Talco, TX
Selah Ranch - Creekside Share
Uploaded By: johnrhouck Hole #17 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 159ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Blue Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 words cant describe

1    1/14/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: teamtapin13
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
1 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: these are these best two courses ive ever played...it was truely aww inspiring... every hole is unique and challenging, long tee pads, and golf carts make this a fun trip...
Cons: after playing these courses its hard to go play somewhere else...
Other Thoughts: if you havent been i would go...your not gonna be disappointed..

1 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome courses

1    10/8/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: Discgolf Bruce
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: Really nice layouts long long holes! The owners of the ranch are super super nice!!!
Cons: Can't really think of any!
Other Thoughts: Set the course record oct 8 2011 at the Selah ranch doubles shot a -15 under par on this course and took first place!

1 of 25 people found this review helpful.

  Superb Course

1    11/25/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Digital Forge
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent layout with a variety of holes. Terrain varies from flat to hilly on different holes and there is a great mix of open and wooded holes. My favorite features are the water hazards. This course is completely different from the red (short) to the blue (long) tee boxes. As a recreational player, I played from the red tees and it was fantastic. For more experienced players the blue tees add significant length and extra hazards to navigate.

The course signage is excellent and there are benches and picnic tables along the way, too.

Finally, though purists might scoff, the cart was a great treat and is needed if you want to play multiple rounds in one day (and you do, of course).
Cons: For new players the water holes could be intimidating. This is far outweighed by the beauty and quality of the course.

The course is quite a ways from other attractions but is a disc golf nirvana unto itself.
Other Thoughts: Played both courses and it was the best disc golf experience ever.

Plan to stay all day and play each course at least once. Bring a picnic lunch and beverages or plan a trip back to Mount Vernon for lunch between rounds. Check out the pro shop and pick up a Selah Ranch disc as a souvenir.

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Dream Course

1    10/19/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: Clue
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 20.1 Years
15 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Finally, John can sleep at night. This course has some of the holes that John used to dream about in his sleep, in particular hole 10. The course has all the usual risk/reward of a Houck Design, but also offers a little more room to let loose on the front nine. However, the back nine is really going to make you think. Position and execution is critical on a couple of the tighter holes, and then staying dry when water comes into play is a must! Like the Lakeside course, both tees provide a good challenge and fun disc golf experience.
Cons: The transitions between green and tee are a little lengthier than the Lakeside course if you're walking, but the carts take care of that and the maps are still very easy to follow. I thought the front nine was a little big arm heavy, but it's still very fair and the back nine is what really separates the men from the boys!
Other Thoughts: I'd highly recommend making a weekend of this property. Well worth the time and relatively minimal cost to play. Of the 36 holes on the property, no 2 are alike, and with the alternate tee pads there's actually 72 unique holes on one single property.

15 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 BEST DG exp of my life

1    9/23/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: tweissm
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
13 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Legit Green FEE! Yes! I know many hippie DG players hate this fact. I count this as a major PRO. Pay the fee, and rent a golf cart, and experience DG in a whole new way. This is hands-down the absolute best experience playing DG I have ever had. The location is simply gorgeous. The place is highly manicured and you can tell that a lot of care and love has gone in to creating this DG retreat. The owners are amazing people and the lodgings are stellar for the cost.

The course has a great deal of variety, from long to short, from tough PARs to birdie holes to Ace runs. Water risks, elevation, it pretty much has it all. It compares well to the best courses I have played. However, the overall experience has utterly no competition in my mind. This sets the standard for what the future of DG can be.

Cons: At least a 90 mile drive from any major Airport, but if you are making it a DG weekend, it's not bad at all. It would be tough to play on a whim.

Also, I think more tweaks are still needed. Hole 10, in particular, needs a little more clearing of the fairway, and perhaps an alteration to the OB area. Also, on hole 18 from the long tees, there is no option to lay-up. It seems a bit stringent there to force us to tin cup it.

It's too bad we can't keep it a secret!
Other Thoughts: If you love DG and have the resources to experience this, you can not miss out.

13 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Blown away with this place

1    10/9/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: emook
Played: 46  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Short holes, Long holes, open holes, technical holes. Amazing tee pads, amazing tee signs, amazing course design
Cons: The only con I had actually was the distance from where I live, Turns out if we took a different route it was only 1 1/2 hrs away
Other Thoughts: If they get their exposure out there more this place would be rolling.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/2/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: frizbro
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 24.3 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Both courses are a must play. These courses are CHAMPIONSHIP caliber - thru and thru. You will need to bring your complete game for these course, with any and every type of shoot possible.

Dave (the owner) and his family will treat you right. Make it a full weekend of DG with the family. Your significant other can relax in a beautiful BnB, while you play the greatest golf of your life.
Cons: Will need a cart.
Other Thoughts: Play the Short tees first, then play the big boy tees.

John - you have out done yourself.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/6/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: DoctorDisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Like the Lakeside course, this is a tremendous all-around disc golf experience. Long and challenging, even in most cases from the Am pads, the course makes great use of a huge and beautiful piece of private property with lakes, creeks, woods, and rolling hills. It's well-groomed, the pads are long, and the holes are a variety of left, right, open, tight, flat, and hilly. Championship quality in every way. The property owners are very friendly. While it's not cheap to stay and play, my wife and I had an ideal disc golf vacation here, and we'll be back.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2011   9/16/2011
Review By: Kamala
Played: 38  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: A dream come true! This course features alot of +600ft holes that suits just about any throwing style; however I found my favorite ones to be the select few (+/-)225 ft misdirected alleyways and hyzer/anhyzer sensitive holes. John really challenged my imagination, it was so much fun to watch how the lines everyone took worked out. While this course is definitely not for beginners it is certainly one for nature lovers as this course is kept in great condition. One of the finest I've had the privilege to play.
Cons: 20bucks! !!!THIS COURSE IS LOOONG, RENT A GOLF CART!!! Practice skipping rocks on a pond, it feels way better than watching your Eco-Star Boss sink if you try to go big on hole 18. It's 5 hours away from Austin!

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 JUST GO! Seriously shut up and Throw!

1    8/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: Brucewitte
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: AMAZING! I really love both courses here, it was well worth the 5 hr drive from Austin and I can tell you now, living in Austin I get to play John Houck courses all the time, and these seriously are the best two new courses I have played! John just gave Circle R a run for its money on the my favorite duel courses. Great Job! lots of big fairways and woods! creek runs thoughout! Signs are up and look really great!!!
Cons: One hole has an area of Elephant ears (I believe) in water that is about 1 1/2 ft deep of darkness, not only is this area pretty scary to walk through, but impossible to see through your disc is gone- Also keep in mind I am mad because my friend threw one of my discs into that area. Other than that it is amazing!
Other Thoughts: GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT! GO PLAY IT!
nuff said

2 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.