Cadillac, MI
Diggins Hill DGC Share
Uploaded By: volklgirl Hole #4 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
alot of fun but some issues

1    8/17/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: duffcarvercustomdisc
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5
Pros: very scenic and very creative lay out. i had alot of fun w this course because of the number of different shots it made you throw. i loved the view on top of 7/8/17 we dont get anything like that around the detroit area really.
Cons: THE TEE PADS!!! kudos for putting in concrete tee pads, but they are just WAY too short! how does any one get a good run up on a 4 to 5 ft tee pad? one stride for me is 5 ft. and w my ankle problems, i was scared to death.

the broken glass EVERYWHERE! i realise this cant be controlled, but come on... i felt like half the course was paved in broken glass.

the poisonous plants. there was a hole that literally had a field of poison ivy in the fair way in one big patch for about 80 ft. and there is a ton of sumac on the course too. you really have to mind your self while playing

Best in Cadillac, by far...

1    4/25/2013   4/25/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 194  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 4 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays up & down a large ski/sledding hill. Area is definitely NOT dg exclusive but the park doesn't really feature much else. I would say the woodsy holes have a nature loop or something but I'm not really sure.

Teesigns-- for what they are, they're fine. they could be more descriptive as to what you're throwing at.

Teepads-- Nice for sure. gnurled for traction and adequately lengthed. Some of the teepads are built into hillsides and there isn't a ton of support underneath and I'm not sure with erosion they will stay there for years to come. There was at least one teepad that you could see underneath...

Challenge/Risk v Reward-- tons. there is a LOT of variety here. woodsy, uphill bulldogs, tight tunnels, more open holes, down hill bombs... and

Basket placement-- makes this course a 4 disc course. some of the most creative basket placements I've seen in a while. #4 and #14 deserve special mention. the baskets are over natural "ledges" in the forest remaining hidden until the last second. That said, I was a little disappointed with the basket placement on #17. after an epic downhill, to place the basket on the right BURIED in trees was a little to cliche for me.

Routing/nav-- for the most part easy, but where 7/8 and 16/17 cross it gets a bit confusing. I posted a map hoping it makes it a little easer to find stuff.

Cons:
uncontrollables-- the wind here is pretty intense at times. and the stink from the factories nearby is pretty nasty. I know these are uncontrollable but they certainly didn't ruin my experience.

Length-- there are a lot of short holes here. there are longer holes here but there are certainly shorter holes too.

Garbage-- when I was there there was a ton of sled pieces on the sledding hill from the past winter. not sure what can be done about this other than policing them and picking them up. Not a ton of trash, but broken glass litters the course in places.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed my round here and I will be back at some point. great improvements have been made since volklgrls review but there is certainly room for improvement...
great work!

 Cadillac Disc Golf Comes of Age!

2-4    5/23/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: volklgirl
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2011
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Super creative basket placement, concrete tee pads, clear throwing lanes, and lots of elevation changes come together to make this a great community course. Holes here include shorter, heavily wooded fairways with gentle turns, S-turns, and J-hooks (mostly favoring lefties), uphill, cross-hill, and downhill shots, and wide open, cross field shots with bigger distances. Many of the baskets are blind, but the obvious lanes make this a challenge rather than a frustration.

The lay-out, has plenty of flow and works its way from the bottom of the local sledding hill, around the right side, up the front, across the top, down the left side, through the woods, then down the hill and across the field back to the parking lot.

While there are lots of other activities happening in this smallish park, the designers have done a FANTASTIC job of placing the course to avoid throwing at or near the parking lots, the playground, the elementary school, and the tennis courts (one of my biggest pet peeves in course design!).
Cons: The lack of any signage at all makes navigation a bit frustrating, so it's a good idea to go with a guide the first time. The lay-out includes a figure-eight design with a criss-cross and short hikes that disrupt the flow a bit between 7 and 8, and 16 and 17, but the features used on those hole make the walk worthwhile. Just go past the #17 tee and continue up the trail to the right to get to 8. Navigation can also get tricky where 10, 11, and 16 come together. Be sure to follow the trail outlined by logs and other deadfall.

There's plenty of sand on the course, which is to be expected since the entire area is basically a giant sand dune.

Watch for heavy poison ivy on holes 2, 3, 6, 8, and scattered throughout the fairway on 17.

A quick note on #3....#3 is a very tight right J-hook and the basket that you can see a short way up the fairway is NOT #3 -it's actually #18.
Other Thoughts: The navigation issues really didn't take away from the pleasurable yet challenging nature of the course. By avoiding most instances of hiking straight up and down the hill, they've made this course sustainable for a long time, even in our sandy area.

You'll want sturdy hiker to play this course.

There are no facilities at the park except for a water fountain at the top on the far side of the tennis courts.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.