Canton, OH 
Schneider Park Share
Uploaded By: thadon Hole #8
3 / 142ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/14/2014   8/25/2014
Review By: Qikly
Played: 66  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Schneider Park offers a variety of looks from open to tight, and similar elevation shifts that provide some diversity. Fairways are clear and were well-mowed when I was there. The course's terrain isn't ideal, but provides some decent material for a course, with one large hill, a few slopes, and some copses of trees. These features are decently integrated. The course is well-signed and easy to follow. It plays quickly, making a workable option if you're pinched for time.
Cons: Disc golf is often like Chinese food - even when it's bad it's good - but apparently not always. The course is just too short, too open, and too basic to prompt a return for all but the true beginner, especially given the presence of Arboretum-Spiker nearby. The unwieldly rough makes things further unattractive - I had to search for ~15 minutes on an only mildly off target forehand that landed less than 150' away on hole 8 - and the cramped space the course sits on lends a constricted feel. There are numerous other spots for your disc to become swallowed by rough on otherwise-uninteresting shots. Oftentimes, the potential frustration is just not worth it.

Tees marked by raised beams makes for an ankle-breaking hazard: I always drove from off to the side for worry of tripping.
Other Thoughts: Schneider Park seems to have been constructed partly for a school across the street, and it's great for that purpose. Otherwise, however, it doesn't provide much beyond another notch in the belt if you don't live in the immediate neighborhood. There are other, better courses to visit when in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Seek and Destroy

1    7/11/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Makes good use of the limited resources (hillock and two treelines) that are available.

Good scorecard/map available at kiosk.

Excellent teesigns, containing loads of information. Easy to navigate, even sans map.
Cons:
Depending upon your accuracy, and the length of the dense rough defining/bordering most of the fairways, you may be participating in several disc searches.

Single tee location/basket position. The small teepads were lacking the necessary gravel/crush, and were a bit of a tripping hazard.
Other Thoughts:
Course is situated in a small public park across from Glenoak High School, and does a good job of avoiding other park users. Up (thrice) and down (twice) an open hillock, with fairway cut through thick weeds/grasses/wildflowers, are the early challenges you'll encounter, with the fifth hole requiring a sharp right turn through the treeline window at the ~200' mark. After lefty-late number-6, the last three, very short holes, play in within the second treeline/patch, including a tunnel, a short downslope, and a pinballish x-slope finishing hole.

For the most part, the distances and difficulty of the holes are appropriate for beginners/intermediates, but during growing season, the rough may prove too tenacious.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wear your pants

5+    6/5/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: Burky
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/7/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great course to learn on
nice baskets
never crowded
nice course for kids (playable and beautiful playground)
mix of open and wooded holes
even a beginner can score on
fairly dry
quick 9 hole rounds(20-25 minutes)
map on each hole
scorecards at first tee
Cons: plays short
heavy, heavy summer brush just off fairways
just one set of tees
gravel tee pads can be sketchy; slippery at times
Other Thoughts: This is the course that my daughter and I learned to play on. For what the course is it is nice. Course plays short and big arms will find little challenge. Course is a great place to learn to throw and learn how to make puts. It is a really great course for kids to play and walk. My younger daughter (5 years old) regularly walks the course just fine. Course plays up and down a large hill then winds through some lightly wooded area. The main complaint about the course is the the lack of mowing during the summer. The plain township parks department mows the fairways all summer long but just off the fairways there is no mowing at all. This leads to high dense weeds, brambles and scratch grass. In places this can reach waist high. Try to keep good sight lines on your discs to prevent losing them.

#1- uphill straight shot. Looks like this year they are not mowing in front of the basket so it requires a straight carry over this area.

#2-downhill straight shot back to parking area. Definitely ace-able and easy birdie. (still waiting for that ace)

#3- straight shot that goes uphill and then back down. Basket is tucked in trees. Try to get disc to crest hill and you'll have a good look at birdie.

#4- uphill straight shot. Lot of hill to carry.

#5- Signature hole. Starts on top of hill the anhyzers past big grove of trees. There is a gap you can hit but if you through a solid disc it can normally make it through trees down to lower level. Hard hole but normally play this one pretty good.

#6-Hyzer shot that goes approx. 230 feet and takes hard left

#7-my nemesis. Hole is very straight tunnel shot with heavy rough both right and left of trees. Immensely easier then #5 but this hole kills me every time.

#8- Downhill short shot through trees. Easy birdie and big time ace-able hole.

#9- Fairly straight shot through light forest. Two tunnel trees you must clear approx. 20 ft. off tee. Hard part about this hole is tee box is built on very unsteady sloping ground so the tee is not level at all. Make sure you get good footing so you don't slip and hurt self.

Just north of hole #9 dumps back into parking lot. Pictures that are up now don't due justice to how far the course has come. I'm working on getting some new ones up to show how course looks now. Best advice I can give is to make sure you wear pants or your going to have some extremely itchy legs if you spray disc at all. Nice course to learn on.

Updated 8/7/2014

Dropped my review from a 3 to a 1.5. Hate the way this course is being mowed ( or lack of). First 4 holes are the same rough as always, waist to chest high. On these holes if you track your disc you should be able to find it. The fifth is where the problems start. Rough has been to grow high over the hill and on top. In addition the path to walk down to the lower level is overgrown and barely passable. If you had never played here you might not find the path
The 6th is the disaster. tee shot is straight and then direct left turn at approx 250 yards. Heavy, heavy , heavy rough just to the right of the 12 foot fairway. That's right 12 FOOT FAIRWAY! Today through what I thought was a nice hyzer over the rough and it came back left just into the rough. Spent half hour with rough up to my shoulders and never found. I've played close to 50 courses and I don't know if I've ever seen a more poorly designed rough area.

In addition the path that leads from 8 basket to 9 tee is 100% overgrown and not passable. Again if you've never played here you might never find the tee.

While originally I said this was a beginners course it is now far from it. If you bring a beginner here expect them to spend an entire round in heavy nasty rough and still probably lose some discs. Will cause nothing but frustration I've vowed now to stick to wildwood, arberetum, and massillon and will only play here from october till early april because I will not lose discs on decent shots because of whatever someone from the parks department trimming ideas are.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not that bad.

1    10/31/2011   11/1/2011
Review By: plattertoss88
Played: 64  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Was very impressed by the whole park overall. Pretty nice size with some views of small lakes. Plays up and down a decent size hill. Wind can be a huge factor. #1 through #4 play up and down the hill. #1 and #2 really short and #3 being 350. #4 had an awesome tee pad location. Being behind a small gap trees and the shooting up hill 280 maybe. I found holes #5 and #6 to be kinda tricky. #5 you go about 260 to a dense line of mature trees with a 90 foot wide gap dog-legging right another 100 feet. This green has a border of tall dense brush so losing a disc is easy on this blind shot. #6 has an interesting pin placement. You go about 280 or so with a huge hyzer and just hope you can sneak through to a basket right on the other side. #7 I found a little short haha but still allows it to flow more nicely. #8 short as well but down hill with some trees in play. And #9 my favorite hole. Short and sweet. Technical 250 footer with a load of trees and a very clean fairway :)
Cons: Not too long of a course but a great warm up for the bigger monster at the arboretum. Some of the rough is really really high. And is load with those nasty burrs. I could see 8 being a problem seeing as the path for the dog park runs right behind the basket from a downhill shot where people might not notice players. Tees pads are in but are kinda short and are just sand with wooden borders. Better than mud.
Other Thoughts: Park has very nice dog park as well as lake, not sure if its stocked with fish. Porta-jons in the parking lots. Clean ones too. And a nice size playground with pavilion. Could be a very nice spot to spend the day with dog and/or family.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Little Thrill on this Hill

2-4    6/28/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: kinger
Played: 36  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
~Brand spanking new park
~Playground, shelter, drinking fountain & bathrooms nearby
~Basket positions and layout take advantage of the terrain offered
~Signs and tee boxes are installed
Cons:
~Tee pads are small and are wooden timber boxes filled with fine stone
~Waist high brush on both sides of 30' mowed fairways
~Not enjoyable at all and essentially unplayable during the growing season
Other Thoughts: I've visited this park twice now and it's a great place for the kids to play. The course tracks up, down and around a large hill for the first six holes then takes you through a narrow wooded area to complete the nine. Course is primarily mid range and putter friendly which I don't mind. The entire course is nearby the playground making this an appealing location to bring the whole family. Last night I grabbed my Roc, Ringer, and Warlock and attempted to play. After the first two holes I gave up and decided to just walk the rest of the course to check it out. Overall the layout and concept are really good and there are a few holes that could be amazingly fun. Unfortunately they've decided to make this a "links" style of course meaning they mow a 20'-30' wide strip of land from tee area to basket. So unless you can throw nuts on accurate across a windy hill you will be spending more time wading through high brush tracking down lost discs then playing the actual game. This is developing into Boettler Park Part 2 and it's frustrating seeing new baskets and good land go to waste. After I walked past No. 8's basket I spent about 10 minutes trying to find the 9th hole and still have no idea where it is. Through recent contact with the parks department I was assured that permanent tee pads and signage will be installed in July. They've also indicated that the fairways may be widened by 20', but I still don't think this will be enough especially for the new players this course is geared for. Keeping my fingers crossed for much needed improvements as this is an ideal destination for my family.

** I will update this review accordingly after all improvements are made to the course **

Played a winter round on 1/7/2012 during an unseasonably warm day. All of the brush has been mowed down for the season, tee signs and stone filled boxes are in place. With the continuous improvements and lack of vegetation it's a playable course, still lacking many factors that make a course good though.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work in progress

1    6/2/2011   6/2/2011
Review By: thadon
Played: 33  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new park
People very friendly
Nice playground
Bathrooms ( porto's)
Gravel tee pads
Cons: No signage or map .
Grass
Bugs
Tall grass will make finding errant shots a real chore
Other Thoughts: I've put together a map using Google earth as best i can . Course was built on the idea of Glen Oaks PE program, and introducing high schoolers to disc golf.

Mosty tees are marked with orange lawn flags
The first tee starts off at the bottom hill in the parking lot shoots straight up . From that basket up and to the right is the tee for 2, which shoots back down the hill.
For the most part the course plays back and forth . Hole 3 is the longest.

Hole 4's tee starts behind the tree line, and shoots up hill. WHile 5's hole does the same thing going back the other way through a gap in the tree line.

Hole 5 is the longest on the course plays down past the tree line and right

in the back corner of the park there is a gap in the tree line...7's tee starts back there and plays straight down a path. Toughest hole on the course IMO.

8 is total Ace run , gotta be less than 100 ft....take a left from the basket and walk till you come to a path, take a left and follow till you come to a gravel tee pad which will be 9

9 plays through a narrow set of trees



:::::UPDATE::::: 7/17/11
Fairways are looking much better. This already better than Boettler . 8 and 9 already Gravel tees in, and the holes are dug for the rest to be put in sometime this week
But i think this will be another fun 9hole-er when its fully complete and trimmed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 No challenge at all

2-4    6/25/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: Mike C
Played: 43  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new baskets.
-Brand new park with playground, walking path, large fenced in dog park and the DG course.
-Lots of water fountains, and the water actually tastes really good and doesn't smell like copper.
-Most holes feature a strong breeze and some mild elevation changes. The second half of the course gets more wooded and more fun.
-The tee's aren't too bad. They're wide and offer good enough traction, but they're short like Boettler Park and don't allow for a full x-step. It's not a big issue because the holes are incredibly short.
Cons: -The first few holes are wide open
-All the holes are incredibly short (Some are about 100'-150')
-There is no challenge to anyone with any skill at disc golf
-The rough has some potentially horrible places to lose a disc in the unmowed parts of the fairway, but the course overall is much more manageable than Boettler Park. You can actually play a round here and not have to walk through 4' high rough if you throw carefully.
Other Thoughts: This course turned out better than I thought it would.

It's obviously geared towards beginners, and based on what I've heard will tie into GlenOak high school's P.E. program somehow. I think the course is a great place to introduce new players to the game, and would be ideal for bringing a first timer to.

If you are a skilled player there isn't any reason to head out to this course, unless you happen to be driving by. There are vastly superior courses to be found in every direction, including Louisville, Canton, Massillon and Portage Lakes. That said the course can be fun to play a quick putter round at, it's just not challenging at all.

Considering the intended purpose of the course I think it's well executed. I also think the course designers did a good job using the land they had, and honestly couldn't think of a better layout myself. I wish there were more wooded holes along the lines of hole 9, but there isn't really room for it. All in all a good place to bring absolute beginners or toss a couple putters for practice on the way to a destination course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.