Arlington, VA 
Bluemont Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #7 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 246ft.   3 / 297ft.   3 / 366ft.   3 / 197ft. Par / Distance:
Warm up net behind #7 blue tee



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
This is my daily course

5+    11/11/2014   11/12/2014
Review By: Treplexity
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Versatile course. With two to three pin options (and pin placement updates every couple of months) and three tee pads per hole, you've got a lot of options-great stepping stone course for a new player to start short to short, then go mid to short, or short to long and improve their game.

Not only that, but when the course is empty you can try some really fun mix ups. For example: blue 8 to 1 short, or tee 3 to the pins on 7. Or even 1 blue to 7 long if you're up for a challenge ;)

Great course to play on your way from work if you travel west from DC into VA, it's right off route 50, and there's a 7/11 walking distance from tee 7.

When they're not in use, there is a baseball and soccer field in the same park as the course that is great to go out and practice in.
Cons: Not a course to play on a Saturday. Most the locals and myself play this course on weekdays to avoid traffic going to better courses that are a bit further away (like Giles, or Seneca). Great course for weekday play, and weeknights when the sun is out.

No practice basket - there isn't really much of a place for one, but I've seen some people using a basket as a practice basket that has disrupted other players going through the course.

Some tee pads have little metal rods poking out of the ground around the edges of the tee pads, specifically 6 white.
Other Thoughts: Park at hole 7 off Carlin Springs, if that lots full there's another directly across the street on the other side of Carlin Springs. Start at tee 7 and play until you finish 6, if you want to keep playing play to a different basket, or from a different tee, endless possibilities.

Hope I didn't forget anything! ;)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/12/2014 Designer Response by: Timber
There is actually a Mach I (Single Chain) practice basket next to the Blue tee on hole 8. A new location nearer to the lot by 7 is under consideration. I am currently raising funds for a "Gold powder coated Mach V" practice basket between the bulletin board and the basketball court.

Great Course!

2-4    11/6/2014   11/10/2014
Review By: Redline4j
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements are an added value to this 9 hole course that can be played as 27+ holes. Beginners to skilled players can be challenged on this course. Love the blue pin placement of hole #4 right next to the creek. I was able to wash my disc on that hole. Course is well marked.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Fun but Cramped

2-4    10/24/2014   10/29/2014
Review By: bradharris
Played: 75  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun 9 holes on a busy multi-use park. With two pins and multiple tees, the course offers a bit more variety than a typical 9-hole course would.

The course seems to appeal to a wide variety of skill levels. We saw a lot of beginners on the course having a blast. The park-like setting, without treacherous rough, makes it friendly for those newer to the game. But there is also enough distance to keep more experienced players interested.
Cons: The course has a very small footprint and is set in a fairly busy park in a dense population center, so safety is a major concern. There is very little separation between holes, with mandos being used to try to keep discs from flying into groups on another hole. In fact, there is one tree that is a mando for two different holes! There is also a walking/jogging trail that can come into play on a number of holes.
Other Thoughts: Based just on the quality of golf, I would call this a very average course. It has everything you would expect from a decent course. The park setting isn't overly challenging, but it's also not an easy pitch-and-putt. Each shot is fun, but not exceptional. Because of the cramped quarters, and subsequent crowding from other players as well as other park users, I have to downgrade the course to just below average. The course is fun to play, but it's not fun to stand on the tee waiting for the area to be clear.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, tight woods course

2-4    9/10/2014   9/10/2014
Review By: neanderthal85
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a tightly wooded course that is open. I know that doesn't make a lot of sense. There are trees galore, but there are clear paths and as a somewhat noob, I didn't get too frustrated. You really only start to have issues when you move back to white and especially blue tees.

There are fours tees to choose from. Blue is really out there - some of them are bombs. Green would be perfect for kids or others with little throwing power who just want to learn.

Most of the holes have some nice movement and structure:

#1 - Straight shot through trees to an elevated basket
#2 - Straight or dogleg right depending on the tee to elevated baskets surrounded by woods
#3 - Elevated tees in the woods down course to an elevated basket
#4 - Tees in a field to a small wooded area with two baskets that have sudden drop-offs within feet
#5 - Huge valley with a big shot opportunity if you can avoid bunches of trees on right and upper left near basket
#6 - Toughest in my opinion...Elevated tees to a sudden dogleg right to guarded baskets near the road and a parking lot
#7 - Narrow shot from tees to baskets through a grove of trees
#8 - Similar to #7, but a little more open; Baskets guarded by trees
#9 - A sweeping dogleg left to elevated baskets tucked into the woods
Cons: The baskets were confusing to me. They show several different basket locations, but apparently they just rotate them, so knowing which baskets are which and where they are requires some walk-ahead investigation.

#1 and #3 share an elevated basket, and by elevated, I mean 6 feet tall. Someone shorter than 5 feet could not reach up into the basket without jumping or a boost. Not at all a legal height and it means some long missed putts. Not a fan.

Some of the baskets are older and seem like they have fewer chains, like the far basket on #4. That same basket is also guarded by a huge uprooted tree. As in, it blocks the approach to the basket.

I just got the sense that it's heavily used and enjoyed, but a little more upkeep would do wonders. It's not rundown by any means, but for as nice as the holes are situated, it could be a primetime 9-hole course with some TLC.

Holes 1/3/4/7/8 share an open field. And many of the shots are blind as to whether or not anyone is down there. So check when you throw and also watch out! Some knuckleheads were chucking several discs from the #3 tee while I was putting on #1 and a few almost hit me.
Other Thoughts: Give this course a try, maybe on an early weekend morning or a weekday. It's beautiful and really is a challenge. Hopefully, the parks department or a group can put a little more care into maintaining it and improving the baskets in a few spots.

All in all, it's very worth your time!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/12/2014 Designer Response by: Timber
ALL of the silver baskets are DGA Mach III's and with the recent acquisition of a new basket on hole 4, ALL of the Blue baskets are DGA Mach V's.

I do agree those players should not have emptied their bags from tee 3 but as noted in the course description; Holes 3 and 1 share the blue basket on the mound, higher hole #3 has the right of way.


1    6/21/2014   6/21/2014
Review By: evilempire
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of fun in a small space. great layout. good to bring a photo of the map for the different tee layouts but pretty intuitive. fun challenging but easy enough on beginners. hard to lose a disc. very nice locals, even found my pair of glasses I dropped a couple holes back (thanks!) Fun course you can play 27 diff holes on a 9 fairway place, def worth the stop.
Cons: Little bit of signage would help at the main park entrance to find the course for out of towners. On the course the signage is decent but could be slightly improved but its not bad. Fairways for noobs can be a little tight.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good for the City

2-4    2/22/2014   2/25/2014
Review By: chillumz
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Right in the heart of Arlington; it's within 30 minutes of a million people, literally.

I think the course was designed cleverly given the relatively tiny space allotted for the course. Sure, some of the holes jut right up to the others, but this should only be a problem for beginners.

Excellent use of elevation changes; there are only two medium hills in the park and the ups and downs offer some cool shots (holes 3 and 5 specifically)

Some holes are deceptively challenging with pin placement.

Multiple pad locations give you the variety you need on such a tight course
Cons: Even at 9 AM on a crisp saturday morning, the park was rather busy; the walkers/joggers/cyclists taking the paved trail can be distracting on holes 7, 8, and 9.

It is very easy to land a disc in the creek on hole 4. The damn pin is 3 feet from a 10 foot drop off and it's nearly impossible to get a great approach with the low trees and the fallen tree across the clearing there.
Other Thoughts: Overall I like this course a lot; it is probably my favorite in the NOVA region despite the above cons.

Play 5 from the pro tee to far basket and cover that HUUGGEE gap back uphill into the woods. One of the best ones on the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Avoid nice weather here

5+    2/5/2014   2/14/2014
Review By: danielccockerspaniel
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bluemont has 3 teepads for each hole, and each one provides a significant change, so it really does play like a 27 hole course. There are also 2 pin positions for most holes. The new long pin position on hole 4 is really challenging. Many people don't even know where some of the pro tee pads are, and are surprised at how far back, and challenging they are when they are pointed out. The pins often move around, too, and the variations are nice. There are some elevation changes, not huge, but enough to make it way better than a flat course. The course is very accessible, and the locals know the at least two of the three access points, to avoid the congested parking from other park users.
Cons: The accessibility of Bluemont is its downfall. For many newbies it's a gateway course, and these newbs will walk right up to the red tee pad on hole one, not realizing that some gorilla arm is about to blaze a deadly laser right over their heads from the blue tee pad behind them. There are other park users who will jog through the course, completely oblivious that they are on a fairway. I once came across a teacher who had set up a science demonstration on the long teepad for hole 4. He had no idea why there was this convenient concrete pad, and his assistant got mad at me because my disc golfing was distracting the kids from their science demonstration! As others have pointed out, the parallel and overlapping fairways, mainly hole 9 and 1, are problematic.
Other Thoughts: The locals know to park at hole 7, off of Carlin Springs Rd. Play when the weather is off. If you come on a nice sunny weekend afternoon, Bluemont will be full of newbies throwing plastic into every tree, and it gets crazy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Played Course In Some Trying Conditions!

1    7/11/2013   7/25/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Bluemont DGC early one July morning in a constant, steady downpour. The course was saturated making everything a miserable, wet experience. To make matters worse, the nearest gate was locked at 7:15 am forcing me to walk an extra ways through these downpours trying to locate the course and # 1.

With the realization these weather conditions were not the fault of the course or it's designers, I will attempt to write an honest, unbiased review, although what I am trying to remember was only seen through my rain soaked eyeballs.

An amazing amount of work and effort has been put forth to squeeze this course into a fairly small partial of park land. The stairs, steps, tee pads and baskets placements are indeed impressive in their creativity. With multiple sets of concrete pads and multiple baskets placements, players have plenty of options here. Through the showers I was able to occasionally glance upon and sail my disc down some interesting and challenging fairways to some wonderful, creative baskets placements.
Cons: Squeezing this many holes into this small area of an area will invariably lead to some conflicting situations with other park users. I hope these are few and far between. Also, on heavy course usage days, I understand the course can get quite backed up. I had no such problems on my miserable ass, rainy morning. Just me and the ducks!

Players with those big arms might not find the chance to unleash those 400 foot drives here. With the terrain basically flat, there's no chance for the big downhills.
Other Thoughts: This is probably one of those courses where the designers have done the absolute most with the space they have to work with.

"forehandfranz" previous reviewer, from my neck of the woods, Seattle area, compares Bluemont to a north Seattle course called Mineral Springs. His comparison is spot one. Both are small urban courses artfully squeezed into small pieces of land, with creative planning of the holes, and tons of engineering hours having gone into the building of stairs, steps, bridges, pads. etc.

I don't think the effort I put forth on this rainy, wet Virginia morning did justice to the course. I basically wimped out.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun course!!

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: Dupree721
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm here on business right now and I got out around 7 today and headed right over as it was only an hour from my hotel.

Once I found the course, I was fighting daylight, but thats okay because this course was worth it! It's only 9 holes, but it offers 3 different teepads every hole which increases the difficulty and makes for some fun shots from hyzer/anhyzer to complete full-power drives. The course is challenging, but at the same time nice and condensed so you don't have to walk around forever to the next hole.

The course was very clean and trails were clearly highlighted. This course offers it all for every player and the holes were far more challenging than other courses I've played at.
Cons: It took a while to find the course. I went in the very first entrance near the tennis courts and the baseball fields and had to walk a bit down the field towards the volleyball courts before I found the first tee. Signage would help as more people need to know where this place is!
Other Thoughts: Literally playing at this course after a stressful work weekend was just what I needed!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Little Course... Lots of Fun!

5+    4/21/2013   4/21/2013
Review By: Jimb
Played: 78  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In Arlington, VA, so there are plenty of places to eat, shop and get gas within 5 minutes. And Washington D.C. is just a short drive away, too (depending on traffic). Quite easy to find. There's a good bit of parking available, but this park seems to be very well used. There were already people setting up picnics by 7:30 a.m. each morning that I played, which indicates to me that it's going to get busy.

Nice park setting with lots of other things to do... Fields for baseball, soccer, etc., kids' playground with a big sandbox, basketball court, nice hiking/walking/biking trails, picnic tables, etc. Bathrooms on site.

The course circles around nicely and ends close to where it began. There are nice wood steps/terraces throughout the course to help you traverse the ground, and to help with erosion, I'm sure. The course was very easy to navigate once I found the first tee. Next tee signs hang from each basket. One of the maps, which I didn't even print, would help simplify things even more. The tee signs, located at each of the red tees, are a bit faded, and apparently dated, but still help with navigation. Benches are in place on most, if not all holes, at least at one tee location.

The baskets are all in good shape. There are multiple pin positions for each hole and two baskets on #2 and #5-9. Hopefully #1, 3 & 4 will be getting 2nd baskets, too.

There are three sets of concrete tees providing varying distances and lines to the baskets. The tees have wooden numbers embedded in them that are painted the color of the tee, but the numbers are badly faded. What I didn't see mentioned anywhere else is that there is also at least one set of additional natural tees per per hole. They are marked by two square pavers in the ground, and identify the shortest tee locations that would greatly benefit beginners and kids. For most of the holes, just follow the fairway from the Red tee towards the basket and you'll see the shorter tees. I'd love to take my 8 year old daughter and wife with me next time and let them play from these tees. Most were marked with green paint, but I also saw a couple with orange paint.

As far as the course itself, it provides a little bit of most everything I would want in a course. There are short technical lines to hit. And from the long tees, there were a couple opportunities for me to rip a full drive. (I throw around 325' on level ground, for comparison.) The park uses virtually all of the space available and takes full advantage of the elevation changes, with a pretty even makeup of level, uphill and downhill holes. And the tee that you choose also greatly affects the elevation on some of the holes. There's as stream that can come into play on a couple holes.

There are dead straight shots, left turners and right turners off of the tee. And several holes give distinct options regarding which line to throw. Hole #3 Red is the only totally open hole that I can think of. The #9 drive is also relatively open, depending on your tee choice. Otherwise, each tee shot requires accuracy to avoid early and mid-fairway trees.

Playing from multiple tees to varying basket locations, I got to throw a very nice variety of shots from the tee including straight shots, hyzers, hyzer flips, anhyzers and some nice "S" shots. I even chose to throw a roller, which is very unusual for me, on #4 from the blue tees. Some of the holes play through nice, big, trees and lush grass. Others, though, get into the woods with a lot more smaller trees and such to interfere with your throws. I had no issues with "un-fairways" here at all. Yes, several holes can be very tight, depending on the tee, but I feel that each hole did have at least one reasonable line to hit, if not more. To put it simply, there's a lot of variety in a little space here.

I don't play fast, but still completed 9 holes in 20-25 minutes from the Reds and just a little longer from the Blues. So once you have the navigation down, you can really get in a lot of holes in a short time.

This course can be played and, I think, enjoyed by players of all levels. It would be good for a total beginner, with the extra paver tees, and should be fun for most any experienced player who doesn't hate trees. ;-)

Ran into two groups of locals (it was very early) and both were really nice and accommodating as I cleared out of the fairway in front of them, etc.
Cons: The biggest cons for me are directly related to the variety that the course offers. From the Red tees, there isn't much of an issue. But from the longer tees, there are several crossing fairways. On a busy day, this could create confusion, and could potentially be dangerous. Plus several of the holes are also very close to the walking/biking paths. And the basketball court is very close the #9 fairway.

It would be nice to have more opportunities to just rip some big drives, but that's not the nature of this course.

Since I was on the course at 6:30 a.m. each time I played it, I didn't have any issues with parking or overcrowding. However, I can see these issues easily coming into play.
Other Thoughts: I obviously enjoyed this course a lot. If there was more space so that these same holes could be laid out as 18 different holes, instead of 9 holes with multiple tees, my score would easily go up a half point. I understand that this can't happen, but just want to give an indication as to my perceived quality of the holes themselves. This would also address the safety concerns.

A previous review mentioned bag holders. I only saw one on the entire course, and it looks to be falling over. (Not a con, just a thought.)

Personal story here. During my first round I heard a big "thwack" while walking the #8 fairway. I thought it was a disc hitting a tree on #1. Nobody was there so I didn't give it another thought, until... When I was walking back from #9 to #1, I heard another crack and a huge branch fell out of a tree close to the #1 basket. A couple seconds later, the whole tree came down, from the #1 fairway into the #8 fairway. What incredible timing. Had it fallen 2-3 minutes earlier or later, I would have been right there. Crazy!!!

Anyway, if you're North of DC, it might not be worth the trip. But if you're South of DC, in the Northern VA area, I would definitely recommend playing here. I say in a lot of reviews that I just love the game, no matter what the course. This course, however, is definitely more than "just any course" for sure!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.