Plant City, FL 
Edward Medard Park Share
Uploaded By: Osotogari Hole #16 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 386ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
WOW

1    7/18/2014   8/8/2014
Review By: boursin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: fantastic course with elevation (yes I said it elevation) open shots and tight shots, hyzers and anhyzers. This course is for people who know how to throw, but beginners do not be alarmed.Beginners may want to bring a couple of extra discs because you can easily lose a few. the back nine tests your placement skills and course management.Front nine is fairly open and easy with a good variety of shots. Number 5 is very interesting.
Cons: very few to speak of I believe it is number 14 that you throw onto a path and if not you will wind up in the muck and mire and you will not find your disc.
Other Thoughts: Great course and a ton of fun to play. When you get to nine this is a hole that you throw through an open field to an elevated pin.If you do not make a good second upshot you can be in a bunch of trouble when we played there were about 15 young ladies practicing yoga OMG what a site :) this is a fantastic course the $2 is well worth it. When we played the park closed at 7pm and the man at the entrance siad 7pm sharp and if you are not gone you will get locked in. I am not sure how true this is but beware.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Technical Diversity

1    11/18/2012   11/18/2012
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/13/2013
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course really does have a little bit of everything! The first two holes allow you to pull out your drivers. The next couple bring you back through the scrub palmetto. And five is truly a clever horseshoe shape jungle! My advice is a big high hyzer, but a tomahawk could be effective as well. The course then travels through some grassy scrub through 8 and then nine allows a big open drive to an elevated basket perched on a cliff! yes!! this is Florida! After that the back nine is series of tight wooded holes containing water, ravines and precarious pin placements.
You will get better on this course or else. Many holes require an approach to stop on a small dinner plate or be ejected down the side of the ravine. On the back nine there is often murky water at the bottom so be careful. There is a lot of satisfaction to be had by making a clever shot through the narrow openings. I do want to point out, that a lot of the water areas look like they will dry up as winter advances. And, this time of year, the mosquitoes aren't around, so its a nice time to play...
Cons: There is really nothing bad here. The signs are great. There are benches everywhere, and the course flows smoothly. Maybe a couple more slightly open holes would break up the technical back nine, but honestly I loved the strategy.
Other Thoughts: This is really a wonderful, cerebral course. And the landscape on the back nine will cover your workout for the day! You are constantly climbing small steep hills, and dealing with tricky pin positions. As a side note, I noticed that the mando on 11 was removed. I'm not sure if this was on purpose, but whatever the case, there is the potential for some wild lines on 11 now! Anyway, this course is wonderful for your putters, mids, and fairway drivers. The big drivers will be left out on the back. But that's ok, as the shotmaking is peerless. Really a great experience!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    9/9/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: WAR813
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Awesome elevation changes

+ Inside of a great park with lots of other activities (Fishing, camping, picnics, trails, kayak/canoe rentals)

+ Cheap to play ( $2.00 per car per day )

+ Hole diversity ( the front nine are relatively open while the back nine are shaded under big oaks )

+ Engraved and informative wooden tees signs

+ Gateway baskets ( the best I've yet to play with )

+ Concrete tee pads ( Except for 13 where a run up really isn't necessary )
Cons: + Depending on the rain you can't play 2, 7, or 8 without getting your feet wet.
Other Thoughts: + Bring bug spray

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ed medard

1    9/1/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: this course is built for the experienced player looking for a real challenge. pros would find some chalenge on this course. very fun!
Cons: there are a few holes with water that you cant see water until its too late.
Other Thoughts: there is a fee per car toget in but it is worth a few bucks for sure

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.