Arlington, VA 
Bluemont Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 168ft.   3 / 256ft.   3 / 311ft.   3 / 122ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket Blue (D pin)



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Avoid nice weather here

5+    2/5/2014   2/14/2014
Review By: danielccockerspaniel
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bluemont has 3 teepads for each hole, and each one provides a significant change, so it really does play like a 27 hole course. There are also 2 pin positions for most holes. The new long pin position on hole 4 is really challenging. Many people don't even know where some of the pro tee pads are, and are surprised at how far back, and challenging they are when they are pointed out. The pins often move around, too, and the variations are nice. There are some elevation changes, not huge, but enough to make it way better than a flat course. The course is very accessible, and the locals know the at least two of the three access points, to avoid the congested parking from other park users.
Cons: The accessibility of Bluemont is its downfall. For many newbies it's a gateway course, and these newbs will walk right up to the red tee pad on hole one, not realizing that some gorilla arm is about to blaze a deadly laser right over their heads from the blue tee pad behind them. There are other park users who will jog through the course, completely oblivious that they are on a fairway. I once came across a teacher who had set up a science demonstration on the long teepad for hole 4. He had no idea why there was this convenient concrete pad, and his assistant got mad at me because my disc golfing was distracting the kids from their science demonstration! As others have pointed out, the parallel and overlapping fairways, mainly hole 9 and 1, are problematic.
Other Thoughts: The locals know to park at hole 7, off of Carlin Springs Rd. Play when the weather is off. If you come on a nice sunny weekend afternoon, Bluemont will be full of newbies throwing plastic into every tree, and it gets crazy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Played Course In Some Trying Conditions!

1    7/11/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Bluemont DGC early one July morning in a constant, steady downpour. The course was saturated making everything a miserable, wet experience. To make matters worse, the nearest gate was locked at 7:15 am forcing me to walk an extra ways through these downpours trying to locate the course and # 1.

With the realization these weather conditions were not the fault of the course or it's designers, I will attempt to write an honest, unbiased review, although what I am trying to remember was only seen through my rain soaked eyeballs.

An amazing amount of work and effort has been put forth to squeeze this course into a fairly small partial of park land. The stairs, steps, tee pads and baskets placements are indeed impressive in their creativity. With multiple sets of concrete pads and multiple baskets placements, players have plenty of options here. Through the showers I was able to occasionally glance upon and sail my disc down some interesting and challenging fairways to some wonderful, creative baskets placements.
Cons: Squeezing this many holes into this small area of an area will invariably lead to some conflicting situations with other park users. I hope these are few and far between. Also, on heavy course usage days, I understand the course can get quite backed up. I had no such problems on my miserable ass, rainy morning. Just me and the ducks!

Players with those big arms might not find the chance to unleash those 400 foot drives here. With the terrain basically flat, there's no chance for the big downhills.
Other Thoughts: This is probably one of those courses where the designers have done the absolute most with the space they have to work with.

"forehandfranz" previous reviewer, from my neck of the woods, Seattle area, compares Bluemont to a north Seattle course called Mineral Springs. His comparison is spot one. Both are small urban courses artfully squeezed into small pieces of land, with creative planning of the holes, and tons of engineering hours having gone into the building of stairs, steps, bridges, pads. etc.

I don't think the effort I put forth on this rainy, wet Virginia morning did justice to the course. I basically wimped out.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Course

2-4    10/13/2012   1/19/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good tee pads for both tees. Multiple tees and baskets for most holes. Some tough short shots and some decently long drives that have to go through tight areas.
Cons: All the holes are very close together and could be easy to get hit by a disc from another hole. Pars are kinda weird.
Other Thoughts: Good course if you are close. I suggest it if you are close.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Use of Space

2-4    1/12/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: Ogroat
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course makes very good use of the space they have available.
- There are a couple holes that are relatively memorable. The #1 basket is behind a sprawling tree that has a small window where a drive might get through. One of the tees on hole 3 is close to a large tree that you must throw around to get to the basket.
- There are three concrete tee boxes per hole and many holes have two pins in the ground at any given time. There are several pin positions for each hole.
- For such a small area, there's a good amount of elevation change going on. About half the holes are either up or downhill.
Cons: - Only nine holes.
- Because of the small area that this course is laid out on, the holes bunch up. Some tee positions are even in the line of fire for other holes. You may have to wait to throw in order to avoid hitting others.
- Some of the tee boxes are within spitting distance of others for the same hole. They don't all offer a different experience.
- This course is generally very short. You could probably get away with only bringing mids and putters.
- Signage was present, but lacking. You could see the general layout of the hole, but distances were mostly missing.
- The tee boxes were not a consistent size. Some were comically long, while others were too small.
- Parking is limited and shared with other park activities.
Other Thoughts: - I went on an unusually warm winter day and the park was quite crowded. Waiting wasn't fun, but I did like seeing so many people playing and having fun.
- I would recommend taking your small bag, as there's no real need to have a full assortment of distance drivers.
- One thing that I really like (though I didn't factor into my rating) is the location. It's in Arlington, near a bunch of houses and at least one school. It may be a small course, but it's within walking distance for many people. Kudos to the park authority that decided to put it here and expose more people to the sport. That said, I wouldn't go out of my way to go to this course.
- With the right disc and a big arm, you might be able to drive from one side of the course to the other with two throws.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Try the Bluemont "Blues"

2-4    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 177  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is squeezed onto a tiny, pretty piece of land but milks it for all it's worth. You really get your money's worth here (it's free, actually) as they have three tee pads per hole and varying pin positions. They had dual pins on 4 of nine holes when I played.
You will be challenged to a wide variety of shots, but bring your short game, not much room to unwind (except a couple of shots on 8 and 9). The terrain is hilly and very woodsy

My favorite hole was the blue tee on #1 - you must go around a tree about 50' off the tee, place your drive perfectly, to set up along a thin fairway for another 275' to a pin that's protected by a cool, gnarled tree.
Cons: Well, several of the blue (long) tees interfere with other fairways- I can only imagine what it would be like during a tourney or a crowded day. It could impose danger, but I guess that people just need to be very alert. The Blue tee on #7 is very vulnerable to a stray drive from #6 (one of my drives landed very close to this tee). Also, a pedestrian walkway along 7-9 would also fall under the same category - just be careful and considerate.
Other Thoughts: The day I played there were 6 possible layouts to play which kept things interesting. Also, it was Memorial Day weekend and there were many families having picnics right next to the course, but nobody wandered onto the course, as they seemed to be well aware that it was the disc golf area. What a great symbiotic relationship with Discers and park goers! That OB path was like a force field!

Hole # 5 has a it's long pin protected behind a thick 50'-long group of thin trees. Where's the route? I enjoyed how it forces you to improvise a "route", but I also think it could be only slightly thinned and would still make for a nail biter.

A few have spoken about how this is the best 9-holer they've played. I would suggest you try Mineral Springs (Northpark) out in my neck 'o the woods in Seattle, as it has a very similar feel as this one, and would yield the same rating as I've given it here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the TREES

1    11/1/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging with multiple tee pads and pin locations.
Cons: Muddy...
Other Thoughts: Nice 9 hole course with the multiple tee/pin locations, this course plays like a 27 hole course. Lots of fun, highly suggested if in the local area.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Maximizing a Minimum

2-4    4/18/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9-hole, 4-basket positions, 3-tee positions mean this course can play very differently each time.

At each red tee, good signage listing the distances from each tee to each basket. Post with multi-hooks to hang bags. Benches at most holes. (Mostly long) concrete teepads, with coloured number painted upon, at each hole.

Good blend of right/left/straight, fully/partially/minimally wooded holes.

Favourite hole #4C from the whites: About 250', slightly uphill, slightly right-turning, basket not visible because it is in the woods and below the slope of the hill, guarded by a OB creek behind and to the left.
Cons: Because the course is set-up on a small, wooded hillside of a large public park:
- Many holes play quite near to walking paths and other public general-use areas
- Some tee positions will play across other holes' fairways (e.g. blue and white #1 tees play across #9's fairway; blue tees #2 and #4 across #8's fairway)
- Some tee positions are in danger of being hit by throws from other tees (e.g. throwing from red/white #2, you may have an errant throw buzzing at your head from #3, if the mando is missed)

Most visible basket may not be the one for your tee! The day we played, the most visible basket from tee #1 was basket #3; from #3's tee, the most visible basket was #7.
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot, take the paved path at the end of it to find the 9th tee (and sign for 1st tee) just past the basketball court.

If you are first-time visitor, you may want to walk the course (its not very long), to see which baskets go with which tees (as mentioned earlier, the most easily visible basket may not be the basket you are supposed to be playing!)

The maps available on this site, or at http://www.geocities.com/blue...oursemap.html (which as further links for details on each hole) are quite useful.

Link at http://md-discgolf.com/phpbb3...25&t=1890 may contain useful current-position information.

With the recent addition of two new baskets, #5 and #9 D both have permanent baskets.

Because you have so many combinations of tees and basket positions, the distances can vary wildly. All red to all A? Nothing over 200'. All blue to all D? Average about 375', with one over 500'.

Good use of making the most of the space available!


16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Nice surprise in the big city

2-4    9/13/2008   10/5/2008
Review By: chuckw
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very cool 9 hole course tucked away in a corner of a neighborhood park. It almost makes you forget that you are in such a densely populated area. Excellent use of elevation especially on hole 5 -- straight up a "big" hill. Hole 2 is also a bit of a climb. It is not long, but you need control. I played 3 rounds using the local's "red, white, and blue" pattern (there is a red, white, and blue tee for each hole). It is surprising how differently each hole plays based upon which teepad you use, they are aligned to place different obstacles between you and the hole.
Other Thoughts: Very friendly locals, and I got to see the park's resident bird of prey, a beautiful hawk, perched right above us on the teepad of hole 4

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center