Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #12
3 / 211ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket (Short Position)



Reviews: 87
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Rollercoaster

1    4/2/2012   4/23/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 392  Reviewed: 355  Exp: 7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Much-appreciated benches at every hole, and many steps at the steepest portions of the course.

6'x10' astroturf teepads. Multiple pin positions for most every hole.

Simple course to navigate, even w/o the quality map, which is available at the kiosk.

Alternate starting locations: if tee-1 is crowded, tees 5, 10, and 15 are all relatively close to the kiosk,

Practice basket. Plenty of parking. Area dedicated to disc golf.
Cons:
Single tee location. Current basket location not marked on teesign,
Other Thoughts:
Don't let the mostly-open starting and finishing holes fool you - this course, playing up, down, and across a pair of densely wooded slopes, separated by a healthy-sized ravine, is almost entirely about control. While the course can seem a bit short, I had the privilege of playing the course when every basket, sans #10, was in its long position, which made a few holes difficult to reach from the tee, even if all the trees en route were missed.

Holes 2-4 are quite tight, with more tree than air between the tee and the basket, with subtle elevation changes to account for as well. Only the relative shortness of these holes offer the chance to recover with a par after a wayward drive - assuming you can work your way through the trees on the approach.

Numbers 5, 9, 10, and 14 are the across-the ravine holes. While none of these holes is very tight, they all have scattered trees the entire duration. Number #5 long is quite tough, and an early V-shaped mando adds to the challenge on #9.

Holes 6-8 offered, relatively-speaking, generous fairways, but you certainly didn't want to go fade left down the slope on 6-7, as the shule was quite thick down and to the left.

Most-challenging number-11, offering only narrows lines to a basket located far in the distance, left at the end, was followed by easiest hole number-12, which had a highway for a fairway when compared with the hole just played, needing just a little left fade at the end of a straight ~200' toss. There was a downed-tree sitting on tee-13 the day I played, but the basket sat straight ahead, slightly downslope.

Number-15 requires a touch shot, as the basket sits at the bottom of the ravine, but also having many large trees to avoid along the way. Holes 16 and 17 play along the ravine floor, as it slightly heads upwards, with baskets located in challenging mid-slope positions.

While a walking stick isn't necessary to play this course, my 50-year old knees were glad that I had one with me the day I played. If you like a good technical challenge, and enjoy navigating some slopes while doing so, you'll want to play this course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta Play this one

1    2/18/2012   3/19/2012
Review By: Dale W
Played: 82  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Carved out of the mountain itself, this course has something for everyone. Mostly very techincal, there are a couple holes that are wide open. And even the technical holes are somewhat forgiving if you misplace a shot with a line to throw. Excellent sinage at the astro-turf covered tee boxes. Benches on every hole. All the locals were very friendly.
Cons: A little difficult to find initially, but well worth the seach. A few of the climbs through the valleys could use a little bit of care.
Other Thoughts: One of the most (maybe THE most) senic courses I have played. If you are afraid of heights or not in decent shape, this course may not be for you. The valley shots were amazing (and a little maddening when my disc would roll to the bottom). If you are anywhere within 200 miles you need to make the trip.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/4/2011   3/9/2012
Review By: parTake30
Played: 61  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: this course was a huge breath of fresh air from brevard college, which is where i always play, cus im right down the road. this course is challenging. it is heavily wooded, the holes are well marked, and the course is layed out very nicely. i havnt played many courses that you have to use a large arsenal of shots, so this is a fun course.
Cons: for me, its tough cus im used to a wide open course and not having to make many technical shots. there were a lot of people on the course, including joggers, bikers, and hikers. so just watch before you throw.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/23/2011   1/1/2012
Review By: Hogan54
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a ton of fun to play. I mean what more can you say about a park thats dedicated solely to disc golf.

I played with a group of four and we played doubles so I didn't get as much variety in my shots as I would have liked. We started on the back nine because late in the day there is a lot of traffic with people being out of school and work. There is a lot of elevation change on numerous holes which challenge you to place your shot just so to have a solid look at the basket.

I've read some reviews that say there isn't much variety in shots but I found that there were multiple lines are almost every hole that provided for either a BH or a FH. I guess its all in whether you utilize every available shot in the bag or just one.

One of my favorite holes I think its #6 is a slight dogleg right down hill to a blind basket. They've rigged a mirror on a tree towards the back of the tee box and you can watch your shot once it goes over the hill. I mean how sweet is that.

One thing I loved is how detailed the hole signs were. They showed both pin selections and really help you to decide what sort of shot you want to play. Although in some cases they aren't needed because you can most of the baskets from the tee.

All in all I love this course its a blast two play with a group or alone and I would suggest anyone to go and play it.
Cons: Umm some things that you may be find as a con are certain tee pads are subject to flooding after a heavy rain. I encountered three maybe four.

Another thing that some may find bothersome is the amount of traffic that goes through everyday. But what can you expect when the course is great and is dedicated only to the golfers that walk the trails.

Really only other con I can think of off the top of my head is that most holes do have steps but between the sets of steps its extremely slick and can be hazardous so be sure to wear a good set of shoes with great tread for traction.

One another con at least when I was there the hole maps didn't have the screw in place for which pin selection was being used for the day. But as I stated in the pro section you will be able to see the basket from tee in most cases.
Other Thoughts: Really a great place to come and play with a group of friends. Offers a great time and as you will see if you ever play a ton of people seem to enjoy the experience as much as I did.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very good area course

2-4    12/23/2011   12/23/2011
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively easy to find; course starts right next to parking lot; pretty good flow; multiple pins that look regularly moved; tees are generally in good shape; sign at each tee showing general layout of pins along with distance; course demands accuracy over power; beautiful course map available at parking area.
Cons: Lots of similar shots required for the holes; not a lot of shot variety required. WAY too much crossing of the major ravine. Signs at tees don't show which position the pin is in. Tees are astro-turf (fine), and can get water-logged. Several pins on different holes are close together - lots of back-and-forth. Some tees are short. Signs between holes are non-existent.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course, that has the potential to be excellent. I played the course in its "short" configuration (par 3s all around) and didn't get to play it "long"; perhaps the long config would change things up enough. As it was, I found lots of repetitive shots, similar distances on each hole, and WAY too much back-and-forth across the ravine - five times out of 18 holes, all requiring similar shots. I would have loved to see hole 17 in long config; way up on a hummock for a hard par 3/normal par 4. Instead, it was a much easier par 3.

All that said, I had a great time playing the course. It's obvious that the locals take care of the area; lots of built-up stairs, water bars to protect the tees from getting washed away, wood chips to help prevent muddy areas; really well done. To improve, perhaps lengthening the tee on hole 4 (really short), some general maintenance on the rest (some are really low and waterlogged), a sign or two for locating the next tee (especially in the 5-6/8-9 area - very confusing, even with a map), and - perhaps - revamping the layout for less throws over the ravine. It's cool the first time, nice the second time, and it goes downhill from there.

Thanks very much for this course, folks. Keep up the good work!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 asheville needs more of these

5+    11/22/2011   11/23/2011
Review By: porchmike
Played: 26  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: nice tee pads- wooden raised boxes w/ astroturf surface

good signs/ hole descriptions at each hole

the cleanest porta-potties i've ever seen at the parking lot- no worries if you need a #2.

navigation is very intuitive, even for a mapless first-timer- trails from basket to tee pads, steps in steeper areas, bridges over creeks(the creeks are normally dry).

pretty good variety of possible shots on many holes- RHBH players: try a gentle hyzer to the right on #11 if the pin is in the far position- you'll dig it!

the trees add a very necessary element of risk, since almost none of the holes are very long(5long,7long,8long,17 being exceptions)

multiple pin placements on every hole(at least i'm pretty sure- i've never seen 6,9,13,or 18 in a different spot though)

disc golf-only course, no other traffic
Cons: poison ivy- use the usual precautions

often crowded- close to asheville and UNCA, this place sees a lot of use, but it's been good for the clearing of the undergrowth over the years

some fairways are close to each other, so make sure and yell "fore!" when you throw if there's people around! 2/3, 6/8, 9/10, 13/14, 14/15 are the main danger areas for this, so look out!

astro-turf tees can get very slippery when wet

trash around the course, despite there being a trash can/recycling can in the parking lot- c'mon folks, bring a bag with ya, drop trash after hole 9, drop rest after 18- easy!
Other Thoughts: some have complained about the lack of multiple tees, but there are very few holes where that wouldn't require a lot of logging. it does seem like there is room for a few more holes in the park, though- i'm not sure of the park boundaries, but it seems like another 6 holes or so could be added without disturbing too much... just a thought.
all in all, a great course in a nice forest with great terrain features- a big hippie town like asheville could use some more courses like this around, we've got the perfect terrain! and as the sport grows here, this one course won't be able to handle everybody! cheers!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/14/2011   11/16/2011
Review By: AdamJ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful use of terrain, was a great stop on my trip back home. Nice scorecards with maps. Course looked well maintained by local club. Several holes with multiple routes. Challenging gaps with great scenic views.
Cons: Second set of tees would be a nice addition for lower skilled players for the longer holes. Would be difficult but adding a couple trash cans would help. We did not notice any trash on the course which tells me the locals take care of this course very well.
Other Thoughts: I would stop to play this again, mainly because I was so sore from hitting 5 other courses the 3 days prior on our trip. Overall it is a great technical design that has you throwing some awesome shots across valley's and over hills and the always difficult along the hill side with some tough greens that encourage smart play. Worth every minute, very glad we stopped here. If your travels take you with in 50 miles of here, please consider it, you won't be disappointed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/4/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: DBdiscgolf
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2014
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Clean Porta-Toilets, very scenic, sense of being at a top notch course, and interesting layout. It made you think about what shot would be the best before you threw which I thought made the holes very interesting.
Cons: Some holes were beyond challenging and just frustrating. (especially #11) The rough was ROUGH.
Other Thoughts: It rained while we were there which made it a little frustrating at times. Plus I will gladly admit that this course was a bit above my skill level.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pinks at the Hill!

5+    7/31/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 59  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Starting off I like to let everyone know what Im personally looking for in a course. I love the scenic aspect of disc golf (this includes boulders, lakes, wildlife, and plantlife- I do study horticulture). With that being stated, I rate a course based on a combination of the scenic factor and the overall course aspects (this includes layout, fairway lines, divesity of holes, and amenities)
Very scenic mixed pine/hardwood forest that is ever so green in the spring/summer months
Speaking of this forest, this is home to the pink lady slipper orchids (right behind the benches of hole 5) a fairly rare perrennial flower that requires certain fungi in the soil in order to grow. Lets keep this population healthy by WATCHING WHERE WE STEP IN THIS AREA!! Please folks stay on the designated trail in areas your disc will not be landed (someone is just trampling through this section for no reason)
Awesome wood inspired signs on every hole that give you a good look on the fairway shape and both basket locations..
Multiple lines through a dense canopy, I love being able to choose my own line
On many holes you get to pick a line out of many which is always fun, haha sometimes that works out better
Benches, oh my word I have never seen so many, I loved being able to sit on every hole and they put it enough to sit 8 on each hole...
This place is all about disc golf, no pedestrians, cars, its very peaceful..
Besides discs hitting the trees, most people would list as many trees Richmond Hill has on it as cons but I love having the disc pick its own line sometime..
The mirror on number 6 is sweet, you cant see the basket from the pad so you turn 180 degrees around and look up in a tree and someone has made a mirror that shows you the basket location, nice idea whoever
Cons: "Richmond Rollers"
erosion issues due to over playing
can get repetitive to some as 5 holes play over the same ravine (the lines are a little different at least)
Other Thoughts: I feel like with the amount of play RH has, retaining wall greens should be constructed to help with the erosion issue around some of the heavily sloped greens.. I am not advising changing the risk/reward factor, I love that out here, its just on some holes (like long position of hole 3) could use a retaining wall located behind the basket to help keep the trail to hole 4 adequate
Please agian everyone watch your feet near the area of hole 5s teebox!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

1    7/31/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: mcooley
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Scenic.
Challenging.
Epic, in a way.
Unforgiving --> Rewarding.
Absolutely Beautiful to play after a decent snowfall.
Cons: Unforgiving --> Frustrating.
Poison Ivy, if you're alergic.
Easy to lose a disc, if you're wild.
Overcrowded at popular times. I've seen groups of 8 or more. C'mon, people!
Other Thoughts: It must be difficult to maintain this course, with the amount of traffic it sees. It does appear downtrodden at times as a result. I think the guys of the WNCDGA do a great job despite it's workload and size.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center