Mustang, OK
Wild Horse Park Share
Uploaded By: BHolicki Hole #4 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good, Clean, well-maintained

5+    1/15/2014   1/16/2014
Review By: lumpystrong
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pros:
-This park is clean, family friendly, well-maintained (minus the goatheads in the summer on the back nine).
-Nice baskets, cement pads, signage, and benches at every hole.
-Short/tree-filled front, long/mostly open back.
-Plenty of opportunity to "air it out" on the back nine.
-Playground and pool close by.
-No bums.
Cons: Cons:
-Goatheads (technically Sandburs) on the back nine! Your bag will be covered in them.
-Need a bathroom on the back nine.
-Missed opportunity to bring the water into play on the back nine.
-5 back to back "long-throw" holes on the back can be a little fatiguing.
-Cedar trees in the front are a pain, and love to eat discs. Bring a baseball to get them out.
-Access to the softball fields would be nice in the case of throwing your disc over the fence.
Other Thoughts: Other Thoughts:
This is my favorite course to play, and I play it most every week. I am an intermediate player and I'm usually finish 3-6 over on this course. I've played most of the courses on the west side of OKC and usually have to deal with questionable characters (offered certain items for sale/trade). Never experienced that here.
Most of the older reviews that mention no signage/benches are outdated and should be updated.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not impressive, but a nice little neighborhood course.

1    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: wake_rider
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very nice Teepads
-Great baskets
-Bathrooms near
-Bench at every hole
-Low traffic
-Great pool/community water park to cool off in post round, or to let your family hang out in while you disc it up.
-Plenty of trash bins to help keep the course clean.
-Front 9's full of short, thick, shrubby evergreens which give unpenetrated walls of shade and wind block. Easy to get out of the direct sun on the front 9.
-Full of trees, the front 9's good for tight midrange practice. Back 9's good for gripping and ripping some long distances. (Completely void of trees Par 5's on the back leaves long albatross, reasonable eagle, and expected bird opportunities).
Cons:
-Rare opportunity to throw any distance at all on the front 9.

-Pads right next to the baskets on all the front 9. Very, very shoehorned into a small area.

-Takes less than an hour to play as a twosome. If you're looking for a nice long, concentration full round, this isn't your place.

-Though there's plenty of trees on the front 9, they're average height is probably around 18' or so. If you don't feel comfortable with a shot through, under, or around, you can easily just throw a slightly higher than normal hyzer (or thumber if that's your thing), and bypass all the trees, ending at the basket time after time. It was my first time playing this course, and I had 5 or 6 pick up birds or close to it on the front 9 by just throwing a high midrange over the trees and letting it work back to the hole. Once these tree's get bigger, it will probably be great, but as of now, it's just too natural to throw slightly higher than a flat throw and let it work over the tops of the shrubby evergreens.

- The back 9 is completely uneventful, minus the distance. Not a single tree seems to come into play until you get to 17, and even at that, it's very few trees.

-The back 9 uses what seems to be a drainage retaining area that's completely wide open, void of tree, and FULL OF GOATHEADS.

-GOATHEADS, GOATHEADS, AND BILLIONS MORE GOATHEADS. The back 9 being in a wide open field means that there are ridiculous amounts of goat heads just waiting to drive you crazy. I pulled literally hundreds of these prickly bastards out of my bag, skin, and shoes throughout the back 9. I made the mistake of wearing Vibrams (my 'always' discing choice of footwear), and had to stop at almost every throw and a few times between to clean the hoards of goatheads out of my feet. I ended up playing a good portion of the back 9 with my bag still attached to my back (something I NEVER do), simply because I didn't want to set it down. Just as soon as you did, you picked it back up to far too many of those spiny stickers attached to every nook and cranny they could. Insanely annoying.
Other Thoughts: With my experience of this course now, I'm completely unwilling to travel to play this place again. If you're living in the Mustang area and need to get in a practice round, or if you need to keep your family entertained while you play (the pool is great for this), then this place is worth a try. However, even if I lived in Mustang, I would be willing to drive 30 minutes to get to most any other course than to commonly play here. It's just not that good of a course, which is sad. You can tell that they've put really good work into it (it has great tee's, baskets, benches, and trash bins), but it's just not a good course. Too little variation, far too many goatheads on the back and with no clever payoff with unique holes to make your mind get past the fact that your digging stickers out of your flesh every other step.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Park : Excellent Course

2-4    5/11/2012   5/15/2012
Review By: kcautoguy
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set up well with lots of trees and technical shots on the front 9 while still being well manicured without any deep rough to trample though. Tee pads are large and nice, baskets are new and play well. Nice benches on every hole although they are a little small. Signs are nice and accurate. Back 9 has a lot of room to air it out and has a beautiful pond in view. The pars are higher on the longer ones giving you a good chance to get some eagles. Great place for night rounds and some locals light up the front 9 baskets and play it often. Beautiful park with an air force jet, tank, and war memorial. Mustang, OK is a nice town and they keep this park maintained very well.
Cons: The trees on the front 9 are disc catchers, you better keep your discs low!!!! Back 9 needs more trees in play as many holes are simply open field play. Long walk between the front and back 9's. No restrooms on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: For summer time play this course provides good difficulty without the deep rough and ticks. With work to the back 9 this course could be one of the best anywhere!!! Baseball games nearby can add a cheering crowd to your round.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 NICE

1    4/8/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Super cool little park with brand new discatchers that make it even more pretty. Nice concrete tee pads and tee signs on every hole making the navigation easy even though you can see multiple baskets on a lot of the holes. The trees are trimmed making shots have to be laser beams to be safe or you have to go over and take your chances of taking 2M OB strokes. There isn't a ton of elevation but the little that there is, is used to the fullest making is very fun. This course is fun not only for the beginner but for the upper level players and both lefty and righties. The fun factor is high because there are tons of chances at birds but a bad shot has the chance of getting punished, so you have to keep up your guard to score well. This course has many trashcans which makes the course very clean and pleasing to the eyes. The park is next to city offices so there are many little attractions like bathrooms, water fountains, playground, and others.
Cons: The back 9 gets a little boring because of the lack of trees and the same shot pretty much for a couple of them, fun if you like working on your distance. The walking path hosts many joggers/walkers so be careful and courteous. No benches but not too big of a deal.
Other Thoughts: Great addition to the OKC area and its now in my rotation for when I travel up there. This course is very cool and should be visited if you have the time!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Discgolf @ Townhall

1    3/23/2012   3/24/2012
Review By: Zach-R.
Played: 57  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Well manicured - good baskets, pads, signage, trashcans.
2. Parking with a restroom across from #1
3. The front 9- There are some trees, easy enough for the intermediate player to bomb over, but they still block a direct ace shot on most holes. There is a little shot variety on the front.
Cons: 1. The back 9- wide open and the same thing over & over. No trees just average to long distance drive & putt. The ground is very soggy & basket # 13 had a small pond around it. I had to make a " bridge" out of my discs to get my putter out. I guess this should have been welcomed since there are no water holes to add a challenge here.
2. It's @ town hall - there are constant cops driving past, parking close to where your playing & generally making "their presence" known. Don't even consider left-hand cigs!
3. NO RESTROOMS with NO TREES & constant cops in a multi use park = sore bladder.
4. The smell, it will hit you on the front & you may think someone slipped a fart on you, but by the time you hit hole #10 it's obvious that there is a treatment plant across the pond from # 11, & it's smell only gets worse & never goes away til you hit your car.
Other Thoughts: This would be a nice course for the locals, but I would not go out of my way to play it. If it were my local course i would just play 2 rounds on the front nine.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Chi Town

2-4    2/28/2012   3/2/2012
Review By: WoogieBoogie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well the immediate pro that i noticed was the huge restrooms once you pull into the parking lot by the playground. That is until i actually went inside the men's room and almost passed out due to the intense smell of fecal matter. The tees are all very nice and all signage is excellent condition, thanks Lowes. Everyone complains about hole 2 tee pad not pointing directly at the hole, but it's SUPPOSED to be that way all shots can't be straight ahead it gets boring. All three times i've played here its been windier than Chicago, im talking 20 mph steady with 40 mph gusts, which as you may imagine makes the course that much more difficult. I don't know if the wind is a constant factor in Mustang or if i just played on bad days. All three times I've been to this course its been pretty much abandoned, probably because of the wind, but still nice to have the course to yourself.
Cons: Aside from the mens room and the wind, it doesn't have many cons to complain about. The par 5's could be par 4's if not 3's, but im not complaining, extra room for a birdie.
Other Thoughts: I guess don't go on windy days would be half the point of this review, the other half would be that the restrooms smell horrible. In reality it's Oklahoma so windless days are at a premium but the wind didnt seem to affect any shots of mine (RHBH thrower) but my friend's shot's were massacred at holes 2, 11, 16 (LHBH thrower).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good Course

1    2/11/2012   2/14/2012
Review By: thelegrange
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great first course in the Mustang area.
- Technically challenging front 9
- Long drives on the back 9
- Great landscaping, will be beautiful when it warms up and greens up
- Well maintained course; I didn't see any trash lying around
- Excellent DISCatcher baskets
Cons: - Front 9 almost has too many trees
- Back 9 has barely any trees; would like to see a few more scattered around
- Front 9 will steal your discs if you throw high; either throw low or learn to climb trees
- Could use either maps posted or a walking path to guide you; I lost my way from 9 to 10
- Could use more benches/trash cans, but those will probably come with more time (and funds)
Other Thoughts: Great course for being so new. Watch out for the front 9 trees, they'll take your discs (I almost lost my drivers on two different occasions). Take a drink, I don't remember seeing any water fountains towards the middle of the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Front 9 focuses on accuracy, Back 9 focuses on distance

1    7/16/2011   7/16/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 227  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 3.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good 18 holer in a well maintained public park. The tee pads are excellent and there are even little signs indicating where the next tee is located. The front 9 uses the cedar trees well. Holes #4 and #5 have protected baskets. Hole #6 has heavy cedars in the fairway, shoot low or try a tomahawk shot. All the holes on the front nine are fairly short. #9 is a pretty open shot and will allow you a chance to air it out a bit for the first time. #10 is a slightly uphill shot. #11 is a fairly wide open hole going downhill towards the pond to the west. #12 is a wide open shot with a slight dogleg right. #13 is another open hole with a slightly protected basket. #14 is a wide open hole. #15 is the most wide open hole I have ever played on. The basket is literally in the middle of a field with not one obstacle. #16-18 finally provide trees to contend with. Be careful on #16 not to put your drive into the softball field. I was lucky my shot hit the bottom of the fence.
Cons: There are no tee signs with distances. If they were to be added it would help. Also there were stickers in the fairways, not heavy and is to be expected when it doesn't rain. The walk between #9's basket and #10's tee is rather long and drags the flow of the game down. Also what is the deal with #2's tee pad? As mikethegoalie said it points nowhere near the basket. There must be a mando somewhere, didn't quite understand that one.
Other Thoughts: There is a walking trail that winds around the back 9 so heads up when playing. This course has a good mix of long and short shots. There are more obstacles on the front 9 than the back nine. When the wind is blowing hard, as it often does, holes #11-15 could be brutal. They have used what is available and have made a pretty decent course here. As of my visit I saw about 5 groups playing here so they must have done something right.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good change of pace

1    6/20/2011   6/20/2011
Review By: Pw7500
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: My little bro and I had a really good time playing this course. We went in the afternoon when Dollese is usually crazy busy and there was hardly anyone out. The first nine has some tuff holes since you must throw under some pretty low trees.
Other Thoughts: plays supper fast

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Tale of Two Courses

5+    6/1/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 32  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2012
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new course located in the OKC metro area. The course has a somewhat schizo feeling as the first 9 holes are moderately wooded and the back nine is almost treeless. Front nine plays through the pines west of Mustang Road in the NE corner of the park property. To the south is the water park, to the west is a playground, restrooms, water fountains, and a military memorial. A running/walking track winds around the park, but is only in play on the back nine to a limited extent. The hole design on the front nine favors psuedo fairways through the pines and then tucking the pin just behind a single larger tree or patch of trees. Plenty of overhead room on almost all the holes and the lengths are all in the 250'-300' range on the first half of the course. A short walk past the pavilion and memorial gets you to tee 10 which has the first real elevation change on the course as you have to shoot over a hill and below some oaks to the pin. The 11th tee has you looking out over the NW portion of the park down toward the pond. You can see the next 5 holes from there as they're all in the same huge field. These holes are also the first appearance of the walking path mentioned above. While the Oklahoma wind was likely a minor concern on the front nine (unless you only throw hooks and thumbers) it's definitely a factor on the back nine. You throw all the cardinal directions over holes 11 through 16 so you'll have cross, tail, and headwinds for variety. Nose control and disc selection are especially important. You also see some slight uphill tosses on 13, 14, and 15. The last three holes work back toward the pavilion and the parking lot to its north. The design flavor of tucking the pin just behind isolated trees/groves is back in play on the final three holes. The park is well taken care of and the pavilions, water park, and walking path are well patronized. Tee pads are level, well-constructed and a good size. Baskets are new Innovas and are highly visible and clearly labeled. Signage is tee signs sponsored by Lowe's and each has a hole diagram and distance. There are a few garbage cans scattered in the front nine, but once you walk past the pavilion to the back 9, that's it until 18 brings you back toward the same area.
Cons: I'm not entirely sure that there can be any more variety on the front nine, but it feels repetitive as the obvious, low-risk lines tend to be thumbers or hyzer bombs. The tee on 2 points NOWHERE near the pin unless there is an unmarked mando (line shown on tee pad sign, but no verbiage to indicate a mandatory line) forcing the RH turn to the pin, otherwise another over-the-top line is easily applicable. A few of the pin/next tee placements on the front nine are a little crowded and moderate-to-extreme hyzers/anny's could go awry and come pretty close to the next tee. Lots of anthills on the front nine. Just as the front nine feels repetitive, 5 grip-and-rip holes in succession will fatigue most casual players as the likelihood of 8-10 good longish pulls in a row will not be realistic, so expect to add some strokes. You can see the walkers on the path coming from about a half mile away, but you should still be aware of them and show courtesy. A little bit of elevation change, but nothing extreme or even much of a factor on line/disc selection. No benches on the course proper and shade is few and far between on the back nine especially.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a decent addition to the OKC disc golf directory. The front nine has the feel of Will Rogers before most of the important trees were removed, but without the elevation changes. The back nine most closely resembles the open field feeling of most of Woodson Park. All in all, it's a newer, somewhat shorter and more varied Woodson. This course is a little out of the way for many of the metro golfers, but I'd rather play Wild Horse on a weekend where you know Dolese will be packed and don't have the time to get to Mitch Park in Edmond. I think the addition of some ropes and mandos at tournament time could add significant difficulty and excitement to this course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.