Rogers, AR 
Twin Creeks DGC Share
Uploaded By: gfox Hole #16 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 495ft.   3 / 495ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Very Nice Course, Has Drawbacks

2-4    7/18/2013   6/4/2015
Review By: NothingButChain
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course is well marked with good tee boxes and signage with maps
-Big map before first hole lays out entire course before you play
-Some holes are elevated which provides a unique challenge, not seen at most courses
-Course is played through a nice park which allowed for an enjoyable atmosphere
-Challenging
Cons: -When I played there was a massive number of grasshoppers on the course. Not sure if I played at the wrong time of the year, but you couldn't take a step with having 5 or 6 of them jumping away
-Some holes have unrealistic pars for anyone who is not a Pro
-Have to be careful of those walking and riding on paths surrounding the course.
Other Thoughts: I was excited when I traveled to NW Arkansas and was going to get to play some new courses. This course from the start had me excited, because of how it was professionally designed and had nice signage. The first few holes went well, but part way through the course I noticed that there was an infestation of grasshoppers. I may have just come at a bad time of the year, but walking from shot to shot, ever step you took they were jumping away from your feet. This became a bit of an annoyance, coupled with the weather was very hot. A couple of the holes had unrealistic pars, at least for me. A nearly 600 ft. par 3 is very tough for someone that averages drives that are around 330 ft. I ended up getting a couple of discs stuck in a tree and that hurt my experience as well. I have a feeling that on a different day I probably would have enjoyed playing the course more, but my lone experiences with it were not the best. However, the course on its own merit deserves a very good rating.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

1    2/8/2015   2/9/2015
Review By: RONALDOHUFF
Played: 33  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - High variety of holes and shots needed
- Great teepees and baskets
- Nice use of land and trees
Cons: - Lots of people so watch out for the bike/walking trail
- Course can be a little confusing so take a picture of the map at hole 1 so you can refer back to it for holes 11 and 16.
Other Thoughts: One of my new favorites, I will be making the hour drive to play it more often.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice

1    8/7/2014   8/16/2014
Review By: dragonlord
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: nice variety of shots from grip and rip to very tight technical type shots. I don't nearly the versatility I need to play it well but really enjoyed it.
Very pretty course to play.
Nice baskets and kept up very well.
Cons: lots of creekside holes Lost my go to driver on hole 5 when it entered the creek never to be found.
very swampy after rain and creeks roll pretty fast.
needs a bridge between holes 16 basket and hole 17 tee. if creek is up have to walk a looooooooong way around to get to 17th tee pad.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the area definitely worth a round of play. My brothers and I were on a DG road trip and just this course would have been worth the drive.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course

1    4/12/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: mmsciron
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 17.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Giant billboard showing whole course layout prior to teeing off on hole one and easy to navigate after that. Lots of challenging shots, water hazards and trees helped with making this a fun and exciting course, that played faster than I wanted it to.
Cons: Parts of the fields got really swampy due to rain, this is normal and really the only complaint.
Other Thoughts: Beginners should definitely watch out for the various water hazards.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

5+    6/21/2013   6/22/2013
Review By: Avehnor
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It's one of the longer courses in the NWA area. Great mixture of drives and accuracy. Great support group as far as maintenance.
Cons: It's one of the longer courses in the NWA area. Rubber t-pads... wish there were concrete ones out there!
Other Thoughts: It's a great course! I highly recommend it if you have the time to spare.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Up the creek

1    6/15/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 339  Reviewed: 161  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a variety of holes both short and long, open and technical, and has water threat on several holes. The elevated baskets on 1 and 16 are a nice touch as well. If you are too aggressive on 1 you could end up in the drainage ditch that is to the east of the basket. A few holes have alternate pin positions.
The signs here are excellent and provide you with all the necessary information. There are benches and bag hangers at every hole. The rubber tee pads were plenty big and had decent grip.
The park was clean and there were some nice bridges for crossing the creek.
Cons: This course does have a couple of places where navigation is a bit confusing. After you finish out on 4 the pad that is directly behind the basket is 17. To get to 5 make a right at 4's basket and you will see 5's tee pad. Also on 10 you will want to continue walking past the first tee pad you see(which is 13) and keep going west and you will see 11's tee.
This course could get very hot because there isn't much shade on a good portion of this course. The wind will come into factor here as well because of the openness of the course.
The grass can get tall in spots so you will want to make sure of where your disc lands to be safe. Mowing here looks like a task in of itself and I'm sure that upkeep could seem like a job within a job at times.
Other Thoughts: Here are some of my hole observations:
1-open hole with a mando, parking lot on your left
2-open with water threat on your left
3-open until your approach in which you must throw between some trees to get to the basket
4-has cedar trees that protect the basket
5-open with the creek to your left
6-is open
7-low ceiling off the box
8-short hole with creek on your left
9-is another open hole
10-open with creek to your left
11-tunnel shot with creek to your left
12-tee off on top of a hill and throw around/over a group of trees
13-in the short position, plays uphill and works L to R
14-moderately wooded with a low ceiling
15-is wide open with a mound mid fairway and a pond behind the basket
16-long and downhill has an elevated basket
**from 16's basket follow the dirt path and cross the creek(you will see the stone footbridge in the creek)**
17-water on the left side and trees mid fairway
18-mostly open, trees upon approach

Overall this is a challenging course that will make you think about your shot selection. I would suggest taking a map for your first time to avoid any navigation problems. Personally I would like to have seen more holes like 10 and 11 that where a little more wooded. This course uses what is available to its best potential. This course has the potential to be one of the better courses in NW Arkansas and with time I think it will live up to this potential. If you are in the area I would suggest you hit this course up. It will challenge your game and keep you on your toes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Twin Creeks

5+    6/10/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: dsypult
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 10/13/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's not far away from potentially coming the best/ most diverse course in NWA. Has a variety from hole to hole of different, challenging and relatively easy shots. Beautiful area to play right next to Rogers High School. The hazard isn't so thick that you have a high risk of losing you disc. Very playable and enjoyable overall!
Cons: It still seems like it's in it developmental stage. Certain holes have an "A" "B" and even "C" hole attempt, but yet it only seems like there's just the "A" hole currently up. Some areas could be a little more cleaned up, but overall it's not that bad in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: This course definitely competes with North Shore and Lake Bella Vista as far as being one of the teter course in NWA. Go out and give it a shot!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A great improved course

5+    12/23/2012   12/24/2012
Review By: bball7273
Played: 57  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a great course. This is probably the best course in Northwest Arkansas in my opinion. On holes 1 and 16, the baskets are elevated and really add to the challenge. Also, the course is named Twin Creeks because there are 2 creeks that run along the course and come into play in 10 of the 18 holes. this makes this course fun and challenging. Also, the course has been cleaned up quite a bit. The owners have really tried to make it the best it can possibly be and i think they have made improvments that are benefitial to the overall course. All holes have either a bench or a trash can (exept for 7). The baskets are also very nice. They are like Mach 2's but im not shure. The teepads have been redone and are straighter now. Very nice locals. Also, there is a practice basket across the bridge on the right side of the sign.
Cons: The layout of this course can be confusing and not make sense at times. People playing this course for the first time should take a picture of the big sign at hole one and use that for reference. As of 4/28/13, someone has taken the time to paint in spray paint on the grass to show where the next tee is on which helps extremley for new comers. The teepads used to be awful because they were very uneven and crazy. Now, only a few are like that but the somewhat complaint here is that the tees are rubber. I wish they were not rubber because i played this course yesterday for the 15th time and on hole 17, i slipped while throwing. Im not saying that i must have concrete but it would be a nice addition to the course. Hole 13 is kindof annoying. Since the owners never change the basket placement, it is a long narrow path for 600 something feet. This hole could be improved because its just so boring. Also, if youre playing in the summertime, bring long socks or bug spray because the bugs are crazy and you could leave with red spots all over your legs. Also, mini cactuses sometime are grown and can really hurt.
Other Thoughts: The baskets are blue and silver just like the high school that the course is behind. Overall, This course is a great course. I play this course whenever i can. The pictures of this course need to be updated because they have made multiple improvments to this course. If you dont believe me, on hole 7 a month ago, I was putting and i saw 2 people pulling out the bog to the left of the hole. Also the elevated basket on 16 finally has stairs, hole 3 is wide open now and there are no chest high weeds on either side and no mound in the fairway anymore. Like i said the benches, trash cans, and redone tpads have been added in the last month. This course is already one of the best in my opinion and is only going to get better. If youre in the area or just driving by, give it a chance, this course wont dissapoint.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/25/2012   2/26/2012
Review By: MattMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Monkey Trap baskets on every hole. This is one of the hugest pluses the course has going for it at the moment.
Basket elevation on holes 1 and 16 are great, always adds an extra challenge to par/birdie out.
For the most part, there were bridges when necessary for creek crossing.
A few of the bigger holes were great, especially when combined with the tree placement.
Cons: Biggest con I have is the teepads. They were extremely inconsistent. Some were made of very slick metal, which would be okay if I had brought shoes for that type of tee. I normally use trek shoes, but every run up I had on these tees I slid quite a bit. Other times with the rubber mats, they extremely uneven. There would be two places together with a mound of dirt at the placement causing a huge hump in the middle.
Dirt tees everywhere would have been better than this.
The course layout was confusing at times, but wasn't too bad if you printed off a map. A couple of arrows to tees on the course would have definitely been appreciated though.
There were a lot of really short holes that were all about the same. They were 200-300 ft straight shots or hyzer shots, there was just nothing to them. I like aceruns as much as the next person, but come on.
Other Thoughts: A lot of the short holes have small trees on it, so they should turn into something good once the trees mature in a few years.
Better teepads and this course instantly increases at least a point.
The course definitely had a few fun holes, but overall it wasn't really anything special.
I don't really plan on playing this course too many times, except if I feel like playing a second after a Bella Vista run, but even then, I'd probably just choose to play Bella Vista twice.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent, but take a map and watch out for errant shots!

1    8/24/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: Hoeser
Played: 89  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The open and well-mowed shots were really good. The two elevated baskets were definitely a challenge, especially on the approach to #16! The paths and creeks were definitely good OB obstacles, but I had to pay more attention to some of the narrow paths between trees.
Cons: As a first time player at Twin Creeks DGC, it was difficult to navigate w/o a map. Many of the holes were not mowed well and you definitely could not see the basket on many holes. Playing alone was difficult because there are times where you really want a spotter. There are lots of trees and other plants to avoid there.. stinging nettle, briar patches w/ lots of thorns, etc.
Other Thoughts: AVOID the stinging nettle, they hurt pretty BAD!! (I must be allergic). Ran into a patch just left of the fairway on hole #6 where I lost a Champion Sidewinder.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.