Disc Golf Store
Macungie, PA 
Bear Creek - Original Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #12 (Taken 5/2011)
3 / 259ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun, quick play

2-4    8/31/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 31  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained, baskets and tee pads are in good shape. The course is extremely easy to navigate with the tee signs. The first tee is by lot 4 on the side nearest the entrance to the complex, look for the statue of Bigfoot. The course loops back to the lot after hole 9, and then hole 10 plays over the pond. The tee signs all have the correct numbers, so just follow them. I enjoyed that the parking lot on hole 8 was ob, made a straightforward hole much more interesting.

The front 9 plays through open areas with bushes making up some rough which will punish errant throws, but adds some nice complexity. The back 9 starts with two awesome shots over the corners of a pond and then wraps up in the woods. Almost like two great courses in one: open, then wooded. All par 3's, so great for a quick play.
Cons: Most holes are relatively straightforward. Other than 10 and 11, there isn't anything extremely memorable. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the course, there just isn't anything epic to push my rating to a 4 or higher.
Other Thoughts: As an amateur player, I found this course to appeal to my ability. Nothing too long, but still enough to test my fairway drivers both in the open and woods to see where I stand and see if I can drive close enough to nail a few putts for birdies. Beware that other reviews which mention big uphill and downhill shots for this course are describing the old course. The original course described here is relatively flat, but still a good time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Shamis
Played: 42  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun layout, requires precision throwing. I quite enjoyed the layout of the course and only wished it was a little bit longer.
Cons: Tees are WAY too small, and they are raised up, so if you come off the end you could turn your ankle. The only saving grace is that the course is fairly short and you don't need any monster drives.

The only other con is that the course is kind of small. There was only 1 hole over 300 feet.
Other Thoughts: The other course here looks better. I'm going to hit that next time for sure.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: EDIT: This property has recently become 2 full 18 hole courses, when I played it was just 27 holes.
This is 27 holes of some major elevation! A disc golf course at a ski resort is perfect land for the non-winter season. The new 9 holes are now the first 9 holes. This course is physically challenging due to the elevations. Bring water and snacks, you will be glad you did.

Other Pros:
-DisCatchers
-boxed in tees (rubber)
-water hazards
-uphill/downhill shots
-descriptive tee signs (showing next hole direction)
-easy to navigate
-floating disc retriever next #11's basket
-down hill bombs are very fun
-the pond looked clean and pretty
Cons: I didn't know the new 9 holes were the first 9 holes so I accidentally played #10 as the first hole because the tee signs were not updated. The basket numbers were updated so I did realize that and went back to start at the true. #1. (#10 was my favorite hole so I didn't mind)

-very long walk from the last hole to the parking lot (but you could stop at the bar and grill along the way)

-steep walks down hills were tough on my bad knees
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and the physical workout. #10 was my favorite because it's a 310 foot downhill shot with the pond to the left. This hole also had a concrete tee pad. A short tee was available on this hole.

The last hole was a 600+ foot downhill bomb which was a nice way to end.

Bear Creek is definitely worth playing!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice work, Bear Creek!

2-4    5/13/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: Theli420
Played: 58  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played Bear Creek when it first opened, and now again this year. What an improvement on the wooded holes! The paths are tight, but clear cut. And, much of the underbrush has been trampled down. On this particular 18, I like the variety of holes. You have some uphill, some downhill. The longest hole I believe is in the neighborhood of 420 feet. Then, there are some short ace runs mixed in. The tees are in great shape and the right length. The fun factor is everywhere. There are three amazing water holes here. The epic downhiller with the pond on the left, known as #10, is one of my favorite holes of all time. The hole where the creek is the fairway is one of the most unique holes I've ever played (memory is fading, I believe it's #17).
Cons: There are two that I noticed, but one will go away with more play on the course and maintenance. That one is the abundance of nasty shule and poison ivy. Be careful if your disc goes off the fairway. The second is a slight safety issue. Many of the next tees are very close to the prior holes basket. During casual play, this isn't really an issue. But, if a tournament is held that could make for long waits, or your head constantly being on a swivel. Also, on holes 2 and 3, there were some runners going through the course. 2's drive is to a blind basket, as is 3. Be vigilant.
Other Thoughts: Bear Creek is quickly morphing into yet another Lehigh Valley-ish area gem. The course designers and maintenance crew (not sure if they are one in the same) are really getting out there and putting some great work in, and keep the course in great shape. I commend them for the work they have done in clearing out the wooded holes from 2011 to 2012's season. This course isn't as physically demanding as the Mountainside course. So, if you want a nice casual round, with lots of birdies and/or ace potential, and an epic downhill over the water shot, this course is for you! I only rate it a 3.5, instead of a 4, because of the potential safety issues.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  quickie update

1    7/31/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Adelaurentis
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's FREE! Great Views! Technical w/ a little distance mixed in. The course was not nearly as hard as people make it out to seem, for the first time playing this course I did not expect to score as decent as I did. I guess we will see after the second time I play. The front 9 play really quick, thankfully, because the terrain is a tad rough for the back 9 but it was still awesome. If you think mountain and the thought "not sure" or if you are not active do not bother coming out. French Creek and Iron Hill still way harder. This is an awesome awesome course to play and can't wait to get back and try to Ace.
Cons: lost 2 discs, but I expected to since most people said it isn't hard to do here.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.