Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #13
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Drives long, downhill. Heavy shule off to the left. Short pin is straight down hill. Long pin is way down at bottom.



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fun mountain course.

1    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 111  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 8.1 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's in Appalachia so all that scenic goodness and nature vibes are in abundance. The holes are mixed up pretty well thanks to the elevation change and topography, although it suffers a bit from "straightness." The only thing that felt monotonous was the hiking but it's mountains so you have to expect that sort of thing and as a fat asthmatic that played 2 more mountainous courses the day before I didn't think it was that bad. Plenty of steps and bridges, etc to help ease your traversing.

I really liked the light blue baskets, made them easy to spot in the woods. A variety of tees, most of them a sort of lumpy astroturf variety but they get the job done for the most part. Benches galore, many set up kind of like theater seating. The fairways are nicely defined and the greens are mostly fair, although some better placed logs to prevent bad rollaways would be appreciated. But the mostly old growth trees and many valley shots are well worth a visit.
Cons: A bit of erosion here and there, to be expected with its popularity. On the whole though it seems well taken care of, for example mulch being put down in numerous spots. Hole 8's fairway I believe, could use some choice tree removal IMO. It has roughly 3 distinct fairways off the tee and goes slightly left. The problem is that the fairways kind of disappear after that. Seems like a hole that rewards luck as much as skill because even a good drive can be spoiled by plenty of late trouble.

I've read some reviews that said the valley shots got repetitive, I can't really agree. There are a couple holes where they're strung together but it doesn't feel like you're playing up and down all day to me.

Concrete tees and some longer, more strategy inducing placement style par 4s and 5s here and there would have greatly boosted this course's rating.
Other Thoughts: Just a highly enjoyable course. It felt like a much more mountainous Reedy Creek to me. This course is more fun than it is necessarily challenging for more experienced players. You do need a certain level of skill to hit placements over valleys and such but you don't need to be an advanced player to have fun here. It's basically a difficult terrain par 3 course in a way. A little dated but I highly recommend it.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking meets disc golf...perfect combo

1    11/23/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 63  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent course. It was nice to see many disc golfers out and enjoying the course. Often when I play, I'll have the course to myself mostly. My wife and I played this course on our way to SC and GA for a road trip which involved a ton of disc golf ;-) Richmond Hills was one of our favorites because it seemed to have more elevation change than we've played yet, (was a great mix of hiking and disc golf) and all of the signage, tee boxes, benches and baskets were in excellent shape. I would highly recommend this course to anyone visiting the Smokey Mountain area....it will definitely put your skills to the test!
Cons: A couple of holes seemed nearly impossible to make par (to me).... and seemed to depend more on luck than skill to have even a shot at par.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely love to play this course again if in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    8/5/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: jgrubb22
Played: 39  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great course with a good mixture of holes. I love the tee pads here and the course is in a nice location. Has a nicd practice area with tons of parking. I always get excited when we head to play this course.
Cons: Dont really have any.
Other Thoughts: Make sure ur in good shape cause there is plenty of hills to walk up and down. Also make sure ur on ur game when u go here cause there is some tight shots.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Hope you like wooded holes!

5+    10/10/2012   10/26/2012
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Multiple pins! I don't think I have played this course twice in a row where the pins were in the same place.
-They have new signs that show the different pins and the footage.
-The tee pads are nice but there is a problem I'll address in the cons.
-It is laid out like a traditional golf course where the front nine and back nine start very close to each other, so if there looks like a large group teeing off on hole one you can start on hole 10
-Nice, light blue Innova Discatchers
-Not too difficult to navigate by yourself but I would still suggest a guide if there isn't a group ahead of you that you can keep up with
-A great mix of elevation and distances throughout the course
-Nice stairs on the steeper parts of the course.
Cons: -There are a lot of muddy areas if has rained much any time fairly recent
-The tee pads can be very slick even if hasn't rained very much at all, so do a mock run up if you think they may be wet (I have about slid off the front of the tee pads a few times)
-There is a walking trail mingled in with a few of the holes, so keep that in mind and watch for non disc golfers
Other Thoughts: I like the challenge this course provides. If you don't have consistent accuracy you will start working on it after playing this course a few times. You will also get worn out if you aren't used to hiking up hills on every other hole. There has been some vandalism on the mirror on hole 6. If you haven't played before, you can look at a mirror behind the tee on hole 6 to see if the basket is clear. It is still usable, but it ticks me off that some punk would do this.

I feel that I rated this course a little higher than I normally would, but there is not much of the course that is shared with something else in the park. I can really only think of 1 or 2 holes that the trail is in play. I really like courses that I don't have to worry about throwing into pedestrian areas. That adds another half to full point in how I rate courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Richmond Hill

2-4    9/16/2012   9/18/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very, very cool mountain course. Several reviews have said it, but if you can drive it straight and get over the large "canyon," you can score well. This review comes after my second time playing the course. I felt much more confident in my throws. Elevation change is what makes this course fun. Be ready to huff and puff!! Tee pads are nice and baskets are visible. Pick your lines and let it fly! I switched to a forehand drive and had a lot of success. I watched several other groups and saw a lot of forehand drives, as well. Something to consider.
Cons: This is a strenuous mountain course. If you're not prepared for that, you will run out of steam very quickly. It was rainy when I played, and the course got really muddy. I'm not whining, just bring several towels if its wet.
Other Thoughts: Being from Charlotte, this is such a great change of pace! If you're in the area, give it a shot! The locals are always happy to help keep you going!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Be in shape for this bad boy

5+    6/27/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: Sersan43
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Supreme edge to those who can drive with accuracy. Good tee boxes. Easy to navigate. Underbrush is beat down well. Porta toilets at the parking lot are greatly appreciated with how far this is from a public bathroom. Friendly local players.
Cons: The grand canyon ravine. A good half of the holes go back and forth over this enormous ditch, 200ft across and 100ft deep. If your drive hits anything on these holes, or doesn't get a solid landing on the other side, you will be dead in the bottom of this ravine. This also takes a lot of energy to navigate up and down, and to make heavy uphill throws if you are unlucky enough to grip lock one or have a slightly off center drive.
Other Thoughts: Dogs are allowed on leashes and are common to see off a leash, I don't mind it but some people do. I wouldn't suggest a tourny bag your first go around on this course. Take something smaller and lighter and you'll thank me later.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Up, Down, Up, Down, Up....

5+    5/20/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/4/2013
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Layout - Richmond Hill is the epitome of mountain disc golf. Elevation defines the course and the layout itself. While some courses try to skate around long up and down hikes throughout the course, this course embraces it.

You're more likely to be throwing up, down or over a valley then you are on relatively flat ground here. Even the holes that play sorta flat have severe drop offs if you ricochet the wrong direction. All of that elevation forces you to be incredibly accurate not only through gaps but in where you are landing your disc; because a miss can really cost you.

Most of the course is wooded and the elevation can cause some serious headaches but the fairways are fair here. Nothing to tight to make it overbearing, nothing that easy either.

The course does a really good job of mixing up the holes so that it doesn't get monotonous; even though many of the shots are relatively straight ones. It mixes in some hyzer/anhyzer holes here and there as well as sending you up and down in a way that keeps in fresh and interesting.

The course also does a good job of keeping the holes mixed in terms of length. You'll find some shorter shots here and some long shots over valleys that are crucial to hit; if you don't you're at the bottom looking up and that's where your score will go.

There's multiple basket locations now and in some cases it changes the direction the hole ends or it makes the hole play much longer.

The greens here are tough mainly because of the elevation. In some cases a missed putt can leave you hundreds of feet down a hill. It adds an entirely new level of pressure to putting.

The course flows really well, it's always pretty easy to see where you're going next, and the paths throughout the course are well defined.

Three or four signature type holes that will stop you for a second just to take it all in.

Equipment - Solid baskets with light blue bands that really stand out in the surroundings. The signage is done in a neat way here, the layout and distance is put on a log top sliced at an angle. Mulch used very well to keep fairways and paths sturdy. Benches, stairs and bridges everywhere they're needed.

There's only portajohns out there but the course loops back to the parking lot multiple times.

Atmosphere - Beautiful Appalachian land framed perfectly for a disc golf setting. The course is always in great condition. Some awesome looking holes on this course, probably one of it's best upsides.

The vibe you get out there from the trees and fellow discers is amazing, everybody is down to earth and friendly.

For a course not that far outside of Asheville you really get a remote feeling on parts of the course, if there wasn't as much traffic it would be even better.
Cons: Layout - I wish there were more holes that made you shape your shot instead of just going straight up/down hills. In a way you might just get to much of that even though it's done well.

A few more open holes within the middle of the course would serve it well but it's not possible. 1 & 18 are open but 1 is just a short little shot that almost seems out of place and forced in at the beginning. 18 is great and more holes like that would really put this course over the top.

I could see a few holes needing a shorter tee designation for less experienced players. As it stands beginners shouldn't come here unless they just like to hike and don't mind throwing uphill a lot.

Equipment - The pads are large but astroturf. I personally didn't have a problem with it but if it was rainy and wet I could see that being a problem. Concrete tees would really help I think.

I think the signs are cool but at times I thought a more traditional descriptive map would help describe the hole better.

This is one course where it really got to me that there wasn't traschans on the course. You need water/beer out on this course because it's such a hike and to not have a place to dispose of it is insane.

Atmosphere - It is normally really crowded here because the course is so great and the other options around aren't that great. It takes away from it all even though everyone is usually cool.
Other Thoughts: Richmond Hill is a good course and will give you a super fun round if you don't mind the hike.

I know some people don't like all of the poisonous vines here, and there is a lot of it. I'll just remind everyone that these types of plants really help stop erosion and that could eventually be a huge problem here.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Play disc golf while you hike!

1    5/28/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads, challenging even for the best of players, lots of change in elevation and different looks at the baskets, *if you enjoy hiking then this is the best of both worlds as you will be climbing up and down many steep hills throughout the wooded course.
Cons: Almost too challenging for scratch players, course was somewhat hard to find, even with course map some holes were difficult to find, *if you are not a fan of hiking then you may hate this course as it requires lots of trekking up and down steep hills throughout.
Other Thoughts: Overall interesting course as it provides a very tough challenge. I would not take a newcomer here for their first time as I could see them getting discouraged quick. I would also recommend using the premium plastics here as your cheaper plastics will get dinged up pretty quick due to the amount of trees on this course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Course

2-4    5/27/2012   5/30/2012
Review By: flipdog0
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Directions to the course were great, and the course was easy to find. The course has informative placards on each hole showing where the baskets may be located on each hole. Nice large tee-boxes with astroturf. Usually 4 benches on every hole, plenty for bags, and larger groups. Somewhat challenging hike through the woods and extremely challenging disc golf course. The course makes good use of a valley with an abundance of elevation change.
Cons: No information on which pin placement is current(from what I could tell). There are a few holes that could use minor tree removal as they are nearly impossible to score under par. Some holes are hard to find, it would be nice if there were more sign's directing you to the next hole, although if you pick up a scorecard there is a nice map of the course.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended course, although it is very challenging it is a great disc golf experience.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, best in Asheville

1    5/16/2012   5/16/2012
Review By: skottyb
Played: 51  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 16.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course, good location as It's not far from downtown, definitely the signature course Of Asheville. Great elevation changes throughout, you must hit the gaps tO score well. Lots of subpar 300 ft holes with very tight fairways. Great baskets and easily visible once you spot them. Big ups to the volunteerism, it truly is the sport of disc golf, great mulch job On a lot of holes, could only imagine how long that took.
Cons: Tee pads, the turf is nice unless it's worn and covered with mud, scary footing, but after knowing how much rain they get every year what can you do. Just have you learn to throw 1-2 step. I had trouble fInding the pin location so I had to walk the hole before I threw it, should mark the location on the sign with a colored nut and bolt.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely play another if I had the time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.