Golden Valley, MN 
Wirth Par 3 Share
Uploaded By: Steve West Hole #18 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 138ft.   3 / 162ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Red Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    9/9/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: jacobsladder
Played: 135  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great place to try to convert ball golfers to the sport. I met a crowd of 50 somethings and let throw a hole. It wasn't easy for them and they ended up appreciating Disc Golf for what it is. I also liked the feel of being on a well groomed course. I enjoyed all the extra feet that i gained skipping the disc.
Cons: Too many short holes without a lot of trees and other hazards. There is enough land and trees to make some really cool holes and help keep the disc players away from the ball players. It would also be nice to have some cement tees to throw from. I later learned that they change the tee off spots weekly for disc players, so that's why they don't have cement pads.
Other Thoughts: I think this course would be better and probably more popular if they created a nice 12 hole course with some long and challenging shots. They have enough land to make a great 18 hole course, but still have the mindset of a ball golf player in their design.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

$5 Not Worth It Even Free

1    7/9/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: moni
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course was well groomed... because it's a golf course
- Pins were in good shape
Cons: Where do I start? Terrible course
- $5 to play when there's better courses for free
- No launch pads, you tee off with golfers
- Finding the pin was very difficult as there were zero arrows pointing you and the course was set up for regular golf, not disc
- There were regular golfers everywhere confusing where you started as a disc-er and they started and ended
- Mosquitos ate you alive
- Whole course was groomed for golf, so the fun of discing in natural scenery was completely absent
- There is a jumble between holes 9 - 12 that is just a complete cluster-eff because again, there are no arrows pointing to you, no launch pads, and the pins didn't even have an arrow on top. You literally had to walk to the pins close enough to see the small printed numbers on them to figure out if you were throwing to the correct one
- Very little challenges
Other Thoughts: A bad course coupled with pompous regular golfers mad that you're in their way and no guidance made me wish not only that they should have paid me to play there but in addition want to bathe in camomile lotion from all the mosquito bites

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

$5, I think not

1    5/18/2013   5/18/2013
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well groomed, for the most part.
map and scorecard are always pluses
Cons: -$5? in minnesota, and thats per round?
-Holes intertwine with traditional golf holes, very annoying, and causes some hold ups.
-The course gets busy with traditional golfers, not as many disc golfers when i went.
- dirt tees? where is my $5 going? thats right its going to traditional golf green upkeep
Other Thoughts: This course was very easy and straight forward. not worth the money, most of the courses in the same area are free, properly kept, and more challenging. There were traditional golfers right behind us the whole time with balls flying every where.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

1    8/16/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: aajpity
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Not many people.
-Learn to use your Mid-Ranges and Putters more.
-Easy to navigate.
-Helpful employees.
-Scorecard/Map.
Cons: -Tall grass on one hole.
-2 Baskets were missing from the course.
-Very easy (Short holes with no challenges).
-Pay to play.
-No actual Tee.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course but for the price it's not worth going out of your way for. It's in very nice conditions and other then the tall grass hard to lose a disc. It is well maintained and the scorecards and maps are nice. Not much variety on the holes but trees can get in the way. The wild turkeys were interesting to see and the regular golfers sometimes got in the way. Overall fun course, better then alot in the area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not "wirth" it

1    5/10/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: Goosefraba
Played: 89  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: *Well maintained
*Hard to lose a disc
Cons: *Have to watch out for golfers, which can be interesting, especially when playing alongside certain groups
*Mundane holes
*Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: When paying to play, I expect some unique and challenging holes but this course had neither. If it was free, then I'd probably play it to practice, but the fee doesn't warrant another round.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clean and Easy

1    3/14/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: Deadbishop
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice, well maintained course. Hard to lose a disc here. Low traffic (from the few times I've been there). Good place for a leisurely game.
Cons: I expected a more exciting course for having to pay a fee. Bland pitch and putt, no real technical holes. Seemed like an afterthought to put a disc golf course on an actual golf course.
Other Thoughts: For the $5, I'd rather go to any of the nearby free courses.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Have Fun With It

2-4    4/4/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: AWine44
Played: 77  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun to play on a ball golf course that is maintained. Lots of ace and deuce chances. Good use of wooded areas and elevation.
Cons: May have to share some areas with ball golfers (we played 2 rounds and it was never an issue). $5 + tax with no season pass available. The course doesn't present much of a challenge and is a bit repetitive.
Other Thoughts: It's sort of a pitch and putt type course. So you have to be in that kinda mood and have fun with it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

1    10/2/2011   1/9/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays along a ball golf course, using some fairways and some of the wooded areas around the fringes. The maintenance is very good, ball golf standards are a bit higher so it's in great shape for disc golf. For the most part, the disc golf either plays parallel to golf holes or away from the golf fairways so there isn't too much conflict and you'll know when you're sharing space. There are decent signs to go with the scorecard and map available at the pro shop. There are two tees per hole, a few of which change things up significantly.

The course has a few more technical holes, and those call for a decent balance of left and right turning shots. There isn't a ton of distance, but a couple longer holes are mixed in with the easily reachable shots. There are some nice hills that provide some interesting challenges at times.
Cons: For a golf course, there aren't really any air it out type holes, but it's also not technical enough to provide much of a challenge that way. It ends up feeling a bit repetitive without any real signature shots or wow factor. Some of the tees that are in the more wooded areas are rutted out and not level. The grass pads throughout the rest of the course could get pretty worn and muddy with more traffic.

The design does a decent job of avoiding conflicts with golfers, but there's still a chance of getting hit with an errant golf ball if you're not paying attention. The course map shows multiple pin positions, so you still have to scout ahead on a few holes where the pin isn't visible from the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course was a bit underwhelming, and with many less expensive but more interesting courses in the area this wouldn't be at the top of my list to play again. Beginners will enjoy this one, with reasonable hole lengths, only a few holes that make you hit a tighter line and not a ton of punishment for errant shots. More experienced players will not find much of a challenge or many interesting tests of their skills.

Carts were no longer available when I played due to some disc golfers taking them places they weren't supposed to go and damaging the course and carts.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Don't waste your money.

1    10/6/2011   10/13/2011
Review By: frogburger
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Since this is a golf course, the grass is nicely cut. It is impossible to lose a disc on most holes (I see the potential to lose one on two holes).

The baskets are big and new and seem to do a very good job of catching hard throws without deflecting out of the basket.
Cons: I have played over 20 courses in the metro this year and this one ranks near the bottom of all of them. The actual cost of playing this course if $5.36 with tax per round, not per day. That makes it one of the most expensive ones in the metro. Compared to real golf it is still a good deal, but if you are going to charge more than other courses is should be better than them, not substantially worse. I expected better.

The person working in the clubhouse was not the friendly helpful person that another reviewer praised in her review, or he was having a bad day when we played. He let us know that the real golfers had the right of way and there are only a couple of baskets were you are not in danger of getting hit in the head by a flying golf ball if you are not careful.

Almost every basket is just stuck in the rough grass next to the golf fairway. The tees are just white or red sticks stuck in the grass as well. There is no real tee box. The course has no variety.

They provided a scorecard with a map in the clubhouse. It is completely useless. The scorecard map shows 2 or 3 baskets locations on every hole, when there is only 1. You will have no idea which side of the golf fairway the basket is actually located the first time you play.

For the majority of the round we did not see anyone else playing disc golf even though it was a perfect 83 degree October day. We finally crossed paths with another disc golfer on hole 11. It was also his first time playing Wirth. All three of us agreed that we would not be back for a second round.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Country Club Feel!

1    7/16/2011   9/3/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2012
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sometimes I felt like a member of an exclusive country club, like when I was able to drink ice cold water from their little stand. But other times I felt like a intruder sneaking on the course. And I'm not saying anyone made me feel unwelcome in any way. It just felt strange sharing the course with the ball golfers.
You start by paying your $5 at the clubhouse. There's an option to rent a cart for $5. The course record of negative 11 is posted in there. The baskets are brand new Phil Knight Oregon Duck Nike Green/Gold models. The tee signs are professional signs like on a golf course. Oh yeah, this is a golf course! You get a pro style scorecard with the distances measured in yards. Two sets of tees-the shorter Reds and the longer Whites. There are no teepads, you just tee off the grass between the markers like you do in golf. The course plays at an intermediate level. It's really nice to be playing across freshly cut grass and in such a pretty setting. There was nice gentle elevation changes although they weren't used to their full potential.
Cons: As Limp Forehand writes, the disc golf layout is secondary of importance to the ball golf course, so many of the DG holes have that filler or uninspired feel to them.
Grass tees would be slippery when wet.
Navigation was confusing. I got lost and am pretty sure I never got it right.

They missed a chance to have their signature hole on # 11. I stepped up to the tee box and looked down the fairway. It's a beautiful downhill, golf type open, fairly narrow fairway with enough distance for a 500-600' downhill drive. I thought, "Here it is." I launch my drive to the basket down there in the distance about 600'. I think it's # 11. Only when I walk down there down there, I find the # 11 basket is tucked away in the woods on the left above halfway down the hill less than 300'. So instead of having an Epic drive, you have a blind downhill touch shot into the trees. Disappointing!
Other Thoughts: I was just a little under-awed here. The holes at the end, especially # 18, felt a little like filler holes. The course was worth a trip for the one time experience. There are just so many other great choices in the area, I'm not sure sure if I'd find the time to play here on more than the rare occasion.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center