Amesbury, MA 
Amesbury Pines Share
Uploaded By: dugmar Hole #1 (Taken 5/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   3 / 365ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I'll Be Back for the Back 9

2-4    8/3/2013   8/9/2013
Review By: weencycle
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've only played the front 9, but I've played it twice. This course is challenging in the trees, and the distance from the standard tees is pretty good. They've got short alternate tees, which is great for beginners.
Cons: 1. Poison Ivy - Wear shoes and long pants. 2. Litter - There is a lot of garbage and litter here with broken glass. Not cool. Again wear shoes. 3. Signage is deteriorating - Looked like the signage was great at one point in time, but it's started to fade and disintegrate, but no bother if you know you're way around.
Other Thoughts: Looks like they've got a dedicated crew looking after this place, who run a lost and found disc. Sign said they had 300 discs! There is a pond on the back 9, which I haven't been able to play yet, but will soon.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun.

5+    1/22/2012   2/17/2012
Review By: chrisq
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun course with a nice balance of wooded and open holes, with a couple aggravating water holes thrown in there to keep you on your toes.
Cons: 16.
Overlapping holes can get rather confusing (have played this course 10+ times and still throw to the wrong basket from time to time).
inside of a pretty active park with little kids that can cause hold ups quite a bit.
Other Thoughts: something about 16 shortens my drives by like 50 ft, it's driving me mad.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    10/2/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: mled
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course has a great combination of long straight shots with a side of hyzer and anyes. A few holes over water definitely make you think about your shots.
Cons: A lot of the holes are close enough that a shenked through really overlaps over another players path. Also, the tee boxes are so all over the place that it is very difficult to do a full x-step though not completely impossible. There is no practice basket either even though as you pull up to the parking lot you see two baskets (9+11). Another con is the holes that have one chain basket are so much more heavy that a putt that would go in most baskets will bounce out costing you a stroke.
Other Thoughts: The course gives a nice change during the winter when you play across a couple of the baseball fields and those holes add much more open holes to a nearly all wooded course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  ratmloud

5+    12/17/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: ratmloud
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Free
Has parking.
Fun, Close, has a bit of everthing- water, open and woods.
Cons: Tees in pretty bad shape
Little to No signage.
just needs TLC (clean up after the teenagers who like to hang out in the wooded areas)
Some baskets are in bad shape.
Other Thoughts: tee pads/signs as well a a few new baskets and you would have a GREAT course.

As it sits now you have a good course if you a local. Within an hour drive its deff. worth a try.

Winter layout is in now couple extra open bombs baskets are now numbered.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 great use of space

5+    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: smalcome
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -full 18 holes
-challenging fairways as the first trees to avoid are typically 50 yards away and the gaps aren't that wide
-parking lot
-holes fairly well marked
-the last three holes are fun and give you a chance to burn a few bogeys off your score with some birdies
-not too many places to lose a disc (two water shots, but just throw a floater if you're scared!)
Cons: -hole 6 and 8 are switched for some reason, but the t markers don't reflect the change
-some older home-made baskets, but i'd rather throw to them than nothing! (plus, when playing against other people it's an even playing field since you're all using the same basket)
-not PDGA worthy since there are a handful of home-made baskets
Other Thoughts: i'm in massachusetts, so i can't let myself give a course worse than a 3 star rating- there are only a handful of courses out here and you really have to be thankful to have a place to play at all! it's not the best course, but if you're local or close, it's a place to throw 18 holes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My home court

5+    7/22/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: gaumont555475
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is great for mutiple play. what i mean is the more you play this course the better your average will get! Open during the winter
Cons: The water holes. you will rarely ever see that disc again. Course is kind of hard to follow. minimal signs.
Other Thoughts: I played this course everyday for 3 months straight and even ive confused myself and played from hole 5 to 8 instead of 5 to 6

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

5+    5/7/2010   5/9/2010
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free. Somewhat varied terrain: woods, open grass, over water shots. fairly easy to make par on most holes. Helps to develop a repertoire of required shots.
Cons: somewhat short, needs maintenance. first timers will get lost.
Other Thoughts: It seems the biggest complaints on here are about the course needing better marking, maintenance, and trash cleanup. I agree with most of that. There is an effort underway now to redo the mini-maps, mark the pins, add 'next-tee' signs and improve the general condition.

One issue is that the course is free and in the middle of a town park, so kids and teenagers hang in out in there and leave trash all over the place. Golfers leave beer bottles and cans everywhere. If we as a golf community would pack out what we take in, half the problem would be solved.

Overall, Amesbury is fine course that helps develop a good overall game, maybe not real bomber shots, but lots of in-and-outs. I have no problem recommending this course to everyone. If you need a guide or some 'local advice' hit me up with an email. I am always up for a round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amesbury Pines

5+    8/10/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: benlh15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for someone still trying to improve. The holes go perfectly back and forth across the park so there is barely any wasted motion. Once used to the layout, it is extremely simple. Lots of fun obstacles that can easily aggravate you no matter your skill level.
Cons: Old baskets. Geese turds everywhere on back 9. Lots of oblivious park users.
Other Thoughts: Pretty basic course. Definitely worth playing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amesbury Pines

5+    6/14/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: atonalruss
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners and intermediate players. Some challenging and interesting holes, esp. 14-16. Good family environment.
Cons: A lot of traffic in this park. Baskets are old, though some have been recently upgraded. Can be a little challenging to navigate the first time.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course nearly 100 times (a guess, I've lost count), and it is a good friend. Not the best course, but easy to get to and offers many challenges for beginner and early intermediate players. My kids love coming to play golf here with me. There is a new "Winter Layout" as of 2008 that provides some interesting variety to the regular layout, but the winter hole 9 is poorly thought out and not fun at all. But that is the only hole I dislike and most of the year it is not in use.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.