Lancaster, NY
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
4 / 200ft.   4 / 300ft.   3 / 420ft.   4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Pro Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
water, water, and more water

2-4    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 77  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - multiple tees that are for the most part nicely marked to make the course enjoyable for all players (The white tees give the best variety of shorter and longer holes)
- I noticed myself having to throw hyzer, anhyzer and straight shots throughout the course
- Many holes allow for different approaches to the basket
- Lots of chances for risk vs reward due to the large amounts of water on the course
- Great use of obstacles (mainly trees and mandatories) to make a fairly open course challenging and interesting
- Many of the holes have signs giving distances from the various tees and showing the baskets
- The course has a loop so after hole 7 if your strapped for time you will be back at the parking lot
- bathrooms on sight
- practice basket for putting and large open relatively unused field for practicing driving
Cons: - course can be hard to navigate at times
- some long walks between holes
- some of the tees (which are composed of 1-dimensional blocks in the ground) are hard to find and some of the tee signs are missing
- No concrete or rubber tee pads
- no designated drop zones for the water holes
- All the holes are decent but there are no real wow signature type holes. The course can seem a little parkish at times
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty fun course to play. As a warning though in can be frustrating because of the disc lossage to water. Bring a floater and be prepared to go swimming if you want your disc back. This course is not really good for beginners because there is no way to avoid the water and the water is a danger even on the holes you don't have to throw over the water because an errant shot to the left or the right could end up in the water is well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

como park

5+    4/21/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: some nice length holes on back combined with a few throws over water make it interesting
Cons: the front 9 is pretty short and easy
Other Thoughts: the park itself needs some more maintenance, but overall it combines some challenging holes, you'll still need to use all the shots in your bag

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Park Life!

1    7/24/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 5.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Como Lake Park is a happening place. The park itself is pretty big and offers a ton of stuff to do for the non disc golfer. There is Baseball, Bicycling, Concession, Fishing, Hiking Trails, Ice Skating, Lakes/Ponds, X-Country, Sledding, Softball, Tennis plus a good sized shelter near hole number one that provides some refreshment and bathrooms (they call it a Casino for some reason that I cannot fathom). On the hot summer afternoons there is usually an ice cream truck some where in the park too!

The land available to the disc golf course is awesome. It is not necessarily what most people would consider to be epic disc golf property but in my opinion it is very unique and that makes it good. The course mostly plays through flat and lightly wooded "park like" property with sporadically placed Large Hardwood trees as the main obstacles…but then the water comes into play. Over most of the back 10 (two loops: 1-7 and 8-18) the various channels/creeks and lake come into play on most of the holes. You only need to throw across them 3 times (8, 10 and 14) but can come into play with an errant throw on a few others (9, 11, 15, 16, 17 and 18). Of the water holes #14 is the highlight. This is a 307' hole with about 285' that is complete water carry over Como Lake, with the risk of a RHBH hyzering into the channel on the left. All the water really makes for a fun round. The overall design of the course is a nice balance of right, left and straight holes with almost all of the holes offering numerous different routes and lines. There is also a good mix of shorter technical holes and more wide open bombers.

I am not sure if it was by design or not but the course seems to follow a natural progression in quality as you progress. 1 and 2 are holes that loosen up your arm. 3-7 work on your line shaping and make sure you are up for some technical golf. 8 gently breaks you into the water holes, not too hard to clear but enough that you get a little bit nervous. 9 reminds you to throw it straight but kind of lulls you. 10 gives you some distance, shot placement and pucker factor all in moderate doses. 11-13 are gotta get your deuce holes if you got the arm for it. Then 14, huge pucker factor (see other thoughts). 15-17 is the cool down period where there is still some danger but really you are just executing what the previous holes have warmed you up for. 18 you need a good pull off the tee and the basket is really close to the water but at this point it's no big deal cause the rest of the course led you up to this point, so you slam your putt, chest bump your homey and call it a day.

There are three tees for each hole and they offer a good challenge for the appropriate users. Most of the longer tees add some distance to the hole but a lot of them also offer some slightly different angles and add to the challenge. The baskets were in good condition and each hole has a very nice tee sign that accurately describes the hole and distances.

The park in general and the course specifically were very well kept.
Cons: The tees are all natural. They were not in bad condition when I played here but all natural tees become a bit treacherous when wet.

Navigation issues. First off I had no problem navigating the course but I had a map. Without the map I am not sure how well it would have gone. The walk from 7 to 8 is a good 4-5 minute stroll that takes you back along #1's and #2's fairway right back to the start of the course. There is also a little disconnect between 11 and 12. You cross between 14 and 15 and cross the bridge then turn left and wander a bit until you find the tee. I don't think this requires a re-design or anything just some warning on the bulletin board and some clear navigational aides.

Holes 4, 5 and 6. These three holes feel very shoe horned into the course and use mandos to keep the holes from being to easy (4 and 5) or too dangerous (6 along a busy road). It appeared that there was a little bit of land available after hole # 3 so possibly the tees for holes 4 and 5 could be tweaked a bit to make them play a little better.

This park was busy! There were pedestrians everywhere when I played Como. We had to wait a handful of times for enthusiastic walkers to clear out. And a couple times for dogs (not on leashes). And a couple times for Bicyclists (this includes one time having to jump to the side very quickly as the fairly chubby girl on the bike yelled at us is a remarkably baritone voice "GET OUT OF THE WAY" and by out of the way she meant off the fairway). And once for a fisherman. And one dude with a kite….

The water is a Pro and a Con. All though it makes the round very interesting, other than on possibly number 8 if a disc hits the water I am pretty sure its gone forever. Some of creeks had water in them that was very slow moving and murky and the water in the lake looked deep.
Other Thoughts: Como Lake was fun course that offered a little more than I was expecting. In my mind I pictured a pretty, wide open, park course that would be a fast, easy play. Instead I got a pretty, somewhat open, if slightly strangely designed course, that offered plenty of challenge and made me think that I would like to come back and play it again.

The channels and lake really make this course. I am very happy that the Niagara Region Disc Golf Club was able to secure such a cool piece of the park to use for a course. It was definitely getting plenty of use from Disc Golfers and Non Discers alike

My two favorite holes on the course were #10 and #14

#10 is just a great hole. It requires some distance off the tee but you want to make sure you place it well also so that you have a clear shot at the gap over the creek. If your drive is not good then you will have to lay up to the creek and hope you park your approach. A very nice true par 4 in my opinion.

#14 is obviously the signature hole and with good reason as I stated above. I did notice that at 14's tee there seemed to be a common progression from the people I played with and the others I saw play, you look at the distance on the sign, check the wind (maybe a couple times), tell yourself it's really not that far, pick your disc, put that disc back and disc up a little (just to be safe), throw it, immediately panic that your go to _insert name here_ isn't going to make it, realize that you have plenty of distance, realize you are going a little left, start to panic again that your go to _insert name here_ is going to hyzer into the water on the left, disc lands safely, you wipe a way that bead of sweat from your forehead, your heart starts to slow back down, you realize after all that you have no putt at all since the pin is between two huge trees, begin the trudge to the bridge so that you can lay up and take your friggin three.

Not hugely challenging but a pretty fun course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

como lake

5+    7/30/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: mostly flat, lightly wooded, with large/small bodies of water in play on several holes.
- signs: nice signs for every hole. good graphics, accurate distance and pars.
- hole designs: tee and basket locations are excellent with little repetition of layout except for the course being flat in general. holes are short, long, left, right, open, lightly wooded, and the best are those involving water. first 6 holes are okay and the course only gets better from there with more risks/rewards and increase in difficulty/length.
- water in play: several holes have you throwing over the water of como lake. hole number 8 is the shortest, a nice anhyzer or sidearm shot only needing to clear a 60-80 foot wide stream. later, on hole 10, you have a par 5 558 foot hole where you can go for it on your second throw to cross a 100 foot portion of the stream or lay-up. the signature hole of the course is number 14, where you a 306 foot drive from the edge of the lake out to an island corner where the basket is 30 or so feet further inland wedged between the trunks of two trees (if you look on youtube, you can find someone getting an ace on this hole...sweet!). watch out on hole 18 where the basket is slightly hidden behind the crest of a small hill - only 5 feet behind the basket is nothing but the lake! definitely recommend a spotter to block/save an errant approach.
- difficulty: moderate. water is definitely the biggest challenge on this course and can be a big risk and adds a huge fun factor.
- player traffic: not bad at all. very comfortable pace without large groups stacking up.
Cons: - tees: natural tees only. can get slick.
- hole 6 is too close to the road, even though it has a required mando that forces you to stay right. a bad throw could be a real hazard here.
- pedestrian traffic: occasionally we had pedestrians walking in the fairway. not really much of an issue.
- flow: long walk from hole 7-8. but what are you going to do? not much of an issue in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: - play during warm weather and you won't mind hopping in the water. bring a swim suit, a floater, and you'll be fine and refreshed
- a favorite in the area. if only playing two courses on a trip in buffalo, we've often combined como with chestnut to experience two very different, very good courses

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Stetz1010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice course - open fairways, good basket placement.
Cons: Course flow is a bit confusing for first timers - some holes require you to double back, plus the lack of signs on some make it tough to navigate. Also, a lot of pedestrians at the park may make driving on some holes more of a waiting game than anything.
Other Thoughts: I'll def. play Como again when I'm in the area, but I wouldn't play it over Chestnut or Black Diamond if I had to choose one of the three.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Como Lake

5+    12/5/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: ghova
Played: 41  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed course. Good baskets. 3 sets of tees, and good course signs. They are oriented at the blues so if you are playing the whites you sometimes have to walk out of your way to get information for the set of tees you are using. Good bulletin board for information of the local leagues and courses at hole 1. This course tests your game both physically and mentally. Lots of water that will make you think twice about taking shots that would normally be pretty routine. It is in a pretty busy and beautiful park and uses the land well. This course has some good distance holes and the water gives a new meaning to risk/reward. Overall it is a fun course to play and is highly recommended if you are in the Buffalo area.
Cons: This course does have a few cons that prevent it from getting a higher rating. There are some long walks between holes, some are due to having to walk over bridges to get to the next area but the walk between 7 and 8 is a troop, it does take you to the parking lot so you can stop at your car. This does not take away from the navigatibility though as the course is pretty easy to follow. The natural tee pads can get a bit slippery after it rains, but they are nice and flat so you can always find a good spot to tee from. There is also not much elevation change throughout the course so that is a part of your game that goes pretty much untested. Finally it is not uncommon to lose a disc or two here, the water is deep and unless you are prepared to go swimming your disc is gone. The local people are decent at getting discs back to you though and I have had about three returned to me after they had found the drink.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, has a good atmosphere, and you will leave in a good mood if you managed not to lose a disc. Sometimes there is some non-dg traffic so some caution must be used. This is only really a problem during peak summer but its something to watch for. I would not recommend this course for taking beginners to as they will probably not be able to throw the distance necessary to clear the water and the discs they lose will probably be yours. But go check it out if. If you are on your game you can score very well here, but this course can punish the errant throw.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough Course!

4/27/2008   4/27/2008
Review By: cdeane
Played: 50  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely done and very informative sign posts with all three tees clearly marked and any mandatory obstacle paths. Course is in great shape and requires a variety of throws.
Cons: Hard to find first tee without directions (forgot them).
Pro pars are tough - even throwing from the white tees I had only one birdie chance if I went by the pro pars (I don't - not even close)
Other Thoughts: Park was very active, dog walkers and people fishing for the most part. At one point I had to wait for kids using a basket as a jungle gym to get clear.
Hole 14 is downright scary...................

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Caution: May need hip waders!

5+    10/26/2007   11/5/2007
Review By: bfaslewis
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fairly technical course. The mando's really make some holes a challenge. The isn't much of a grade difference in the terrain, but it makes up for it with numerous annie's and hyzer's.

I really like this course. There is a definite difference between the white and blue tee's here. The blue tee's are set up in a way, not only with extra distance, but the difficulty due due obstacles, makes it a whole different experience when playing.
Cons: The distance on hole number's 8,10, and especially 14; be prepared to get wet. Of the three holes that go across water, they get progressively harder to be able to retrieve your disc. I play #14 at the ladies tee's (red tee's) and call it a par 3 not 4.
Other Thoughts: I'm sure that if you ask anyone that's played the course they'd say #14 is the signature hole. You tee off on one side of the lake and a bad drive is a lost disc. The pin is nestled in between two trees that are only far enough apart to fit a disc golf basket.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Water, water, everywhere...

8/10/2007   8/19/2007
Review By: MattK
Played: 49  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful new course, has several bona-fide par-4s amongst the 18 holes. The placement of the holes amongst the scattered trees, grass mounds and lake shore give each green a unique feel. The signs are nicely designed and descriptive.
Cons: Two major issues: 1. the traffic pattern, caused by the size and shape of the islands. There are several very long walks between holes, fairways that overlap, and constant miscellaneous foot traffic across the bridges to deal with.
2. The water hazards make this course very beginner unfriendly, and potentially frustrating for others as well. The lake is in play for half of the holes, and for a couple of them there is simply no safe option.
Also in the springtime a bizarre amount of casual water can build up around the 9th fairway - literally deep enough to swim in.
Other Thoughts: Two suggestions for players: 1. invest in some floating discs and 100' of rope to fish them out with, and 2. plan on spending twice as much time on a round as usual due to the extra walking, waiting for fairways to clear, and possible disc fishing.
Some minor changes have been made since the course first went in. The tees for #14 were moved slightly closer, in keeping with PDGA guidelines for over the water throws. Detailed signs were added at each tee and par was set, though unfortunately with regard to par the PDGA guidelines were ignored. Also the islands brush has been cleaned up a bit around the edges, making it easier for discs to roll into the lake. The course is more beautiful than ever, and more perilous.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.