Asheville, NC
Richmond Hill Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 369ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket (Short Position): Considered an island green. You must land in the dirt surrounding the basket. If you skip off the dirt to OB you can place your mark in bounds at the point where it went out. Re-tee until in bounds.



Reviews: 80
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >
 

1    10/29/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1121  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 26.1 Years
16 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Of all the courses I've played this one shines out as one of the ones you want to play again and again and again (unfortunately I'm after a body count and usually only play a course of distance once). But this puppy is a must play for eveyone as it will test all of your shots you have in your bag. Each hole offers some differance from the others with the exception of a few, but those few might have a different basket placement to make it slightly different. Most holes where VERY challenging. Some courses I've played I just go out there and hack away and play em, but this one was special. You could tell as you decend into the parking lot and walk up to hole # 1 and seeing all the love that the local DG club and Park department has done that this one was special. I saw Men and Women playing this beauty. Locals we're very helpful with both the course layout and what Asheville and the area has to offer (Very Hospitable People). I liked the handmade tee signs, good flow of holes.
Cons: tee pads we're of slippery artificial rug type substance and the pads we'ren't very long for my stride. Only fault. Well, having # 17's basket not up on top of the ridge was dissapointing for this traveling player, but maybe next time, right?
Other Thoughts: Like I said before, This one you'll want to play again and again and again and.....

Keep up the GREAT EFFORTS that your doing, it will only benifit everyone involved and really makes Disc Golf shine.

16 of 20 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Course

5+    11/7/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: petecarp
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great Elevation Changes, Great Views, Everything is well marked with a good mix of simple and challenging holes short and long. The club works hard to make the course playable all year.
Cons: Artificial Turf tee pads can get muddy and slippery and some are also a bit small for my long legs.
Other Thoughts: A must if youre in the Asheville area, and its Asheville!

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/5/1999   11/5/2008
Review By: Mando
Played: 92  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/30/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you like challenging, extremely tight wooded holes with elevation changes, you will be hard pressed to trump this one.
A fantastic tract of mixed pine hardwood forest land for disc golf. There is a ravine that bisects the middle of the tract that you will throw over on 5,9,10 and 14.
These are the signature holes of the course. Great layout with nice flow. On #15, you will shoot down into the ravine and stay in it for 16 and 17. These were my favorite holes.
The amount of work put into this course is staggering...the steps alone had to be a huge undertaking. Very strong club support. Mountain biking trails in separate area of the park.
Cons: One very minor thing is that you will not have the option of playing long or short...pin placements on a given day are the luck of the draw, with one set of T-pads.
Richmond Hill and Seven Oaks (Asheville and Nashville) are the two most crowded disc golf courses I've played.
Other Thoughts: Asheville is a fun town to visit and Richmond Hill meshes perfectly with the vibe.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/14/2008   9/15/2008
Review By: Cool Daddio
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Wow what a class act from the terrific scorecards to the mulched fairways to the big level tee boxes.
+It is was very challenging for a newbie like me but none of the holes felt sadistic so I always had that 'someday I'll kick ass here' feeling which is great.
+The light blue basket rims made it easy to spot them as the signs show multiple basket locations and most required a scope out before throwing.
+The setting is beautiful and I found it well marked and with the scorecard map a breeze to get around.
Cons: +Probably just me (as the tees were very large) but I had a hard time adjusting to the drop off in front of many tees.
+That I don't live closer :)
Other Thoughts: I changed my travel plan to spend the night nearby and so got there 8 am Sunday morning. Right from the first tee it's hard not to have that "now this is what I'm talking about" feeling about the course. I'm certain it is going to change many of my future travel plans through the Asheville area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The challenging one

5+    7/22/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2009
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Technical AND long! The challenge is there in a big way. Learn to play this course well & you could play well anywhere. This is a designated Disc Golf park. There are no bicycles, picnics or joggers on the course. You are there to play Disc Golf. Practice basket.
Cons: This is a hike! Bring sturdy shoes & long pants or sox for the poison oak/ivy. Trees! There are too many of them stopping my discs from getting to their home. It is too popular! Weekends can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: There are plans to install another 18 hole course on the property. This will help with the crowds.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My New All-Time Favorite

6/16/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: CaptainKickAss
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely breathtaking. The elevation changes were superb, the course markings were excellent, there was ample parking, and the views on some of the holes were second to none. While this may not be the best course for the first time player, this is a destination worthy course for the established thrower. The design was truly inspired, and called upon every shot that I had in my bad, including a few I didn't even know I had. Almost the entire course runs through the woods, and the holes provide a great deal of variety in length, width of fairway, and direction of approach.
Cons: The only negative I can think of is that I live 600 miles away from this course, and can't play it every day.
Other Thoughts: If you find yourself anywhere near Asheville, NC...you must, must, MUST play this course.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun & challenging course

2-4    4/22/2008   4/25/2008
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 148  Reviewed: 142  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2012
14 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Classic mountain course. Plenty of elevation, rough terrain and trees present plenty of challenges.
- Course has great variety of holes - straight, doglegs, up & down, open & wooded holes.
- Great, descriptive tee signs. Very helpful on holes where you can't see the basket from the tee.
- Multiple basket locations present different looks on each hole. Some holes give tremendously different looks from long to short. #17 with the basket on hill in long vs on flat surface in shorts is perfect example.
- Course puts more emphasis on accuracy than distance. On many holes, getting off the fairway present real trouble. Better to throw short, but in the fairway.
- Locals put a lot of TLC into course. You'll see the truck selling discs at the course on many occasions. It has one of the largest, and best selection of discs you'll find anywhere.
- I love that the course has so many benches. You'll get a workout just walking the course, so having a chance to sit down on just about every hole is a huge plus.
- Park is for disc golf, and hiking/biking only. Always a major plus when DGers don't have to worry about other park goers.
Cons: Basket positions aren't clear or consistent. Some are in longs, some in short locations. It'd be nicer if things were uniform (all in longs or shorts, etc) or if there was a sign at kiosk clearing explaining basket positions. Probably not a problem for locals, but an issue for out of towners.
- It'd be nice to see the holes crossing the ravine actually do a better job of making the ravine an obstacle. On most of these holes, you throw over the ravine to a basket essentially at the same level you're at standing on the tee. Seems like a couple holes have a missed opportunity to make a tougher layout.
- The grass/underbrush is really thick on some holes. Definitely needs a good trimming.
- No water fountains / drink machines. Make sure you bring your own water, especially on hot, summer days. Course also has no restrooms, port-a-jon only.
Other Thoughts: Course takes great advantage of the terrain. Elevation changes and woods will penalize bad throws. Nothing worse than watching a disc roll downhill back at you or watching it sail away after a bad shot.
- This is one of the best risk/reward courses I've played. If you keep shots in the fairway, pars or better are aplenty.
- Got my third career ace at this course. Hole #2, dogleg right. The shot could have easily smacked a number of trees, perfectly emphasizing the risk/reward aspect of this course.
- I really enjoy the longer, par 4 holes on this course. They all do a good job of winding through the woods, with varying degrees of trees and elevation. They all require several good shots to get to the basket, but are all reachable even for shorter throwers.
- This is the signature course of western NC. It's not far from I-40 & I-26. This is a no-doubt, must play course for anyone in the region.

14 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 A top tier NC course

1    11/20/2007   4/5/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 294  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2008
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As you might expect for a course in the mountain region of NC this course has some great elevation changes (1 Flat/ 9 Up/ 8 Down). There are also several Down-Up or Up-Down fairways over ravines and hills. This course has some sweet holes! Almost all of the holes are woods holes. Holes 1 and 18 have more open mixed terrain that bookend the 16 holes through the woods. There's good length variety with 8<299/ 8 of 300-399/ 2 of 400-434. The Carolina blue double chain DISCatcher baskets were a distinctive touch.
Cons: It would be very helpful to have a marking system to tell you if you were playing to the short or the long basket position. The tee signs are adequate but minimal. The Astroturf tee pads are fine, but a few are uneven, and concrete would be even better.
Other Thoughts: Course level = Blue. (best for Advanced players rated 925-975)

My favorite hole is number 5; it's a challenging down then up drive in beautiful woods on a tough par 4.

Although the old course had some classic holes, there are many really good holes on the new course, so this new layout may even be better overall. This course is in the top tier of NC courses, so it's well worth even a long drive to play!

You can read more of my reviews at the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews", http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...urseReviews/. Look in the Files section for my Overall Rating notes and Hole-by-hole ratings.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Just Plain Awesome

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: kpkirishy
Played: 16  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Variety of Terrain. Very Challenging Course. Extrememly Beautiful Setting. This course winds all through the woods and is marked very well with hand carved tee markers at each hole. This is also a very remote course and fairly clean.
Cons: There are 3 holes that are similary. (teeing off from one side of gorge and the basket is on the far side.) But even with that downfall this course is my easily in my top 3 courses I've played.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 wow!

8/20/2005   8/20/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course is awesome, it is almost as if the woods were grown for disc golf. THere are fairways in a huge deciduous forest. Some holes are very long, Some are shorter. Play this one if you ever get the chance.
Cons: Not marked well when I was there, and also quite hard to find.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.