Lancaster, NY 
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 220ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Pro Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Water?..what water?

5+    6/15/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: superium
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety in shots and distances. Some holes keep you on your toes and fun and exciting. Helps your mental game if you can faze out the water.
Cons: Good amount of the teepads are worn down. 2 5 minute walks between holes but still only takes 1:30-2 hrs. to play with a partner. Bunch of tee signs damaged or missing so its hard to navigate if your a first timer.
Other Thoughts: Not the best place for a first timer considering all the water but if you play this course enough, it will mold you into a good player. If you play smart/safe, you will stay dry and actually enjoy the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Water make you holler

5+    12/15/2012   4/2/2013
Review By: Drewpy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical. Very good combination long/short shots. Very good combination left/right/straight shots. Multiple tees on each hole. Maps at each hole. (except the ones torn off by scumbags.)
Cons: Dirt tee pads = Terrible. Need to repair the maps at the tees. Tough course for beginners. EASY to lose discs... just ask Todd Lingenfelter haha
Other Thoughts: Love this course. Play it all the time!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/12/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in WNY for intermediate and beginer players. Course is laid out well uses natural terrain to the fullest. Good mix of technical and big air shots through out the course. Course can be played-fast if need to.
Cons: None really, just remember to bring floating disk and or a retriever cause sooner or later you will find the water. Heavy people pet traffic at times but most a friendly and allow you play through with no problem. Some of the tee makers missing but not a big deal. Only improvement would be concrete tees.
Other Thoughts: My favorite local course. And would invite anyone to play here, just a fun place to play. Again I can not over state the need for floating disc's or a retriever for the water shots or just be prepared to buy some new disc's. Again this course is just plain fun to play, and a change of pace from other courses in the area with more than one chance to ace.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/19/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Keegan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Liked the layout and basket placement, very fun course to play. Scenic and challenging at times
Cons: Long course and only real problem with the course is the amout of discs you can lose on the course. Bring alot of discs and use your less favorites on hole 8, hole 10 and hole 14!
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend this course to anyone

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 4 star near Buffalo...

1    3/22/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An excellent array of holes. The most water hazards (And I do mean HAZARDS!) of any course I've played (And that's from Florida to NY, to Kentucky, to Iowa, and all points in between!). Love the hole where you throw over the mouth of the lake to a basket sandwiched between two giant trees! Really nice scenery with the multiple waterfalls and the miniature lighthouse.
Cons: Not much roughage to make you honest; however it is made up for by the meandering creek/river. A power line will force you to stay low on a couple of holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Como

5+    8/15/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Bglo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice open course where you can really see your true power. The water might seem a little much for some people but it makes the course. The signature hole 14 is truly a risk/ reward hole.
Cons: -Water is really merky so if you sink a disc its pretty much gone
-Thats really the only con
Other Thoughts: Great course to play at, it was my first course and i learned to play at this course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A nice change of pace

1    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Pyro419
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice variety of holes, distances, mandos and hazards. No repetitive felling like some area courses. I really like the water obstacles they really throw in some diversity. Great signage and course design. really nice park.
Cons: I didnt like the walk from 7-8 it was very long and your walking up the hole1 fairway toward the tee off! watch your dome! Alot of non disc golf traffic, but hey its a park.
Other Thoughts: Before I played here all I heard was how terrible the water "hazards" were, theyre not so bad. the 3 throws that you must cross water only require smart play. Move up the fairway with 1st shot and cross the water with 2nd. except 8 which is a straight tee off over the creek. I ran into a woman who lives by the creek when i was there, she told me that after the thaw she found 60-70 discs in her yard and plans on calling all the ones with #s on them to return them. So if you lost some w/ your # you just may see them again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Como Lake Park Lake

5+    8/24/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: TheRicker
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New, well cared for course with lots of risk-reward opportunities. Pretty open course, but don't throw too far off line because the brush can eat discs. 3 holes play over the creeks separating the islands adding to the excitement of this course. After the first 7 holes you will pass by your car in case you forgot something or want to grab a cold one. This course has a bit of variety, not too much woods but there are some obstacles which force accurate throws. This course is very well designed and should be considered for a visit any time passing through the Buffalo area.
Cons: Some holes are not very beginner friendly, but most holes are, just skip the water if you are unsure of your ability. The park can be a little crowded on a nice summer weekend so if you can play on a weekday you will be rewarded with smaller crowds.
Other Thoughts: You might want to avoid throwing your favorite disks across the creeks until you get the layout down. You might not be able to retrieve disks from the water. ?Where is the campground nearby?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Risk vs. Reward

8/26/2007   8/26/2007
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Memorable "make or break" shots over water. Each hole was enjoyable in it's own way and there weren't any that I felt were too short or too long.
Cons: Some long walks between some holes. Also, a good amount of non-disc golf foot traffic that you need to be wary of. Due to the water hazards, this course may not be too beginner friendly.
Other Thoughts: I decided to take a trip out to play Lancaster today and I'm glad I did. The front 9, while enjoyable, weren't particularly challenging. Most played on the short side and outside of a few errant putts, I made par on each hole without much effort.

The back 9 is where this course really shines. Almost each hole has a water hazard in play which will definitely keep even the most experienced players on their toes. A lot of risk vs. reward scenarios such as #14 which has you throwing a good 200ft right over a large pond. I watched 3 out of 4 guys sink their drives in the water and a local mentioned that her friend found "$70 worth of discs" when he waded in for his disc. Most holes don't have such a direct water hazard but if you find yourself going too far left or too far right on the back 9, expect to get wet.

Como is a great addition to the Buffalo course line-up and the abundance of water hazards really make it stand out from the other area courses.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 water hazards

8/14/2007   8/17/2007
Review By: gang1027
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very challenging if you are willing to take the risks
Cons: if u screw up theres a good chance youll lose a few discs
Other Thoughts: u may be wise to take a penalty stroke and play up from an easier spot I lost 2 discs my first time through other wise a very fun course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.