Sisters, OR 
Hyzer Pines at S.O.A.R. Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 399ft.   3 / 505ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Best course in central Oregon

2-4    9/28/2014   9/28/2014
Review By: cmkaiser
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Great terain with tall Ponderosa pines, decent hole numbering signs, new large rubber tee boxes. Layout was interesting and multiple pin placements and tee boxes give the player variety. Many benches at tee boxes. Full 18 holes with DiscCatcher baskets.
Cons: Signage at tee boxes does not show where baskets are, nor which placement is in use. Tee box signs do not denote if they are the long or regular box placements. No trash receptacles throughout course, only at tee 1.
Other Thoughts: 1 water hole was nice, little OB was nice, most trees are limbed up so more airspace for discs.

Beautiful course

1    5/25/2014   5/28/2014
Review By: JerichoBronco
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/9/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Great tee pads, nice material and length
*Nice baskets
*Defined fairways
*Well maintained, nice benches
*Good course design/variety
*Decent course flow
*Beautiful area
Cons: *Holes not marked well- They have 2 different throwing positions for each hole and neither are marked. Very confusing for new players.
*Need better directions between each hole too.
*There is a good amount of underbrush if you miss the fairway area, so we had trouble finding a few discs
*Has one hole next to a fence with water. Very easy to lose a disc- Has a 6" fence with a Do Not Trespass sign on it
Other Thoughts: This is set in a pine forest. It has a great vibe to the place, mountains in the background, high desert/ forest area, just beautiful. I had to use about every shot in my limited repertoire by the time we ended. All those pine trees with make you shape some interesting shots if you don't hit the fairway area. Some very long holes for those of you that can wing it. Not really any short ace type holes though. For a new player I found this course difficult but fun. I would venture to say that the more experienced thrower would enjoy this even more.

This course was great but could be improved with a few simple upgrades. Adding better signage and better arrows showing where the next hole is would make this course almost perfect. If it wasn't for a few locals I don't know that we would have been able to find our way through on the back 9. Played on a Sunday evening, not too busy.

This is one of those courses that would be worth a long drive to play. If you are staying in the Bend area this is a must play.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the trip

5+    6/2/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: afroflow
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Great variety of fairways that will test every shot in your arsenal, and constantly challenge you to come up with a few more
-Perfect mix of difficult par 3's with a few easier bird options mixed throughout
-Majority of holes have 2-4 pin placements(more on this later)
-Great use of signs to mark hole placement & ft to pin from the teepad
-A few holes with multiple tee options
-Beautifully maintained course
-Practice putting tee in the ground (HUGE points in my book)
-Perfectly challenging, without feeling unfair
Cons:
-Course directions to next tee would be beneficial
-No real garbage/recycling cans throughout the course, so be prepared to pack everything out
-Static scenery(sage brush and pine trees everywhere) messes with depth perception and makes looking for discs disorienting, even in the fairway
-Course flow gets a little tricky after the first 9 on first play through
-Elevation changes.....there aren't any. However this isn't as much a con, just the 1 thing keeping Hyzer Pines from a 4.5 or 5.

Other Thoughts:
This small town course is a real treasure. Not every hole will feel like a completely separate experience then the last, however every shot will feel new. With most fairways being littered with thin pine trees and underbrush, the difference of your placement 5ft left or 5ft right could mean an extra stroke (if not 2). Hyzer Pines will constantly keep you looking for a better line and wishing for better placement. That said you should know this course plays fair. Make smart solid decisions and you'll easily end up within a few strokes of par (either up or down). Lose concentration for a moment and you'll feel the wraith of bogeys start piling up.
Most holes have an extra pin placements that give the fairway a drastically different feel. IE hole 16 right placement requires a tight line drive up the middle for a perfect birdy putt. It's left placement I found myself throwing an elevated spike hyzer to base the pin. The difference between placement is within 30ft, completely different strategies, tiny variable of placement.
Take a course map or smartphone with you to help out with locating some of the pin placements or teepads. 1-9 play fluidly, but once you get to the back 9 (presuming you find it without a map) all bets are off.
Of small town (publicly funded) courses that I've played Hyzer Pines is one of the best. Right up there with Fort Walla Walla DGC. The course offers a ton of variety to it's constant local players, yet still has a great play-ability to bring in us tourists and keep things intresting.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

2-4    9/21/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: Harvy B.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun holes, great use of available terrain, well maintained, one of the coolest towns I've been to, Basket 18 was a great top-off to a fun round. There is a variety of long drives and shot shaping that make this course very interesting. People in the S.O.A.R. building are helpful and friendly. Multiple pin placements are always good, but I was there such a short time that I only got to play what was set when I got there. When all is said and done I would be happy if this was my home course.
Cons: Flat, some holes are repetitive, rubber tee-pads are getting worn out in places.
Other Thoughts: If you are in central Oregon for any reason take the time to check this course out, you won't be sorry. Sisters Oregon is a town that has a major focus on youth programs, and one major aspect of that focus is disc golf. This course is next to the high school, near the middle school and on on the S.O.A.R. property (which is the after school and youth programs center), please set a good example for the kids in the area and show them the positive side of this sport. This course is a great example of how communities can support outdoor youth activities.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/22/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: money 21
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: great course mutiple pins and tees. The hole very from long to short but nothing under 200'. nice tee signs.
Cons: th way to the next tee is not always easy to find.
Other Thoughts: putting in signs to the next tee for new players would make this one of the best course in oregon.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pondo Paradise

5+    7/1/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Multiple pins for every hole
Multiple tees for some holes
Some Par 4's depending on settings
Good tees
Great signage
Easy to navigate
Well maintained
Active club
Beautiful area
Cons:
The course is set in a Ponderosa pine forest which is beautiful but flat and very much the same throughout - no real variation in terrain.
Other Thoughts:
I love Hyzer Pines and have a great time playing there every time I get the chance. It is playable year round, and being on the "dry side" of Oregon, this means you can usually expect some sunshine and overall good conditions. One of the things I like about it is also the only real drawback to this course, and that is the setting in a beautiful Pondersosa Pine forest. Big trees, sagebrush, sandy soil, on every hole. No elevation to be had on the site, and other than a water treatment pond to the side of one hole, no water in play. But that's not a knock on the design, it's just what is there. It's fun golf, especially for those of us used to playing in thick undergrowth forests. This course has big trees and sparse sagebrush, and other than sometimes getting disoriented by the sameness of the ground cover, it is hard to lose track of your disc.

The fairways are fair and challenging, carved between the Pondos. With up to three pin settings on every hole, and some holes having long tees, there is a lot of variety available on this course. Some of the longer settings reach past 700', and there are also plenty of reachable pins from the tee, if you can control your drive. There is nothing tricky or gimmicky about this course - hit your lines and you will be rewarded, miss your lines and you will hit trees. The variation in right, left, short and long is very well incorporated into the design, with perhaps a slight skew towards right turning holes, which some may say favors sidearm or lefties. So be it - haven't we all seen enough righty hyzer holes by now? And those are still here too. With the multiple pin settings on this course there is something for eveyone.

Another fun aspect of this course for those of us coming from sea level is the altitude. It's not exactly alpine golf but your discs will be more stable. So it's fun to grab some of that flippy plastic and carve your lines. The local club The Central Oregon Disc Golf Club (formerly Hyzer Desert Rebels) has done an outstanding job getting this course installed on the grounds of the SOAR community center on school district property and keeping it there and well maintained. This is the only public 18 hole disc golf course in Central Oregon. There is plentiful camping nearby and Sisters, OR is a beautiful part of the state. If you are in the area, this is a must play course. No drinking or smoking on school district grounds and please throw a few bucks in the donation box to keep the improvements coming!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    10/10/2008   5/9/2010
Review By: santacruzdg
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well designed and maintained course and makes good use of the land available. Plenty of parking.
Cons: Would be nice to have some elevation changes but it's not a deal breaker. The back nine can be a bit difficult to follow the first time through.
Other Thoughts: The flat terrain enables some less mobile or disabled players the opportunity to play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good and getting better

5+    11/21/2009   12/5/2009
Review By: Oregon_Nole
Played: 32  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Best, and only permanent 18 hole basket course in Central Oregon.
*Interesting, varied design.
*New Tee Locations on 4 or 5 holes, and a couple new pin placements really add some character and challenge.
*Rewards steady, consistent play.
*Almost always empty, except on .....
*League day (currently on Sundays for winter...)
Cons: *Flat, it is discouraging to see the amazing views of the Sisters mountain range on the way to the course, so close you can almost touch them, only to play 18 gruelingly flat holes.
Other Thoughts: IMO, the design, and fact that its a full 18 baskets, far outweigh the flatness of the course. Especially with the new design on a number of holes.

Please, when playing this course, keep a couple things in mind:
1) The course is in very close proximity to Sisters High School, and S.O.A.R. (the local after school recreation program) so please be aware of your surroundings, and know that law enforcement frequents the area. There are both little and big eyes watching you....
2. Disc golf has a hard enough time growing in Central Oregon, it has been a long struggle just to get the courses we have, so please do your part to keep this course open. There aren't many trash cans on the course, so if you pack it in, please pack it out.

Ok, I'm done being preachy, I'm sorry, its just with so few courses here, its vital to keep the ones we do have open.

But Hyzer Pines is a great course to hone your skills. With the exception of the new, long pin on #12, and maybe the long pin at #10, almost all of the holes are birdie-able with a great drive, and par-able with a good drive and good upshot.

Its also good for the up-and-coming players. Most fairways are wide and fair, and most pins can be seen from the pads.

I'm always down to play, PM me if you'd like to play a round....


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 !

1    9/17/2009   10/5/2009
Review By: Scorchysrevenge
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Convenient location
-good signage (although sometimes hard to tell which direction of the tee pad you were supposed to throw from)
-Nice long holes.
-Good use of left and right pin placement.
-Not too brushy, hard to loose disc.
Cons: -Dusty
-Flat
-Repetitive
-Walkways running through disc course, chance of hitting people.
Other Thoughts: This is the only disc golf course in Sisters, so it's nice that it's there but the scenery is not the best. A lot of pine trees dust and some small shrubs for everysingle hole. I do not think I would go back unless I happened to be in the area for something else.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Central Oregon

5+    4/15/2009   4/28/2009
Review By: rickeyj23
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love the setting. The tall ponderosa pines are dense enough to make it challenging, but not impossible. It has never been busy in all the times I have played it. Sometimes it seems as though you are the only one out there. It has some really good holes also a good mix of short and long holes.
Cons: It is dusty, but everything is dusty in Central Oregon
Other Thoughts: Central Oregon and Bend specifically need more courses. The active lifestyle we live here lends itself to being outdoors doing fun things. What is more fun than disc golf? The 9 hole course at the college is not enough for the Bendites! We need another course or two.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center