Superior, WI 
Mont du Lac - White Cedar Share
Uploaded By: discoholic Hole #14 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 177ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
extreme disc golf

1    8/20/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: James McGirr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 9/12/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Recently played it memory not good.It had alot of natural scenery abrupt elevation changes truely unique.Fairways could be particularly tight in spots and pretty fair in others. the course is still playable.To play course a player needs to be an experianced disc golfer
Cons: As unique and extreme as it is it can be dangerous. If its wet the course is supposed to be closed and for good reason.I would also think a person sould be physicially fit to make the track.Also course is hard to find.I only found it after i played 7 holes on the eagle course and I thought I was walking to 8th hole when I saw it was 1st hole white cedar

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very unique course, challenging to traverse

5+    8/8/2015   8/17/2015
Review By: BogeyPar Guy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Like playing in an enchanted forest
-Many unique shots
-challenging greens
-wide variety of throws requiring shot placement and execution
-bar and restaurant in club house
Cons: -maybe too technical at times, feels like a luck fest throwing into trees hoping you dont hit one.
-sometimes there are no clear fairways to hit,
-not all t pads are concrete, and if they are they are often short and narrow
-poor signage, can be challenging to navigate for the first time
-very slippery when wet...almost unplayable and unsafe if it has recently rained.
-sometimes a very good shot can be punished severely
Other Thoughts: This is a crazy course that I would classify as "EXTREME" disc golf...they make you sign a waiver for a reason as there are some situations...climbs and descents that are probably not safe, especially when wet. Not a place to bring kiddos or anyone who has any issues with mobility. Bring lots of water and bug dope and be careful. You end the round near the top of the hill, so if you do not plan on playing the 36 hole loop you have a long walk back down the mtn.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    8/16/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: therabidlemur
Played: 44  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety of shots
plenty of elevation changes
beautiful views
course is difficult but fair
Cons: doesn't have concrete tee pads on every hole
signage could be a little better
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend making a trip to play White Cedar. The course is beautiful and offers some fun challenges. Be prepared with water, and just be aware that you will be dealing with some steep hills throughout.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/10/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: dethyr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course really challenges the players. You need a serious mix of shots and discs to play it effectively and you need to do it precisely or you will spend a lot of time looking for discs. The design is really awesome as well. The tee pads are great and the chalet has great staff and great food.
Cons: The terrain makes this course a real chore to play, it's absolutely NOT for people that don't feel like a challenging hike along with their disc golf experience. I am in medium shape and by the end of Eagle's peak and white cedar I was done with a capital D. The ticks and skeeters are absolutely relentless as well. Bathe in bug dope before coming.
Other Thoughts: This course is hard, there's really no other way to put it. If you are gonna play here WATCH YOUR DRIVES all the way to the ground because the rough eats up discs. Be ready for a hike, bring a gallon of bug dope and a gallon of water.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best course on the Property

5+    5/3/2015   5/18/2015
Review By: Skeeter3
Played: 51  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A challenging course that will test you in multiple ways. There are detailed tee signs at every tee box. There is a variety of shots throughout the whole course, every hole is something different. Lots of challenges throughout the course (Trees, Creeks, Wildlife). But awesome surroundings as the course winds through the old growth forest and up and down it's valleys. The view after finishing hole 18 over looks the eagles peak course/St. Louis River/Jay Cooke State Park. Mont du Lac is always making upgrades and grooming the course.
Cons: This course is physically challenging-But well worth it. It can be slick in spots after it rains. Some of the holes play blind, it's nice to play with someone who knows the layout.
Other Thoughts: One of Three courses on the property. There is also a bar and grill on site in the base lodge. Camping on site with scheduled updates for the summer of 2015. They are also building rustic cabin rentals during the summer of 2015. Make sure to pick up a scorecard and map in the base lodge if you've never played the course before. They have a system for picking up/dropping of discs in the base lodge that were lost/found of the courses there. They host leagues and tournaments (both PDGA and non- PDGA).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

What they said

5+    9/19/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: artigasplaza
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: All of the other recent reviews are accurate. Logger keeps adding new pins and new pads. He also keeps the course well-manicured.
Cons: Need to finish remodeling the tee pads. Long walk to parking from hole 18. That's all.
Other Thoughts: I have nothing to add to the most recent reviews. The course is as close to perfect as it get and keeps getting better. Just wear decent footwear. Cabins are currently being built that will enhance on-site lodging options.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Can not believe I have not played this course

1    9/20/2014   9/20/2014
Review By: timj5304
Played: 120  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In my 10+ years of playing I can not believe i have not played Mont Du Lac until today. With 2 courses on the property this makes it a destination with the new course being put in at spirit mountain in Duluth, sadly there was a large wedding today which I was unable to play there because of reservation. 18 solid wooded holes. Hole 1 is comparable to hyland ski final hole 720 ft downhill. We had a big tailwind and my heart said fairway driver but my dumb brain told me to throw that for a second shot, threw a distance driver, went near the camping area hyzer a couple hundred feet deep. Awesome not difficult layout to follow, great use of elevation to say the least. I list this as a pro but most will as a con, great exercise going through the walks from pad to pad. Good mix of straight holes and lefty and righty biased holes. This kind of course is what disc golf was meant to be, out in the woods with friends and having to actually control your discs.
Cons: Some would list the teepads as a negative but I would rather have none or a mat than some slick blacktop as are at acorn and bassett creek. A few mudslide holes on the back half, would like to see some more steps on a few of these if possible and maybe even railings someday but until then just walk carefully.
Other Thoughts: Had a fun round, started to play well after hole 6 and killed it after that but had a rough start. This is a great course for me to smash someone like my brother who can throw 425 all day and 475 max, he can kill me on Eagles peak but not a chance on white cedar.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1    7/5/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Blaaaake77
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great staff and service when we arrived and answered all questions (Road trip to play the course.)
- Very challenging.
- Extreme workout compared to courses I usually play at home.
- Gorgeous scenery and elevation changes.
- Campsites I believe were literally on the course, I believe.
- Very clean course, no trash on fairways and for the most part woods were kept nice as well.
- Lots of options to take breathers, we took plenty up and down.
Cons: - I slipped and fell and slide down some steep drop offs a few times, must sign a wavier before playing. So extreme terrain changes which can be dangerous so pay attention.
- Few holes are concrete pads, mostly were natural which makes sense being out on a mountain side.
- There was signage, but some were tough to follow along with.
- Lots of blind shots
- The climb was worth it, but if your looking for a causal round go else where.
Other Thoughts: I don't have a lot to add, the trip up to the course was worth it. I'm getting into a serous level of disc golf and this course whooped me. It was an extremely challenging course for me, but loved it. After walking 18 holes I'm glad we only did 18 I haven't hiked all year that was a great workout! If they had a little easier of walks up and down the mountain sides I would raise my vote but falling down a few of those bumped it down. Overall love this course will have to get back up here and try to beat the course instead of it beating me!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beast of a Course

5+    4/19/2014   4/23/2014
Review By: MountainGoat
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2015
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: <> Some of the best smelling, and most beautiful mid-summer scenery in the country
<> Difficult shots from start to finish
<> Lots of variety in the overall shape of the holes with a themed focus on tight shots. Sometimes the ceiling is really low, and sometimes you are teeing through a 15' gap 50' out.
<> Elevation change: The front 9 has some change but it is very minimal compared to the back 9 which is steadily uphill. The front 9 makes EXCELLENT use of the elevation changes that are present.
<> Trash cans everywhere so you don't have to see garbage all over and you don't have to carry 15 beer cans out of the woods.
<> Good quality baskets that don't spit much
<> Concrete boxes on 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 17.
<> Alternate baskets on many holes and Logger moves them around throughout the summer so replay value is awesome
<> Clearly marked signs show where the baskets are and at each alternate location with distances and direction.
<> The cardio workout you get from climbing a mountain is at no additional cost. And just a heads up, you climb it a few times in 18.
Cons: <> Tees not listed in Pros have "natural" boxes and they can be slick or muddy.
<> Lost discs can be nearly impossible to recover in some situations depending on what you are willing to climb... or descend into.
<> Going down 14 for the first time can be dangerous since the flood eroded the grass, stay far left where the ground has roots and deadfall still.
<> The signage at the completion of holes is not always clear as to where you should be headed for the next tee box.
<> It is not marked on the hole sign which location the basket is at, so if you did not catch Logger in the chalet, and you don't know the course, you will have to guess where to throw to or get out the binoculars and look for blaze orange. In many cases you cannot even see the far baskets from the teebox so you will have to walk the hole to find it.
<> Although there is a ton of variation in the design of the holes, there are not a lot of shot options due to both how tight the course is and how heavy the risk of going down a 200' ravine and O.B. weighs. This is only a minor disturbance though because the reward for hitting the narrow paths and going the distance requires a perfect throw, and a perfect throw always feels good.
Other Thoughts: This is a natural mountain made of mud, dirt, clay, trees, steep slopes, sheer cliffs, deep wet valleys... it is a perfect sanctuary for all of life but along with that comes the natural dangers of such an environment. If it is pouring rain, you can expect a VERY challenging climb through the back 9. Footing can be a challenge at any given time and careful consideration on each shot weights more heavily than average on this course. I have only played a season and from what I have heard and seen so far this course will continue to receive attention and improvements. I expect in time there will be more concrete, and better signage. The chalet is a a great place to hang out, get fresh water, burgers made to order, good craft beer on tap or for the bag, discs to restock your bag and people to pick up a round with if you wish. Oh, and leave your hyzer-bomb at home, you won't be needing it at all on this course save for 17 and possibly 16 if you are a lefty.

UPDATE: Many updates have already taken place this season... more concrete, tons of mowing, 2 completely new holes, more pin placements on some existing holes. Logger deserves a medal for the work he puts in, truly one of the best places to play disc golf in the country.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A northwoods treat

5+    9/18/2013   9/19/2013
Review By: discbrewer
Played: 65  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course pretty much has it all. A substantial amount of elevation change which can be draining, but very rewarding with breath-taking views of the surrounding wilderness. There is a wide assortment of different layouts for the 18 holes, so you're not throwing the same shots hole after hole. There is nice signage on all the holes showing the distances of the A, B, and sometimes C pins and there layouts, as well as little arrows to help keep you on the right path. The employees do a great job of keeping the course trimmed and clean of branches and trash. There are recycling bins every few holes which is always a plus on a course. All but one of the holes has a bench you can rest on if you need to take a break (which most people will need, since it is one of the more challenging courses around).
Cons: There are a few holes where you have to traverse up and down steep slopes, so when its slippery out on the course, they can be a little disconcerting. There is a mountain bike trail that runs through the course on a few holes, which isn't necessarily a bad thing by any means, but you should keep a eye open if you hear some bikers in the woods so you don't knock them off their bikes with a shanked drive.
Other Thoughts: This is easily one of my favorite courses. Some of the holes get changed every once in a while due to unforeseen events like the flood in the spring of 2012, but they get replaced with holes that are equally as enjoyable to play as the old ones were. If you have time, I would highly suggest playing the white cedar/eagles peak loop. You play the front 9 on eagles peak which then puts you right on the tee pad for hole number 1 on White Cedar. When you finish with 18 on white cedar, it puts you right next to the tee pad for hole 10 on eagles peak, so you can finish the back 9.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.