Fountain, CO 
Cumberland Green Share
Uploaded By: Fishy Hole #14 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Duece or Die...

2-4    4/8/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 75  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great little course for driving with your putters or midranges. I found the hole lengths very short compared to most other courses that I've played, but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

There are quite a number of ace runs on the course, and judging by the tagging on the tee signs and baskets aces are hit regularly.

Three pin positions are available for each hole, but many offer essentially the same shot, regardless of which the basket is in.

Good, small concrete teepads, but their size isn't really an issue as this is very much a "stand and deliver" kind of course.

Decent signs at each teepad are useful and give distance to each pin, though there is no way to tell which of the pin positions is in play.

Course flow is very simple, even for someone who has never played there before. The next teepad is always in sight of the previous basket.

Overall I think that this would be a great course for families, casual DG'ers or someone who wants to work on approaches. Not a course for big arms who want to drive.
Cons: This is a short, open course without much variety. Most drives can be made directly at the basket, with (at most) one or two trees to work around. No real line shaping required.

I was surprised at how close together the A, B, C pin positions were on many holes. On several holes the they were all within 50' of each other, and changed the hole length/line only marginally. I did see a couple of interesting pin positions that weren't in use the day I played. I don't understand going to the trouble to plant three bases at each hole without spreading them out a little more.

A few of the teepads (most notably 18) weren't pointed toward the basket positions. Not a big deal, but was a little confusing.
Other Thoughts: The day that I played was very calm. I can imagine that things would get a lot more challenging if the wind was up.

Had one jogger on the course, otherwise no other folks present on a Tuesday morning.

I was looking for a designated parking lot, and then realized you simply park on the raod adjacent to the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: discgolfer65
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New basket, nice layout. Easy to find the holes, nice marking .
Cons: Need to move the holes, need to mow the weed's and trim the trees. Need longer tee pads . Need to paint the baskets to make them more visible when throwing.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 super easy course

1    8/23/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: zero_43502
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.5 Years
Pros:
Three diffent basket placements per hole
Good basket placements that make the mostly open holes a little harder
Nice tees and signs




Cons:

The course is super easy shoot -8 first time out
there's tees that cross over other tees such as 18
The baskets are also turned the wrong way which doesnt help that there's several baskets visible on most of the tees

Cactus on every fairway so watch when picking up your disc and walking


no shade are trees what so ever
Other Thoughts: Overall i had fun playing here it wasnt busy like the other courses in the area and was well kept

The best warm-up course in CO!

5+    7/16/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 41  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Wide open fairways (except for Hole 3) make it easy for begginers to bomb
-A good mix of technical and "throw 'til you blow" holes
-Never hard to find the basket
-Easy to navigate, full color overhead topographic signs at every hole...they took their time designing this course for sure
-Solid tee boxes
-Never crowded, even on weekends
Cons: -Every hole is very easy, even the back 9...probably 6 of the holes could be par 2
-NO SHADE! Bring water and sunscreen or you will be ROASTED!
-Big ditch off to the left of the front 9 will take your disc on a windy day...be prepared to make some uphill shots if your shot goes awry
-Basket numbers on every hole are facing the opposite way
Other Thoughts: This course is great for my wife and daughter, and serves as a great warm-up before hitting Widefield or Pueblo. If you go there with that intent, you'll have a blast. But if you are looking for a challenging course (of which Colorado has many) you're in the wrong spot with Cumberland. This course is less than a mile from my house and I play it everyday without fail, just to keep my skills sharp. My brother came to visit from Montana and we shot all 18 holes in under an hour. I love the course, but again, it's all about coming into it with the right attitude.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sahara Desert Feel To It !

2-4    7/6/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NIce course map at start. The course starts right past the playground and plays ten holes out and then eight coming back. There are about 7-8 nice little short ACE ops, just waiting to get aced. Although short, the teepads are concrete and framed in 4" x 4's. The baskets are new DGA's with the numbers on top. Unfortunately, the numbers are usually facing the wrong direction. The course has a nice general flow with the next pad usually being fairly close to the last basket played. The course actually plays in a figure eight shape. The terrain is desert with lots of small cactus's and scrub trees. It's mostly flat with very little elevation to contend with. The course forces you to throw some fun little anhyser throws.
There are a few nice benches there as well as some garbage cans. The course was mostly clean and litter free. It did look a like a great habitat for rattlesnakes. I was watching where I was stepping.
Cons: One of my major pet peeves is when the baskets are placed with the numbers not facing the teepads and these are often facing the exact opposite direction. So they aren't nearly as much of a help to the first time player as they would be. The pads aren't quite as long as they should be although with this course as long run up isn't usually needed. It can be very hot and dusty so bring water.
Other Thoughts: The designers probably did the best they could with the land available. It's a pretty nice design incorporating a variety of shots. It's a recreational level course so it's not going to challenge the advanced player. The chance of losing a disc is fairly minimal here so it's probably a fairly good place to bring a newbie. I did see a wild turkey with some babies, kinda cool.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for short game

5+    10/12/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 62  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 3.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice to see the City of Fountain step up and put in a 18 hole course. No crowds, which gives you time to throw a couple of discs per hole if you are working on shots. Good baskets, new concrete tee pads and some benches have been added. Lots of ace opportunities and just enough trees to require different types of shots.
Cons: no trash cans. No holes over 325'. Brush can swallow discs even if you saw where it landed. Mosquitos. Can get a bit swampy after rains. can feel slightly repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Nice to have a different type of course in the Colorado Springs area. Great if you want some peace and quiet without the crowds of Cottonwood or dealing with neighborhood homes at Widefield.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    7/17/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: Kytus
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively new course, but not crowed in the slightest.

The Mach 3 pins were all in excellent condition, and whoever set up the pins had the foresight to ensure the pin marker #'s were facing the tee pad. This made locating and identifying the correct pin very easy.

The course is designed in an "Out and back" style. We parked beside the playground near hole 1, and when we finished 18 we were back at the same area.

The hole signs are wooden 4x4's with a plexiglass case, with paper print out inside. The hole information is done via google earth like aerial view, with the tee pad and all possible whole locations marked. Due to the aerial view, it made identifying landmarks and pin locations very easy.

Small portions of the fairways are mowed short and in the direction of the pins.
Cons: Tee Pads are wood and gravel and the interior gravel has already worn away some, leaving the sides and front and back wood edges exposed. I tripped a few times while teeing off, mainly due to my next con.

The tee pads are insanely small. They seemed to be 2.5' wide by 3.5' long. Way to small for any standard approach. This somewhat forces you to change your standard wind up, or just stand still and drive.

This course is pretty dry with desert like foliage. The course is riddled with cactus. Watch your step the entire way, and inspect your disc after each toss. I had to pull cactus spines from my softer discs after many throws.

There are no benches nor trash cans the entire course. Disappointing oversight.

Quite a few of the holes felt repetitious. With a few exceptions, the course design just felt bland.
Other Thoughts: This isn't really a pro or a con, just something worth mentioning.

This course is really really short. The longest hole is in the range of ~290', with the shortest somewhere around ~ 160'.

The initial reviewer is absolutely dead on that you could play this entire course without a driver. I used my putter and mid's for all but 2 holes.

This did present an oddly nice change of pace, rather than driving off each tee, I was using control shots with mids and putts.

Mixed feelings about this course. If you are a Colorado Springs local, it's worth checking out for a completely different type of course compared to Cottonwood and Widefield.

If you are visiting the area and only have time for one round of DG, I'd personally suggest any other course in the greater Colorado Springs area.

I scored this a 2.5 because part of the experience bored me, but I had a decent enough time that I'd probably play it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.