Lancaster, NY 
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 220ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Pro Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Below Average & Over-rated

5+    5/16/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: Led Zeppelin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location (close to a lot of players) and not too far from Buffalo, baskets aren't falling apart, not much litter.
Cons: Only mowed a few times in the summer (tons of tall grass), Lots of people waiting for you lose your disc, they will jump in water for it or just straight up steal it up off the ground. I never see these disc scavengers actually play though. Course intertwines with normal park goers (watch out for people and kids), Eats discs like nothing, inefficient course set up (back 9 is terribly laid out, lots of walking just for 3 holes). Nearly impossible to navigate your first time without an familiar player. Hole 3 has a sewage problem and is muddy 24/7 even during a drought. Most tee boxes are mud pits the majority of the year.
Other Thoughts: With so many water hazards, there are people with wet suites and fishing poles who regularly scavenge the creek. I don't expect to get discs back and I know they are everywhere but it's annoying when they watch you throw just to see where your disc goes so they can grab it, hoping for you to duff your shot. I only play there because it's so close but every other course in WNY is way better.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    10/22/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 103  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Como Lake Park is a fun course in a park with plenty of other amenities too. Each hole has 3 tee areas to accommodate many levels of players. There are some clever pin placements. Many holes have water in play with some being more risky than others. They have utilized 2 islands which is a unique feature. The course is lightly wooded but each tree is a chance for a disc to ricochet into the water.

Other Pros:
- scenic and serene
- practice basket near parking area
- old lighthouse near #14
- challenging variety
- friendly, helpful locals
Cons: There are some long walks between holes and some confusing flow, 1st timers will want to have a map on hand. The extra tee areas are not marked with a sign. You can find them with the map because they are well worn into the earth. Beginners may get frustrated if they start losing too much plastic. Dog walkers use this area so watch out for them and their poop. There are other pedestrians who just hang out in this area too.

Other Cons:
- beavers are destroying many trees
- the 1st 7 holes are mediocre compared to the rest
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for those risky water holes, bring a map, watch out for the non-disc golfers. I had a great time. #14 is the signature hole and was my favorite. I'm sure I will be back for another round sometime. This is definitely worth playing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

water, water, and more water

2-4    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 79  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - multiple tees that are for the most part nicely marked to make the course enjoyable for all players (The white tees give the best variety of shorter and longer holes)
- I noticed myself having to throw hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots throughout the course
- Many holes allow for different approaches to the basket
- Lots of chances for risk vs reward due to the large amounts of water on the course
- Great use of obstacles (mainly trees and mandatories) to make a fairly open course challenging and interesting
- Many of the holes have signs giving distances from the various tees and showing the baskets
- The course has a loop so after hole 7 if your strapped for time you will be back at the parking lot
- bathrooms on sight
- practice basket for putting and large open relatively unused field for practicing driving
Cons: - course can be hard to navigate at times
- some long walks between holes
- some of the tees (which are composed of 1-dimensional blocks in the ground) are hard to find and some of the tee signs are missing
- No concrete or rubber tee pads
- no designated drop zones for the water holes
- All the holes are decent but there are no real wow signature type holes. The course can seem a little parkish at times
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty fun course to play. As a warning though in can be frustrating because of the disc lossage to water. Bring a floater and be prepared to go swimming if you want your disc back. This course is not really good for beginners because there is no way to avoid the water and the water is a danger even on the holes you don't have to throw over the water because an errant shot to the left or the right could end up in the water is well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Water?..what water?

5+    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: superium
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2
Pros: Good variety in shots and distances. Some holes keep you on your toes and fun and exciting. Helps your mental game if you can faze out the water.
Cons: Good amount of the teepads are worn down. 2 5 minute walks between holes but still only takes 1:30-2 hrs. to play with a partner. Bunch of tee signs damaged or missing so its hard to navigate if your a first timer.
Other Thoughts: Not the best place for a first timer considering all the water but if you play this course enough, it will mold you into a good player. If you play smart/safe, you will stay dry and actually enjoy the course.

Bring a floater

1    6/3/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: TKdicker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park setting, baskets in good shape, options available with three tees per hole, practice basket and large field next to hole one for warm up.
Cons: Too much water for beginners, some tough over water shots, some baskets too close to water, lots of standing water on course, tee markers are terrible (4" concrete blocks flush with ground very hard to find), tall grass above knee high in spots,
Other Thoughts: Directions on this website's page confusing (no idea what skating rink or casino they're talking about).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Water make you holler

5+    12/15/2012   4/2/2013
Review By: Drewpy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical. Very good combination long/short shots. Very good combination left/right/straight shots. Multiple tees on each hole. Maps at each hole. (except the ones torn off by scumbags.)
Cons: Dirt tee pads = Terrible. Need to repair the maps at the tees. Tough course for beginners. EASY to lose discs... just ask Todd Lingenfelter haha
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Play it all the time!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth a Stop

2-4    11/15/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 28  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good variety of shot requirements - some long, some technical, forehand, backhand
- Some scary putts and some scary tee shots, both usually making use of the water around. Unrealistic to lose a disc too often, though.
- Three tees for various skill levels.
- Grass was nicely mowed and discs were relatively easy to find, even if they ventured into the trees. Not a lot of places (except the water) to lose them.
- 10 is a great true par four with some risk-reward - you can go long and right to give yourself an easier approach or lay back and play for a safe par.
- Relatively easy walk. Pretty flat, but scenic with different trees.
- #14 is a hole you'll remember, and it's not just the 285' carry over the water to a peninsula, but also a basket buried in the middle of a tree.
- The course tests the good player without being overly brutal to the newbie (so long as they can clear the water... even if they skip 14 or just throw across the canal portion).
- Lots of non-DG things to do. Drop the family off if they're not into DG and they can spend two hours while you play.
Cons: - Natural tee pads were so muddy we had to throw from the grass beside them.
- There's what I think is a really stupid mando on about the fourth or fifth hole. Artificially keeps birdie rates down.
- Long walk from 7 to 8. If you remember that 8 tee is right by 1 tee it's not that bad, but if you don't notice, you might get lost.
- Long walk from 11 to 12 with no navigation. Maybe the signs just weren't up?
- Many holes missing maps or signs to show the hole, so first-time players may not know where to find the basket.
Other Thoughts: - When I was leaving once I saw someone forehand a drive off the first hole. His disc went 80 feet up and 80 feet out and 80 feet right... right into the middle of the creek that runs through the park. I didn't think it was possible to really lose a disc in the water on the firs thole, but I was wrong.
- You can lose a disc in the water on more than a few holes here, but most aren't realistic chances for loss unless you really throw a bad shot.
- Recommended if you're in the area. The NRDG is proud, and they should be, but in my short career I've played some true 4.5 and 4.0 courses, so this one I'm rounding up to 3.5. Fix the natural tees, and some course signage, and it's a solid 3.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/12/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in WNY for intermediate and beginer players. Course is laid out well uses natural terrain to the fullest. Good mix of technical and big air shots through out the course. Course can be played-fast if need to.
Cons: None really, just remember to bring floating disk and or a retriever cause sooner or later you will find the water. Heavy people pet traffic at times but most a friendly and allow you play through with no problem. Some of the tee makers missing but not a big deal. Only improvement would be concrete tees.
Other Thoughts: My favorite local course. And would invite anyone to play here, just a fun place to play. Again I can not over state the need for floating disc's or a retriever for the water shots or just be prepared to buy some new disc's. Again this course is just plain fun to play, and a change of pace from other courses in the area with more than one chance to ace.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 como park

5+    4/21/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: some nice length holes on back combined with a few throws over water make it interesting
Cons: the front 9 is pretty short and easy
Other Thoughts: the park itself needs some more maintenance, but overall it combines some challenging holes, you'll still need to use all the shots in your bag

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Park Life!

1    7/24/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Como Lake Park is a happening place. The park itself is pretty big and offers a ton of stuff to do for the non disc golfer. There is Baseball, Bicycling, Concession, Fishing, Hiking Trails, Ice Skating, Lakes/Ponds, X-Country, Sledding, Softball, Tennis plus a good sized shelter near hole number one that provides some refreshment and bathrooms (they call it a Casino for some reason that I cannot fathom). On the hot summer afternoons there is usually an ice cream truck some where in the park too!

The land available to the disc golf course is awesome. It is not necessarily what most people would consider to be epic disc golf property but in my opinion it is very unique and that makes it good. The course mostly plays through flat and lightly wooded "park like" property with sporadically placed Large Hardwood trees as the main obstacles…but then the water comes into play. Over most of the back 10 (two loops: 1-7 and 8-18) the various channels/creeks and lake come into play on most of the holes. You only need to throw across them 3 times (8, 10 and 14) but can come into play with an errant throw on a few others (9, 11, 15, 16, 17 and 18). Of the water holes #14 is the highlight. This is a 307' hole with about 285' that is complete water carry over Como Lake, with the risk of a RHBH hyzering into the channel on the left. All the water really makes for a fun round. The overall design of the course is a nice balance of right, left and straight holes with almost all of the holes offering numerous different routes and lines. There is also a good mix of shorter technical holes and more wide open bombers.

I am not sure if it was by design or not but the course seems to follow a natural progression in quality as you progress. 1 and 2 are holes that loosen up your arm. 3-7 work on your line shaping and make sure you are up for some technical golf. 8 gently breaks you into the water holes, not too hard to clear but enough that you get a little bit nervous. 9 reminds you to throw it straight but kind of lulls you. 10 gives you some distance, shot placement and pucker factor all in moderate doses. 11-13 are gotta get your deuce holes if you got the arm for it. Then 14, huge pucker factor (see other thoughts). 15-17 is the cool down period where there is still some danger but really you are just executing what the previous holes have warmed you up for. 18 you need a good pull off the tee and the basket is really close to the water but at this point it's no big deal cause the rest of the course led you up to this point, so you slam your putt, chest bump your homey and call it a day.

There are three tees for each hole and they offer a good challenge for the appropriate users. Most of the longer tees add some distance to the hole but a lot of them also offer some slightly different angles and add to the challenge. The baskets were in good condition and each hole has a very nice tee sign that accurately describes the hole and distances.

The park in general and the course specifically were very well kept.
Cons: The tees are all natural. They were not in bad condition when I played here but all natural tees become a bit treacherous when wet.

Navigation issues. First off I had no problem navigating the course but I had a map. Without the map I am not sure how well it would have gone. The walk from 7 to 8 is a good 4-5 minute stroll that takes you back along #1's and #2's fairway right back to the start of the course. There is also a little disconnect between 11 and 12. You cross between 14 and 15 and cross the bridge then turn left and wander a bit until you find the tee. I don't think this requires a re-design or anything just some warning on the bulletin board and some clear navigational aides.

Holes 4, 5 and 6. These three holes feel very shoe horned into the course and use mandos to keep the holes from being to easy (4 and 5) or too dangerous (6 along a busy road). It appeared that there was a little bit of land available after hole # 3 so possibly the tees for holes 4 and 5 could be tweaked a bit to make them play a little better.

This park was busy! There were pedestrians everywhere when I played Como. We had to wait a handful of times for enthusiastic walkers to clear out. And a couple times for dogs (not on leashes). And a couple times for Bicyclists (this includes one time having to jump to the side very quickly as the fairly chubby girl on the bike yelled at us is a remarkably baritone voice "GET OUT OF THE WAY" and by out of the way she meant off the fairway). And once for a fisherman. And one dude with a kite….

The water is a Pro and a Con. All though it makes the round very interesting, other than on possibly number 8 if a disc hits the water I am pretty sure its gone forever. Some of creeks had water in them that was very slow moving and murky and the water in the lake looked deep.
Other Thoughts: Como Lake was fun course that offered a little more than I was expecting. In my mind I pictured a pretty, wide open, park course that would be a fast, easy play. Instead I got a pretty, somewhat open, if slightly strangely designed course, that offered plenty of challenge and made me think that I would like to come back and play it again.

The channels and lake really make this course. I am very happy that the Niagara Region Disc Golf Club was able to secure such a cool piece of the park to use for a course. It was definitely getting plenty of use from Disc Golfers and Non Discers alike

My two favorite holes on the course were #10 and #14

#10 is just a great hole. It requires some distance off the tee but you want to make sure you place it well also so that you have a clear shot at the gap over the creek. If your drive is not good then you will have to lay up to the creek and hope you park your approach. A very nice true par 4 in my opinion.

#14 is obviously the signature hole and with good reason as I stated above. I did notice that at 14's tee there seemed to be a common progression from the people I played with and the others I saw play, you look at the distance on the sign, check the wind (maybe a couple times), tell yourself it's really not that far, pick your disc, put that disc back and disc up a little (just to be safe), throw it, immediately panic that your go to _insert name here_ isn't going to make it, realize that you have plenty of distance, realize you are going a little left, start to panic again that your go to _insert name here_ is going to hyzer into the water on the left, disc lands safely, you wipe a way that bead of sweat from your forehead, your heart starts to slow back down, you realize after all that you have no putt at all since the pin is between two huge trees, begin the trudge to the bridge so that you can lay up and take your friggin three.

Not hugely challenging but a pretty fun course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.