Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #18 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 363ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket



Reviews: 84
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hope you like wooded holes!

5+    10/10/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple pins! I don't think I have played this course twice in a row where the pins were in the same place.
-They have new signs that show the different pins and the footage.
-The tee pads are nice but there is a problem I'll address in the cons.
-It is laid out like a traditional golf course where the front nine and back nine start very close to each other, so if there looks like a large group teeing off on hole one you can start on hole 10
-Nice, light blue Innova Discatchers
-Not too difficult to navigate by yourself but I would still suggest a guide if there isn't a group ahead of you that you can keep up with
-A great mix of elevation and distances throughout the course
-Nice stairs on the steeper parts of the course.
Cons: -There are a lot of muddy areas if has rained much any time fairly recent
-The tee pads can be very slick even if hasn't rained very much at all, so do a mock run up if you think they may be wet (I have about slid off the front of the tee pads a few times)
-There is a walking trail mingled in with a few of the holes, so keep that in mind and watch for non disc golfers
Other Thoughts: I like the challenge this course provides. If you don't have consistent accuracy you will start working on it after playing this course a few times. You will also get worn out if you aren't used to hiking up hills on every other hole. There has been some vandalism on the mirror on hole 6. If you haven't played before, you can look at a mirror behind the tee on hole 6 to see if the basket is clear. It is still usable, but it ticks me off that some punk would do this.

I feel that I rated this course a little higher than I normally would, but there is not much of the course that is shared with something else in the park. I can really only think of 1 or 2 holes that the trail is in play. I really like courses that I don't have to worry about throwing into pedestrian areas. That adds another half to full point in how I rate courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Richmond Hill

2-4    9/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very, very cool mountain course. Several reviews have said it, but if you can drive it straight and get over the large "canyon," you can score well. This review comes after my second time playing the course. I felt much more confident in my throws. Elevation change is what makes this course fun. Be ready to huff and puff!! Tee pads are nice and baskets are visible. Pick your lines and let it fly! I switched to a forehand drive and had a lot of success. I watched several other groups and saw a lot of forehand drives, as well. Something to consider.
Cons: This is a strenuous mountain course. If you're not prepared for that, you will run out of steam very quickly. It was rainy when I played, and the course got really muddy. I'm not whining, just bring several towels if its wet.
Other Thoughts: Being from Charlotte, this is such a great change of pace! If you're in the area, give it a shot! The locals are always happy to help keep you going!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Be in shape for this bad boy

5+    6/27/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Supreme edge to those who can drive with accuracy. Good tee boxes. Easy to navigate. Underbrush is beat down well. Porta toilets at the parking lot are greatly appreciated with how far this is from a public bathroom. Friendly local players.
Cons: The grand canyon ravine. A good half of the holes go back and forth over this enormous ditch, 200ft across and 100ft deep. If your drive hits anything on these holes, or doesn't get a solid landing on the other side, you will be dead in the bottom of this ravine. This also takes a lot of energy to navigate up and down, and to make heavy uphill throws if you are unlucky enough to grip lock one or have a slightly off center drive.
Other Thoughts: Dogs are allowed on leashes and are common to see off a leash, I don't mind it but some people do. I wouldn't suggest a tourny bag your first go around on this course. Take something smaller and lighter and you'll thank me later.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Up, Down, Up, Down, Up....

5+    5/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2013
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout - Richmond Hill is the epitome of mountain disc golf. Elevation defines the course and the layout itself. While some courses try to skate around long up and down hikes throughout the course, this course embraces it.

You're more likely to be throwing up, down or over a valley then you are on relatively flat ground here. Even the holes that play sorta flat have severe drop offs if you ricochet the wrong direction. All of that elevation forces you to be incredibly accurate not only through gaps but in where you are landing your disc; because a miss can really cost you.

Most of the course is wooded and the elevation can cause some serious headaches but the fairways are fair here. Nothing to tight to make it overbearing, nothing that easy either.

The course does a really good job of mixing up the holes so that it doesn't get monotonous; even though many of the shots are relatively straight ones. It mixes in some hyzer/anhyzer holes here and there as well as sending you up and down in a way that keeps in fresh and interesting.

The course also does a good job of keeping the holes mixed in terms of length. You'll find some shorter shots here and some long shots over valleys that are crucial to hit; if you don't you're at the bottom looking up and that's where your score will go.

There's multiple basket locations now and in some cases it changes the direction the hole ends or it makes the hole play much longer.

The greens here are tough mainly because of the elevation. In some cases a missed putt can leave you hundreds of feet down a hill. It adds an entirely new level of pressure to putting.

The course flows really well, it's always pretty easy to see where you're going next, and the paths throughout the course are well defined.

Three or four signature type holes that will stop you for a second just to take it all in.

Equipment - Solid baskets with light blue bands that really stand out in the surroundings. The signage is done in a neat way here, the layout and distance is put on a log top sliced at an angle. Mulch used very well to keep fairways and paths sturdy. Benches, stairs and bridges everywhere they're needed.

There's only portajohns out there but the course loops back to the parking lot multiple times.

Atmosphere - Beautiful Appalachian land framed perfectly for a disc golf setting. The course is always in great condition. Some awesome looking holes on this course, probably one of it's best upsides.

The vibe you get out there from the trees and fellow discers is amazing, everybody is down to earth and friendly.

For a course not that far outside of Asheville you really get a remote feeling on parts of the course, if there wasn't as much traffic it would be even better.
Cons: Layout - I wish there were more holes that made you shape your shot instead of just going straight up/down hills. In a way you might just get to much of that even though it's done well.

A few more open holes within the middle of the course would serve it well but it's not possible. 1 & 18 are open but 1 is just a short little shot that almost seems out of place and forced in at the beginning. 18 is great and more holes like that would really put this course over the top.

I could see a few holes needing a shorter tee designation for less experienced players. As it stands beginners shouldn't come here unless they just like to hike and don't mind throwing uphill a lot.

Equipment - The pads are large but astroturf. I personally didn't have a problem with it but if it was rainy and wet I could see that being a problem. Concrete tees would really help I think.

I think the signs are cool but at times I thought a more traditional descriptive map would help describe the hole better.

This is one course where it really got to me that there wasn't traschans on the course. You need water/beer out on this course because it's such a hike and to not have a place to dispose of it is insane.

Atmosphere - It is normally really crowded here because the course is so great and the other options around aren't that great. It takes away from it all even though everyone is usually cool.
Other Thoughts: Richmond Hill is a good course and will give you a super fun round if you don't mind the hike.

I know some people don't like all of the poisonous vines here, and there is a lot of it. I'll just remind everyone that these types of plants really help stop erosion and that could eventually be a huge problem here.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Play disc golf while you hike!

1    5/28/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, challenging even for the best of players, lots of change in elevation and different looks at the baskets, *if you enjoy hiking then this is the best of both worlds as you will be climbing up and down many steep hills throughout the wooded course.
Cons: Almost too challenging for scratch players, course was somewhat hard to find, even with course map some holes were difficult to find, *if you are not a fan of hiking then you may hate this course as it requires lots of trekking up and down steep hills throughout.
Other Thoughts: Overall interesting course as it provides a very tough challenge. I would not take a newcomer here for their first time as I could see them getting discouraged quick. I would also recommend using the premium plastics here as your cheaper plastics will get dinged up pretty quick due to the amount of trees on this course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Course

2-4    5/27/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: flipdog0
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Directions to the course were great, and the course was easy to find. The course has informative placards on each hole showing where the baskets may be located on each hole. Nice large tee-boxes with astroturf. Usually 4 benches on every hole, plenty for bags, and larger groups. Somewhat challenging hike through the woods and extremely challenging disc golf course. The course makes good use of a valley with an abundance of elevation change.
Cons: No information on which pin placement is current(from what I could tell). There are a few holes that could use minor tree removal as they are nearly impossible to score under par. Some holes are hard to find, it would be nice if there were more sign's directing you to the next hole, although if you pick up a scorecard there is a nice map of the course.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended course, although it is very challenging it is a great disc golf experience.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, best in Asheville

1    5/16/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: skottyb
Played: 52  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 15.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course, good location as It's not far from downtown, definitely the signature course Of Asheville. Great elevation changes throughout, you must hit the gaps tO score well. Lots of subpar 300 ft holes with very tight fairways. Great baskets and easily visible once you spot them. Big ups to the volunteerism, it truly is the sport of disc golf, great mulch job On a lot of holes, could only imagine how long that took.
Cons: Tee pads, the turf is nice unless it's worn and covered with mud, scary footing, but after knowing how much rain they get every year what can you do. Just have you learn to throw 1-2 step. I had trouble fInding the pin location so I had to walk the hole before I threw it, should mark the location on the sign with a colored nut and bolt.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely play another if I had the time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rollercoaster

1    4/2/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Much-appreciated benches at every hole, and many steps at the steepest portions of the course.

6'x10' astroturf teepads. Multiple pin positions for most every hole.

Simple course to navigate, even w/o the quality map, which is available at the kiosk.

Alternate starting locations: if tee-1 is crowded, tees 5, 10, and 15 are all relatively close to the kiosk,

Practice basket. Plenty of parking. Area dedicated to disc golf.
Cons:
Single tee location. Current basket location not marked on teesign,
Other Thoughts:
Don't let the mostly-open starting and finishing holes fool you - this course, playing up, down, and across a pair of densely wooded slopes, separated by a healthy-sized ravine, is almost entirely about control. While the course can seem a bit short, I had the privilege of playing the course when every basket, sans #10, was in its long position, which made a few holes difficult to reach from the tee, even if all the trees en route were missed.

Holes 2-4 are quite tight, with more tree than air between the tee and the basket, with subtle elevation changes to account for as well. Only the relative shortness of these holes offer the chance to recover with a par after a wayward drive - assuming you can work your way through the trees on the approach.

Numbers 5, 9, 10, and 14 are the across-the ravine holes. While none of these holes is very tight, they all have scattered trees the entire duration. Number #5 long is quite tough, and an early V-shaped mando adds to the challenge on #9.

Holes 6-8 offered, relatively-speaking, generous fairways, but you certainly didn't want to go fade left down the slope on 6-7, as the shule was quite thick down and to the left.

Most-challenging number-11, offering only narrows lines to a basket located far in the distance, left at the end, was followed by easiest hole number-12, which had a highway for a fairway when compared with the hole just played, needing just a little left fade at the end of a straight ~200' toss. There was a downed-tree sitting on tee-13 the day I played, but the basket sat straight ahead, slightly downslope.

Number-15 requires a touch shot, as the basket sits at the bottom of the ravine, but also having many large trees to avoid along the way. Holes 16 and 17 play along the ravine floor, as it slightly heads upwards, with baskets located in challenging mid-slope positions.

While a walking stick isn't necessary to play this course, my 50-year old knees were glad that I had one with me the day I played. If you like a good technical challenge, and enjoy navigating some slopes while doing so, you'll want to play this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Play this one

1    2/18/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: Dale W
Played: 81  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Carved out of the mountain itself, this course has something for everyone. Mostly very techincal, there are a couple holes that are wide open. And even the technical holes are somewhat forgiving if you misplace a shot with a line to throw. Excellent sinage at the astro-turf covered tee boxes. Benches on every hole. All the locals were very friendly.
Cons: A little difficult to find initially, but well worth the seach. A few of the climbs through the valleys could use a little bit of care.
Other Thoughts: One of the most (maybe THE most) senic courses I have played. If you are afraid of heights or not in decent shape, this course may not be for you. The valley shots were amazing (and a little maddening when my disc would roll to the bottom). If you are anywhere within 200 miles you need to make the trip.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/4/2011   3/9/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 42  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this course was a huge breath of fresh air from brevard college, which is where i always play, cus im right down the road. this course is challenging. it is heavily wooded, the holes are well marked, and the course is layed out very nicely. i havnt played many courses that you have to use a large arsenal of shots, so this is a fun course.
Cons: for me, its tough cus im used to a wide open course and not having to make many technical shots. there were a lot of people on the course, including joggers, bikers, and hikers. so just watch before you throw.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.