Macungie, PA
Bear Creek - Original Share
Uploaded By: zapplayer12 Hole #8 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
$25 to play, go elsewhere

2-4    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: Abrigh1
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -Descent teepads and signage
-Fun throws over water on two holes
-Other than that it is not very memorable
Cons: -The biggest negative about this places is that it COSTS $25 TO PLAY! That is nuts when almost every course in PA is free, or $5 at most. I played this course before you had to pay to play and it is a fun course don't get me wrong, but it is no way worth paying $25 (this gets you a season pass and they give you a gift card, but this isn't worth it if you are just trying it out a few times) to play.
-Hard to navigate several holes
-Chance of losing a disc is a very real possibility if you stray even a few feet off the fairway or throw into the lake
-Great opportunity to get poison ivy or ticks
-Other than 2 holes over water this course is very boring and pedestrian, not worth $25.
Other Thoughts: Disc golfers should not patronize this place. It is supposed to be a free sport (or $5 for private places like this which I am ok with). You can find literally dozens of courses in this area or neighboring areas that are free and much better like Jordan Creek, Tyler SP, or French Creek SP. Seriously $25, that is enough to steer clear of this place until they change this policy.


3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Must Pay to Play

2-4    6/29/2013   7/2/2013
Review By: DAMAGER
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2013
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice Course! Fun to play. real clean. Easy to navigate. Nice changes from hole to hole.
Cons: The Resort owns the course and makes you pay $25.00 for a year membership even if you only want to play there 1 time.
Other Thoughts: Don't get me wrong the year membership is a great deal if your a local, because you get a $25.00 gift card good for anything at the resort. But there is a lot of people that come from out of town that don't want to pay that amount to play 1 day of DG. Even the person who works there told me lots of players just leave as soon as they hear the price. They should have a 1 day pass for $5.00. if they must charge for something every other course does for free.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Could have been better, could have been worse.

1    4/7/2013   4/7/2013
Review By: Golden
Played: 116  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads on most holes, good flow and easy to navigate. Holes 10 and 11 are the signature holes on this course, but bring some throwaway discs (or floating plastic). The back 9 is much more fun than the front, but is very tight and could use some tree maintenance.
Cons: The first 9 holes are a little on top of each other. There is a ton of land out there, and I feel like they went way too short, and most holes are left hand hyzer fades. It is apparent that the course needs to be played more, and has a lot of potential to be a nice beginner friendly course.
Other Thoughts: The cleanliness, flow, and signature holes make up for the lefty friendly and shortness of the course. Can be played in less than 2 hours, but wouldn't recommend making a trip out there for a full day trip. It might be a good ending round as I believe they have a restaurant and bar on the premisses.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

excellent

5+    2/14/2013   2/16/2013
Review By: Hartley444
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Quickly becoming one of my favorites in Lehigh/Bucks area. This course is well maintained and a fun and relatively fast play. It has a lot of ace opportunities and hole 10 in particular is the gem playing over a portion of a large pond. It has a good combination of holes that are not wooded 1-11, and heavily wooded 12-18. Concrete tee pads make for better tee offs and were recently added to the wooded portion of the course. A boat is also provided to retrieve your disc should it go in the pond if its a floating disc.
Cons: Tee pads in the unwooded portion are small. Although you don't need a lot of power on these holes, it would be nice if they were larger.
Other Thoughts: Its not as good as the mountain course but definitely a top 5 in the surrounding area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, quick play

2-4    8/31/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: raynger27
Played: 25  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained, baskets and tee pads are in good shape. The course is extremely easy to navigate with the tee signs. The first tee is by lot 4 on the side nearest the entrance to the complex, look for the statue of Bigfoot. The course loops back to the lot after hole 9, and then hole 10 plays over the pond. The tee signs all have the correct numbers, so just follow them. I enjoyed that the parking lot on hole 8 was ob, made a straightforward hole much more interesting.

The front 9 plays through open areas with bushes making up some rough which will punish errant throws, but adds some nice complexity. The back 9 starts with two awesome shots over the corners of a pond and then wraps up in the woods. Almost like two great courses in one: open, then wooded. All par 3's, so great for a quick play.
Cons: Most holes are relatively straightforward. Other than 10 and 11, there isn't anything extremely memorable. Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed the course, there just isn't anything epic to push my rating to a 4 or higher, especially with the impressive Mountainside course so close by.
Other Thoughts: As an amateur player, I found this course to appeal to my ability. Nothing too long, but still enough to test my fairway drivers both in the open and woods to see where I stand and see if I can drive close enough to nail a few putts for birdies. I am new to the sport in 2012, so I never played the old course layout when there was only one course here at Bear Creek. Just beware that other reviews which mention big uphill and downhill shots for this course are now describing the Mountainside course. The original course described here is relatively flat, but still a good time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

1    8/19/2012   8/19/2012
Review By: Shamis
Played: 35  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fun layout, requires precision throwing. I quite enjoyed the layout of the course and only wished it was a little bit longer.
Cons: Tees are WAY too small, and they are raised up, so if you come off the end you could turn your ankle. The only saving grace is that the course is fairly short and you don't need any monster drives.

The only other con is that the course is kind of small. There was only 1 hole over 300 feet.
Other Thoughts: The other course here looks better. I'm going to hit that next time for sure.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2012   5/25/2012
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: EDIT: This property has recently become 2 full 18 hole courses, when I played it was just 27 holes.
This is 27 holes of some major elevation! A disc golf course at a ski resort is perfect land for the non-winter season. The new 9 holes are now the first 9 holes. This course is physically challenging due to the elevations. Bring water and snacks, you will be glad you did.

Other Pros:
-DisCatchers
-boxed in tees (rubber)
-water hazards
-uphill/downhill shots
-descriptive tee signs (showing next hole direction)
-easy to navigate
-floating disc retriever next #11's basket
-down hill bombs are very fun
-the pond looked clean and pretty
Cons: I didn't know the new 9 holes were the first 9 holes so I accidentally played #10 as the first hole because the tee signs were not updated. The basket numbers were updated so I did realize that and went back to start at the true. #1. (#10 was my favorite hole so I didn't mind)

-very long walk from the last hole to the parking lot (but you could stop at the bar and grill along the way)

-steep walks down hills were tough on my bad knees
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the course and the physical workout. #10 was my favorite because it's a 310 foot downhill shot with the pond to the left. This hole also had a concrete tee pad. A short tee was available on this hole.

The last hole was a 600+ foot downhill bomb which was a nice way to end.

Bear Creek is definitely worth playing!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nice work, Bear Creek!

2-4    5/13/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: Theli420
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played Bear Creek when it first opened, and now again this year. What an improvement on the wooded holes! The paths are tight, but clear cut. And, much of the underbrush has been trampled down. On this particular 18, I like the variety of holes. You have some uphill, some downhill. The longest hole I believe is in the neighborhood of 420 feet. Then, there are some short ace runs mixed in. The tees are in great shape and the right length. The fun factor is everywhere. There are three amazing water holes here. The epic downhiller with the pond on the left, known as #10, is one of my favorite holes of all time. The hole where the creek is the fairway is one of the most unique holes I've ever played (memory is fading, I believe it's #17).
Cons: There are two that I noticed, but one will go away with more play on the course and maintenance. That one is the abundance of nasty shule and poison ivy. Be careful if your disc goes off the fairway. The second is a slight safety issue. Many of the next tees are very close to the prior holes basket. During casual play, this isn't really an issue. But, if a tournament is held that could make for long waits, or your head constantly being on a swivel. Also, on holes 2 and 3, there were some runners going through the course. 2's drive is to a blind basket, as is 3. Be vigilant.
Other Thoughts: Bear Creek is quickly morphing into yet another Lehigh Valley-ish area gem. The course designers and maintenance crew (not sure if they are one in the same) are really getting out there and putting some great work in, and keep the course in great shape. I commend them for the work they have done in clearing out the wooded holes from 2011 to 2012's season. This course isn't as physically demanding as the Mountainside course. So, if you want a nice casual round, with lots of birdies and/or ace potential, and an epic downhill over the water shot, this course is for you! I only rate it a 3.5, instead of a 4, because of the potential safety issues.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  quickie update

1    7/31/2011   8/2/2011
Review By: Adelaurentis
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's FREE! Great Views! Technical w/ a little distance mixed in. The course was not nearly as hard as people make it out to seem, for the first time playing this course I did not expect to score as decent as I did. I guess we will see after the second time I play. The front 9 play really quick, thankfully, because the terrain is a tad rough for the back 9 but it was still awesome. If you think mountain and the thought "not sure" or if you are not active do not bother coming out. French Creek and Iron Hill still way harder. This is an awesome awesome course to play and can't wait to get back and try to Ace.
Cons: lost 2 discs, but I expected to since most people said it isn't hard to do here.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A Decent Ski Course

1    7/4/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
11 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Bear Creek is a rugged combination of two disctinctly different courses. The front nine features a pair of open risk/reward holes followed by seven wooded holes. These seven holes feature both left and right-turning doglegs over rocky terrain and includes a wandering stream that could easily add a circle and an extra stroke to your score. The back nine is a verticle hike that meanders up the face of the ski slopes. While most of the first nine holes are fairly flat (#1 and #2 being the exception), the second nine most definitely has elevation in play, including uphill, downhill, and across the fall line.

This course is a great example of the type of course that forces players to weigh the value of "going for it" or "laying" up. This is always in play on the downhill holes, but this really gets kicked into high gear right from the start on holes #1 and #2, throwing over disc-stealing water.

The baskets are in great shape and feature tape to point to the next tee. If that wasn't enough, there is no shortage of arrows that also point to the subsequent tee. Garbage cans are all over the course and appear to be used as there is no garbage on the course. Picnic tables are also available on/between several holes and are a great way to take a break from all the verticle elevation changes. The steps after hole #9 are well crafted and make it easy to start your ascent.
Cons: Some of the lanes on the front nine didn't seem to be quite there yet. Hopefully as time goes on and this course evolves, the lines required on the wooded fairways will be easier identify. For the back nine, most of the holes seemed to be straight throws from guarded tees to open baskets or straight throws from open tees to guarded baskets without many doglegs. WIth the exception of a few holes, most of the fairways seemed to be a similar length.

The walk from the tee on #16 down to the basket is very steep and dangerous. The safer route down is to head back down the fairway to #15, which brings its own set of dangers.

Given all the land available at this course, it doesn't seem that it was utilized to maximum potential. Specifically, the nearly half mile walk from the 18th basket back to the parking lot is somewhat ridiculous.

The elevated tees at Bear Creek are pieced together from pieces of rubber mats and are fairly small. This combination is no good for those holes that require any kind of run-up.

The mosquitos and gnats were absolutely opressive. Large pools of stagnant water all over the course likely serve as breeding grounds for these nuisances. Normally, I'd put this into "Other" because this type of problem is only in play for part of the year, but considering that this course is only open part of the year, this is going to be a full-time issue.

Goose poo was all around the basket on hole #2. Drives parked on this hole might end up being punished anyhow.
Other Thoughts: This course is a workout. The first half requires careful, sure footing. The second half is a hefy cardio climb and will quickly make you huff and puff...even for those in fantastic shape. If you're easily winded, not good on your feet, or not in good physicial condition, I wouldn't recommend attempting the back nine.

Overall, I'm happy to have another course in the Lehigh Valley. Given the space available at this resort, I just wish there would have been a bit more to it from a hole length and variety perspectie (specifically on the ski slope holes). That being said, once you've had a chance to play the championship caliber courses in the Lehigh Valley, give Bear Creek a rip.

11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.