Disc Golf Store
Arlington, VA 
Bluemont Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 271ft.   3 / 359ft.   4 / 413ft.   3 / 222ft. Par / Distance:
Steps down to the creek to retrieve wayward discs



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/21/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: evilempire
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of fun in a small space. great layout. good to bring a photo of the map for the different tee layouts but pretty intuitive. fun challenging but easy enough on beginners. hard to lose a disc. very nice locals, even found my pair of glasses I dropped a couple holes back (thanks!) Fun course you can play 27 diff holes on a 9 fairway place, def worth the stop.
Cons: Little bit of signage would help at the main park entrance to find the course for out of towners. On the course the signage is decent but could be slightly improved but its not bad. Fairways for noobs can be a little tight.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course!!

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: Dupree721
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm here on business right now and I got out around 7 today and headed right over as it was only an hour from my hotel.

Once I found the course, I was fighting daylight, but thats okay because this course was worth it! It's only 9 holes, but it offers 3 different teepads every hole which increases the difficulty and makes for some fun shots from hyzer/anhyzer to complete full-power drives. The course is challenging, but at the same time nice and condensed so you don't have to walk around forever to the next hole.

The course was very clean and trails were clearly highlighted. This course offers it all for every player and the holes were far more challenging than other courses I've played at.
Cons: It took a while to find the course. I went in the very first entrance near the tennis courts and the baseball fields and had to walk a bit down the field towards the volleyball courts before I found the first tee. Signage would help as more people need to know where this place is!
Other Thoughts: Literally playing at this course after a stressful work weekend was just what I needed!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best 9 hole course ever

1    6/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 12/12/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really want to rate this courst 3.75, but you can't do that on dgcoursereview.com Easily the best 9 hole course, which can double as an 18 hole course if you choose to play another round off the intermediate or pro tees. This course is challenging, and may require you to pull out alot of your disc shot repertoire (FH, BH, tomahawks, thumbers). An excellent use of the small park land allotted to disc golf. There's narrow woods type shots, uphills, and downhills. Great place to come practice your midrange game, but if you want to launch some you can do that from the pro tee pads.
Cons: Slightly confusing to navigate at first, but the course flows well overall.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the small piece of the park allotted to disc golf. I've only played it once, but was quite impressed with the variety of challenges it presented despite its small size. Definitely worth checking out. VIEW THE REVIEW BELOW ME, excellent description of each hole!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots O' Great Golf Here

2-4    4/15/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall a very good place to play. Course is clean. Many amenities. Water, bathrooms, etc. There is a board for flyers and info at the 1st tee. Garbage cans, benches, bag holders at all holes. Good signs. As busy as this park is the course does not cross walkways or overlap other park use areas. Tee pads are ample and plenty. Baskets are in good shape. Next tee arrows on all baskets. Looks like this course has been here a while, is well developed and well maintained. There is one of everything here. Open holes(#3), Tree tunnels (#8), Tree pinball (#7), Annies (#2, #6), Hyzers (#5, #9), Uphill (#2, #5), Downhill (#3, #6), Blind holes (#4, #6, #9), mandos (#1). See hole-by-hole comments in bottom "other" section. Multiple tee pads and baskets/basket options make this a great place to play often. I played through 2X and played different tees and different baskets on every hole. As the course was set there are at least 38 unique "holes" to play. If you play toe short tees and the close baskets this can be a fun and challenging middie course. If you play the back tees and the deep baskets it does have some bigger arm opportunities. I always pick a signature hole… one that truly exemplifies the character of a course. Toss up on this one… I have to go with either #5 or #6… Both are slightly blind, one uphill, one down, using the terrain well. Lots of trees to contend with. Much physical improvement to the hillside with steps, etc.
Cons: Hole 3 basket plays close to hole 1 basket, small thing but it is what it is. Parking was O.K. today, but on a busy weekend… and if there was a DG event, fuggetaboutit.
Other Thoughts: Hole-by-hole impressions

Hole #1
I took the arrow on the ground by the tree on the left to be a mando… prevents you from shooting "annie" over to the landing area in front of the tree. Must go hyzer. The landing area in front of the tree is a nice place to set p your putt… but beware… a middle placed shot gives you an over and in birdie… but the branches might make a straight in put a non-option making a arcing putt and a duce less likely. Nice hole. Great tree.

Hole #2
Good stair setps up to the basket(s). Nice slight annie. Close basket is birdie-able. Good warm up as to what is to come in the hillier 5 and 6 holes.

Hole #3
Simplest of the holes. Slight downhill, slight hyzer. Aceable from the forward tee pad. I hit metal on my second attempt.

Hole #4
Blind, up and over a ridge. Nice OB behind basket. Set up is everything here. Aan ace attempt with enough height for the chains will land OB. You have to gamble… either go for ace and get a 3… or set up for birdie and skip the ace attempt. Sweet.

Hole #5
Waaaay up… and Waaaay over if you go for the deep basket. Nice stair steps up. Many tee pad options. Plenty of tree pinball problems here… and the worst of it is the rollaway that can steal most all of your distance if the disc does not land flat. Esp putts to the lower basket. The clearer ground is ideal for a put to roll away and give you a second putt that will be DOUBLE the length of the one you just missed.

Hole #6
I liked 6 more the second time when I knew where the baskets were. I like annie holes and the length of this own is great for my arm. With more than one pad and more than one basket… can you not just play this hole 9 times and call it a course on its own?

Hole#7
One of the best (worst) tree pinball galleries I have shot in some time. There is NO clean, clear shot here. Multiple pads and multiple pins combined with about a zillion shot shaping choices for how you can and might wish to play the trees… awesome forest disc golf. Play this hole over and over until your arm falls off. You will never play it the same way twice. Bring a premium disc since all that tree chopping will kill a cheap-o disc pretty fast.

Hole #8
A great tree tunnel. From any pad and to either basket there is a straight, clean shot to be drilled here. Problem is… you are just not that good at tossing a lazer beam. This is a great contrast to 7 where there is Zero clean line shot. A perfect follow up to 7 is 8. Maybe a bit boring for some as it is a straight, clean shot… But… a welcome challenge.

Hole #9
A simple blind hyzer. It is a great hole on its own merits… but with 8 great holes in front of it… kinda less exciting. Don't get me wrong. Still a great golf hole. Problem is for most RHBR tossers with a bit of distance in their arm this becomes just an easy and simple duce.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Amazingly cool crowded course

1    8/15/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Although there are 3 sets of tees and multiple basket locations on this course most of which give the hole a totally different line, it is still a 9-holer. As such, this review is a review of the "best of" tees for each hole.

In some people's minds having extra tees can only boost the course's rating; and others think that adding inferior tees diminish the course. I spent a lot of time finding all the basket collar locations and considering the best one for each tee pad (I feel sorry for my nephew who was with me and had to put up with this)….and there are a lot of dumb combinations but more great combinations…..all depends on the day you show up and what basket locations are in use. I cannot really make up my mind how to fairly rate this course, but I settled on doing "best of".

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses (over 110 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A
(With the exception of 1 or maybe 2 holes, this course nails it in this department. There is a good mixture of holes that will punish errant go-for-it shots and the type that you need to really figure out the best line to take….and then perform well to execute it.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(This would be a solid A except that 2-3 holes were a little short so the thrill of parking those is less. Still, playing best-of is a worthy challenge and breaking much below say a 24 is an accomplishment.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
(This course has absolutely amazing variety of hole types and shot shapes - everything you could ever expect out of a 9-holer…..except for a nice downhill let-er-rip sort of hole (which there simply is not room for).)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(If this course was spread out on the same sort of land, trees, and terrain rather than being all on top of each other, it would be a solid A. It is indeed very very nice, but all the fairways and tee pads all over and on top of each other along with the walking path and views of other park activities takes things down a few notches.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == 1-2 bonus points for this
(Hole 1 from the longest tee to the first basket behind the sprawling tree is a legit 2-throw hole that will stress finesse. You gotta land your drive perfectly and well past the middle tee to have a dead straight hard shot through the sprawling tree. Or you could do a skip hyzer around the right side of the tree to get close to the pin. Very challenging….bordering on too challenging - but I love it!)

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Bluemont NEW MOUND

5+    9/28/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: elnino
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: three tees concrete
Baskets very nice and 4 different pin locations
pin locations moved frequently
good for beginner and pros
huge variety of trees
Cons: small amounts of poison ivy
some fairways intersect so must be careful on crowded days.
Other Thoughts: I play here 4 times a week and i don't really get tired of it. so much variety and really for the accurate players. anybody that is just a brute thrower will hate it cuz only one hole is really open and only from one of the 27 pads do you get a wide open shot! practice basket for putting is kind of weak really would like to see this feature updated so that more players would stay off the course to work on putting.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Super NoVA 9 holer!

2-4    12/30/2008   5/21/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
I really like this course! For over 5 years it's kept it's top position as the best 9 hole course I've ever played. What a treat to have this compact course on a hill inside the Beltway. Variety makes it great. Every hole has 3 concrete teepads and 4 basket positions, so there are 12 possible layouts for each hole! Hole lengths range from 153 ft to 539 ft with everything in between, and there are a great mix of straight, left, and right fairways. There are lots of uphill and downhill shots too. There's even a little bit of water with a creek in play on holes 4 & 6.
There are good Amenities, with an excellent color map, bag holders, and tons of benches. Here's an added bonus-- hole 5 has a permanent extra basket in the longest position.
Cons:
Not a whole lot…
-With so many basket positions and lots of trees it can be a little hard to figure out where the basket is. On the layout I played I couldn't see 5 of the baskets, so that took a little extra scouting. It would help a lot if they had a good way to show the current basket position.

-Par… To my way of thinking, many of the pars are too high. I don't think they're using the notorious "Rec Par" because the designer, Tim Beron, is far too savvy for that useless system. Bluemont's sign par is based on the best recorded score from each tee to a specific basket plus 2 throws. I guess that means that every hole that hasn't been aced in a tournament has a minimum of par 4. This results in the following pars: Red-B, 1881 ft. = par 30 / Red-C, 2064 ft. = par 33 / Red-D, 2385 ft. = par 34. The longest, Blue-D, 3423 ft. = par 44 (with five par 5s.). I use Close Range Par, so I think these are too high. I just can't imagine nine holes at 1881 ft (average of 200 ft. per hole) with a par of 30. Personally, I wouldn't put par on any of the Red tee layouts above 27.
Other Thoughts:
My Rating: 8.5 (out of 10)

According to my values, to get my highest ratings a course has to have at least 18 holes, so that means that even the greatest nine hole course has an upper limit to how high I'll rate it. Bluemont sets the standard for me with the highest rating I've given to a 9 hole course. It's too bad that they're limited to only 9 holes.

If you want to have lots of fun, with unending variety, and if you want to see a model for how good a 9 hole course can be, then make sure to play Bluemont!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch nine.

2-4    4/10/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 246  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bluemont sure surprised me. I wouldn't have thought so much variety could be put into a small area. Whomever design this course got every little bit out of the space available. Bluemont has a little bit of everything. Elevation, water hazards, good use of mandos and OB, tight shots and multiple layouts. Each hole has 3 concrete tees (a couple i noticed 4) varying in length and shot angle. If this wasn't enough, each hole has 3 or more pin placements. I'm not sure how many different layouts this comes to, but its a lot. And no 2 holes were alike. Multiple baskets are slowly being integrated giving players more options.
Bluemont is a beautiful park, I was fortunate to have played on a day when the trees were in bloom. This also brings a lot of other park goers, joggers etc, but it was nice to see that the DGers and other were getting along well and sharing the small space. Local golfers were very friendly and playing was a great experience (even in the rain.) My favorite i think was hole 4. Straight away fairway that hooks to the right to a basket placed on the edge of a ten foot drop off with a creek at the bottom. Took a well placed upshot to walk away with a 3.
Cons: The only con I have comes from having a course in such a small space. Fairways come close together and can sometimes interfere with play, especially from long, blue tees. A couple holes that run near jogging paths could also be hazardous to other park goers.
Other Thoughts: My first time playing Bluemont was for the Cherry Blossom C-tier event. I played the beautiful course for 4 rounds, each from a different tee or with different pin placements. This is easily the best 9 hole I've played to date as well as the most challenging.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Quality 9 hole course

2-4    10/9/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Multiple tees and basket positions give variety and make the course suitable for all skill levels. Good signage and scenery. Well maintained with many garbage cans and posts to hold your bag/jacket.
Thorns and poison ivy are not an issue as other area courses.
Clean restrooms.

Edit: Played a Tourney here and have changed my mind, this is the best nine holer I have ever played.
Cons: It is only 9 holes, but if you play all 3 tees it's like a 27.
There are 2 sections of Bluemont Park, if you park by the tennis courts it is quite a walk and it took a little while to find the course.
Picnicers were in the way on hole 8.
Other Thoughts: There is a secret 4th tee on hole 6 you have to search behind the blues.

You want to park by Bluemont Picnic Pavilion. If you find yourself up by the Ranger Station, walk past the tennis courts and past ALL of the baseball fields to the parking lot. You will start seeing tees and baskets near the stream past the restrooms. (If you get tired and set your bag down the super social squirrels will come investigate it, possibly from the inside)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.