Macungie, PA 
Bear Creek - Original Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
quick course tales of 2 half

1    8/9/2015   8/10/2015
Review By: SmurfItchy
Played: 44  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.5 Years
Pros: This course has 2 completely different sets of nine holes. The first half is fairly open with brush on the sides that you can lose your disc in. And the back nine is in the woods with very tight very specific lines to throw. I really enjoyed playing there. Except between 9 and 10 and 18 back to the car its a very short walk between holes and very easy to navigate.
Cons: The pond is being refilled, they said that when the drained it, there were over 800!!!!! DISCS IN THE POND!!! (they said if there were any names on the disc they were calling them). That was the main reason I skipped 10 and 11, I did not feel like losing a disc. And the walk back to the car after 18 was long and uphill but not unbearable.
Other Thoughts: The course was a fun course that you could play a could times without getting bored. Yah paying $25 wasn't the best, but you get a $25 gift card. So I brought along my girlfriend and she walked with me as I played and was my spotter and then we ate dinner at their restaurant after with the gift card, so it all worked out! Its a fun course to play once or twice with different kind of throws required, but nothing crazy special or spectacular.

Bear Creek

2-4    7/10/2015   7/10/2015
Review By: Afropirg
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: The pond has been drained, so you won't lose your disc.
Nice mix of wooded and open. Back nine flows nicely, front nine can get a little confusing after the second hole.

Ace runs a plenty on the front nine.
Cons: Tee pads aren't consistent. You get a mix off concrete and flymats. One flymat looks to be put together from the left overs of others.

Cost to play (more below).
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course. Back nine are like Boyertown or South Mountain wooded wise, front nine is like Little Lehigh but much shorter.

You will get a nice workout playing here. If playing with a group, bring two cars and have one person park in the lower posting lot.

Cost, $25 is steep. But with the year pass you get $25 gift card to the Grill shop. So you can get a burger and a beer after your round. The activity pass is also good for hiking, mountain biking and disc golf. So if you ever go back you can do other things.

If you don't want to pay, go to doubles on Wednesday night and play with some new people for free.

You can also drink beer while playing and nothing well be said to you.

Who'll definitely be back to play again.

"Bearly" a two

1    5/26/2014   5/27/2014
Review By: adlacro
Played: 71  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with easy to see DIScatcher baskets. Concrete tees are always a plus and most holes have them. Decent mix of elevation, risk/reward, and challenge. Great place if you're looking for a workout. Hole 10 by far the best hole here (unless you hate water holes) and 11 is nice as well. Nice lefty/righty mix.
Cons: Two big detractors would obviously be a pay to play. That price is far too steep for what it is worth (which is maybe $3 at best). I've played courses that charge $10 a day and they are totally worth it. Forget that here. The second one would have to be that disgusting walk after 18 should you bring one vehicle to the course. Not only is it long, it's uphill too. Don't miss the fairways in the summer on some of the front nine. Hole 8 plays very close to the entrance road, so take care (overshoots are the threat there).
Other Thoughts: Hole 8 does provide a good challenge with the OB parking lot and the entrance road behind it, so play that hole with care. My advice would be that unless you do other things at Bear Creek that wouldn't result in paying to play it, skip it and play elsewhere. There are far too many other options for DG in the Valley that are either free or cheaper and will give you a better experience.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 $25 to play, go elsewhere

2-4    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.4 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Descent teepads and signage
-Fun throws over water on two holes
-Other than that it is not very memorable
Cons: -The biggest negative about this places is that it COSTS $25 TO PLAY! That is nuts when almost every course in PA is free, or $5 at most. I played this course before you had to pay to play and it is a fun course don't get me wrong, but it is no way worth paying $25 (this gets you a season pass and they give you a gift card, but this isn't worth it if you are just trying it out a few times) to play.
-Hard to navigate several holes
-Chance of losing a disc is a very real possibility if you stray even a few feet off the fairway or throw into the lake
-Great opportunity to get poison ivy or ticks
-Other than 2 holes over water this course is very boring and pedestrian, not worth $25.
Other Thoughts: Disc golfers should not patronize this place. It is supposed to be a free sport (or $5 for private places like this which I am ok with). You can find literally dozens of courses in this area or neighboring areas that are free and much better like Jordan Creek, Tyler SP, or French Creek SP. Seriously $25, that is enough to steer clear of this place until they change this policy.


4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Must Pay to Play

2-4    6/29/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: DAMAGER
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice Course! Fun to play. real clean. Easy to navigate. Nice changes from hole to hole.
Cons: The Resort owns the course and makes you pay $25.00 for a year membership even if you only want to play there 1 time.
Other Thoughts: Don't get me wrong the year membership is a great deal if your a local, because you get a $25.00 gift card good for anything at the resort. But there is a lot of people that come from out of town that don't want to pay that amount to play 1 day of DG. Even the person who works there told me lots of players just leave as soon as they hear the price. They should have a 1 day pass for $5.00. if they must charge for something every other course does for free.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Could have been better, could have been worse.

1    4/7/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Golden
Played: 135  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads on most holes, good flow and easy to navigate. Holes 10 and 11 are the signature holes on this course, but bring some throwaway discs (or floating plastic). The back 9 is much more fun than the front, but is very tight and could use some tree maintenance.
Cons: The first 9 holes are a little on top of each other. There is a ton of land out there, and I feel like they went way too short, and most holes are left hand hyzer fades. It is apparent that the course needs to be played more, and has a lot of potential to be a nice beginner friendly course.
Other Thoughts: The cleanliness, flow, and signature holes make up for the lefty friendly and shortness of the course. Can be played in less than 2 hours, but wouldn't recommend making a trip out there for a full day trip. It might be a good ending round as I believe they have a restaurant and bar on the premisses.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 excellent

5+    2/14/2013   2/16/2013
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 21  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quickly becoming one of my favorites in Lehigh/Bucks area. This course is well maintained and a fun and relatively fast play. It has a lot of ace opportunities and hole 10 in particular is the gem playing over a portion of a large pond. It has a good combination of holes that are not wooded 1-11, and heavily wooded 12-18. Concrete tee pads make for better tee offs and were recently added to the wooded portion of the course. A boat is also provided to retrieve your disc should it go in the pond if its a floating disc.
Cons: Tee pads in the unwooded portion are small. Although you don't need a lot of power on these holes, it would be nice if they were larger.
Other Thoughts: Its not as good as the mountain course but definitely a top 5 in the surrounding area.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun, quick play

2-4    8/31/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained, baskets and tee pads are in good shape. The course is extremely easy to navigate with the tee signs. The first tee is by lot 4 on the side nearest the entrance to the complex, look for the statue of Bigfoot. The course loops back to the lot after hole 9, and then hole 10 plays over the pond. The tee signs all have the correct numbers, so just follow them. I enjoyed that the parking lot on hole 8 was ob, made a straightforward hole much more interesting.

The front 9 plays through open areas with bushes making up some rough which will punish errant throws, but adds some nice complexity. The back 9 starts with two awesome shots over the corners of a pond and then wraps up in the woods. Almost like two great courses in one: open, then wooded. All par 3's, so great for a quick play.
Cons: Most holes are relatively straightforward. Other than 10 and 11, there isn't anything extremely memorable. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the course, there just isn't anything epic to push my rating to a 4 or higher.
Other Thoughts: As an amateur player, I found this course to appeal to my ability. Nothing too long, but still enough to test my fairway drivers both in the open and woods to see where I stand and see if I can drive close enough to nail a few putts for birdies. Beware that other reviews which mention big uphill and downhill shots for this course are describing the old course. The original course described here is relatively flat, but still a good time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Shamis
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun layout, requires precision throwing. I quite enjoyed the layout of the course and only wished it was a little bit longer.
Cons: Tees are WAY too small, and they are raised up, so if you come off the end you could turn your ankle. The only saving grace is that the course is fairly short and you don't need any monster drives.

The only other con is that the course is kind of small. There was only 1 hole over 300 feet.
Other Thoughts: The other course here looks better. I'm going to hit that next time for sure.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 108  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: EDIT: This property has recently become 2 full 18 hole courses, when I played it was just 27 holes.
This is 27 holes of some major elevation! A disc golf course at a ski resort is perfect land for the non-winter season. The new 9 holes are now the first 9 holes. This course is physically challenging due to the elevations. Bring water and snacks, you will be glad you did.

Other Pros:
-DisCatchers
-boxed in tees (rubber)
-water hazards
-uphill/downhill shots
-descriptive tee signs (showing next hole direction)
-easy to navigate
-floating disc retriever next #11's basket
-down hill bombs are very fun
-the pond looked clean and pretty
Cons: I didn't know the new 9 holes were the first 9 holes so I accidentally played #10 as the first hole because the tee signs were not updated. The basket numbers were updated so I did realize that and went back to start at the true. #1. (#10 was my favorite hole so I didn't mind)

-very long walk from the last hole to the parking lot (but you could stop at the bar and grill along the way)

-steep walks down hills were tough on my bad knees
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and the physical workout. #10 was my favorite because it's a 310 foot downhill shot with the pond to the left. This hole also had a concrete tee pad. A short tee was available on this hole.

The last hole was a 600+ foot downhill bomb which was a nice way to end.

Bear Creek is definitely worth playing!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.