. The fairways are nicely defined, it is easy to navigate, and it has a good mix of holes. This course is in the mountains, but much has been done on this course to make it easy to traverse. There are stairs, benches, and boardwalks in many places and this gives the course a very welcoming feel, one that shows care for navigation. It is really easy to find the next tee, despite there being only a few "Next Tee" signs. In my opinion, the best courses have a navigation scheme where you just know where you are going by the trails, and Richmond Hill does that. I was never lost.

The signs at the tees are unique and helpful, giving a general idea of how the hole is shaped and also mark which pin position the basket is in.

There is a ton of elevation change and it is noticeable on nearly every drive.

This park is clean and well manicured.

There were some memorable holes and greens on this course and a lot of the holes had their own unique flavor to them. There are two pin placements per hole and the pin placements are not extreme differences, but will make you take a slightly different approach to a hole.

Some memorable moments: #17's green is up a steep hill (in the long position); #9 has a tight drive through two sets of trees; #18's pin is placed precariously on the top of a hill with a steep slope on either side.

This course fits together nicely (a big deal in my opinion), looks good, plays well, and is a great example of what disc golf courses should strive for.
Cons: My biggest gripe with this course is that it is, actually, pretty easy. Even with baskets in the long position, the holes are all fairly straightforward and simple. There are a lot of birdie-2 opportunities, and those that aren't 2s should be a 3, no problem.

One can see most of the baskets from the tee - even in the long position. There are no forced layups, no need for a second drive, no real planning the first drive beyond "get it close to the basket."

This is by no means a beginner course, though. There is a fair amount of challenge in navigating the trees on some holes, but in general, the fairways are more than ample. I would determine this to be an intermediate course. I feel that the pros and more advanced players will definitely want something more.

The tee pads were not as bad as some of the reviews made me think, but some are a bit short. (I actually liked the turf/grass idea.)

No water in play.

Some repetition in hole types, but again, not as bad as the other reviews made me think.

Other Thoughts: Richmond Hill is a very good course and well worth a stop if you are anywhere near Asheville. I think the course as a whole is one of the best in terms of extras to help in walking the mountainous terrain and many courses can learn something from here. There are personal touches all over the place and I loved it. I had fun playing disc golf, though I do wish there was a little more of a challenge in the end.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Asheville at its Finest

5+    9/27/2008   4/27/2009
Review By: Mtn Huckin
Played: 74  Reviewed: 14
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great example of Disc Golf in the Appalachians. Interesting Turf T Pads. Lots of Elevation and deep woods mean you got to be on it. Very Beautiful Course
Cons: There is a deep valley that runs through this course and a few holes. The valley gets traversed (in the same way) a few too many times. No use of off camber shots that help define Mountain Golf. Just down and back up the same thing the same way.
Other Thoughts: Great Course!!! Beautiful all the time and in the fall you will be blown away. Way to go Asheville....I also liked the original Richmond Hill to bad its gone, the two next to each other would have made an amazing destination.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Perfection!.....with a few blemishes

2-4    6/17/2008   4/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I do not have any course preview details to add so this is what I personally like and how this course stacks up against that:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B+ (Many great holes, but things seem a little too vanilla compared to the potential.)
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A- (Many great holes, but too many "tweener" holes for me - birdies impossible, par boring, bogey a downer)
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- A- (Too many fairways are either too wide or do not have a shape that seemed to fit the flight path of a disc. I think opportunity was missed to make some really awe-inspiring holes based on the available terrain. Instead of awe-inspiring and unique, to many holes are merely good to great holes).
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B+ (Seclusion level is awesome! Beauty however, is disappointing. Maybe it is unfair to compare to the old course, but that course had streams, lots of deciduous stands, ferns, etc. The new layout is all in pine forest - much more drab.)
5) Bonus amount for multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Cons: My review sucks. I _really_ wish I could give an A+ to the course rather than the A- I gave. The area, the great folks of Asheville, the work involved to install the course, the unique Asheville touch of the tee signs, etc deserve that. Gotta be honest though.
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.