Disc Golf Store
Arlington, VA 
Bluemont Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #6 (Taken 3/2002)
3 / 171ft.   3 / 225ft.   3 / 218ft.   3 / 126ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Blue Tee



Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 "Man, if it wasn't for that tree!"

5+    3/10/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: hedfan1
Played: 85  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this course dozens X dozens of times = My Review

Well for me it's two miles away but besides that, this course is accessible by road and by pedestrian city trails! I often drive but when the weather is great and I feel the motivation, I hop on my bike and ride to this "9" hole course.

This get's a bit long, so grab yourself a beer or some popcorn and let's get to it!

**Three tee pad positions
**Tee pads are all cement
**Pad positions alter each hole significantly
**Multiple pin positions (changed regularly)
**Holes #5 #8 and #9 have permanent blue pro baskets
**During daylight saving time there are weekly doubles each Thursday to meet new players and motivate you to keep practicing and finding new ways to improve
**Garbage cans closely available by holes 1-2-4-7-8-9 keep this park fairly clean!
**Great elevation changes
**Water comes into play but don't expect to loose your disc, it's slow flowing and shallow creeks!
**OB and Mandos make you respect the courses layout as well as help protect other Discers from getting hit
Cons: Well, it depends on what type of disc golfer you are to call out cons on this course but I'll try to cover any issues I have come up with in my experience... I don't consider these cons anymore, but I know others do.

1. If you have strength but don't have finesse in your shot, the trees on this course will frustrate you very quickly. That's how I felt for a long time when I began playing this course. If your new to the course, start on the red tees and work your way back to the blues, it will save you from pulling chunks of hair out of your head! At first the trees make it seem like there is no good path to take on some holes but trust me, you can do it! After many rounds here I have really picked up my finesse game!

2. The pedestrian path runs right down the right side of hole #8's fairway but just be patient for path users to get clear and it's not a huge issue, respect their safety, their not always watching you so be careful.

3. Not the courses fault but their are a number of areas that get very wet and soggy after the rain or melting snow, if you decide to play after those conditions, expect to get a little muddy.

4. To shoot from the Blue or White pads on #1 you have to throw across #9 fairway. Just keep your eyes open!

5. To shoot from the Blue pad on #2 you have to throw across #8 fairway. Just keep your eyes open!

6. To shoot from blue on #4 you have to throw across #8 fairway. Just keep your eyes open!

7. To shoot from the Blue or White pads on # 7 you are shooting across the walking path so like I said in 4, 5 and 6, just keep your eyes open, rarely do I find these issues to actually be an issue.

7. Hole markings could be better but plenty sufficient for this course. If you have a problem, just ask someone and they can probably help you out!








Other Thoughts: Bluemont is marked as a 9 hole course but in fact, when you shoot from all three tee pads it feels like a 27 hole course! If you take into account the different pin positions laid out through out the year it becomes 112 different challenging holes to play!

My 9 hole break down...

#1
RED - Trash Can and Bench at tee. Depending on pin placement this is an ace run hole, although I never have...
WHITE - Bench at tee. This fairway is divided by a few trees right down the middle, pick your path right or left and go for it!
BLUE - Bench at tee. A tunnel shot off the tee to a fairly open fairway, once you cross that then your near the red tee and you can go for a great upshot to make 3, don't feel bad with a 4 or 5 on this one.

#2
RED - A deceiving uphill shot to the right, depending on pin placement, ace run possible but difficult.
WHITE - Just to the right of the red tee but creates a harsher right angle shot
BLUE - Trash can and Bench near by. From here your adding about 200 ft. from the red or whites. There is a mando on this hole that has increased it's difficulty greatly, again don't be disappointed with a 4 from here.

#3
RED - Bench at tee. This is going down hill to the left, over shooting can be an issue here. It is deceptively more difficult than it appears.
WHITE - Places you up higher but from the same angle, I tend to over shoot from here all to often.
BLUE - Actually a bit closer than whites but it creates a harsher angle and also adds some extra obstructions. Note: Look for the mando on the tree up to your left, you need to shoot to the right of it!

#4
RED - Trash can and Bench at tee. Depending on pin placement this is a very deuce-able hole but also can be a difficult 3. This is a dog leg to the right for most of the pin positions, look for the mando to the right..
WHITE - Bench at tee. A bit longer with a harsher right curve to the hole. This has two mandos that come into play.
BLUE - Quite a bit longer, small gaps to hit and then curves right. Two mados can come into play here as well.

#5
RED - Big Elevation change, your shooting from the base of the stream's ravine to the top of the hill, lots of trees!
WHITE - Bench at tee. Here your shooting over the stream and then up the hill to the pin, lots of trees!
BLUE - Bench at tee. Further up the hill from white, now your close to the same elevation as the pin but a long shot across the gap over the stream and up the hill. This is my favorite tee pad on the course!

#6
RED - Bench at tee. This has a mando that forces you left but right after that mando your going to be going right. This is a great hole if you miss the trees, trust me there are plenty here.
WHITE - Bench at tee. Down the hill near the red pad of #5. This is a tough shot but doable. You still need to curve right but watch out, if you go left a tree could kick you in to the OB stream very easily!
BLUE - Just behind the red tees but now you have a narrow gap to shoot before you pass the mando and fade right.
RAG - I'm not sure but I see it as a tribute to who I consider the Godfather of Bluemont, his name is Rag, pronounced Rog with a hard G. I'll say, good luck from here, its back from blue about 20 feet but makes a huge difference!

#7
RED - Bench at tee. Here you have a doable deuce but good luck they don't come easy! Your teeing off between two large trees down a fairly technical fairway greeted by some well placed trees just before the pin.
WHITE - Bench at tee. Here your shooting to the right of the two big trees I was talking about, from their it plays like red.
BLUE - Trash can and bench at tee. Here your shooting down hill trying to make that gap where the red tee is located. This is my second favorite tee at the course, just a really cool layout.

#8
RED - Bench at tee. Fairly open fairway but not an easy one to hit, watch out for the blond twins (trees) sitting in the middle, they will eat you up from your drive. Watch for pedestrians on the path, not only for their safety but also it will cost you a stroke if you land on it or over it, you go to far, your fishing your disc out of another stream!
WHITE - Similar distance from red, a tad longer just a different angle.
BLUE -Similar distance from white, a tad longer just a different angle.

#9
RED - Bench and trashcan at tee. This is a fun hole as well to let loose and go for a long shot, you have an open fairway with a few trees to watch for on the left, get past those, turn left and shoot up a small hill!
WHITE - Right off the tee pad you need to shoot left past a big tree. Then stay right long enough to clear those trees on the left of the fairway! This tree has eaten a few discs of mine as well as others I play with! If you don't believe me take a look at the tree your self, it's got the scars to prove it!
BLUE - Here your shooting right of that big tree, here the blue tee seems easier than the white to me!

Playing all par 3's from the winter pin positions -
Just to get an idea of difficulty, I play this course on average 3 times a week...
My Best from Reds - (-3)
My Best from Whites - (-1)
My Best from Blues - (+1)
All 27 Tees - (+1)

During the winter it's nice and quiet in this park but when the weather is nice and it's the weekend things can get a bit crowded. This course in my opinion is well worth the effort to try out, but play it 5+ times before you judge it, trust me you'll like it! Eventually ;)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the TREES

1    11/1/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging with multiple tee pads and pin locations.
Cons: Muddy...
Other Thoughts: Nice 9 hole course with the multiple tee/pin locations, this course plays like a 27 hole course. Lots of fun, highly suggested if in the local area.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 DG in DC! Packs a Punch!

1    8/15/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An old school technical course that really provides excellent challenge and fun for such limited space. Multiple tees and basket locations which provide seemingly endless options for locals. Often the tees come from different angles and provide completely different looks. Tight fairways that often meander uphills through woods to fun basket locations such as in front of bank of creekbed #4, behind signature V tree on #1, Uphill and hidden like holes #2 and #9, or way up a hill almost taunting you to climb and conquer like #5. Fairway for #6 is a right turning downhill that if tree plinked or fades your sailing downhill into deep trouble. Every hole can be three'd but it's doubtful you will be able to do that so it's got that addictive feel to it. Like you will want to try again and again to have that perfect round and break par. I would imagine a local would never score the same for each hole..maybe a 5 one day but then a 2 the next! Elevated tees for #3, #7, and #5 were memorable. It reminded me of Sedgely Woods in Philly but on a smaller scale. Great city park with amenities but rarely does DG interfere with other activities. Well maintained, broken in and concrete tees. Plenty of enjoyable shotmaking to be found here.
Cons: Like Sedgely it's quite tight on the course. With numerous instances of fairways crossing one another and some confusion for a first timer regarding baskets tees etc. Its tight..really no need to use anything other than a midrange or slow speed driver....so fans of grip and rip golf won't get their fix here. Traffic in DC makes this course not worth the trip as a destination but if your a local or in DC this is the one to play inside the beltway.
Other Thoughts: Favorite holes were 4,5, and 6. Wooded gems up and down hills utilizing creek and elevation. Least Favorite was #8, solid hole but not as good as others. It's solid technical golf here the way it was meant to be enjoyable, creative and with endless options. Enjoy it!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 an overachiever

1    8/2/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice layout in a beautiful mature forest with some nice elevation changes. Excellent amenaties with several benches and bag holders on most holes. You will not find a better maintained course anywhere. 10-15 minutes from the district, maybe two miles from the subway (Metro). Dogfish Head Pub nearby along with many other restaurant choices. Three tees on every hole, generally with different looks and degrees of difficulty (especially for the aptly named blues). Four pin settings for each holes also provide for different looks,
Cons: Only nine holes. Can get crowded at times, some of the fairways are close together so you need to be alert. A heavily used bike and hike trail (on the old Washington and Old Dominion rail bed) runs along side of the course and is OB. This can also be a plus if you're biking in.
Other Thoughts: The designer, Tim Beron, is the hardest working man in disc golf, bar no one. His effort shows in all of the little things, like the bulkheads by some of the pin settings and the multiple sets of steps down to the creek to make it easier to retrieve errant shots and prevent erosion. Favorite hole would have to be #5 from either the white or blue tees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course in an Urban Setting

5+    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 30.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Superb usage of a limited area.

Each hole has a Red, White and Blue tee placement. Lots of variety in terrain and shot types, uphill, downhill, looooong holes, in a beautifully maintained park.

The Course has dual holes on 2 of the holes, and will add more as donations pour in. Located in Arlington, close to public transportation, and the cloest course to DC. Friendly locals make the course a joy to play.

Hole 1 is a long straight hole, with the basked located behind a beautiful tree.

Hole 2 is a uphill shot, and depending on the tee is either fairly short, or very, very long.

Hole 3 is a long downhill shot, with an elevated basket placement. This makes up shots, especially from distance challenging, as a miss may fade off and roll away from the basket. It's a high risk basket because of this.

Hole 4 is a long right turner, bordered by a stream on the left side. Be carefull of o.b. on this hole.

Hole 5 is a severe uphill shot, Depending on tee placement, it's either a straight uphill (Red) or a cross the valley shot (White and Blue). Has a secone basket placement to the left of the hill top that adds more challenge.

Hole 6 is a severe right turner that rewards a right hand forehand throw with lots of snap. The basket is tucked under some trees by a small parking lot, so upshots are quiet challenging.

Hole 7 is a long straight shot with an OB bike path on the right hand side. Is challenging with the trees located throughout the fairway.

Hole 8 is a long straight hole with the same bike path obstacle, along with some trees near the basket making it challening on the upshot.

Hole 9 is a long, uphill shot that rewards a good hard hizer backhand or a wicked anhizer forehand. The basket is tucked up the hill in some woods, making it a challenge to get in 2. There is also an alternate basket on this hole to add more challenge.
Cons: Can get crowded, crossing fairways require you to pay attention on upshots.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastically designed course, and is highly difficult as a 9 hole course. With alternate tee placements, can be played as a 18 or 27 hole course legitimately.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Terrain

1    6/7/2009   6/14/2009
Review By: Lumberg
Played: 9  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: great layout in a small area, challenging with many trees, very historical kind of feel to it, multiple tees/pin placements, beautiful park, near W&OD trail
Cons: only 9 holes/short, really muddy after a recent rainfall
Other Thoughts: must play for any DC-area disc golfers

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course near DC? Limited time?

2-4    5/24/2009   6/4/2009
Review By: aaronarndt
Played: 26  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets.
Paved tees.
Excellent signage.
Good flow.
Great use of limited space.
Easily navigated.
Good design.
Well maintained.
I will preface my review with the fact that I just happened to be in DC for a few days on business, and decided to take my disc golf gear with me in the hopes that I could find some time to play. So, this is written from the perspective of a out-of-towner/first timer on the course.
This course is an absolute gem. It's incredibly close to downtown Washington DC, very easy to get to, and is by far the best 9-hole course I've played. There are numerous basket positions, and three permanent paved tees for each hole. The course is surprisingly challenging for a 9-hole, with the long tees including a few legitimate par 5's. Even the shorts have a few par 4's when the baskets are in certain positions. However, as an earlier reviewer mentioned in greater detail, some of the pars are pretty generous. I shot "5 under" on my second round, though I don't consider this to take away from the course's playability, or my experience. The course has a good mix of long, very long, and short holes, and the different layouts could provide plenty of variety. This is a real course.
Cons: It is only a 9-hole course.
It can be crowded with golfer and pedestrian traffic.
However, this close to the big city I would be surprised if anyone was disappointed in this course's playability.
Other Thoughts: I haven't played them, but I understand there are other courses in the area that are known to be outstanding. Many come highly recommended, and highly reviewed. I didn't have much extra time to play while travelling in DC, so I only played at this course that was much closer to the city. I was extremely and pleasantly surprised at the quality of this course. I would have rated it higher if it were a full 18 hole course. While I can't speak for the other courses in the area, this one was great.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Super NoVA 9 holer!

2-4    12/30/2008   5/21/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
I really like this course! For over 5 years it's kept it's top position as the best 9 hole course I've ever played. What a treat to have this compact course on a hill inside the Beltway. Variety makes it great. Every hole has 3 concrete teepads and 4 basket positions, so there are 12 possible layouts for each hole! Hole lengths range from 153 ft to 539 ft with everything in between, and there are a great mix of straight, left, and right fairways. There are lots of uphill and downhill shots too. There's even a little bit of water with a creek in play on holes 4 & 6.
There are good Amenities, with an excellent color map, bag holders, and tons of benches. Here's an added bonus-- hole 5 has a permanent extra basket in the longest position.
Cons:
Not a whole lot…
-With so many basket positions and lots of trees it can be a little hard to figure out where the basket is. On the layout I played I couldn't see 5 of the baskets, so that took a little extra scouting. It would help a lot if they had a good way to show the current basket position.

-Par… To my way of thinking, many of the pars are too high. I don't think they're using the notorious "Rec Par" because the designer, Tim Beron, is far too savvy for that useless system. Bluemont's sign par is based on the best recorded score from each tee to a specific basket plus 2 throws. I guess that means that every hole that hasn't been aced in a tournament has a minimum of par 4. This results in the following pars: Red-B, 1881 ft. = par 30 / Red-C, 2064 ft. = par 33 / Red-D, 2385 ft. = par 34. The longest, Blue-D, 3423 ft. = par 44 (with five par 5s.). I use Close Range Par, so I think these are too high. I just can't imagine nine holes at 1881 ft (average of 200 ft. per hole) with a par of 30. Personally, I wouldn't put par on any of the Red tee layouts above 27.
Other Thoughts:
My Rating: 8.5 (out of 10)

According to my values, to get my highest ratings a course has to have at least 18 holes, so that means that even the greatest nine hole course has an upper limit to how high I'll rate it. Bluemont sets the standard for me with the highest rating I've given to a 9 hole course. It's too bad that they're limited to only 9 holes.

If you want to have lots of fun, with unending variety, and if you want to see a model for how good a 9 hole course can be, then make sure to play Bluemont!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Maximizing a Minimum

2-4    4/18/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: swatso
Played: 369  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.2 Years
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9-hole, 4-basket positions, 3-tee positions mean this course can play very differently each time.

At each red tee, good signage listing the distances from each tee to each basket. Post with multi-hooks to hang bags. Benches at most holes. (Mostly long) concrete teepads, with coloured number painted upon, at each hole.

Good blend of right/left/straight, fully/partially/minimally wooded holes.

Favourite hole #4C from the whites: About 250', slightly uphill, slightly right-turning, basket not visible because it is in the woods and below the slope of the hill, guarded by a OB creek behind and to the left.
Cons: Because the course is set-up on a small, wooded hillside of a large public park:
- Many holes play quite near to walking paths and other public general-use areas
- Some tee positions will play across other holes' fairways (e.g. blue and white #1 tees play across #9's fairway; blue tees #2 and #4 across #8's fairway)
- Some tee positions are in danger of being hit by throws from other tees (e.g. throwing from red/white #2, you may have an errant throw buzzing at your head from #3, if the mando is missed)

Most visible basket may not be the one for your tee! The day we played, the most visible basket from tee #1 was basket #3; from #3's tee, the most visible basket was #7.
Other Thoughts: From the parking lot, take the paved path at the end of it to find the 9th tee (and sign for 1st tee) just past the basketball court.

If you are first-time visitor, you may want to walk the course (its not very long), to see which baskets go with which tees (as mentioned earlier, the most easily visible basket may not be the basket you are supposed to be playing!)

The maps available on this site, or at http://www.geocities.com/blue...oursemap.html (which as further links for details on each hole) are quite useful.

Link at http://md-discgolf.com/phpbb3...25&t=1890 may contain useful current-position information.

With the recent addition of two new baskets, #5 and #9 D both have permanent baskets.

Because you have so many combinations of tees and basket positions, the distances can vary wildly. All red to all A? Nothing over 200'. All blue to all D? Average about 375', with one over 500'.

Good use of making the most of the space available!


16 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch nine.

2-4    4/10/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 246  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bluemont sure surprised me. I wouldn't have thought so much variety could be put into a small area. Whomever design this course got every little bit out of the space available. Bluemont has a little bit of everything. Elevation, water hazards, good use of mandos and OB, tight shots and multiple layouts. Each hole has 3 concrete tees (a couple i noticed 4) varying in length and shot angle. If this wasn't enough, each hole has 3 or more pin placements. I'm not sure how many different layouts this comes to, but its a lot. And no 2 holes were alike. Multiple baskets are slowly being integrated giving players more options.
Bluemont is a beautiful park, I was fortunate to have played on a day when the trees were in bloom. This also brings a lot of other park goers, joggers etc, but it was nice to see that the DGers and other were getting along well and sharing the small space. Local golfers were very friendly and playing was a great experience (even in the rain.) My favorite i think was hole 4. Straight away fairway that hooks to the right to a basket placed on the edge of a ten foot drop off with a creek at the bottom. Took a well placed upshot to walk away with a 3.
Cons: The only con I have comes from having a course in such a small space. Fairways come close together and can sometimes interfere with play, especially from long, blue tees. A couple holes that run near jogging paths could also be hazardous to other park goers.
Other Thoughts: My first time playing Bluemont was for the Cherry Blossom C-tier event. I played the beautiful course for 4 rounds, each from a different tee or with different pin placements. This is easily the best 9 hole I've played to date as well as the most challenging.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.