Fountain, CO 
Cumberland Green Share
Uploaded By: Fishy Hole #4 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 359ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
nice short course

5+    1/11/2014   1/11/2014
Review By: ninjalectual
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Can be a fun course, depending on the basket positions, which have been nice lately. Short holes no shorter than the short sections at Cottonwood.
-Excellent signage - each tee pad has a sattelite map of the hole.
-Clean park, very friendly players. I routinely see players go way out of their way helping a stranger look for a lost disc.
-Jogging path well out of the way, so hitting a non player is unlikely.
Cons: -Tee pads way too short.
-Although most holes are short, if you do land in the rough, the roughs get VERY rough. Dense trees and bushes, often with thorns, thick thistle-y grass that swallows discs, a couple of swamps to avoid (mostly on 4 and 18). It's easier to lose a disc here than other local courses.
-Dry thistle-y plants easily get sharp spikes and seeds in your shoes. Wear hiking boots whenever possible.
-Neighborhood residents are crazy. I've seen a dad packing a gun while taking his kid to play on the playground. So not necessary.
Other Thoughts: Depending on the basket positions, this course can be extremely easy or moderately challenging. Unless everything is in the "easy" position, this is an underrated little course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    11/27/2013   12/1/2013
Review By: quietman2005
Played: 41  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets.
Great signs with views to the basket.
Good mixture of shots.
Concrete tee pads are my favorite even though these were a little short.
Benches throughout the course.
Well maintained park.
Easy to navigate.
The day we played here it was not busy at all.
Cons: The course is a little short for those of us who have big arms.
The tee pads are a little short but since the length is short you dont really need a long run up.
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing this course evem though it wasn't very challenging to me. This is the first time I have played this course and I was able to finish in par. It gave me a chance to work on my mid-range accuracy.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun course for technical shots

2-4    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: The course has a great combination of hyzer/anhyzer shots. Rarely is it an open shot to the basket.

Great use of obstacles, regardless of the choice of multiple basket locations.

Concrete tees are always a plus.

Each hole has a map of the hole and each pin location.
Cons: Not much level change on the course.

Pretty short, but not terrible.

The pads are often times facing an odd direction.
Other Thoughts: Great course that is fun for use on fairway drivers and midranges. I would recommend it to anyone, beginner or advanced.

Good beginners course

1    9/12/2012   12/2/2012
Review By: EricBasile
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great beginners course
Hard to lose a disc
very easy to follow T-Pad to T-Pad
Cons: If you are not a beginner than this will not be a challenge to you. Very short shots, i hardly drive for distance here.
Other Thoughts: If you are new and trying to sharpen up your game then this is the place to practice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/20/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: geofflaw
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - easy course for begginers to test there skills and get a feel for the game
- some of the chains are a fairly short distance away, so you can get a good feel for bombing the disc
- easy to navigate
Cons: - no shade, so if you go in the middle of the day or the afternoon your gonan fry
- lots of cacti and weeds so you have to be careful and mindful where you step
Other Thoughts: the wind here can be very tricky at times, it can be your friend or it can take you disc and do whatever it wants with it, its not always terrible but if its a windy day be cautious.

thers a huge ditch to the left of the chains on hole 1 so be prepared to throw uphill to get to the basket.

hole 4 has a small swamp with very tall grass, it wouldnt be so bad if the grass wasnt so tall, you could easily lose a disc in there. it would be a big help if they cut the grass a little bit in that area. im 5' 9" and the grass is as tall as i am. if they cut the grass in half it wouldnt take 10 minutes or more to find a disc

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short on length but not short on fun!

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A brand new disc golf course in the town of Fountain. It has all the pros that a new course should have. Everything is new. At hole one you have the overview map of the entire course. Teesigns are also arial views of the hole which show all pin placements and distances. There are 3 pins on each hole! the course is an out and back design along alightly wooded field. From big trees to small bushes, there are enough of them that adda challenge to many of the holes. While having just played this course in May, I can certainly see how the leaves coming in would definately increase the challenge here. Most of the holes are straight, but there are a few shots that go either left or right that make you shape your shots accordingly. The baskets are my favorite, Mach 3 and catch very well. The land itself is nice and quite, like you are out in the country someplace.
Cons: I think some of the cons for this course can be placed on the land that was available. The fairways are kind of tight due to lack of space. Many of the holes are short, about 200 feet average I would say probably because of trying to fit 18 holes in this land. Another thing is that while there are multiple pin positions on each hole, many of them are within 20 feet of each other in regards to length, thus not adding a whole lot of variety there. Single sets of tees, which is not a big deal really, however the teeboxes themselves are small, proabably 5X8 feet at the most. That is really not an issue for players whom have bigger arms as not much of a run up is required for the shorter holes. They are filled with a small gravel that already has shifted a bit with use. It looks like there are areas where some of the holes could have added some length to them, as it stands though, I don't think there is a hole much monger then 350 feet.
Other Thoughts: I am always surprised by how towns this size come up with the money for such courses. definately some thought and effort was put into this course and they did a great job with the space that was avialable to them. I could see how this course will increase in challenge as the trees grow in and the rough gets rougher. Do to the lengths of the holes, I think that a seasoned player should treat this course as perhaps a mid and putter type course but there is enough here that will keep you coming back. For newer players, I think this is a great course to learn the game on. I look forward to coming back and playing again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.