Golden Valley, MN 
Wirth Par 3 Share
Uploaded By: Steve West Hole #16 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 177ft.   3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Coexistence, of a sort

1    7/12/2015   7/19/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 225  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ***Important*** This review is based on having just played the Wirth Par 3 "Enhanced" 18 hole course set up for the National Senior Games on 7/12/15***

The Wirth disc golf course shares space in a creative way with a par three ball golf course, so you can always expect excellent maintenance, a clubhouse with refreshments, bathrooms, and some pretty, park-like views. The normal set up for disc golf includes multiple tee and basket positions on each hole, but we played it with some changes: we teed off on hole 7 from right behind the line of trees, forcing a decision on flight lines. Temp hole 9 (long) played through the gap just past the knoll on 8, with a tree in front of the tee which "strongly suggested" a short, controlled (rhfh or lhbh) S-curved shot selection. Holes 10-13 were lengthened and combined, as were 16-18, to create a challenge for players between Recreational to Intermediate skill levels (from the long tees), but still remaining fun for the women and the older guys (my dad played his first event at age 80 here!) from the shorter tees.

The course presents a tremendous amount of flexibility, shots that bend in all directions, opportunities to set up blind shots and use a great deal of elevation, and yet (for the most part) not punish errant shots with lost discs. The baskets are good, visible yellow and green, 18 chain models. The tee signs are the same quality as the ball golf signs, and list distances in yards but they don't indicate pin position.
Cons: We had the benefit of playing the course all to ourselves due to being a National Senior Games event. But ball golfers were apparently chomping at the bit to get on the course as soon as we were done. I'm not sure I'd like playing concurrently with guys who can hit me with a golf ball, but don't have any idea where I'm headed as my disc fairway runs across or into the woods around them. Disc golfers would possibly be treated as interlopers by a lot of 'REAL' golfers...

The only part of the temp setup that might require re-evaluation would be holes 16 through 18. They were definitely the most challenging and the most talked about. We teed (on both long AND 'short' 16) from the elevated, 9th ball golf tee, and had to ignore the basket short and to the left (several folks got confused here). Instead, we played over the far ridge, and to the dastardly sloping, hillside, wooded basket position for 18. Then the long 17 shot completely blind and back over the same hill to the basket seen earlier. Finally, we doubled back over the same hill to another blind, rollaway basket. It was excellent that they 'ribboned' the blind positions (kudos!), but it FELT like all three of these fairways ran parallel, and only 50 to 100 feet apart from each other. Not sure I'd make that 'permanent'...

Might be a plus for some, but the course is intended to be played with the ball golf greens as out of bounds, and with good reason: a spike shot (or even excessive foot traffic) could really damage the necessarily smooth and level surface of their greens. We were careful to play it 'right', because of tournament penalty strokes, but not every casual player will be so cautious.

Finally, this isn't a con for me, but a lot of folks seem to demand big distances off the tee to make a good course. Wirth's normal setup is somewhat short (12 holes from the 'longs' don't even reach 250', and only one hole is longer than 330'). We played it slightly longer (8 under 250', 6 over 330'). As currently laid out, the combination of less than inspiring play and the sharing of the space has been mentioned as a negative repeatedly. But I did hear Steve W say they were hoping for a redesign in the near future.
Other Thoughts: Even though I only got to play it once, and in an 'enhanced' configuration, it was easy to see that they've designed a nice, flexible, fun disc golf course, coexisting with an active ball golf course here. If they played it for one sport at a time (blocks of time for disc golf, and others for ball golf) it'd be a great use of space and resources. Even so, it needs to be understood that means it's pay to play, but at $5 a round, disc golf is still a great value.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth the Money

1    7/6/2014   7/9/2015
Review By: SteLaG
Played: 60  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well groomed course in a nice area of town. Lots of other things to do around the park. Good course for beginners.
Cons: There is nothing special about this course. The fact that it actually costs money to play makes it even worse.There are loads of other courses near by that are free and far superior to this one. I felt uncomfortable with all the traditional golfers trying to play at the same time I was disc golfing. The last hole was apparently the signature hole on the course, but it didn't seem much different from the rest of them.
Other Thoughts: I like the idea of trying to combine disc golf with traditional golf, but this is not a great example of how to do it. You couldn't pay me to play this course again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: jacobsladder
Played: 135  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 19.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place to try to convert ball golfers to the sport. I met a crowd of 50 somethings and let throw a hole. It wasn't easy for them and they ended up appreciating Disc Golf for what it is. I also liked the feel of being on a well groomed course. I enjoyed all the extra feet that i gained skipping the disc.
Cons: Too many short holes without a lot of trees and other hazards. There is enough land and trees to make some really cool holes and help keep the disc players away from the ball players. It would also be nice to have some cement tees to throw from. I later learned that they change the tee off spots weekly for disc players, so that's why they don't have cement pads.
Other Thoughts: I think this course would be better and probably more popular if they created a nice 12 hole course with some long and challenging shots. They have enough land to make a great 18 hole course, but still have the mindset of a ball golf player in their design.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 $5 Not Worth It Even Free

1    7/9/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: moni
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Course was well groomed... because it's a golf course
- Pins were in good shape
Cons: Where do I start? Terrible course
- $5 to play when there's better courses for free
- No launch pads, you tee off with golfers
- Finding the pin was very difficult as there were zero arrows pointing you and the course was set up for regular golf, not disc
- There were regular golfers everywhere confusing where you started as a disc-er and they started and ended
- Mosquitos ate you alive
- Whole course was groomed for golf, so the fun of discing in natural scenery was completely absent
- There is a jumble between holes 9 - 12 that is just a complete cluster-eff because again, there are no arrows pointing to you, no launch pads, and the pins didn't even have an arrow on top. You literally had to walk to the pins close enough to see the small printed numbers on them to figure out if you were throwing to the correct one
- Very little challenges
Other Thoughts: A bad course coupled with pompous regular golfers mad that you're in their way and no guidance made me wish not only that they should have paid me to play there but in addition want to bathe in camomile lotion from all the mosquito bites

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 $5, I think not

1    5/18/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well groomed, for the most part.
map and scorecard are always pluses
Cons: -$5? in minnesota, and thats per round?
-Holes intertwine with traditional golf holes, very annoying, and causes some hold ups.
-The course gets busy with traditional golfers, not as many disc golfers when i went.
- dirt tees? where is my $5 going? thats right its going to traditional golf green upkeep
Other Thoughts: This course was very easy and straight forward. not worth the money, most of the courses in the same area are free, properly kept, and more challenging. There were traditional golfers right behind us the whole time with balls flying every where.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: aajpity
Played: 29  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Not many people.
-Learn to use your Mid-Ranges and Putters more.
-Easy to navigate.
-Helpful employees.
-Scorecard/Map.
Cons: -Tall grass on one hole.
-2 Baskets were missing from the course.
-Very easy (Short holes with no challenges).
-Pay to play.
-No actual Tee.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course but for the price it's not worth going out of your way for. It's in very nice conditions and other then the tall grass hard to lose a disc. It is well maintained and the scorecards and maps are nice. Not much variety on the holes but trees can get in the way. The wild turkeys were interesting to see and the regular golfers sometimes got in the way. Overall fun course, better then alot in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not "wirth" it

1    5/10/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: Goosefraba
Played: 98  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Well maintained
*Hard to lose a disc
Cons: *Have to watch out for golfers, which can be interesting, especially when playing alongside certain groups
*Mundane holes
*Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: When paying to play, I expect some unique and challenging holes but this course had neither. If it was free, then I'd probably play it to practice, but the fee doesn't warrant another round.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean and Easy

1    3/14/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Deadbishop
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice, well maintained course. Hard to lose a disc here. Low traffic (from the few times I've been there). Good place for a leisurely game.
Cons: I expected a more exciting course for having to pay a fee. Bland pitch and putt, no real technical holes. Seemed like an afterthought to put a disc golf course on an actual golf course.
Other Thoughts: For the $5, I'd rather go to any of the nearby free courses.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Have Fun With It

2-4    4/4/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: AWine44
Played: 81  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun to play on a ball golf course that is maintained. Lots of ace and deuce chances. Good use of wooded areas and elevation.
Cons: May have to share some areas with ball golfers (we played 2 rounds and it was never an issue). $5 + tax with no season pass available. The course doesn't present much of a challenge and is a bit repetitive.
Other Thoughts: It's sort of a pitch and putt type course. So you have to be in that kinda mood and have fun with it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

1    10/2/2011   1/9/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays along a ball golf course, using some fairways and some of the wooded areas around the fringes. The maintenance is very good, ball golf standards are a bit higher so it's in great shape for disc golf. For the most part, the disc golf either plays parallel to golf holes or away from the golf fairways so there isn't too much conflict and you'll know when you're sharing space. There are decent signs to go with the scorecard and map available at the pro shop. There are two tees per hole, a few of which change things up significantly.

The course has a few more technical holes, and those call for a decent balance of left and right turning shots. There isn't a ton of distance, but a couple longer holes are mixed in with the easily reachable shots. There are some nice hills that provide some interesting challenges at times.
Cons: For a golf course, there aren't really any air it out type holes, but it's also not technical enough to provide much of a challenge that way. It ends up feeling a bit repetitive without any real signature shots or wow factor. Some of the tees that are in the more wooded areas are rutted out and not level. The grass pads throughout the rest of the course could get pretty worn and muddy with more traffic.

The design does a decent job of avoiding conflicts with golfers, but there's still a chance of getting hit with an errant golf ball if you're not paying attention. The course map shows multiple pin positions, so you still have to scout ahead on a few holes where the pin isn't visible from the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course was a bit underwhelming, and with many less expensive but more interesting courses in the area this wouldn't be at the top of my list to play again. Beginners will enjoy this one, with reasonable hole lengths, only a few holes that make you hit a tighter line and not a ton of punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will not find much of a challenge or many interesting tests of their skills.

Carts were no longer available when I played due to some disc golfers taking them places they weren't supposed to go and damaging the course and carts.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.