Brady, NE 
Palmer Park Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 147ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee - 147 feet



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Free Baskets!

1    9/3/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A nice, although dated, park with playground equipment, ball fields, basketball, tennis, bathrooms, etc
-The course actually starts out pretty decent with its second longest hole then an ace run and then a tighter hole with a few trees and some fences.
-Could be a decent place to practice whatever shot you want. Can't be too many disc golfers in a population of 400+.
Cons: -Portable baskets, how are there any left? In any other town these would be mounted in someones backyard by now. Besides being portable, they move when you hit them and don't catch that well. Also, who is to say this course will ever be the same since the baskets can move?! The baskets are also cheap and already look a decent amount more weathered than in the course pictures taken just 2 years ago.
-Half the tee markers missing and there are no actual tees on the course.
-If anybody else is here they might be in your way. This isn't a huge park. One of the fairways is a road along the baseball field. Others are right through the playground areas.
-The tees are pretty much on top of the baskets so you have to wait for whoever is ahead of you to be done if there ever would be anybody ahead of you.
-Fairly short and easy. Flat. Not many obstacles in the way. Other than potentially humans.
Other Thoughts: Safety and the portable baskets are the main issues here. This small town park really isn't big enough to host a disc golf course as well as all the other activities that are here. I applaud their efforts and the fact that no one has stolen any baskets yet. This course isn't worth a stop unless you are a course bagger like myself.
-If you really need a stop in this area, Gothenburg's course is a bit longer with permanent baskets and was somewhat fun. Cottonmill in Kearney is good!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not cutting it

1    9/1/2012   9/3/2012
Review By: btroberts011
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Its a course in the middle of no where if you had to stop. None of the pins are actually permanently in the ground so you could just move them if you wanted to make your own course. No one would know or care if you did. The grass in the summer time is very well kept.
Cons: There isnt any signs saying which pin is which after hole one your on your own and if a basket has been moved who would ever know. I think 3 of the baskets are missing either that or I just couldnt find em.
Other Thoughts: For a small town like brady this is about what i expected but if you are just driving through nebraska and want a quick game dont stop here and instead stop in Gothenburg which is about 10 miles east of Brady. The course there is much better and is even half way challenging

Im glad this course exists but it needs some work.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to Brady, population 423, but hell ya' we have a DG course!

1    7/10/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you don't want to be bothered this is probably the place to play. At last count there were less than 500 people in the town and I'm guessing not that many of them are into disc golf. It's a quirky little setup that has a great start with #1 running almost 350' with a tight left side. #2 is a throw away, and then #3 splits the area behind the baseball field with trees and a very tight line. For what it's worth - it was a fun hole.

#4 is another throw away, but #5 is impressive shooting close to 400' depending on where you decide your box should be down a very tight shoot. The rest of the course is fairly mediocre. Basically, this is the type of course I would generalize for small town DG, and one I would recommend completing with a six pack in your bag. Besides the solitude, the park has a nice little playground to keep the kids occupied and there are bathrooms.

BEST HOLE/S: #1 & #5
Cons: As much as I am impressed with having the luxury of a small town course to stop at in the middle of nowhere - there are definitely some glaring cons. First - #6 and #8 are missing pins and four holes don't have tee signs. On those holes I played the next tee are the target. Distance doesn't seem very accurate, but that a small issue compared to the others.

Second, and truly the bigger issue are the basic design flaws that create a number of safety issues. If there is ever a game going on or people playing in the park, it makes six of the nine holes unplayable. Three of the holes interfere with the baseball field, and three of the holes play around or literally over the playground area. In fact, #9 in general is a bit weird since you have to fly a building, the parking lot, and a pitching cage just to reach the pin back at the entrance to the park.

WORST HOLE/S: #6; #7; #8
Other Thoughts: I'm always impressed with small town Americana. You've got a minuet town in the middle of Nebraska farmland that still decided it would be a good idea to roll out some baskets in the one park they have - I love it.

However, there are enough glaring issues to knock down the overall rating and I think the 1.0 disc rating is even a bit generous. Having said that - I still had a surprisingly enjoyable time in the middle of nowhere playing some weird and interesting holes.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center