Lancaster, NY 
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #13 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 325ft.   3 / 365ft.   4 / 365ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

2-4    6/7/2015   6/7/2015
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 39  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of water. A short water carry, a par 4 with a landing zone before another short carry, and then a long water carry to a peninsula green. Then tack on a few with water along the left / right where an errant shot can get wet and end with a pin just a few feet from OB water. It is always in your mind but easily avoidable (assuming you can make #14s carry).

Good variety of hole lengths & shot shapes required.

Sufficient tee signs at the blues.

3 sets of tees that were easy to find (when I played).

Rubber tee pads are in the works. About 1/2 way done by my estimation for the white tees as of June '15.

A lot of other activities going on in the park.

Bathrooms, pavilions, etc.
Cons: Natural teepads in decent condition for all reds & blues and 1/2 the whites (in process).

Not a lot of technical shots.

Park can be very busy with both DG traffic and dog walkers,

Some weird flow issues and long walks. Could get confusing without a map. Wasn't an issue for me as there was a crowd to follow on a busy sunday afternoon.

For beginners or just someone having a bad day there is definitely the possibility to come home a few discs lighter.
Other Thoughts: The park itself plays like most park settings. Fairly open overall with shot shaping required around the scattered mature trees. It is pretty forgiving if you are offline (assuming you are dry), so saving 3 is usually an option. A few mandos in play that spice up a few holes.

The main obstacles are the water in play and I bet when the wind picks up due to the open spaces it could get really interesting (was calm when I played).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    5/19/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: oneCarney
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
-NEW TEE PADS- not every hole was finished yet when I played, but it appears they will be at some point this summer.
-Good Variety of shots, plays well for both RHBH and LHBH players.
-Good Variety of Distances.
Cons: -Walk between Hole 7 and 8 and between hole 11 and 12. It is not a terrible walk but they just interrupted the flow of the course for me.
-Grass can get very long at times through out the year.
-Water comes into play on a few holes, it's not necessarily a bad thing but there is a high chance you are going swimming.
-Park can get very busy on the weekends
Other Thoughts: I have a very love/hate relationship with this course. I really like the shot variety (distance/mandos/fairways) that this course provides, especially in a park setting.
The course is very long and flat. Like a lot of other courses in WNY, this suffered from poor natural teepads. I think when all the Teepads that will definitely increase my rating and the playability of this course.

There are a few Locals that fish the discs out of the water And always call numbers on discs.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Como Lake Park

5+    3/28/2015   3/28/2015
Review By: RobA
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/26/2015
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Good Mix of shots
- Choice of tees, not only change distance but also change the hole
- Good location
- Challenging, good course for tournaments
Cons: - Unfair pin location on hole 18. After 17+ holes of good challenging golf, this hole left a bad taste in my mouth. The pin is five feet from a ten foot drop into the creek below. Even a lay up has a good chance of going in the drink, and its impossible to retrieve your disc from the creek. Move the basket back 5 feet and this becomes a challenging final hole. Right now it is just a bitch-slap of a final hole where there is a great chance of a lost disc unless you make a perfect shot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Below Average & Over-rated

5+    5/16/2014   5/20/2014
Review By: Led Zeppelin
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Location (close to a lot of players) and not too far from Buffalo, baskets aren't falling apart, not much litter.
Cons: Only mowed a few times in the summer (tons of tall grass), Lots of people waiting for you lose your disc, they will jump in water for it or just straight up steal it up off the ground. I never see these disc scavengers actually play though. Course intertwines with normal park goers (watch out for people and kids), Eats discs like nothing, inefficient course set up (back 9 is terribly laid out, lots of walking just for 3 holes). Nearly impossible to navigate your first time without an familiar player. Hole 3 has a sewage problem and is muddy 24/7 even during a drought. Most tee boxes are mud pits the majority of the year.
Other Thoughts: With so many water hazards, there are people with wet suites and fishing poles who regularly scavenge the creek. I don't expect to get discs back and I know they are everywhere but it's annoying when they watch you throw just to see where your disc goes so they can grab it, hoping for you to duff your shot. I only play there because it's so close but every other course in WNY is way better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    10/22/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 113  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Como Lake Park is a fun course in a park with plenty of other amenities too. Each hole has 3 tee areas to accommodate many levels of players. There are some clever pin placements. Many holes have water in play with some being more risky than others. They have utilized 2 islands which is a unique feature. The course is lightly wooded but each tree is a chance for a disc to ricochet into the water.

Other Pros:
- scenic and serene
- practice basket near parking area
- old lighthouse near #14
- challenging variety
- friendly, helpful locals
Cons: There are some long walks between holes and some confusing flow, 1st timers will want to have a map on hand. The extra tee areas are not marked with a sign. You can find them with the map because they are well worn into the earth. Beginners may get frustrated if they start losing too much plastic. Dog walkers use this area so watch out for them and their poop. There are other pedestrians who just hang out in this area too.

Other Cons:
- beavers are destroying many trees
- the 1st 7 holes are mediocre compared to the rest
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for those risky water holes, bring a map, watch out for the non-disc golfers. I had a great time. #14 is the signature hole and was my favorite. I'm sure I will be back for another round sometime. This is definitely worth playing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 water, water, and more water

2-4    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 102  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - multiple tees that are for the most part nicely marked to make the course enjoyable for all players (The white tees give the best variety of shorter and longer holes)
- I noticed myself having to throw hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots throughout the course
- Many holes allow for different approaches to the basket
- Lots of chances for risk vs reward due to the large amounts of water on the course
- Great use of obstacles (mainly trees and mandatories) to make a fairly open course challenging and interesting
- Many of the holes have signs giving distances from the various tees and showing the baskets
- The course has a loop so after hole 7 if your strapped for time you will be back at the parking lot
- bathrooms on sight
- practice basket for putting and large open relatively unused field for practicing driving
Cons: - course can be hard to navigate at times
- some long walks between holes
- some of the tees (which are composed of 1-dimensional blocks in the ground) are hard to find and some of the tee signs are missing
- No concrete or rubber tee pads
- no designated drop zones for the water holes
- All the holes are decent but there are no real wow signature type holes. The course can seem a little parkish at times
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty fun course to play. As a warning though in can be frustrating because of the disc lossage to water. Bring a floater and be prepared to go swimming if you want your disc back. This course is not really good for beginners because there is no way to avoid the water and the water is a danger even on the holes you don't have to throw over the water because an errant shot to the left or the right could end up in the water is well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Water?..what water?

5+    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: superium
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety in shots and distances. Some holes keep you on your toes and fun and exciting. Helps your mental game if you can faze out the water.
Flypad installation is in progress for the whites and blues. Signage has been replaced.
Cons: 3 5 minute walks between holes but still only takes 1:30-2 hrs. to play with a partner. Could use a tad more variety and longer.par 4 holes or alternate pin locations.
Other Thoughts: Not the best place for a first timer considering all the water but if you play this course enough, it will mold you into a good player. If you play smart/safe, you will stay dry and actually enjoy the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring a floater

1    6/3/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: TKdicker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice park setting, baskets in good shape, options available with three tees per hole, practice basket and large field next to hole one for warm up.
Cons: Too much water for beginners, some tough over water shots, some baskets too close to water, lots of standing water on course, tee markers are terrible (4" concrete blocks flush with ground very hard to find), tall grass above knee high in spots,
Other Thoughts: Directions on this website's page confusing (no idea what skating rink or casino they're talking about).

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Water make you holler

5+    12/15/2012   4/2/2013
Review By: Drewpy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical. Very good combination long/short shots. Very good combination left/right/straight shots. Multiple tees on each hole. Maps at each hole. (except the ones torn off by scumbags.)
Cons: Dirt tee pads = Terrible. Need to repair the maps at the tees. Tough course for beginners. EASY to lose discs... just ask Todd Lingenfelter haha
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Play it all the time!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Stop

2-4    11/15/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good variety of shot requirements - some long, some technical, forehand, backhand
- Some scary putts and some scary tee shots, both usually making use of the water around. Unrealistic to lose a disc too often, though.
- Three tees for various skill levels.
- Grass was nicely mowed and discs were relatively easy to find, even if they ventured into the trees. Not a lot of places (except the water) to lose them.
- 10 is a great true par four with some risk-reward - you can go long and right to give yourself an easier approach or lay back and play for a safe par.
- Relatively easy walk. Pretty flat, but scenic with different trees.
- #14 is a hole you'll remember, and it's not just the 285' carry over the water to a peninsula, but also a basket buried in the middle of a tree.
- The course tests the good player without being overly brutal to the newbie (so long as they can clear the water... even if they skip 14 or just throw across the canal portion).
- Lots of non-DG things to do. Drop the family off if they're not into DG and they can spend two hours while you play.
Cons: - Natural tee pads were so muddy we had to throw from the grass beside them.
- There's what I think is a really stupid mando on about the fourth or fifth hole. Artificially keeps birdie rates down.
- Long walk from 7 to 8. If you remember that 8 tee is right by 1 tee it's not that bad, but if you don't notice, you might get lost.
- Long walk from 11 to 12 with no navigation. Maybe the signs just weren't up?
- Many holes missing maps or signs to show the hole, so first-time players may not know where to find the basket.
Other Thoughts: - When I was leaving once I saw someone forehand a drive off the first hole. His disc went 80 feet up and 80 feet out and 80 feet right... right into the middle of the creek that runs through the park. I didn't think it was possible to really lose a disc in the water on the firs thole, but I was wrong.
- You can lose a disc in the water on more than a few holes here, but most aren't realistic chances for loss unless you really throw a bad shot.
- Recommended if you're in the area. The NRDG is proud, and they should be, but in my short career I've played some true 4.5 and 4.0 courses, so this one I'm rounding up to 3.5. Fix the natural tees, and some course signage, and it's a solid 3.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.