Disc Golf Center
Sheridan, WY 
Sheltered Acres DGC Share
Uploaded By: humchris85 Hole #9 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Short, But Not Neccesarily A Great Course For Beginners!

1    8/8/2016   8/8/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sheltered Acres is a small park with two tennis courts, some picnic shelters and there is a popular walking path which passes through the park. There is a course map on the tennis courts fence. Two porti potties are by the small parking lot.

The course has these small concrete pads with artistic designs and sponsor's name on them. The design always points in the direction of the basket. Although shorter than normal, you hardly need a run up here. The baskets are Discatchers with the yellow rim and # on them.

The first two holes are both under 101'. But then # 3 is a hyser throw to a blind basket. Just because it's only 150', I don't see this as a beginner's hole because the river is just left of the basket. And this river has a 8 foot bank just in case your disc finds water. And the water is murky looking.

Then hole # 5 is just a bad design. It's about 285' with the deep river bank on the right and you're throwing right into all the traffic on this walking trail.

# 6 is a simple little ACE run to a basket in front of the tennis courts. # 7 is a cool little 100' throw to a basket guarded by about six large Oak trees. But then both 8 & 9 play close to neighbor's backyards.
Cons: Some short easy holes.

Some baskets are set too high.

River with deep bank would not be fun to go down into.

Course does not have a strong identity. Is it a simple little beginner's course? But not enough challenge for better players.
Other Thoughts: I was not entirely sold on this course. No way do I want to go down that riverbank and get wet rescuing my disc. Three or four other holes are too short and easy to merit much excitement. So who's going to play here?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Beginner Course

1    4/25/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 364  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +A short course made for kids and beginners to play. It is great for new players or players that can't throw as far.
+Map at the start and good flow make for an easy relaxing navigation of the course.
+Nice tees, shorter but long enough for the length of this course.
+Some fun semi-technical course with many pins placed near or behind trees. Not a ton of flight path obstacles but final shot placement is important.
+Solid closing holes that were a lot of fun.
+Many ace runs here.
Cons: -Very short and not much length variation.
-Tees are short.
-Could lose a disc in the river or even in a backyard. The backyards are way too close to some pins. Beginners will put their discs into a backyard for sure unless they are very careful.
-Course could be dangerous if there were many other park users or disc golfers. Fairways are pretty close together and sidewalks come into play.
Other Thoughts: +This is the best course in the area for a quick round. Sheridan college is overall more fun and a bigger challenge but will take much longer to play.
+This course is worth a stop as long as you don't expect a championship 18. If you look at what it is, you won't be disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pre-made EDGE Course

1    4/23/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: AndyJB
Played: 50  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 25.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ---Awesome teepads (though they are short) with cool designs and sponsor etched right in
---Quality baskets
---Good atmosphere and location...local walkers were super friendly
---Easy to find your way around
Cons: ---Too short to be a real challenge for an experienced player
---A few crossing fairways, and a couple shots over the sidewalk
---Baskets are raised a good 6 inches (if not more) higher than a normal basket...no idea why but it certainly doesn't add anything to the course
---Many holes play right up against people yards...not a good idea for a kids/begginers course like this
---Same as above, but with a playground in lieu of yards
Other Thoughts: I pestered my wife to stop here as we were driving from Montana to Colorado, mostly so I could get a break from the car. I just brought a mid and a putter and owned the course, including 3 chainouts that may have ended up as aces if I had brought a towel (it was pretty snowy today.)

This is a very easy course. Like, ridiculously easy. There's only one hole over 300 feet and they call it a par 4. So you can tell its made for kids. I didn't see a school nearby, but if there is, this is the perfect place to take a gym class for the EDGE Program. Great for kids...not really for anyone else, so I just can't rate it higher.

Still, kudos for the city of Sheridan for putting in a course there.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/7/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: Mhaycock10
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sign by tee #1 showing tee box and pin locations for each hole.
Well taken care of city park
Cons: Tee boxes are pretty small
all 9 baskets are all "higher" then the normal height
a couple holes fairways cross each other
bike/walking path with a lot of traffic comes into play on a few holes so be careful
There are some really short holes, but they kind of make up for them by making them Par 2's
A few holes might have the river come into play, be careful its running pretty fast right now.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty fun little course. Lots of opportunity's for Ace Runs for almost any skill level player.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice short course

1    2/2/2012   2/2/2012
Review By: jugglerbri
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out course. Easy to navigate. A couple very cool holes (7 and 9). River comes into play on a couple holes (lost my disc in the only open spot on the frozen river!) and the pin placement around the trees is nice. Tees are all nice solid concrete, pins are well marked, map at the beginning for new players.
Cons: It's short. Almost half the holes are Par 2. The day I went, it was also icy. One of the tees was completely under ice so I simply shot from behind it.
Other Thoughts: If you're in town and you want a quick round of disc golf, this is great little course. I had no problem finding or navigating the course. If it were longer, it would have received a better rating.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center