Disc Golf Store
Lancaster, NY 
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 295ft.   3 / 385ft.   3 / 460ft.   4 / 460ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Pro Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    10/22/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Como Lake Park is a fun course in a park with plenty of other amenities too. Each hole has 3 tee areas to accommodate many levels of players. There are some clever pin placements. Many holes have water in play with some being more risky than others. They have utilized 2 islands which is a unique feature. The course is lightly wooded but each tree is a chance for a disc to ricochet into the water.

Other Pros:
- scenic and serene
- practice basket near parking area
- old lighthouse near #14
- challenging variety
- friendly, helpful locals
Cons: There are some long walks between holes and some confusing flow, 1st timers will want to have a map on hand. The extra tee areas are not marked with a sign. You can find them with the map because they are well worn into the earth. Beginners may get frustrated if they start losing too much plastic. Dog walkers use this area so watch out for them and their poop. There are other pedestrians who just hang out in this area too.

Other Cons:
- beavers are destroying many trees
- the 1st 7 holes are mediocre compared to the rest
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for those risky water holes, bring a map, watch out for the non-disc golfers. I had a great time. #14 is the signature hole and was my favorite. I'm sure I will be back for another round sometime. This is definitely worth playing!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth a Stop

2-4    11/15/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: iacas
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Good variety of shot requirements - some long, some technical, forehand, backhand
- Some scary putts and some scary tee shots, both usually making use of the water around. Unrealistic to lose a disc too often, though.
- Three tees for various skill levels.
- Grass was nicely mowed and discs were relatively easy to find, even if they ventured into the trees. Not a lot of places (except the water) to lose them.
- 10 is a great true par four with some risk-reward - you can go long and right to give yourself an easier approach or lay back and play for a safe par.
- Relatively easy walk. Pretty flat, but scenic with different trees.
- #14 is a hole you'll remember, and it's not just the 285' carry over the water to a peninsula, but also a basket buried in the middle of a tree.
- The course tests the good player without being overly brutal to the newbie (so long as they can clear the water... even if they skip 14 or just throw across the canal portion).
- Lots of non-DG things to do. Drop the family off if they're not into DG and they can spend two hours while you play.
Cons: - Natural tee pads were so muddy we had to throw from the grass beside them.
- There's what I think is a really stupid mando on about the fourth or fifth hole. Artificially keeps birdie rates down.
- Long walk from 7 to 8. If you remember that 8 tee is right by 1 tee it's not that bad, but if you don't notice, you might get lost.
- Long walk from 11 to 12 with no navigation. Maybe the signs just weren't up?
- Many holes missing maps or signs to show the hole, so first-time players may not know where to find the basket.
Other Thoughts: - When I was leaving once I saw someone forehand a drive off the first hole. His disc went 80 feet up and 80 feet out and 80 feet right... right into the middle of the creek that runs through the park. I didn't think it was possible to really lose a disc in the water on the firs thole, but I was wrong.
- You can lose a disc in the water on more than a few holes here, but most aren't realistic chances for loss unless you really throw a bad shot.
- Recommended if you're in the area. The NRDG is proud, and they should be, but in my short career I've played some true 4.5 and 4.0 courses, so this one I'm rounding up to 3.5. Fix the natural tees, and some course signage, and it's a solid 3.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course - Lots of Deep Water

2-4    8/12/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great overall variety built into a flat setting. Good use of brush and trees to create challenge with a relatively open landscape.

Some very intimidating shots required across and up against the water. This is the most intimidating collection of water hazards we've ever played. The water is almost always wide and deep, making it near impossible to retrieve discs. This is starting to sound little less like a positive, but it all makes the course uniquely tough and pressure-packed, especially for a short-thrower like me. I drive less than 300 at the best of times. My son and I played the whites, except 14 - when we wimped out with about a 170 foot lake crossing.

The first six holes, although short and simple for the most part, again have OK variety, and provide a good warmup to the tougher challenges to come.

Even though the water's intimidating, the red tees are very forgiving, and the fairways are wide enough to make it play OK for shorter, less reliable, throwers - except at #14. My daughter doesn't play much any more, and skipped 14, but had a great time otherwise on our family round.

Very well-maintained park setting. Fairways were well-cut. Almost no way to lose a disc except of course in the water.

Favorite holes:

3 - Dogleg left with a clear path through the stand of trees, with the need to avoid a creek that bends from right across the fairway. Decent layup choices right for those who can't cross the creek at its longest point, but playing safe adds a lot of length.

7 - Almost a U-turn dogleg right with a thick mass of brush and trees in the way of short-cutters.

8 - Fun initial throw over the water, with the basket well-protected by a blob of tangled brush.

10 - Second shot over the water. Open pin placement provides a good chance for long putts once you get close.

16 - Basket a bit hidden uphill on the left. Again, relatively open path, with enough trees and brush to force you to think where to throw.
Cons: No fixed tees. We played once after a rain, and the dirt areas of the tees were very tough to play. Second round was dryer, with a better chance for a flat runup. Very tough to find the red tees on a lot of holes.

Two very questionable basket placements. #14 basket is squeezed between two very thick trunks front and back. My son flew his drive into the front trunk, the disc dropped almost straight down, and he ended up having to tomahawk his 10-foot birdie putt. The basket at #18 is about five feet in front of a near-sheer drop into the water. Somebody obviously thought this makes for a great challenge. But the risk-reward of a lost disc isn't worth the degree of difficulty. I agree with others who recommend setting a couple people behind the 18th basket to stop long throws and rollouts. Both holes play like lapses into goofy golf territory.

Some long walks and confusing routings, especially 7 to 8, and 11 to 12. No basket to tee signs that we could see, and some of the tee signs were missing. A few simple directional signs would be very helpful. The DG site course map was a huge benefit to us. We also met a few great local regular players who pointed us in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: The relatively open layout makes it possible to rely on a favorite shot, hyzer or anhyzer - forehand or background, almost all the time.

Wind can make a huge difference. First round in the afternoon was very windy. Gusts more than 20mph. I lost one disc - the wind flipped my Wraith vertical and it nose-dived into the water on 14. Poor shot selection and execution, but still, the wind was a serious slap. 2nd round we played on a calm morning - huge difference. I don't know what the weather tendencies are in this area - it's well worth finding out.

Como Lake seems like a very nice park - my wife and youngest daughter had a fun time hiking and hanging out while we played our 2nd round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not very beginner friendly

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Codisimus
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park. Easy Pars, multiple tees, Large variety of holes.
Cons: Easy to lose discs (mainly in water), at least one hole is along a road.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course but proly not the best place for a beginner. I went with 6 other people (who each played doubles) who were "beginnerish". There are 3 times when you must throw over water (holes 8, 10, and 14). I throw at 8 and 10 and another throw at 10. Even with my Wahoo I skipped throwing 14 bc of strong winds. There are other times when we had to make a wall of people to keep overthrown shots from falling down into the water (hole 18). Overall This is a pretty good course but maybe wait until you are confident to throw around water

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/3/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course overall has a really enjoyable layout. everything from no nonsense par 3 holes to nerve-racking shots over water where disc placement is key.

accurate signs on every hole, distances, par, and obstacles included.

multiple tees on every hole, good way to mix up your round.

very scenic course, water play throughout, makes for a challenging round.
Cons: difficult to find. address on this site will take you to a mailbox. best to go with someone who has played the course before to get there.

no real markings to tell you where the course starts. perhaps a kiosk should be put in place to tell you about the course and to direct you to the first hole.

front 9 is pretty boring compared to the back 9. front 9 is pretty straight forward, and the theres a lot more risk/reward on the back.

pretty much flat. not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: enjoyable course to play. alot of interesting holes to play were placement is key.

if you're playing the course par, its fairly easy to shoot.

good course to play if you have some experience around water, if not, bring a disc that floats.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    8/14/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout, good variety. The water holes make it worth the trip, so bust out your old/DX discs and get out to this course. Nice bridges allow for easy navigation around the lake/creek. Practice basket right near the parking.
Cons: Get ready to lose a disc or two. Three holes play directly over water, and your disc is GONE if you throw into the creek or lake. Crowds (fishing) can prevent a shot at the best hole (14) which many might not want to play anyway since it's the highest chance of losing a disc (throw straight over the mouth of the creek/lake). There's 2 or three spots where you have take LONG walks to the next hole, or to the bridge to get over the water.
Other Thoughts: Terrain is pretty flat, can hold water during spring/rainy months. Make sure you're shooting at the right basket. First time players might want to send a "spotter" to the other side of the water, because you can lose sight of your disc in some areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Be Prepared....

2-4    4/20/2008   7/20/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: Nice park setting with some cool views. Good signs to help you navigate. Course has never been overly crowded when I played there. Practice basket near parking lot. Multiple tees for every skill level at every hole.
Cons: Lots of water. Deep drainage ditches as well as a huge pond will swallow your disc on an errant shot and come into play on a bunch of holes. Too deep to get back with out going swimming.
Other Thoughts: A challenging course for sure, with lots of fun shots, and plenty of places you have to be able to throw far, but can be a bit discouraging if you keep finding the water. I have lost one each round here.

  The Lighthouse

2-4    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: cmheim
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The course is set up through nice scenery. There are some nice par 4 to make up some ground.
Cons: This park has alot of very difficult water shots. I have seen several discs lost in each of the water holes. Some of the par 3s shold be 4s and there are some 4s that could stand to be 3s.
Other Thoughts: This is a course to def have a disc that will float for better retrieval as the water spots are all very deep and too murky to see the resting spot on the bottom.

 Change of Mind

5+    5/28/2009   8/25/2008
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of you might remember this post from before and i would like to rebuttle my own words so here it goes this cousre is difficult for beginers with the amont of water so my sugestion is to invest in some floating discs before you go or be very sure of your drives. That being said the lay out for this cousre is extreemly well do you get to shoot into nice almost new chain star baskets which they are only listed as discraft on this sight they are acutualy chain stars. the signs on the cousre are very well marked you only have to walk back on two holes 8 and i think 18. This course has a grown on me since my skills have grown into being able to give this cousre a run for its money the pars are not set to high that if you shoot from the mens tees that if your above a beginer that you can make par for the course.

*Original Pros*This course is very beautiful filled with some difficult holes and some tricky skillful shots
Cons: The new set of cons are still going to be there is a lot of water on this course but if you have the confidence to make thery are makeable shots. On 16 my sugestion when your trying to shoot over the mouth of the creek is to eaither star from or shoot to the womens tees that part is a much more achiveable shot and it is a little less intimidating
*orginal Cons* They recently changed one of the holes so now you have to shoot over the river that runs through it one too many time this made this course way too hard for beginers and mnost intermediates i could suggest if you are not confident shooting over water to get yourself a floating disk before you play this course!!! Or too just pass this one by.
Other Thoughts: My orginal score for this course was a 1.5 passable on aug 20th 2008 to which i lost a disc in the river i think that this review speeks much more for this course happy playing

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring extra discs!

2-4    9/29/2007   9/30/2007
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/31/2008
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course, you may get to laugh at your friends when they jump into the cold water for a disc.
Generous Par, but still a challenging course.
Cons: LOTS OF WATER, we had to play hole 8 from the white because it was too risky to throw over the large drop off. Hole 14 eats discs too.
Other Thoughts: on hole 14 people had success throwing parellel with the water and crossing at a narrower location.
I found 6 discs while swimming after my floater.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.