Cadillac, MI 
Diggins Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #3 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Deceptively fun

1    7/3/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: HILLS! Glorious HILLS! #1 is wide open with the pin inside the mouth of the woods and is a real tough approach to start out your round. #2 is a fantastic snake with a little uphill action and if you hit the line just right it's a beautiful thing to see. #4 is a slight uphill shot through the woods and out and over a hill to the pin; spotter recommended. #6 is brutal up a sled hill that will zap your energy.

But once atop the hill and on the other side the course really shines. The back nine especially is 3.5/4.0 quality, from the lazy downhiller to kick it off to the blast down #17 the course keeps you entertained. A great mix of shots and discs needed here, as some holes are wide open in a field and others have tight lines through wooded areas. I was pleasantly surprised after a sketchy first few holes.
Cons: Holes 2-5 are covered in poison ivy I mean huge plants even in the middle of the fairways and they were getting dried out by the sun which made them even harder to spot. Pretty sure there was some sumac as well so wear some jeans and be alert if you decide to play.

Overall the course seemed a little run down. Upkeep was not maintained and while I didn't see any trash per say it seemed dingy, especially on the front nine.
Other Thoughts: This is worth a round if you have the time and is a completely different animal than the pristine woods of the lakeside park course. The mix of shots and elevation makes this course better than Kenwood, but overall falls just short of being the best in Cadillac.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not the Cadillac of courses, but I’m Diggin the Hill

1    5/26/2014   6/14/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 172  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Solid course in quiet city park - mostly pitch 'n' putt through moderate to dense woods over gently rolling terrain, makes for a pleasant round if your short game is on, or a tough round if you can't hold the line..

• Discplay:
+ Most fairways are well wooded but there are also holes that open up at some point, either with an open tee playing to a basket in the woods, or a tee in the woods throwing to a basket in the open, but there's always enough room to hit all the shots. That said, bad kicks off trees or shots that get away could leave you with a bad lie and a tough recovery.
+ Terrain changes range from subtle to significant on many holes, figuring prominently on #'s 6 and 17. Still, a few fairways play essentially flat.
+ Good balance of L/R/straight fairways.
+ Many fairways force you to execute one or two tight but reasonable lines. Some offer a few routes to the pin, while a handful present a decent amount of space to work, and some narrow to a window as you approach the pin.
+ Several well placed baskets: on/near slopes for rollaway potential, nicely guarded by trees, or tucked in a bit off the fairway.
+ Good place for beginners to learn the game, and quite well suited for intermediate and advanced players to work on their short/control game.
+ Able to play a few quick rounds if it's not crowded.

• Equipment: Baskets in decent condition. Tee signs are basic but quite adequate.

• Routing/Nav: pretty easy to find your way around… got turned around a couple of times, but figured out where to go without much trouble or need for the map.

• Aesthetics: Pleasantly woodsy course in a quiet, no frills, city park. Plenty of shade on hot days. Nice views from atop the hill at #'s 6, 7, 17.

• Memorable holes: #17 down the hill was fun, as was# 6 up the hill.
Cons:
• Tees were too short (but in decent condition).
• Chainstars are tough to spot in the woods.
• Could use a few holes with some distance to them. Longest hole (#17) is fun, but plays a lot shorter than posted because of the downhill.
• Littered with plastic from broken sleds and other toys.
Other Thoughts: Pretty solid design and fairly well executed, Diggins is a good place to develop control and work on shaping lines. Lots of finesse shots through the trees, and while I didn't think any holes were truly weak, nothing stuck out as being special. If you're OK with that, then you'll enjoy playing here. While I found it to be a fun round, it simply didn't move my meter that much, so if you hunger for adventure, you'll find it lacking. If you flattened the whole course out, it'd drop down to "typical," but it does the short finesse thing pretty well, and the elevation helps keep things interesting enough to rate as a good course overall. But it's simply not one of those courses you just have to tell your friends back home about.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

alot of fun but some issues

1    8/17/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Duff-Dyed
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5
Pros: very scenic and very creative lay out. i had alot of fun w this course because of the number of different shots it made you throw. i loved the view on top of 7/8/17 we dont get anything like that around the detroit area really.
Cons: THE TEE PADS!!! kudos for putting in concrete tee pads, but they are just WAY too short! how does any one get a good run up on a 4 to 5 ft tee pad? one stride for me is 5 ft. and w my ankle problems, i was scared to death.

the broken glass EVERYWHERE! i realise this cant be controlled, but come on... i felt like half the course was paved in broken glass.

the poisonous plants. there was a hole that literally had a field of poison ivy in the fair way in one big patch for about 80 ft. and there is a ton of sumac on the course too. you really have to mind your self while playing

Best in Cadillac, by far...

1    4/25/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays up & down a large ski/sledding hill. Area is definitely NOT dg exclusive but the park doesn't really feature much else. I would say the woodsy holes have a nature loop or something but I'm not really sure.

Teesigns-- for what they are, they're fine. they could be more descriptive as to what you're throwing at.

Teepads-- Nice for sure. gnurled for traction and adequately lengthed. Some of the teepads are built into hillsides and there isn't a ton of support underneath and I'm not sure with erosion they will stay there for years to come. There was at least one teepad that you could see underneath...

Challenge/Risk v Reward-- tons. there is a LOT of variety here. woodsy, uphill bulldogs, tight tunnels, more open holes, down hill bombs... and

Basket placement-- makes this course a 4 disc course. some of the most creative basket placements I've seen in a while. #4 and #14 deserve special mention. the baskets are over natural "ledges" in the forest remaining hidden until the last second. That said, I was a little disappointed with the basket placement on #17. after an epic downhill, to place the basket on the right BURIED in trees was a little to cliche for me.

Routing/nav-- for the most part easy, but where 7/8 and 16/17 cross it gets a bit confusing. I posted a map hoping it makes it a little easer to find stuff.

Cons:
uncontrollables-- the wind here is pretty intense at times. and the stink from the factories nearby is pretty nasty. I know these are uncontrollable but they certainly didn't ruin my experience.

Length-- there are a lot of short holes here. there are longer holes here but there are certainly shorter holes too.

Garbage-- when I was there there was a ton of sled pieces on the sledding hill from the past winter. not sure what can be done about this other than policing them and picking them up. Not a ton of trash, but broken glass litters the course in places.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here and I will be back at some point. great improvements have been made since volklgrls review but there is certainly room for improvement...
great work!

Cadillac Disc Golf Comes of Age!

5+    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 76  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/8/2014
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super creative basket placement, concrete tee pads, clear throwing lanes, and lots of elevation changes come together to make this a great community course. Holes here include shorter, heavily wooded fairways with gentle turns, S-turns, and J-hooks (mostly favoring lefties), uphill, cross-hill, and downhill shots, and wide open, cross field shots with bigger distances. Many of the baskets are blind, but the obvious lanes make this a challenge rather than a frustration. The hidden over-the-hill and between the trees #4 and the between the trees down the slight hill and right to the clearing #9 are probably my favorite holes on this course, while the consistent wind gusts on #7 continue to thwart my putting attempts.

The lay-out, has plenty of flow and works its way from the bottom of the local sledding hill, around the right side, up the front, across the top, down the left side, through the woods, then down the hill and across the field back to the parking lot.

While there are lots of other activities happening in this smallish park, the designers have done a FANTASTIC job of placing the course to avoid throwing at or near the parking lots, the playground, the elementary school, and the tennis courts (one of my biggest pet peeves in course design!).
Cons: The lack of any signage at all makes navigation a bit frustrating, so it's a good idea to go with a guide the first time. ***UPDATE*** 4x4 posts with the top area painted road marker yellow, and hole number, footage, and an arrow showing general direction of the first throw have been added. they are bright and easily seen and haven't yet been destroyed by vandals like those at Kenwood Park. The lay-out includes a figure-eight design with a criss-cross and short hikes that disrupt the flow a bit between 7 and 8, and 16 and 17, but the features used on those hole make the walk worthwhile. Just go past the #17 tee and continue up the trail to the right to get to 8. Navigation can also get tricky where 10, 11, and 16 come together. Be sure to follow the trail outlined by logs and other deadfall. ***UPDATE*** The trails between the holes have been beaten well, so navigation has gotten much easier now.

There's plenty of sand on the course, which is to be expected since the entire area is basically a giant sand dune.

Watch for heavy poison ivy on holes 2, 3, 6, 8, and scattered throughout the fairway on 17.

A quick note on #3....#3 is a very tight right J-hook and the basket that you can see a short way up the fairway is NOT #3 -it's actually #18.
Other Thoughts: The navigation issues really didn't take away from the pleasurable yet challenging nature of the course. By avoiding most instances of hiking straight up and down the hill, they've made this course sustainable for a long time, even in our sandy area.

You'll want sturdy hiker to play this course.

There are no facilities at the park except for a water fountain at the top on the far side of the tennis courts. ***UPDATE*** A port-a-potty has been added at the tennis court parking lot. It was clean and stink-free today. You'll find this lot at the very top of the hill, to the left of and behind the school.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.