Asheville, NC 
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8
3 / 278ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Long, tight alley shot. The long pin location is way down & fade right. This hole can make or break a round.

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 91
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Fantastic Course Up and Down

5+    5/30/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 292  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course provides a stern challenge to shoot well. Beyond holes 1 and 18 the entire course is wooded with demanding fairways. Bring your technical game and make sure it is on to have a chance at scoring well. Accurate drives are prized over distance in most cases and the course can be played with anything from only a mid-range and putter to over stable drivers. All but two holes have multiple pin placements that are switched frequently, especially during tournaments. Seemingly all baskets are on some sort of slope which can leave you with a dangerous putt if you're unlucky enough to miss or roll away. There are constant elevation changes on the course with numerous ravine shots coming into play. The course has a good flow to it with few back up holes which aren't usually a problem as most of the locals I encountered were very nice friendly people that I enjoyed playing with.
Cons: As mentioned by other reviewers, the tee pads are turf. The pads are excellent for the most part in dry conditions but can be slick after a rain storm and affect footing. One or two may become flooded with water too if there is a lot of rain. I saw multiple people wearing soccer cleats to combat this. With the multiple pin placements, there is no indication of where the basket is located on the sign so beware before you throw. I found different pin placements required vastly different discs and type of shot. The only other con I can think to mention is the location of the practice basket. As the course is almost completely wooded, the practice basket is in a wide open flat area next to the parking lot. This is the complete opposite of the type of greens on the rest of the course. Not that its a problem, it just seemed odd to me.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fantastic course where low scores can be achieved but not without a good complete round. There's a board with scorecards and a chalkboard where people can write about lost/found discs near hole one. If you just can't get enough through the 18 holes, the locals add a 19th onto the course. From the tee pad of fifteen to the basket of number one is an extra where you can let them fly in the open. Also there are no trash can on the course itself, only around the parking lot. I noticed this and it was pointed out that it discourages people from leaving their trash on the course. Please keep this course top notch. I look forward to going back and playing it again.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    7/4/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: SirRaph
Played: 74  Reviewed: 17
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the more challenging courses I've ever played. Richmond Hill includes a number of extremely tight, straight shots through trees over medium distances, with EXTREMELY punishing rough.

We played the course as the raspberries were just getting ripe. And while being able to walk 3 ft from the center of the fairway and pick fresh raspberries is fantastic and uniquely rewarding, it also presents a challenge...raspberry bushes have does all the other rampant underbrush on the course. We nearly lost a disc that went 6 ft outside the fairway's centerline. And because much of the course is played along the length of a hill, (with the hill sloping from right to left) it's easy to get 60 ft off the fairway, let alone 6!

The area itself would be worth hiking through. It's a beautiful place of the country. And the course takes advantage of it. 340ft drive across a deep ravine, with the pin placed 20ft higher than the tee box, with tall, mature trees littering either side of the correct (dead-nuts straight) flight line.

The teeboxes are turf. This was my first experience playing on turf tees, and I think I can say with confidence that it's my new favorite, especially when they're as well kept as at Richmond Hill. Some of the fairways are actually bedded with fresh wood chips. To call the course well-maintained is probably insufficient. It's manicured.
Cons: The course largely asks of one skill-set from the player -- throw it straight and accurate. And certainly, that's not an easy charge to handle, given the severe penalties for missing. However, some more line-shaping shots would be fun.
Having said that, players with 350-400ft of controllable driving power will have the opportunity to use some line-shaping to really make a run at a birdy on a couple baskets.

The teepad signs show all possible pin locations, with no reference to which location the pin is actually sitting. So in effect, you still have to hike up to the pin to find your target. It would be nice if they'd mark the active pin with a sticker or something similar.

When we played, the pins were set mostly at their farthest positions. And while that's what I think most experienced players would enjoy most, it's difficult to envision a time of year when the shorter pin locations would be more appropriate. This course would be exponentially easier once a quick frost kills off some of the violent brush that lurks just a couple feet from the perfect line.
Other Thoughts: Bring:
1) hiking shoes
2) knee-high socks
3) your straightest driver
4) water

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  I gotta get in better shape

1    5/27/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: Sennman
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, great scenery, helpful map on score card, benches at every tee box, good work out, requires a variety of shots and distances.
Cons: Non-concrete tee boxes, some trouble with finding your way from one basket to the next tee box, very strenuous terrain requiring better than average stamina, very busy course.
Other Thoughts: This course was enjoyable to play and beatiful to look at. The terrain made it quite a work out for two guys from Arkansas. The reviews that list this course as "hilly" have it all wrong....this course is on the side of a mountain. Overall, a very fun place to play, just know what you are getting into.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course/ Great Town!

1    4/22/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 98  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 17.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had the honor of playing here while on a mini-vacation to Asheville. When playing a wooded courses, I appreciate defined fairways with realistic shot shapes, controlled underbrush, and variety of distances and directions. Richmond Hill mostly delivered based on those metrics. It was obvious that the locals take great care of this course. I've never seen so much mulch used on a disc golf course before. There was no litter! Stairs, bridges, and mulched pathways were abundant. Drastic elevation changes came into play on about half of the holes. One hole had a mirror placed on a tree about 25 ft up so, from the tee, you can spot the hidden basket down the hill. VERY COOL! Hole 17 was a great uphill longer hole with an elevated, well-guarded green. A lot of baskets were placed on the edge of hills, making you think twice about going for birdie or laying up for par. I was proven wrong about my notion of concrete tee superiority. The turf/carpet pads were grippy, level, and long enough. I played with a fun local "Jeb" that told me the tees are great except in snow and ice (which is understandable!).
Cons: With the amount of great local craft beer consumed on this course, I was surprised to see no trash cans located throughout most of the course. Hole one was a waste. I appreciate an open hole to warm up on but this one was way too short to get the arm going (about 250 ft). It looked like there was plenty of land available to improve upon this. Typical to most courses, at least 70% of holes fade left to appease the RHBH crowd. This course needs more distance variety. With all the room provided, some hole lengthening could help. Provided you navigate the trees effectively, most baskets are easily reachable from the drive. I noticed multiple pin placements were available. A few holes shouldn't have even bothered with the short pins as they stripped the holes full potential. Busy course! This is the only 18 hole course in the area so it is very busy. If you play through the groups with a little urgency, this can be played in about an hour. Those playing with a larger group, lots of waiting is in store. I was hesitant to give the course the 4 star rating it has been commonly given. I think the main reason for my 3.5 is due to the lack of distance variety and some redundancy of holes. All other aspects of the course are fantastic in my opinion. If in the area, this is a MUST-PLAY.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is well worth the visit. The area is absolutely beautiful and the course is immaculately maintained. I visited Asheville for a few days to see a band play and sneak in a little golfin. What a great town! If you like craft beer, unique restaurants, and beautiful appalachain scenery, this is an awesome trip. I just wish there were more courses of similar caliber around here.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Very enjoyable

2-4    4/24/2010   4/26/2010
Review By: Gary Wittig
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very clear paths with score cards for navigation. Nice tee pads, steps, signs. Very well maintained and designed. Excellent terrain with challenging holes.
Cons: Most holes were too short. I never needed anything aside from a single tee drive and putting.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play this course over and over... it is fun enough to spend time perfecting. Plus they have multiple basket positions marked at each tee... which I can imagine is nice for frequent tossers at this course.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best course I've played yet

2-4    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: DGphanatic
Played: 15  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long shots, technical shots, elevation challenge, etc... this course has it all! Love holes 9, 10, and 14...feels like your throwing across the grand canyon. seriously no but its cool to throw from one ridge top to the next if you dont knock wood, ha. Definitely for the more experienced players but even my wife got through it in one piece.
Cons: The only bad thing I can say is, some trash cans out on the course would be good and the long hike up and down the hill tops but that really is a complaint from the wife, I thought it was a great work out and envy the people that live right down the street from this park. Did spot a copperhead in a woodpile off of hole 12, sooo.... gotta watch where you step, other than that SWEET course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    4/1/2010   4/1/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: nice long wooded course. to much mulch and brush. but i belive this course is new. great pin placements but pads are slipery when wet. which is alot. a few holes are repative. suits the big arm thrower with a roc game and side arm. locals are great just need water there
Cons: the took down the old course for this, lets improve this park just a small bit, overall nice layout.
Other Thoughts: front nine comes back out to the cars so if you bring extra beverages take half with you.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Elevation is the name of the game

1    9/16/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: Trey133
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery, Challenging hole layouts, ELEVATION CHANGE!, Well worn in and easy to navigate, excellent tee signs with hole locations, Alternate holes in 16 out of 18 holes, great club that bases their home on the course, Hole 18 offers you a view of the world from the teepad.
Cons: Teepads although better than natural tee's, are still slippery and have sunken in in areas to pool water (and ice when cold). Honestly, I was so impressed with this course that this is one of my only complaints.

Another complaint would be a couple shots that seemed redundant, although this is amazing and completely not what I am used to (highpoint, NC) I could easily see people tiring from these holes that go down the ravine, and then up the ravine, then down the ravine, then up the ravine (about 4 in particular)

Don't let that sway you from visiting this AMAZING course!
Other Thoughts: This course is the epitome of disc golf in western north carolina. For those looking to experience true "mountain golf" please go play this gem!

Watch out for crowds on the weekends as this is one of only a few courses around the area, and fills up very fast. Long waits are expected on just about every hole.

Keep an eye on your discs, the severe elevation makes for intense tree kicks, watching your disc sail sometimes up to 200ft in the wrong direction down a ravine.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Wooded Course

1    5/10/2009   1/11/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2011
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course plays almost exclusively through dense forest with tight fairways and some elevation. There is a deep ravine through much of the back 9 that offers some tough up and downhill shots, as well as some great risk/reward shots over the ravine to the other side. Nearly every hole is a tight punishing fairway where errant shots will land you in tons of trouble without real risk of losing discs.

There is a great balance of shots required, and if you want to score well you'll bring a balanced bag and shot selection. I used just about every disc in my bag here, and felt that every part of my game was necessary. There are a couple holes that call for some distance throwing, as well as a few that can be ace runs with an accurate shot, with lots of holes in between that offer challenging but reachable shots.

The blue baskets are a cool touch, and nicely visible through the woods. The tees were unique, as they were mostly carpet, but seemed to offer good footing even when wet. They seemed like they might have durability issues, but it seemed that they were maintained often enough that this wouldn't be a problem. The tee signs were basic but functional, with no problems navigating the course.

This course is just downright fun to play, while giving a real workout both for you body and your disc golf game. Expect to hit lots of trees, but those clean lines you hit will feel awesome. The fact that the course seemed to be used only by disc golfers, with no other traffic and great scenery made it even better.
Cons: Only a few minor issues with this course, the main one being a few stretches of holes that feel pretty repetitive. The worst example of this is the shots back and forth across the ravine. They are cool shots, but overused a bit in this part of the course.

There were alternate pin positions, but no marking on which position the pins were in when I played which meant you have to do some scouting to know where to throw on many holes. I love the variety of alternate placements, but it's frustrating not to know where the pins are. (It's possible this has been solved since I've been there, if so, awesome!)
Other Thoughts: This course would be pretty frustrating to a newer player, with very tight fairways and lots of different shots required. More advanced players will find that they are challenged here, and will need to hit lots of tight gaps to score well.

I definitely recommend this course to anyone who has a chance to play it. In my mind, this is a destination course, especially if you like wooded courses or you want to be challenged.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 If only that tree wasn't there...

5+    11/6/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: El Oso Peligroso
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful and challenging course that has some pretty extreme elevation changes. If you're looking for a difficult course, this is the place for you.

As the "hub" of WNC disc golf it's a great place to meet other players, and there's usually a pro shop truck set up there on the weekends (which carries Innova, Millenium and Discraft).
Cons: This is a very challenging course. Not recommended for beginners. Even advanced players can find themselves very frustrated here, particularly when the pins are in the long positions.

Most of the holes have very tight lines to hit, and anything less than a perfect throw places you at the mercy of the trees.

This course can get very crowded, particularly on weekends. It's great that so many people are getting into the game, but not so great when you have a 5 minute wait or more on every hole, but most of the players here do have good etiquette and will let you play through. Still, the sheer amount of people some days will make for a long round regardless.
Other Thoughts: A few of the holes (5,9,10, and 14) feel somewhat repetitive, as they all shoot over a ravine and back up. There's enough difference between them in terms of length and openness that it works out alright, but with all the still unused room behind 11 you wonder why the course designer loved that ravine so much.

Like other reviewers have said, the old Richmond Hill was better, but it's gone now and we have to move on. And as far as replacements go, you could do a lot worse than this course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.