Disc Golf Store
Superior, WI 
Mont du Lac - White Cedar Share
Uploaded By: discoholic Hole #8 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach (B Position)



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    7/5/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: - Great staff and service when we arrived and answered all questions (Road trip to play the course.)
- Very challenging.
- Extreme workout compared to courses I usually play at home.
- Gorgeous scenery and elevation changes.
- Campsites I believe were literally on the course, I believe.
- Very clean course, no trash on fairways and for the most part woods were kept nice as well.
- Lots of options to take breathers, we took plenty up and down.
Cons: - I slipped and fell and slide down some steep drop offs a few times, must sign a wavier before playing. So extreme terrain changes which can be dangerous so pay attention.
- Few holes are concrete pads, mostly were natural which makes sense being out on a mountain side.
- There was signage, but some were tough to follow along with.
- Lots of blind shots
- The climb was worth it, but if your looking for a causal round go else where.
Other Thoughts: I don't have a lot to add, the trip up to the course was worth it. I'm getting into a serous level of disc golf and this course whooped me. It was an extremely challenging course for me, but loved it. After walking 18 holes I'm glad we only did 18 I haven't hiked all year that was a great workout! If they had a little easier of walks up and down the mountain sides I would raise my vote but falling down a few of those bumped it down. Overall love this course will have to get back up here and try to beat the course instead of it beating me!

Beast of a Course

5+    4/19/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: MountainGoat
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/5/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: <> Some of the best smelling, and most beautiful mid-summer scenery in the country
<> Difficult shots from start to finish
<> Lots of variety in the overall shape of the holes with a themed focus on tight shots. Sometimes the ceiling is really low, and sometimes you are teeing through a 15' gap 50' out.
<> Elevation change: The front 9 has some change but it is very minimal compared to the back 9 which is steadily uphill. The front 9 makes EXCELLENT use of the elevation changes that are present.
<> Trash cans everywhere so you don't have to see garbage all over and you don't have to carry 15 beer cans out of the woods.
<> Good quality baskets that don't spit much
<> Concrete boxes on 1, 2, and 3, 4, and 17.
<> Alternate baskets on many holes and Logger moves them around throughout the summer so replay value is awesome
<> Clearly marked signs show where the baskets are and at each alternate location with distances and direction.
<> The cardio workout you get from climbing a mountain is at no additional cost. And just a heads up, you climb it a few times in 18.
Cons: <> Tees not listed in Pros have "natural" boxes and they can be slick or muddy. There is a wooden box on 8 and it should be removed. ANY moisture at all and it's like a teflon sheet.
<> Lost discs can be nearly impossible to recover in some situations depending on what you are willing to climb... or descend into.
<> Going down 14 for the first time can be dangerous since the flood eroded the grass, stay far left where the ground has roots and deadfall still.
<> The signage at the completion of holes is not always clear as to where you should be headed for the next tee box.
<> It is not marked on the hole sign which location the basket is at, so if you did not catch Logger in the chalet, and you don't know the course, you will have to guess where to throw to or get out the binoculars and look for blaze orange. In many cases you cannot even see the far baskets from the teebox so you will have to walk the hole to find it.
<> Although there is a ton of variation in the design of the holes, there are not a lot of shot options due to both how tight the course is and how heavy the risk of going down a 200' ravine and O.B. weighs. This is only a minor disturbance though because the reward for hitting the narrow paths and going the distance requires a perfect throw, and a perfect throw always feels good.
Other Thoughts: This is a natural mountain made of mud, dirt, clay, trees, steep slopes, sheer cliffs, deep wet valleys... it is a perfect sanctuary for all of life but along with that comes the natural dangers of such an environment. If it is pouring rain, you can expect a VERY challenging climb through the back 9. Footing can be a challenge at any given time and careful consideration on each shot weights more heavily than average on this course. I have only played a season and from what I have heard and seen so far this course will continue to receive attention and improvements. I expect in time there will be more concrete, and better signage. The chalet is a a great place to hang out, get fresh water, burgers made to order, good craft beer on tap or for the bag, discs to restock your bag and people to pick up a round with if you wish. Oh, and leave your hyzer-bomb at home, you won't be needing it at all on this course save for 17 and possibly 16 if you are a lefty.

UPDATE: Many updates have already taken place this season... more concrete, tons of mowing, 2 completely new holes, more pin placements on some existing holes. Logger deserves a medal for the work he puts in, truly one of the best places to play disc golf in the country.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A northwoods treat

5+    9/18/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: discbrewer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course pretty much has it all. A substantial amount of elevation change which can be draining, but very rewarding with breath-taking views of the surrounding wilderness. There is a wide assortment of different layouts for the 18 holes, so you're not throwing the same shots hole after hole. There is nice signage on all the holes showing the distances of the A, B, and sometimes C pins and there layouts, as well as little arrows to help keep you on the right path. The employees do a great job of keeping the course trimmed and clean of branches and trash. There are recycling bins every few holes which is always a plus on a course. All but one of the holes has a bench you can rest on if you need to take a break (which most people will need, since it is one of the more challenging courses around).
Cons: There are a few holes where you have to traverse up and down steep slopes, so when its slippery out on the course, they can be a little disconcerting. There is a mountain bike trail that runs through the course on a few holes, which isn't necessarily a bad thing by any means, but you should keep a eye open if you hear some bikers in the woods so you don't knock them off their bikes with a shanked drive.
Other Thoughts: This is easily one of my favorite courses. Some of the holes get changed every once in a while due to unforeseen events like the flood in the spring of 2012, but they get replaced with holes that are equally as enjoyable to play as the old ones were. If you have time, I would highly suggest playing the white cedar/eagles peak loop. You play the front 9 on eagles peak which then puts you right on the tee pad for hole number 1 on White Cedar. When you finish with 18 on white cedar, it puts you right next to the tee pad for hole 10 on eagles peak, so you can finish the back 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful and challenging

5+    5/16/2013   5/22/2013
Review By: Darkgreen
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of two great disc golf courses on site, three if you count the seven hole ace run/practice course. Eagle's Peak plays mostly on the ski hill while White Cedar plays on the scenically wooded ravines next to and behind the ski hill. You will love the way this course challenges you. This is the type of course that makes you feel proud when you hit the appropriate line and can make you pay when you do not. Still, this course is worth it for beginners to play because it forces you to think about your shot selection. There are a variety of shots that you will have to throw to get up and down.

I've played this course many times and it never gets old. I am still learning new routes and new strategies for many of the holes. You will want to re-play this course or make a return visit after you are done with your first 18.

A great course to play on windy days as many of the holes are somewhat protected by all of the trees.
Cons: There are a few holes that could use stairs. It can be a real adventure getting down some of the ravine slopes. Unfortunately for some holes I'm guessing this would take a major investment of manpower and time and with the floods from last June I can understand why the owners would think twice before adding improvements that could be washed away. However I think if done properly stairs or at least better trails could be added with a minimal risk of them getting washed out. This is the main thing holding me back from rating this course a 5.

More use could be gotten out of the disc golf section of the Mont du Lac website and it could be updated more often, but this a small thing and doesn't really affect the disc golf experience.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to pack appropriately for the season and the weather. You will be doing some hiking so make sure to bring plenty of water or even a sports beverage for the summer days. Good footwear is also recommended. It is a wooded course so bug spray is also a good idea for the warmer months.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Northwoods Experience

5+    4/20/2013   5/13/2013
Review By: Ajampalm
Played: 72  Reviewed: 6
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has the best scenery of any course I've played. Even Giants Ridge, which is beautiful, can't touch the White Cedar's setting.

This course is very technical, and certainly provides looks for all types of throws equally. There are many holes where the birdie is in plain sight, but very rarely will they all be in your grasp.
Doubles as your daily exercise, while I know some that consider walking a hard trail a burden I still believe it is for your betterment...
But I know that is not a universal belief.
Stunning settings, and if you have the chance to play all of the A & B pin placements you will really see the wonderful variety the course has to offer.
Cons: Lack of cement tee pads is without a doubt the only drawback I come back to on this course. The hike is hard so if you bring your cheap flip flops you will be punished. That being said if you have read any of the reviews than you should know better.
Other Thoughts: If you are ever in the area, passing through, or want to find the next great disc golf destination Mont Du Lac has it all.
With 2 courses, a chalet with food and beer, and scenery inspired from the Hobbit you will be sure to enjoy this treasure of a course. It may not have the amenities and upkeep of a BRP, but it makes up for that in the type of golf only a setting this epic and special can provide.

Do not miss this course!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 White Cedar will put your game to the test!

5+    11/18/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: d love
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 18.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful landscape/scenery: The course progresses through a heavily wooded lowland forest and then traverses several steep, wooded ridges which eventually lead you near to the top of the highest point on the property. It features old growth white pines, thick cedar groves and innumerable aspen and poplar stands. A natural spring feeds a network of small creeks and pools which come into play throughout the lowland section (holes 2-10). Upon reaching the tee for hole 16, you are greeted with a teaser of the panoramic view which awaits you on the tee for hole 18. The view features an overlook of the St. Louis River valley and the surrounding forests. If you continue to the top of the hill, the view opens up substantially to include nearby Jay Cooke Sate Park and the bluffs surrounding the river valley. If you enjoy hiking for pleasure and exercise, you will thoroughly enjoy playing this course, as it offers a challenging hike with beautiful surroundings.

- Technically challenging course design that offers a variety of pin placements: Each hole has two pin placements (A [short] & B [long]). As of the time I'm writing this review, there are also C (longer)pins in place for holes: 1,4 and 8. Expect more C pin placements in the future as the designer continues to deliberately lengthen the course. The pins are typically placed in alternating positions (A,B,A,B) and rotated every two weeks for variety. The majority of the fairways are narrow and wooded. Accuracy and distance control are crucial for success on White Cedar. Many of the fairways require placement shots in order to access the greens. Accuracy and distance control are rewarded with birdie opportunities and an occasional ace run when shooting for the A pins. The B and C pin locations offer more of a challenge and even a few placements which arguably merit a true par 4. The course features the natural terrain: tunnel shots through wooded fairways, sharp doglegs, steep-sided ravines in play from the tee or bordering the fairway and green, small winding creeks and pools of water. The "roughs" can be unforgiving. An errant shot can easily find its way into dense stands of pine or popple saplings or roll to the bottom of a steep-sided ravine. More often than not, an errant shot whacks one of the innumerable trees along the fairways and the direction and angle of the deflection determine your fate. Over all, the layout of the course forces you to utilize a variety of shots and discs.

-One of the signature holes on White Cedar (#15) brings to mind the classic "George's Gorge" from the original layout at Kaposia Park in West St. Paul. It mimics the drive from the tee atop one side of a wide, deep, steep-sided ravine to a small green perched on the other side. It makes for some dramatic results.

-Physically demanding hike: The course is designed to be physically demanding. While holes 1-10 are located on relatively flat ground, holes 11-18 traverse ever-upward over a series of steep-sided ridges. It is not uncommon to find yourself panting, sweating bullets and thirsty as you complete a hike from the pin location of hole 10 to the tee for hole 11. This has become more physically challenging since the flood swept away the original fairway for hole 11. The hike to the next tee is just as tough, leaving you breathless and in need of a rest in order to regain your legs before you approach the tee for #12. By the time you reach the tee for #18, you have climbed from the lowland forest at the bottom of the river valley to nearly the highest point on the property. Wear good footwear and bring plenty of water and snacks in order to enjoy this hike. Wet clay tends get extremely sloppy, sticky and slick. The steep banks of the ravines can be challenging under even good conditions. The course tends to be muddy and messy if there has been recent precipitation. Be prepared!

-Garbage/recycling receptacles are located near all but a few tee pads.

-Open for disc golf year-round: The White Cedar course can be played throughout the year. During winter months, all of the pins (A,B &C) are placed on holes 1-9. This allows for an 18 hole experience without the challenging hike through the back 9. Play on the back 9 is also available, with alternating A & B pin positions.

-Eagle's Peak is right next door: Mont du Lac offers another 18 hole disc golf course, which connects with White Cedar at hole #18 (Hole #10 on Eagle's Peak). The two courses can be played as a "hybrid" in a variety of configurations. The Eagle's Peak course is laid out on the existing ski hills at Mont du Lac.

-On site Bar/Grill/Pro shop: Mont du Lac features a chalet with a full bar (with off-sale liquor license) and a grill with a good menu. They have a great beer selection as well. There is a pro shop with a good disc selection located in the chalet. These are great features, which enhance the disc golf experience a great deal, especially in regards to tournament play. A place on site to gather and socialize with other players is a big plus.

-On site rustic camping available: Rustic camping is available for a nominal fee. Firewood and water are also available. Each campsite offers a metal fire pit with a grate for cooking over the fire. This feature makes for a great weekend of disc golf and enhances the tournament experience, as the campfires burn long into the night.

-League play: Mont du Lac offers a variety of local league play options. Handicapped leagues are held on Tuesday (Eagle's Peak), Thursday (White Cedar). League play with no handicaps take place on Friday (Doubles [course selection alternates]) as well as during winter months on Wednesday (Glow League).
Cons: -Cement tee pads, where possible, would improve the experience. While rugs and wooden platforms offer some traction, well-constructed cement tee pads would offer great improvements to traction and safety. At times, the natural tee pads can be a sloppy, slippery mess.

-Improved tee signs would be welcome, especially in regards to visiting players. With many of the pin positions being "blind" relative to the tee, some added detail to the tee signs might offer better guidance.

- Continued landscaping improvements are needed. It is impressive that most of the original landscaping survived the flooding this summer. Dramatic mudslides occurred throughout the landscape at Mont du Lac. An entire fairway (original #11) was washed away, trees and all. There are a few areas throughout the section of the course that traverses the ridges that are in need of landscaping improvements as a result.
Other Thoughts: Repeated play on this course has improved my game considerably. I feel lucky to call Mont du Lac my home course(s)!

Thanks Logger!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    6/6/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has it all! It almost feels like you've been transported to another country.
-Beautiful scenery
-Great signage
-Numerous elevation changes
-Numerous wooden bridges crossing over the creeks that criss-cross the course
-Very fun shots including shots over ravines
-Definitely will be a challenge for every skill level
Cons: -Some holes required a spotter to locate the basket
-I wasn't able to play it more.
Other Thoughts: Of all the courses I've played, this one tops the list! I recommend that anyone that likes disc golfing should put this course on their list of "must play" courses.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 When in Wisconsin

1    7/15/2012   7/15/2012
Review By: BlackCrow77
Played: 162  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you need a course that will physically and mentally challenge you, then take a trip to NW Wisconsin or Duluth, MN (close by). The course has it all, hyzer/anhyzer, up/downhill and how about a shot 300' across a ravine. This course has multiple pin placements. It also has signage and markings on the trees indicating the location to next tee.
Cons: Concrete or Rubber tees would be cool. What is in place works, I don't dispute that. I do realize that this is a difficult under taking due to some of the locations and the elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: A lot of damage has occurred on this course from all the heavy rain. Many thanks to those who have been making paths to navigate. Hole #11 has been removed due to the recent flooding. Basically, the course shifted all baskets up 1 and new #18 tee is now on the road leading to lodge (basket is in view).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Untapped Potential at it's finest.

1    5/27/2012   6/28/2012
Review By: Griplock
Played: 54  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -Some of the most unique wooded scenery and wonderful overlooks I have seen on a course.
-Several valley and plateau shots I challenge you to find anywhere else.
-Good balance of left to right hand holes.
-The perfect setting for a disc golf course, it really is, but....
Cons: -Design problems. Most courses with this kind of elevation reward your three hour uphill trek with huge bomber shots from the top. Hole 18 here ends AT THE TOP OF THE MOUNTAIN, about two miles from the parking lot by hole 1. What?

-No pads. No resemblance of pads even on most holes, just a slightly flatter spot of ground which may or may not double as a fire pit.

-Alternating/random sometimes pin placement. Like every other Wisconsin course we played. Either pony up for two baskets, decent signs, or just leave it at one basket per hole. Scouting necessary on most holes.
-People camping in the fairways of holes 1 through 6.

-No beer (unless purchased there) or cigarettes allowed on the course, shirts must be worn at all times (you sign a waiver).
Other Thoughts: I think the primary annoyance I had here was the lack of a reasonable, solid layout which made use of the land instead of treating it like another obstacle. Instead of bombing down a valley, you played up then walked down. Or played across it. Only one shot of the legit 18 on this course plays downhill.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  

1    11/3/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: nblahna
Played: 63  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -An utterly gorgeous slice of the North Woods.
-Challenging fairways that reward good lines.
-Great backwoods hiking between holes!
-Onsite camping, bar & grill!
Cons: -A few short tee pads.
-Some steep ascents and slick segments of trail.
Other Thoughts: Besides my home course, this is my favorite course. The local league players and employees are quite friendly! If you're looking to spend a weekend camping and discing near the North Shore without the hassle of seasonal traffic or crowds of "out-of-towners," this is a destination you absolutely shouldn't pass up. Besides, at $5/night/person, and $5/day for all the disc golf you can handle, the price is sooo so right! You just need to get up there...

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.