Amesbury, MA 
Amesbury Pines Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #14
3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Not at all well kept.

1    8/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Holly
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Varied terrain, wooded, grassy, water hazards.
Cons: Baskets, tees - poorly marked - if at all. 16th hole is ridiculous (no way to play around the water).
Other Thoughts: With a little TLC this course would be a lot better. It seems that at one time there had been some real thought to the course - but I think that it was a LONG time ago...
Also - Near a store where you can purchase discs.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs work

1    8/25/2009   8/25/2009
Review By: mrfyeah
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great use of space, clean bathrooms, challenging holes with trees and water, not alot of people, easy to find your disc
Cons: winter holes still up in summer, no score cards, markers were gone, hard to find the holes, needs work, alot of trash including some girl's underwear
Other Thoughts: number the holes and the basket, just have one set of holes for winter and summer, clean up the trash

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amesbury Pines

5+    8/10/2009   8/11/2009
Review By: benlh15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course for someone still trying to improve. The holes go perfectly back and forth across the park so there is barely any wasted motion. Once used to the layout, it is extremely simple. Lots of fun obstacles that can easily aggravate you no matter your skill level.
Cons: Old baskets. Geese turds everywhere on back 9. Lots of oblivious park users.
Other Thoughts: Pretty basic course. Definitely worth playing.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some work

1    7/25/2009   7/27/2009
Review By: mattydgolfer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent tee boxes and visible signage. Course is nicely integrated into a tight park. Some baskets seems newer. Courses like this help outsiders get to know the sport and potentially try it. Easy to find from main roads.Water is fun to throw over or swim in (my friend found out, not recommended). Some holes are fun to play and take some skill.
Cons: Several baskets were rusted out. Signage was variable, old, and poorly maintained. There was trash in the pine forest section of the course. Young kids have a tendency to "hang out" in the wooded section. Map was worn and hard to figure out.
Other Thoughts: I was a bit disappointed in my outing since the pictures on this course here made it seem like a potential 4 star course. New baskets are desperately needed and signage needs to be updated...if I go back sometime in the future and improvements such as these are made this course could easily be a 3.5 or higher. Everyone at the course was helpful is guiding us to holes. After 2 or 3 times playing the signage issue would not be a big deal.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So disappointing

1    7/25/2009   7/26/2009
Review By: LSC player
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The last few holes had some character. Playing over a couple ponds was cool.
Cons: Really hard to find some of the tee box locations. Baskets are not marked so in some cases you have no idea what basket to throw at. The hole overview at the tee box locations is often not visible (or missing all together).
Other Thoughts: My friends and I went on a northeastern MA frolfing tour and this was one of the stops. Overall we were not pleased with the experience. After playing three courses that were extremely well marked and very well maintained, this course was a major disappointment. The last few holes at least had some character which warranted the 1.5 rating instead of a 0.5.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Amesbury Pines

5+    6/14/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: atonalruss
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good course for beginners and intermediate players. Some challenging and interesting holes, esp. 14-16. Good family environment.
Cons: A lot of traffic in this park. Baskets are old, though some have been recently upgraded. Can be a little challenging to navigate the first time.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course nearly 100 times (a guess, I've lost count), and it is a good friend. Not the best course, but easy to get to and offers many challenges for beginner and early intermediate players. My kids love coming to play golf here with me. There is a new "Winter Layout" as of 2008 that provides some interesting variety to the regular layout, but the winter hole 9 is poorly thought out and not fun at all. But that is the only hole I dislike and most of the year it is not in use.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/1/2007   9/1/2008
Review By: buzzman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Free to play
Holes marked well
Good course to get beginners interested, (except for one hole with the pond).
Trees pose some challenges.
Good medium distance holes.
Cons: More advanced players may find the course not too challenging.
Other Thoughts: I would characterize this course as a good beginner course and fun to play with newbies. I find it a little too simple for my taste. But, it is free, so can't complain too much.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amebury Town Park

4/19/2008   4/21/2008
Review By: Hovey1127
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 31.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Not hard to find, must be great for the community to have there own course right in town instead of out of the way.
Shots are challenging with alot of trees on most holes.
Cons: Old baskets with single changes, criss crossing course with very limited space, people everywhere as it shares space with a busy park, trash all over the place from high volume. A bit too tight.
Other Thoughts: It must be tough kleeping this course nice. Such a popular park it takes lot of wear and tear. My last con is more a reflection of my poor game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.