Armuchee, GA 
Haywood Valley DGC Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #7 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
My favorite course in Georgia

5+    11/15/2015   11/16/2015
Review By: threedaysmore
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: - Excellent shot variety

- Good hole length variety (I suppose it could be a little longer in some places, but it's still a long course)

- Great elevation change. The elevation changes here are actually pretty meaningful to the hole aren't there to seemingly just make you climb hills like at some courses.

- Beautiful. I'd spend a day on this land just looking around and taking in some views. Wes (course designer) did an excellent job of including some the best views into the course.

- Well maintained. Granted the course is only open when events are going to be played at it, but that being said the Campbell family and friends do an amazing job of getting the course into great condition before the event is played.
Cons: - The course is out in the sticks a little bit. There's not a ton around it which is frustrating for some, but I think it makes the playing experience a little better. You're the only people out there.

- Port-a-potty is the only bathroom which is definitely better than nothing, but in an absolutely ideal course environment I'd like to see a bathroom

- Not open year round.
Other Thoughts: This is a great tract of land. It's beautiful and is a labor of love from the Campbell family to the disc golf community. If you haven't played in a tournament at Haywood Valley then you definitely need to get out there and see it for yourself.

A Must Play if Possible

2-4    11/15/2015   11/16/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: -2 nine-hole loops that come back to the parking area
-Rented Porta John for tourneys
-Tee Mats surprisingly handle wetness well.
-No water hazards (only OB is the Road and Beyond ~ 2 holes)
-Amazing scenery (bring the camera)
-Lots of elevation change
Cons: -No running down to the gas station to get snacks, so stop on the way. (5 miles to closest)
-Quite a bit of holes have opened up on the property from tree roots that have rotted out beneath the ground. They fill a bunch in but they are consistently more opening up due to the type of soil.
-Not all the holes have multiple attack routes off the tee.
Other Thoughts: This course is one of the best but difficult I have played.
Bring all your tricks out for this one (backhand, forehand, hammer, etc). It's fair but challenging course. You want to stay on the fairways.
The Campbell family is amazing to open this up. Mr. Campbell doesn't even play but enjoys having everybody out to see the family land.

 My new favorite course

2-4    4/27/2014   5/12/2014
Review By: MadAWalk2
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful! Good mix of wooded and open, hilly and flat. Good tee pads, especially for a temporary course. Beautiful landscape. Dedicated course maintenance results in an overall effortless round of golf!
Cons: Can't think of any. Except the patch of trees in the middle of the fairway on the tractor hole :D

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/13/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: htorbit
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best I have played. All types of shots are needed. Holes play uphill, downhill, through the woods on a beautiful hardwood ridge, over creeks and a few semi open holes with mountain views. The course is set up with two nine-hole loops that come back to the parking area and that is always nice. The remoteness is appreciated as it is nice to not hear the sounds of civilization while playing disc golf. The Campbell's are wonderful hosts and have created a disc golf course that is truly a destination type course. I believe disc golf courses should have par 4/ 5 holes and this course has several of each. Prior to playing Haywood Valley DGC I had heard it called hard but I would call it fair but challenging. This course is the opposite of the typical pitch and putt disc golf course. A porta-potty in the parking area and even one out on the course (my girlfriend was very appreciative).
Cons: First and foremost, the main con is that I can't play this course when I desire as it is only set up a couple times a year. The only other con could be the holes that are scattered across the course but from what I hear they are many hundred fewer than there were as the Campbell's ask you to put a stick to mark the hole so they can fill it in.
Other Thoughts: I greatly appreciate the work that the Campbell Family has put in on this course to make it the gem that it is. I yearn for the next time I will be able to play Haywood Valley DGC. If I won the lottery tomorrow, I would try to buy this property/course so I could enjoy disc golf heaven more often!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If only it were a permanent course

5+    1/20/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: hound_dog
Played: 32  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course forces you make risk reward decisions. It requires accurate placement shots to score well, but good scores are possible. The course is on a beautiful piece of property in the middle of a peaceful and somewhat remote southern valley that creates a serene atmosphere. The terrain is well suited for a course with both subtle and severe elevation changes and a mix of very tight wooded holes and wide open bombs. Absolutely a must play if you get the chance.
Cons: Holes. The property was once a tree farm and although the Campbells have done an excellent job filling the holes on the property, you might stumble into one if you aren't paying attention. Other than that the only real con is that it isn't more accessible.
Other Thoughts: I must give credit to the Campbell family for all of the hard work that they put into this course to give us a great place to play. Every time that they open the course, the Campbell family pours their money and time into making sure that the course is in the best condition that it possibly can be. Wes especially deserves credit for his desire for feedback and acceptance of criticism so that he can make informed and well though out decisions on how he might be able to improve the course. Thank you for giving us a course that always leaves me waiting for the day that I can return.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Ryan H

1    1/19/2013   1/20/2013
Review By: renoryn
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Haywood Valley is an awesome course on a beautiful piece of land. The terrain and existing meadows were well used to create a variety of hole layouts. The short holes forced technical throws and many of the long holes allowed for 100% drives. The course is well designed, with two 9-hole loops and opportunities to skip around to avoid large groups. The course plays fair, with good risk reward and plenty of opportunities for birdies and bogies.
Cons: It is a bit of a haul up there, but well worth the drive. The terrain is on the side of the mountain for about 1/3 of the course. It wasn't strenuous, but we were pretty tired after 27 holes. This course does not cater to Red or White level players. It seems like it was designed with the Blue and Gold level players in mind with no set shorter tees. It might be discouraging for a beginner out here, but I would still say it is worth the drive.
Other Thoughts: The Campbells were very hospitable and helpful to us first timers. This piece of land has been in their family for many generations and is a natural gem for a DG course. I'm glad they put the effort into creating a great course and I cant wait to go play it again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course

1    1/29/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: BobbyC13
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I always hate following a craigd review because he says it all!!!

This is actually a very nice course in a scenic mountain/valley area. The view out here add to the courses effect. I liked the course, it is laid out well and has a great variety of shots that challenge you. This course is newer but you can see the drive from the owners to make it a better course as time comes. I know people hate it, but I would copy and paste all of craigd's positives!!!!
Cons: This is where I differ..........

The course is tough indeed, and that is not a bad thing, BUT I think the redundancy of throwing from the tee and having tress either right beside/on/or within three feet of the pad in your throwing lane is annoying. A few that stick out happen right of the bat with holes 2-4. Some of the gaps to throw from within the first five feet of the hole are a bit much. Not horrible, but it continues throughout the course. The wooded holes 12-14 are very very tight and require a near perfect shot to get down the fairway from the teepad. I actually stood on the front left edge of the pad and thew a anny RH forehand shot on those holes.

There were a few teepads that I had to throw short of the front of the pad in fear of smacking my hand against something.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice and fun course and I enjoyed myself out there. I appreciate Wes and his family for putting the course in.

I just think stretching out some of the wooded holes and making the fairways a bit more accessible would be nice.

Hate it or not, it's my opinion!

For the record, I'm not the best player out there and shot a 69.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the visit...when its open!

2-4    7/30/2011   1/29/2012
Review By: dandaman
Played: 55  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 20.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting. Great hosts. No other outside activities on the land besides mountain disc golf. Great use of terrior. Multiple shot holes. Challanging, serene, and designed well.
Cons: Not permanent.
Other Thoughts: One of the better courses in Georgia, you can tell that Wes has spent a great deal of time making a quailty disc golf course for us to use. This course is well worth the visit and I would play in any tournament just for the privelage of playing here again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Haywood Valley Challenge

2-4    7/30/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Hegemony
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If this course were permanent, I'd be making monthly trips to Rome.

- Challenging - I will feel a serious sense of accomplishment when I master this course.
- For the two tournaments that have been run here, a par score (61) results is ~960 rated round.
- 9 is the only truly open hole. Every other hole has some type of obstacle to navigate. Each is unique and of varying difficulty. The short holes 4, 12, 13, and 14 all have tight woods obstacles that make them anything but gimmes.
- Par on 11, the long uphill, will bring a smile to your face. Birdie on it almost guarantees gaining a stroke on the field in Intermediate and below groups.
-Course design - This course makes excellent use of the hills and trees to create 18 unique challenges, even on the more 'open' holes.
- Rubber tee pads are a polished touch on a temp course.
- Trash bags are spread amply around the course, and multiple, clean port-a-pottys are at the entrance as available facilities.
Cons: -Proximity to amenities and food. Though this is made up for by having tournaments catered.

-Temp course - I can't go play when I need a Haywood fix (this speaks to how much I like the course rather than being a true negative)

-Challenge - Some may not like being put to the test every time you step up to the tee.
Other Thoughts: Wes and his father are excellent hosts. They drive an open trailer out to various spots on the course to drop players off for shotgun starts.

They are also voracious about getting feedback on the course and suggestions for improvement.

Bring your 'A' game out here. This course fights hard but fair.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Haywood Valley

2-4    7/30/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: craigd
Played: 101  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun yet challenging course set in the cozy Haywood Valley of Armuchee, GA. You'll find a sprawling 6865' course playing across the valley floor and creeping its way up the foothills of the mountains that serve as a scenic backdrop. You'll enjoy the hike as you play through and over dry creek beds, rocky forest floors, and many other natural features.

Three par 4's and two par 5's punctuate the course along with the lengthy and challenging par 3's. Mixed in are the several shorter, tightly wooded shots that finish off a variegation of shot types sure to challenge anyone. Not surprisingly, the holes playing on the side of a mountain also give it plenty of elevation changes too. You're sure to remember hole sixteen's fascinating 485' downhill shot that some consider the signature hole. And no one will forget hole eleven either, what the others probably call the signature hole. In my opinion it is one of the toughest holes in Atlanta. For me, 585' plays like 1000' as it meanders its way uphill through a winding tunnel that has THICK shule on both sides.

Heavily wooded shots are here too. Holes twelve through fourteen, while on the shorter side comparatively speaking, give no slack. Thick trees make you choose your shot carefully and execute the shot flawlessly. Of course a little good luck is welcomed on these holes but bad luck, especially on holes fourteen and fifteen, can send you down a shallow gorge that can, with the right roll, take two shots just to recover.

I wouldn't do the course justice if I didn't mention the doglegs and turning shots. You'll find both left and right turning shots of varying degrees. A good example is hole two that has you fighting a field goal from the tee to an open 300' field to a 45 degree angle left dogleg through a 150'tunnel just 50' wide. Hole six has a similar personality but demands a perfect shot placement as it plays through the field and finishes up and over a wooded hillside. Hole 18 demands the same type of control along with a handful of others. In my opinion hole eight is one of the most fun holes on the course. It's a downhill sweeping right 300' shot with a thick island of trees guarding both the left and right route to the basket. The elevated basket perched on an old rusted tractor and plow, seemingly locked in time, gives even more personality to this course.

Given that the course is temporary, you are sure to notice the bonus of 18 rubber tee pads. The course also boasts 18 Ching Chainmaster baskets, both welcomed amenities to any temporary course.
Cons: Not a lot of cons out here really. For the most part, a temporary course with eighteen matching baskets, nice rubber tee pads, and property like this make it quite enjoyable and easy to overlook what might be noticed on a permanent course. With that said, everyone will have the expected qualms. Everything from rough terrain in areas, yellow jacket swarms, and the occasional mumbling from those saying "This hole needs a few trees cleared out" are out here.

The course is only set up occasionally and usually just for tournaments. There's not much of a chance to come out and experiment with different shots casually in order to learn the course. Most times you'll be playing with the tournament stress of every shot counting and for many, it'll be the first time on the course.

Lastly, for those just beginning the sport or even "recreational" level players can find the course daunting (at times, so can any other players for that matter). The reconciliation is, of course, the beauty of the property.
Other Thoughts: Tournaments are ideal here. The entire area is obviously just for disc golfers. After the tournament there's a little more freedom to celebrate than you might find at some of the county parks. Delicious local barbecue and hotdogs were available for lunch so no one needs to leave between rounds and finally even port-a-johns were available during the tournaments, a very classy touch I must say.

Best of all Wes's dad is virtually the liaison of the course. He's a laid back man who loves to talk and the kind of guy you'll love talking to. You can tell he really enjoys hosting people on the property. He'll even fearlessly tackle any wildlife you can point out on the course. He told me tales of rattle snakes but won me over by tackling and fogging out a swarm of yellow jackets near one of the tee pads! Best of all is being chauffeured by him to your hole prior to the round via truck and trailer (think country hayride)!

Over all this is an A+ venue. It has a great atmosphere and Wes and family are gracious hosts. Don't miss your chance to play when it comes around. Enjoy!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.