Disc Golf Store
Plant City, FL 
Edward Medard Park Share
Uploaded By: NoahPeterson Hole #13 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 148ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
From good to bad.

1    10/13/2013   10/13/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course is located inside of Edward Medard Park; a very large park in central Florida.
- Brand new, concrete Tee-Pads.
- Tee-signs are very nice, hand carved wooden posts with a hole profile and distance.
- Front 9 is one of the nicest, and most challenging 9 holes in Florida.
- Park offers an entire outdoor Florida type experience.
- Course utilizes the space about as well as it could.
Cons: - The entire back 9; two things to note on the back 9. 1.) There are very little fairways, most of the holes are jammed into a small section of woods and play either from tee-pad to basket or down a glorified pathway. 2.) John E. McCray is a crazy man. The entire course is extremely difficult, and could only be created by one of the greatest players in disc golf history.
- The bugs on this course are insane; I had a mosquito the size of my thumb bite me through my shirt.
- No true signature hole, and definitely no true signature finishing hole.
Other Thoughts: - This is a nice course for the space that it is built on; really good use of space.
- Definitely one of the harder courses in the area, each hole is a totally new experience and challenge.

- If you enjoy a challenge then this is a destination course for sure, if not, then don't take a day trip for this one.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of potential

1    7/6/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: v0nn3gut
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Back 9 is really cool, lots of elevation changes, cool trees set in eroding clay create some dramatic (for Florida) holes. Set in a really nice park that I'm happy to pay $2 to.
Cons: Mosquitos are on steroids and the front 9 was rather boring. Some drainage issues (mud, standing water). Undergrowth is super thick in spots, so much so that I lost my tie-died JLS (if you find it I'll drive out to you and give you $5 for it, that disc ruled).
Other Thoughts: I want to play it again in the winter. Honestly it's quite a hike to play this course (both on foot while you're there and by car to get there) and it's too damn hot in the summer.

Use spotters. Some holes you can't see where you're throwing to at all...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 New Year. New Course!

1    1/1/2012   1/7/2012
Review By: drewzer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice change of pace from the other Bay Area DGC's. Mainly the elevation, albiet mild, on some of the holes. A good variety of shots are required on most holes. Really liked the back-9. Mostly woods. It was pretty tough first time around. 16 was brutal, one of the several elevated baskets, but also rewarding with some birdie ops @12,13,15, 17 & 18 . The front 9 is just as nice, but a spotter might be a wise choice on hole 5 (palmetto clusters). Had the luck of playing my 2 rounds with some locals. They were very informative. The course is relatively easy to follow, but without their course insight, I surely would of lost a disc or two. Thanks guys! Park is clean. Signage good. Restrooms nearby. Very low background noise. Almost serene-like the morning I played.
Cons: The tee-pads are rubber-type mats, and can be a little slippery w/the early morning dew.
The course is fairly new, so I'm not going to pick at things that will eventually be resolved over time. ie: Metto's, skewel, etc...
Other Thoughts: Overall I had fun at this course. It's both challenging and rewarding. I will surely be back. Thanks again, Dusty, Todd, and Jason.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good course, unique topography

1    6/5/2011   6/6/2011
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course provides a very solid blue-level challenge with a good variety of distances and shot shapes. I'd guess that an even par (54) round will be rated around 930-950. Some of the holes are quite unique in their shapes and several of the baskets are perched near drop-off's making for dynamic putting situations. The course combines a good balance of power and finesse.

About half the course has a nice tree canopy for sun relief and the hilly area has very pretty, unique terrain. The course is situated in a very nice, large county park with other amenities.

For a brand new course, the schule is pretty light and it won't take very long to get the course completely broken in. The course is not too difficult for beginners, yet still offers sufficient challenge for advanced players as well. The fun factor is high and the course should become quite popular.
Cons: The course does not loop back to the parking lot after the front nine.

Hole 5 provides a very unique required flight that's either a monster spike-hyzer or a high lefty turnover-stall shot. The downside is that the shot is thrown blind over tall trees and a large area of thick palmettos, making for difficulty finding discs.

Hole 11 is a quirky 350 footer with a 90 degree bend halfway down. The ideal tee shot is to dump a little hyzer that finishes close to hole 12's tee pad and then make the turn. I think a shift of that tee box, coupled with a minor bit of clearing could produce a more direct route that was less quirky and provided a better buffer on hole 12.

Hole 14's tee pad is a bit close to hole 13 and the hole is a major poke-n-pray.

Hole 16 requires a long shot straight down a park road that comes back in bounds around the 320 foot mark.
Other Thoughts: At present, there are no tee signs, benches, trash cans and the pads are slick rubber. I did not take points off for this as I believe that work is continuing and will be completed soon.

The course is easy to navigate IF you have a map. Make sure to ask for one at the park entrance.

Don't be a dirty discer, leave the course cleaner than the way you found it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.