Fountain, CO 
Cumberland Green Share
Uploaded By: Fishy Hole #5 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 180ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 The best warm-up course in CO!

5+    7/16/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 42  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 23.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/16/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Wide open fairways (except for Hole 3) make it easy for begginers to bomb
-A good mix of technical and "throw 'til you blow" holes
-Never hard to find the basket
-Easy to navigate, full color overhead topographic signs at every hole...they took their time designing this course for sure
-Solid tee boxes
-Never crowded, even on weekends
Cons: -Every hole is very easy, even the back 9...probably 6 of the holes could be par 2
-NO SHADE! Bring water and sunscreen or you will be ROASTED!
-Big ditch off to the left of the front 9 will take your disc on a windy day...be prepared to make some uphill shots if your shot goes awry
-Basket numbers on every hole are facing the opposite way
Other Thoughts: This course is great for my wife and daughter, and serves as a great warm-up before hitting Widefield or Pueblo. If you go there with that intent, you'll have a blast. But if you are looking for a challenging course (of which Colorado has many) you're in the wrong spot with Cumberland. This course is less than a mile from my house and I play it everyday without fail, just to keep my skills sharp. My brother came to visit from Montana and we shot all 18 holes in under an hour. I love the course, but again, it's all about coming into it with the right attitude.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun little course

1    7/15/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: shofer1991
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No waiting, easy to navigate, pins and tee boxes are in good condition, there's a good variation in shot types, family friendly it's a great course for beginners.
Cons: Multiple pins within the same area and since the numbers on the pin aren't facing the tee it can get a bit confusing, no parking lot, weeds and cactus everywhere which attracts alot of bugs, WIND, needs some different variations in obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Overall it was a neat little course. The holes are pretty short throughout, I found myself not having to use my driver a whole lot. I'd reccommend going earlier in the day (lower temperatures, and less wind). All in all it's a great course for beginner to average players, or for anyone looking to stay away from crowded courses like Cottonwood, or Widefield.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sahara Desert Feel To It !

2-4    7/6/2012   7/7/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: NIce course map at start. The course starts right past the playground and plays ten holes out and then eight coming back. There are about 7-8 nice little short ACE ops, just waiting to get aced. Although short, the teepads are concrete and framed in 4" x 4's. The baskets are new DGA's with the numbers on top. Unfortunately, the numbers are usually facing the wrong direction. The course has a nice general flow with the next pad usually being fairly close to the last basket played. The course actually plays in a figure eight shape. The terrain is desert with lots of small cactus's and scrub trees. It's mostly flat with very little elevation to contend with. The course forces you to throw some fun little anhyser throws.
There are a few nice benches there as well as some garbage cans. The course was mostly clean and litter free. It did look a like a great habitat for rattlesnakes. I was watching where I was stepping.
Cons: One of my major pet peeves is when the baskets are placed with the numbers not facing the teepads and these are often facing the exact opposite direction. So they aren't nearly as much of a help to the first time player as they would be. The pads aren't quite as long as they should be although with this course as long run up isn't usually needed. It can be very hot and dusty so bring water.
Other Thoughts: The designers probably did the best they could with the land available. It's a pretty nice design incorporating a variety of shots. It's a recreational level course so it's not going to challenge the advanced player. The chance of losing a disc is fairly minimal here so it's probably a fairly good place to bring a newbie. I did see a wild turkey with some babies, kinda cool.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 "Blinded" by the light ..

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: SMTouton86
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.6 Years
Pros: Decently set up lanes with a few technical shots around trees and such .. Varies distances keep you varying between mid-range and drivers ..
Cons: Very arid landcape, cacti abound, as well as a "ground bee" colony behind hole 1's tee pad .. I say colony because there's about 3-4 holes surrounded by these little dust colored bees and they don't take kindly to people.
Other Thoughts: While I like the technical side to this course, go EARLY in the day (8:00 am-ish) so you aren't out in the heat of the day.

 Nice, Short course

1    2/5/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: jayman4206
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of ace opportunities. Even the average beginner can birdie half of these holes. It doesn't take a long time to play, but you can throw multiple discs if you have the time, due to the fact that nobody plays it. My buddy aced the second hole on our first time out there. (He's an above average player, but not quite pro-quality, yet)
Cons: Parking is kinda sketchy. There's no lot, just parking on a suburb street. Cactus and very dense foliage can be a pain, but it's nothing to quit halfway over. All the holes are very short. The average player won't have to take his driver out of his bag for most of them. Don't wear shorts if you are prone to tossing them in the brush. Lot's of thorns.
Other Thoughts: I would play this as a secondary course. I wouldn't go out to play this course by itself. My best advice would be to play it after you have played Widefield Park. It's only a couple of miles away and doesn't take that long to finish. Very good short course to play if you don't wanna play Widefield twice. Like I said above, my buddy aced the second hole the first time out...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice for short game

5+    10/12/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: little oz
Played: 63  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice to see the City of Fountain step up and put in a 18 hole course. No crowds, which gives you time to throw a couple of discs per hole if you are working on shots. Good baskets, new concrete tee pads and some benches have been added. Lots of ace opportunities and just enough trees to require different types of shots.
Cons: no trash cans. No holes over 325'. Brush can swallow discs even if you saw where it landed. Mosquitos. Can get a bit swampy after rains. can feel slightly repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Nice to have a different type of course in the Colorado Springs area. Great if you want some peace and quiet without the crowds of Cottonwood or dealing with neighborhood homes at Widefield.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    7/17/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: Kytus
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively new course, but not crowed in the slightest.

The Mach 3 pins were all in excellent condition, and whoever set up the pins had the foresight to ensure the pin marker #'s were facing the tee pad. This made locating and identifying the correct pin very easy.

The course is designed in an "Out and back" style. We parked beside the playground near hole 1, and when we finished 18 we were back at the same area.

The hole signs are wooden 4x4's with a plexiglass case, with paper print out inside. The hole information is done via google earth like aerial view, with the tee pad and all possible whole locations marked. Due to the aerial view, it made identifying landmarks and pin locations very easy.

Small portions of the fairways are mowed short and in the direction of the pins.
Cons: Tee Pads are wood and gravel and the interior gravel has already worn away some, leaving the sides and front and back wood edges exposed. I tripped a few times while teeing off, mainly due to my next con.

The tee pads are insanely small. They seemed to be 2.5' wide by 3.5' long. Way to small for any standard approach. This somewhat forces you to change your standard wind up, or just stand still and drive.

This course is pretty dry with desert like foliage. The course is riddled with cactus. Watch your step the entire way, and inspect your disc after each toss. I had to pull cactus spines from my softer discs after many throws.

There are no benches nor trash cans the entire course. Disappointing oversight.

Quite a few of the holes felt repetitious. With a few exceptions, the course design just felt bland.
Other Thoughts: This isn't really a pro or a con, just something worth mentioning.

This course is really really short. The longest hole is in the range of ~290', with the shortest somewhere around ~ 160'.

The initial reviewer is absolutely dead on that you could play this entire course without a driver. I used my putter and mid's for all but 2 holes.

This did present an oddly nice change of pace, rather than driving off each tee, I was using control shots with mids and putts.

Mixed feelings about this course. If you are a Colorado Springs local, it's worth checking out for a completely different type of course compared to Cottonwood and Widefield.

If you are visiting the area and only have time for one round of DG, I'd personally suggest any other course in the greater Colorado Springs area.

I scored this a 2.5 because part of the experience bored me, but I had a decent enough time that I'd probably play it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short on length but not short on fun!

1    5/15/2011   5/15/2011
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A brand new disc golf course in the town of Fountain. It has all the pros that a new course should have. Everything is new. At hole one you have the overview map of the entire course. Teesigns are also arial views of the hole which show all pin placements and distances. There are 3 pins on each hole! the course is an out and back design along alightly wooded field. From big trees to small bushes, there are enough of them that adda challenge to many of the holes. While having just played this course in May, I can certainly see how the leaves coming in would definately increase the challenge here. Most of the holes are straight, but there are a few shots that go either left or right that make you shape your shots accordingly. The baskets are my favorite, Mach 3 and catch very well. The land itself is nice and quite, like you are out in the country someplace.
Cons: I think some of the cons for this course can be placed on the land that was available. The fairways are kind of tight due to lack of space. Many of the holes are short, about 200 feet average I would say probably because of trying to fit 18 holes in this land. Another thing is that while there are multiple pin positions on each hole, many of them are within 20 feet of each other in regards to length, thus not adding a whole lot of variety there. Single sets of tees, which is not a big deal really, however the teeboxes themselves are small, proabably 5X8 feet at the most. That is really not an issue for players whom have bigger arms as not much of a run up is required for the shorter holes. They are filled with a small gravel that already has shifted a bit with use. It looks like there are areas where some of the holes could have added some length to them, as it stands though, I don't think there is a hole much monger then 350 feet.
Other Thoughts: I am always surprised by how towns this size come up with the money for such courses. definately some thought and effort was put into this course and they did a great job with the space that was avialable to them. I could see how this course will increase in challenge as the trees grow in and the rough gets rougher. Do to the lengths of the holes, I think that a seasoned player should treat this course as perhaps a mid and putter type course but there is enough here that will keep you coming back. For newer players, I think this is a great course to learn the game on. I look forward to coming back and playing again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.