Scottsburg, IN 
Linza Graham Park Share
Uploaded By: JSurmann Hole #2 (Taken 11/2011)
4 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Disc golf 101

2-4    12/17/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: MarcusGresham
Played: 43  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Ace runs
Plenty of shade
Good place to introduce someone (especially a kid,) to the game
Easy to play a quick round
No wide open, treeless holes
Nowhere to lose a disc
Decent signs
Cons: Very basic
No holes over about 270'
Little variety in shots
Natural teepads
No elevation change, whatsoever
Other Thoughts: First off, let me say what this course is not. If you've been playing for years and you're looking for a challenging course with long holes, rough, and tons of decisions to be made don't come here because you'll be disappointed.
Now that I've said that let me say that I'm not saying that as a knock on the course. This course is what it is---a short, beginner-friendly course. This is an excellent place to bring a kid or a beginner. All the holes are in the 150'-270' range, so there isn't anything that will overwhelm them and turn them off to the sport.
While there isn't much variety needed in shot selection, there are trees on every hole that will cause you to do some planning.
The course is also in a nice park so if a parent wanted to bring a kid or two and turn them loose it would be easy to still be able to keep them in sight while they threw a round.

While this course isn't going to be on anyone's wish list, it is a solid course for its purpose. It's also really the only course in southeastern Indiana, which is unfortunate. (From almost Indianapolis south to Seviren Lang and east to Ohio this entire section of the state has nothing in the way of disc golf courses. It would be great to get one somewhere like Brookville Lake or the State Park in Versailles.)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short but Fun

1    8/22/2013   8/22/2013
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. Several holes have interesting lines.
2. Lots of ace runs.
3. Very nice signs.
4. Well maintained.
Cons: 1. All of the holes are short.
2. Grass tees.
Other Thoughts: I had a lot of fun playing this course. It is short but it requires some interesting shots.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice starter course

2-4    8/4/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 166  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This nine hole course in Scottsburg, IN is only a mile or so off I-65, and would be a nice stop for families traveling through to stretch their legs and have the kids throw with you. The holes won't challenge anyone above Rec level, but do have some nice park trees to get creative with lines, or to show your young-uns how you shoot aces and deuces. The baskets are nice DGA 24 chain types and catch great. Tees are marked by signs showing the path to the basket, along with distances.
Holes range from 150 to 270 feet in length, plus there would be lots of options to throw safari shots here, as the course runs through a small park woods area that really only has a short gravel walking path in it. Even if you get creative, there is no underbrush or water to lose a disc in. They've done a nice job clearing and making this a family-friendly course, and it's the only course for miles around!
Cons: The tees are grass only, and the course flow is awkward, with three crossing fairways and next tees very close and often in line with the approach to at least five of the baskets. You sometimes have to shoot past the first visible basket to a further one (like when you run past the 7th basket (and the 8th tee) en route to #2).

There is a safety issue with hole five being so close to the corner of the small baseball diamond, and in line with the picnic area of the building ahead. It also has some plantings going in that will obstruct this line (or the plantings will be damaged).

The directions indicated coming in on 5th street, but don't: it's chained off. Go past that to the nice 6th street entrance to the park.
Other Thoughts: My teenage daughter and I stopped in here on a road trip to sample the courses in SE Indiana (there are only a handful), and she enjoyed the ease of the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/10/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 214  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/30/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This short pitch and putt course has lots of large mature trees with no underbrush to worry about. There are certainly enough trees to make you think about the shot, but not so many beginners will find it difficult. Some of the holes offer multiple routes to the basket through the trees which is nice.

There are large, descriptive tee signs on each hole. Navigation very easy since you can see the next tee sign from the previous hole.
Cons: A couple of the fairways cross each other. The next tee is very close to the previous basket and since the holes are so short, it's very easy to overthrow them and land on or past the next tee area. The course feels rather tight in the space.

There is no shot diversity. None of the holes force a turnover shot, although there are multiple routes through the trees on a few holes.

The tee pads are grass with no markings on the ground, just throw next to the sign.

The holes are very short, even for a beginner course, with more than half the holes under 200 feet.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place for new players to learn the game, figure out how the discs fly and navigate some trees. For anyone with a little experience will find this course to be a birdie fest.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pit stop course

1    11/19/2011   12/8/2011
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice short 9 hole course that is a great introduction to the sport. I wasn't expecting much when I stopped here on a road trip but was satisfied when I got there. First, the course is very clean, has tons of parking and plenty of other things to do here as well. Playground, baseball fields and more as well as bathrooms.

DGA baskets are all fairly new and do their job well and signage is at each tee which you can easily see from the previous basket. The flow of the course is very easy to spot for a first timer and no maps are necessary.

Many tall trees allow for some line shaping while not being too daunting for the beginners. Trees are in play on the majority of the holes which are flat and straight.

Easy 5 minutes or less off the highway makes this a great pit stop but not a destination course.
Cons: As nice as the signs were, I got confused on hole 2 and threw towards 8's basket. I figured it out after I sank a birdie putt but not a huge deal.

It's quite easy to throw into another fairway but sine the course wasn't too busy while I was there, again it was not an issue.

Ground was a little wet while I was there and it looks like it is in the lowest point of the park. Probably an issue a lot there. Also, this doesn't help the dirt/natural tees. A little bit of mulch could go a long way.

Baskets were installed a bit low. Obviously this is geared towards children but I think the baskets may be just lower than normal.
Other Thoughts: Short holes…really short. Neither pro nor con as this was the space the designer had to work with.

Not a destination course but a great pit stop when traveling through Indiana. I pass through state 4-5 times a year and now that I know where it is, I will go back to take a break from driving.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quite Fun!

1    8/7/2011   8/7/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised by Linza Graham DGC

*It had way more trees than I was anticipating making a few of the shots pretty interesting. The course is actually located in a park densly populated with trees, but not much else so you probably won't lose a disc here

*Ace runs all day!

*A round here took about 25 minutes

*Good Baskets
Cons: There are not teepads here... I understand this is a relatively new course, so this may change soon. A few other things that arent as likely to change:

*Very very short distances.

*Some of the holes don't make very good use of the abundance of trees on site. play like wide open ones
Other Thoughts: If your are near Scottsburg, you should check out this course which is a fun time for players of any skill level!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect....for it's location

1    7/10/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.5 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •DGA baskets •Nice Tee signs with par,distance and hole layout. •Hole Avg. is just over 200' •Flat with Mature Trees with no underbrush •No low canopy throws •No dogleg drives/approaches •Plenty of shade •Wind only a factor on very windy days.
Cons: •For the more experienced player this is nothing more than an Ace run course •Each hole is Straight in front of the tee •No underbrush,to punish a bad throw or ricochet •the Avg. hole distance is 200'
Other Thoughts: •Perfect course for being at a "Youth-Senior" Park,as the park sign says •if your on a road trip to/from Indy/Louisville it's a nice stop to stretch your legs,not your arm •5 minutes from I-65 •A round took me 25 mintues to play,while taking pictures

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.