Arlington, VA 
Bluemont Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #1 (Taken 8/2006)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 390ft.   4 / 533ft.   3 / 188ft. Par / Distance:
Bluemont Signature Tree



Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The best "nine hole" course I have played

1    3/21/2013   3/21/2013
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though Bluemont is technically only a nine hole course, if you take full advantage of the layout, it really feels like 27 holes or more. It fell just short of getting a 4 disc rating from me, which to me is like the PERFECT nine hole course.

Bluemont Park is incredibly maintained and it's obvious that a lot of time has been put in to make this a great park overall. There are plenty of trash cans and benches as well as very clean bathrooms. There is also a playground, a basketball court, and a bike trail, each of which don't really interfere with the course (except maybe the bike trail a little bit).

The best part of this course is the fact that there are THREE sets of CONCRETE tees!!! If you play Bluemont, you really should play from all three because they are each very different.

Red tees- Play these for a quick, easy round of golf. Plenty of variety, but no real signature hole

Whites- This was the most fun round that I played at Bluemont. Another quick round, but with significantly more challenge than the reds. My favorite hole on the course is number 6 from the whites.

Blues- You're not messing around when you're playing from these tees. Many very long, very difficult holes that resemble those of the highest caliber courses.


There were also a few "Blue baskets" scattered about the course on four or five of the holes... I didn't play to these baskets, but they appeared to be a bit longer than the "regular" ones.

The different teepad options allowed for 27 different holes to be played despite the fact that this is technically a "nine hole" course.
Cons: Whenever a course has multiple tees and pins, there's a risk of congestion and difficulty navigating. At Blluemont the "pros" of the above amenities definitely outweigh the "cons," but the negative aspects are definitely present. Here are the problems I ran into:

*Safety: Fairways of different holes criss-cross all over the place! If there are more than four groups playing the course at one time you had better watch out.

*Alternate alternate baskets??? Alternate baskets are of course, a good thing overall, but there was a set of blue baskets that seemed to be on a few of the holes that were "alternate alternate baskets." I wanted to play to these because they looked a bit more challenging, but I could never tell if a hole had a blue basket from the tee, or if the tee sign was only denoting an alternate pin placement for the "regular" holes. Made it a bit confusing (though overall the signs were very descriptive and helpful)
Other Thoughts: If I ever find myself anywhere near Arlington, VA again I will go well out of my way to play this awesome course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Interesting Course

2-4    10/13/2012   1/19/2013
Review By: timbur3
Played: 75  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good tee pads for both tees. Multiple tees and baskets for most holes. Some tough short shots and some decently long drives that have to go through tight areas.
Cons: All the holes are very close together and could be easy to get hit by a disc from another hole. Pars are kinda weird.
Other Thoughts: Good course if you are close. I suggest it if you are close.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Use of Space

2-4    1/12/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: Ogroat
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course makes very good use of the space they have available.
- There are a couple holes that are relatively memorable. The #1 basket is behind a sprawling tree that has a small window where a drive might get through. One of the tees on hole 3 is close to a large tree that you must throw around to get to the basket.
- There are three concrete tee boxes per hole and many holes have two pins in the ground at any given time. There are several pin positions for each hole.
- For such a small area, there's a good amount of elevation change going on. About half the holes are either up or downhill.
Cons: - Only nine holes.
- Because of the small area that this course is laid out on, the holes bunch up. Some tee positions are even in the line of fire for other holes. You may have to wait to throw in order to avoid hitting others.
- Some of the tee boxes are within spitting distance of others for the same hole. They don't all offer a different experience.
- This course is generally very short. You could probably get away with only bringing mids and putters.
- Signage was present, but lacking. You could see the general layout of the hole, but distances were mostly missing.
- The tee boxes were not a consistent size. Some were comically long, while others were too small.
- Parking is limited and shared with other park activities.
Other Thoughts: - I went on an unusually warm winter day and the park was quite crowded. Waiting wasn't fun, but I did like seeing so many people playing and having fun.
- I would recommend taking your small bag, as there's no real need to have a full assortment of distance drivers.
- One thing that I really like (though I didn't factor into my rating) is the location. It's in Arlington, near a bunch of houses and at least one school. It may be a small course, but it's within walking distance for many people. Kudos to the park authority that decided to put it here and expose more people to the sport. That said, I wouldn't go out of my way to go to this course.
- With the right disc and a big arm, you might be able to drive from one side of the course to the other with two throws.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 hole course ever

1    6/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
This review was updated on 12/12/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really want to rate this courst 3.75, but you can't do that on dgcoursereview.com Easily the best 9 hole course, which can double as an 18 hole course if you choose to play another round off the intermediate or pro tees. This course is challenging, and may require you to pull out alot of your disc shot repertoire (FH, BH, tomahawks, thumbers). An excellent use of the small park land allotted to disc golf. There's narrow woods type shots, uphills, and downhills. Great place to come practice your midrange game, but if you want to launch some you can do that from the pro tee pads.
Cons: Slightly confusing to navigate at first, but the course flows well overall.
Other Thoughts: Great use of the small piece of the park allotted to disc golf. I've only played it once, but was quite impressed with the variety of challenges it presented despite its small size. Definitely worth checking out. VIEW THE REVIEW BELOW ME, excellent description of each hole!!!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lots O' Great Golf Here

2-4    4/15/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Overall a very good place to play. Course is clean. Many amenities. Water, bathrooms, etc. There is a board for flyers and info at the 1st tee. Garbage cans, benches, bag holders at all holes. Good signs. As busy as this park is the course does not cross walkways or overlap other park use areas. Tee pads are ample and plenty. Baskets are in good shape. Next tee arrows on all baskets. Looks like this course has been here a while, is well developed and well maintained. There is one of everything here. Open holes(#3), Tree tunnels (#8), Tree pinball (#7), Annies (#2, #6), Hyzers (#5, #9), Uphill (#2, #5), Downhill (#3, #6), Blind holes (#4, #6, #9), mandos (#1). See hole-by-hole comments in bottom "other" section. Multiple tee pads and baskets/basket options make this a great place to play often. I played through 2X and played different tees and different baskets on every hole. As the course was set there are at least 38 unique "holes" to play. If you play toe short tees and the close baskets this can be a fun and challenging middie course. If you play the back tees and the deep baskets it does have some bigger arm opportunities. I always pick a signature hole… one that truly exemplifies the character of a course. Toss up on this one… I have to go with either #5 or #6… Both are slightly blind, one uphill, one down, using the terrain well. Lots of trees to contend with. Much physical improvement to the hillside with steps, etc.
Cons: Hole 3 basket plays close to hole 1 basket, small thing but it is what it is. Parking was O.K. today, but on a busy weekend… and if there was a DG event, fuggetaboutit.
Other Thoughts: Hole-by-hole impressions

Hole #1
I took the arrow on the ground by the tree on the left to be a mando… prevents you from shooting "annie" over to the landing area in front of the tree. Must go hyzer. The landing area in front of the tree is a nice place to set p your putt… but beware… a middle placed shot gives you an over and in birdie… but the branches might make a straight in put a non-option making a arcing putt and a duce less likely. Nice hole. Great tree.

Hole #2
Good stair setps up to the basket(s). Nice slight annie. Close basket is birdie-able. Good warm up as to what is to come in the hillier 5 and 6 holes.

Hole #3
Simplest of the holes. Slight downhill, slight hyzer. Aceable from the forward tee pad. I hit metal on my second attempt.

Hole #4
Blind, up and over a ridge. Nice OB behind basket. Set up is everything here. Aan ace attempt with enough height for the chains will land OB. You have to gamble… either go for ace and get a 3… or set up for birdie and skip the ace attempt. Sweet.

Hole #5
Waaaay up… and Waaaay over if you go for the deep basket. Nice stair steps up. Many tee pad options. Plenty of tree pinball problems here… and the worst of it is the rollaway that can steal most all of your distance if the disc does not land flat. Esp putts to the lower basket. The clearer ground is ideal for a put to roll away and give you a second putt that will be DOUBLE the length of the one you just missed.

Hole #6
I liked 6 more the second time when I knew where the baskets were. I like annie holes and the length of this own is great for my arm. With more than one pad and more than one basket… can you not just play this hole 9 times and call it a course on its own?

Hole#7
One of the best (worst) tree pinball galleries I have shot in some time. There is NO clean, clear shot here. Multiple pads and multiple pins combined with about a zillion shot shaping choices for how you can and might wish to play the trees… awesome forest disc golf. Play this hole over and over until your arm falls off. You will never play it the same way twice. Bring a premium disc since all that tree chopping will kill a cheap-o disc pretty fast.

Hole #8
A great tree tunnel. From any pad and to either basket there is a straight, clean shot to be drilled here. Problem is… you are just not that good at tossing a lazer beam. This is a great contrast to 7 where there is Zero clean line shot. A perfect follow up to 7 is 8. Maybe a bit boring for some as it is a straight, clean shot… But… a welcome challenge.

Hole #9
A simple blind hyzer. It is a great hole on its own merits… but with 8 great holes in front of it… kinda less exciting. Don't get me wrong. Still a great golf hole. Problem is for most RHBR tossers with a bit of distance in their arm this becomes just an easy and simple duce.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/15/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: H3LlIoN
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to D.C., good neighborhood, plenty of amenities in terms of bath facilities, picnic tables, a playground. Like others have said, this is a small course on a small piece of land. It plays quick, but it's still a fun course. I played it twice from each tee location when available, as I'm used to 18. There are multiple tees (concrete) and multiple cages on MOST holes. The signs on every hole do a decent job of laying out the hole with pin and tee locations. There are trash cans everywhere, and the park is quite nice. The course lays out around a nice stream, and there is decent elevation going on. Pretty much everything is tight and wooded...losing discs shouldn't be a concern at all.
Cons: Well, first and obviously, it's only a niner. It's a little confusing at first, as the holes lay out across each other, so we spent a good bit of time the first round pre-walking the holes trying to figure out where we were headed. The park is crowded, and the parking isn't the best. If you enjoy frosty beverages, better brown bag it....kids/families are everywhere.
Other Thoughts: This course was shorter than I expected and not much of a work out, but it is a fun little course that I would play again from time to time, and would be great for playing with children or beginners, or perhaps to sneak a quick round in after work.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Never again

1    6/12/2011   6/12/2011
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course had mutiple pins and tees at each hole. The course was almost all under tree cover providing nice break from the sun.
Cons: The course had no flow at all. The extra tee pads were all over the place many times on another holes fairway.
Other Thoughts: I think people are trying to do to much at this course, the extra pins and pads seem like a good idea but it is a small park with nine holes. I went to DC and wanted to play a course in Virginia and Maryland, after reading reviews for Bluemont and Calvert I was really excited, well Calvert delievered and Bluemont did not. I wish I would have played Calvert twice and not wasted my time at this park. I cant believe it has so many reviews and is this highly rated. There were maybe three good holes, that doesnt equal a 3.5 to me. If your in the DC area go to Calvert it is a much better course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Try the Bluemont "Blues"

2-4    5/28/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is squeezed onto a tiny, pretty piece of land but milks it for all it's worth. You really get your money's worth here (it's free, actually) as they have three tee pads per hole and varying pin positions. They had dual pins on 4 of nine holes when I played.
You will be challenged to a wide variety of shots, but bring your short game, not much room to unwind (except a couple of shots on 8 and 9). The terrain is hilly and very woodsy

My favorite hole was the blue tee on #1 - you must go around a tree about 50' off the tee, place your drive perfectly, to set up along a thin fairway for another 275' to a pin that's protected by a cool, gnarled tree.
Cons: Well, several of the blue (long) tees interfere with other fairways- I can only imagine what it would be like during a tourney or a crowded day. It could impose danger, but I guess that people just need to be very alert. The Blue tee on #7 is very vulnerable to a stray drive from #6 (one of my drives landed very close to this tee). Also, a pedestrian walkway along 7-9 would also fall under the same category - just be careful and considerate.
Other Thoughts: The day I played there were 6 possible layouts to play which kept things interesting. Also, it was Memorial Day weekend and there were many families having picnics right next to the course, but nobody wandered onto the course, as they seemed to be well aware that it was the disc golf area. What a great symbiotic relationship with Discers and park goers! That OB path was like a force field!

Hole # 5 has a it's long pin protected behind a thick 50'-long group of thin trees. Where's the route? I enjoyed how it forces you to improvise a "route", but I also think it could be only slightly thinned and would still make for a nail biter.

A few have spoken about how this is the best 9-holer they've played. I would suggest you try Mineral Springs (Northpark) out in my neck 'o the woods in Seattle, as it has a very similar feel as this one, and would yield the same rating as I've given it here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 sweet little 9

1    5/11/2011   5/11/2011
Review By: aimonetony
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: quick throw, easy walk. nice people and i got a beautiful day. #5 is as nice a signature hole as you could wish for. There is a nice, hidden parking lot near #7 that the locals can meet on and throw. The easy pads are easy enough to use trash can lid frisbees on and the blue holes are very challenging.
Cons: could be signed a little better.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Amazingly cool crowded course

1    8/15/2010   3/3/2011
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.6 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Although there are 3 sets of tees and multiple basket locations on this course most of which give the hole a totally different line, it is still a 9-holer. As such, this review is a review of the "best of" tees for each hole.

In some people's minds having extra tees can only boost the course's rating; and others think that adding inferior tees diminish the course. I spent a lot of time finding all the basket collar locations and considering the best one for each tee pad (I feel sorry for my nephew who was with me and had to put up with this)….and there are a lot of dumb combinations but more great combinations…..all depends on the day you show up and what basket locations are in use. I cannot really make up my mind how to fairly rate this course, but I settled on doing "best of".

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 9 hole courses (over 110 played):

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A
(With the exception of 1 or maybe 2 holes, this course nails it in this department. There is a good mixture of holes that will punish errant go-for-it shots and the type that you need to really figure out the best line to take….and then perform well to execute it.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I'm a Blue level player (950ish skill) who throws 300' accurately, 360' max. == B+
(This would be a solid A except that 2-3 holes were a little short so the thrill of parking those is less. Still, playing best-of is a worthy challenge and breaking much below say a 24 is an accomplishment.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A
(This course has absolutely amazing variety of hole types and shot shapes - everything you could ever expect out of a 9-holer…..except for a nice downhill let-er-rip sort of hole (which there simply is not room for).)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B
(If this course was spread out on the same sort of land, trees, and terrain rather than being all on top of each other, it would be a solid A. It is indeed very very nice, but all the fairways and tee pads all over and on top of each other along with the walking path and views of other park activities takes things down a few notches.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == 1-2 bonus points for this
(Hole 1 from the longest tee to the first basket behind the sprawling tree is a legit 2-throw hole that will stress finesse. You gotta land your drive perfectly and well past the middle tee to have a dead straight hard shot through the sprawling tree. Or you could do a skip hyzer around the right side of the tree to get close to the pin. Very challenging….bordering on too challenging - but I love it!)

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.