Laurens, SC 
Laurens County Park Share
Uploaded By: ahoward Hole #5 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Potential to be great!

2-4    12/15/2012   6/17/2011
Review By: JBryant
Played: 56  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/27/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When fairways are mowed it has a nice groomed feel to it.

This course makes you work for a good score.

Good use of elevation here. Water comes into play on the last two holes.

Great use of obstacles (trees, hills, valleys, etc)
Cons: ***Note: When this course is not mowed it can be a course to lose a disc or two.

The rough can make a few holes not worth playing. e a few discs.

Only 9 baskets. Could put in a second set of tees and make this a better course.

Lots of land here. I'd love to see 9 more baskets go in.
Other Thoughts: Sadly, this course is tucked in an area of the upstate that isn't necessarily loaded with a lot of disc golfers. I wish it were closer to Greenville. I'd play it more often if it was.

I commend the Laurens parks and rec department for putting it in to attract us disc golfers to the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/12/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: chrissauls
Played: 100  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 20.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice change of paced from most 9 hole courses I've played. Long open holes with nice elevation changes on most. Quite country setting. Nice signs and easy to follow layout.
Cons: Tee pads are about 6' by 2.5' and are raised. Possibly, the most frustrating teepads I've ever played on. Hole 4 doesn't really have a fairway and there are too many trees guarding the pin. The line to the basket takes you right over the #5 tee pad which is only 25 ' from the #4 basket. This is a major design flaw. Hole 5 does not have a defined fairway. I know what they were thinking but I don't think they achieved it. More work needs to be done on these 2 holes. The walk from #9 to the parking lot is about 1/2 a mile.
Other Thoughts: There is a ton of potential for this course and with an additional 9 that completes the loop, it could be a 3.5 or higher rated course. With that being said, for now my overall rating of the couse is 2.66 On a scale of 1-5, with 5 the best. This is my formula.

Hole 1 - 3.50
Hole 2 - 3.75
Hole 3 - 2.75
Hole 4 - 1.75
Hole 5. -1.50
Hole 6 - 3.00
Hole 7 - 2.50
Hole 8 - 2.00
Hole 9 - 3.25

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's a start

1    6/12/2011   6/13/2011
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/15/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is not your average 9-hole pitch-&-putt. There are plenty of chances to open up, with holes over 400 or even 500'; not par-4s, but long par-3s. It has plenty of elevation and variety, and most of the holes are good or very good.

The first 6 holes are pretty open; then it transitions into a hardwood forest for the last 3, 2 of which have a pond in play.

Easily navigated without a map.

Close to interstate; easy for travelers to visit while passing through the area.

Cons: The biggest con is that the #9 basket is about a half-mile from the #1 tee.

The teepads are quite small, maybe 8' x 3', and raised concrete so it's very hard to get any kind of run-up on them. A number of pads are dangerously close to baskets, and in landing areas for those baskets.

A couple of holes requiring throwng over small trees---there's no real route otherwise. Odd.
Other Thoughts: It's a new course and will subject to adjustment and improvement over time.

There is great potential with future expansion to 18 holes to have a very good course---one worth driving to check out. The property is well-suited to disc golf; expansion will presumaby loop back nearer #1 and cure the layout problem; and the Parks Dept. is quite enthusiastic about it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  My New Backyard Course

5+    5/31/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: radeckec
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all I have to say that I live in Laurens and am very excited to have a course in town that is not only fun but challenging and exciting to play.

The second time I ever played the course I brought a friend, and we met the Director and Maintenance Supervisors of the Laurens County Park (also the creators of the course). These guys were extremely nice and approachable and answered all of our questions about the course development. They were equally intrigued by the sport and asked us just as many questions concerning how the game is played and how the course plays in comparison to other courses. For these guys to have never picked up a disc, (and I'm trying to fix that...) they designed an extremely challenging and exciting course.

The Director also informed me that the course is created from mostly recycled materials from other parks and recreation areas that they maintain. The tee pads are made from old picnic table tops, and are surrounded by mulch or wood chips. Although they may feel short at times, the concrete pads really give a legitimate feel to the course. The posts holding the signs with hole information are made from leftover and reused lumber from a park in Waterloo, SC. I really like, and am thoroughly impressed with the idea of using recycled materials to create the park.

SIGNAGE- The course does not have a sign clearly stating the start but the first tee pad can be found left of the first parking lot beside the tennis courts. The tee box signs map the hole placement pretty accurately. SIgns give distance to baskets in ft., par score, and accurate representation of basket placement, even on blind holes. They offer dotted lines to suggest the creators intended path to the hole, although it may not at all times be your preferred shot with many obstacles in your path.

All tee pads are located within visible sight of previous holes.

The course is easily played backwards to create an 18 hole course and eliminate a long boring walk back to your vehicle. (See my Other Thoughts on back 9 info.)

The course utilizes the terrain of the park to make challenging elevation change shots as well as tight wood shots and even shots over water.

The Baskets are nice disc catchers that are very well installed into the ground and stable.

Pars are very challenging on several holes including many of the par 3's and some par 4's.
Cons: There is a slight litter problem on the course but the Director has informed me of his intent to install trashcans as well as benches near the tee pads of many, if not all holes. Hopefully this will resolve the problem with time.

The park does not, at this current time, offer a working water fountain but there are bathroom facilities that are pretty well maintained.

Holes 8 and 9 near the water could offer problems to unskilled players and even veterans at times.... The pond behind basket 8 and beside basket 9 is a fishing pond and has wildlife to be reckoned with. I have seen snakes in the water on more than one occasion, so be wary when retrieving wet discs. Any discs that over shoot 8 and drift left of 9 could potentially be lost in this murky pond as well. Beware, but smart shots will produce great outcomes on these last two holes.

The course does end abruptly at 9 and leaves a very long walk back to your vehicle at hole #1. See my Other Thoughts to learn our created back 9 to get you back to your vehicle with a full round under your belt.
Other Thoughts: Back 9
My friends and I have realized that the course is very easily played in reverse, with a few modifications, and will bring you back to your vehicle with an extra 9 challenging holes to boot.

Hole 10- can be played from the wooden "Look Out" point built into the bank of the pond 3/4 of the way down hole #9 back to basket #8 as a par 3. This offers a dogleg left in contrast to the dogleg right over the same water as hole 9.

Hole 11 can be played from the left side of the picnic shelter just uphill from basket #8. Shooting to basket #7 as a short par 3 through the trees.

Hole 12 is played from the same picnic shelter as hole 11 but from the right side. (its not a long walk back to the shelter) This shot is played up the "cart path" or circling road, over the short fence to basket #6 as a par 4(suggested).

Hole 13 can be played from the bathroom sidewalk straight ahead from basket 6. This hole straightens out the 90 degree elbow shot of hole 6, but is still played as a par 3 back to basket #5.

Hole 14 can be played one of 2 ways.... The first from the area of the tee pad of hole 6 back to basket #4. Just left of the tee pad offers a small "peak-a-boo" hole to reveal the basket at the bottom of the hill. The other way to play is down the hill from basket #5 which offers a tight shot through "the chute" to basket #4. Either way the hole should be played as a par 3.

Hole 15 - from here the course is pretty much played in reverse... from basket #4 you shoot up hill the basket #3 behind the baseball field. It is a 3 down the hill so it is appropriately played as a par 4 up the hill.

Hole 16 is played from basket 3 back around the fence to basket #2 as a par 5 just as hole #3.

Hole 17 is played from basket #2 back up the hill to basket #1 along the 3rd baseline of the baseball field. It is a par 4 down the hill so we generally play it as a long par 5 up the hill. (its over 600 ft)

Hole 18 is played from basket #1 back down the hill to the post at tee box #1(no basket; just make contact with the post with the sign).

I enjoy playing this course and have talked to the Director of the course in consideration of hosting tournaments to help raise funds for the course and its improvement and further development. They have been very excited and compelled to tell me that they plan to extend the course to make 18 holes.... They are talking of making hole #10 across the pond and further into the woods before circling back to the tennis courts.... I am not sure how this will go but we will play it by ear.... Please try the course for yourself and feel free to message me if you would like a guide for the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Feelings

2-4    5/21/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: jrearle85
Played: 68  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/6/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a surprisingly good 9 hole course as far as layout goes. Being a smallish county park, I didn't come in with high expectations. So, there are may pros to report:

There is elevation change on almost every hole (except 6 and 7)

Water comes into play on the last two holes, but it only punishes a pretty bad throw.

They made great use of obstacles (trees, hills, valleys, etc) Also, typically on a multi-use park, designers tend to use the fields or fences as obstacles, but I really forgot that there were fields there at this course.

The holes also vary as to which way they curve, allowing for several different tee shots and not favoring any throwing style.

Another pro to point out is that the next tee box is 100% visible from the last basket making navigation easy.
Cons: Unfortunately, I had a few cons by the end of the round.

First there is no signage marking the beginning of the course, nor a course map that would tell you where the course goes. I parked at the first tee box located next to the tennis courts. At the end of the round, I realized my mistake as the course does not circle around to the first hole. In fact, it's about a 10-15 minute trek from the woods and hole 9 back to hole 1 where I parked. Word is that a back 9 will be installed eventually that will circle back to the tennis courts which will remedy this problem.

Also, there were no extra amenities. Meaning no (working) water fountain, no benches, and no trashcans., although I understand these are to come in the near future. There were many beer bottles and trash about over the first few holes from recent softball games. (There is a covered patio off of hole 6 with rest rooms but I didn't check them out)

Although the tee boxes are nice and new, they are concrete slab, not poured concrete, so a few of them move beneath your feet while throwing. Also, they are only approx 6.5x2.5 ft. If it were a normal short 9 holer, that wouldn't matter, but since there are holes over 400 and 500ft, it makes teeing off difficult. They are recycled materials though, making them a neat feature.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed the course. It was a pleasant surprise. Also the first two holes are situated about 100 yards from the end of a airport runway and it was fun watching a plane take off as I putted on hole 1.

This may be just my opinion, but I also thought they overused the "blind holes" on this course. I don't mind a few, but it tends to get a little old having to run ahead and find almost EVERY basket. Sort of a love/hate relationship with these...

Very fun course to try out!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.