Lancaster, NY 
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #9 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 290ft.   3 / 340ft.   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    9/12/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: Safbo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 21.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best course in WNY for intermediate and beginer players. Course is laid out well uses natural terrain to the fullest. Good mix of technical and big air shots through out the course. Course can be played-fast if need to.
Cons: None really, just remember to bring floating disk and or a retriever cause sooner or later you will find the water. Heavy people pet traffic at times but most a friendly and allow you play through with no problem. Some of the tee makers missing but not a big deal. Only improvement would be concrete tees.
Other Thoughts: My favorite local course. And would invite anyone to play here, just a fun place to play. Again I can not over state the need for floating disc's or a retriever for the water shots or just be prepared to buy some new disc's. Again this course is just plain fun to play, and a change of pace from other courses in the area with more than one chance to ace.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 como park

5+    4/21/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: swil91
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: some nice length holes on back combined with a few throws over water make it interesting
Cons: the front 9 is pretty short and easy
Other Thoughts: the park itself needs some more maintenance, but overall it combines some challenging holes, you'll still need to use all the shots in your bag

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Park Life!

1    7/24/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: tistoude
Played: 176  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Como Lake Park is a happening place. The park itself is pretty big and offers a ton of stuff to do for the non disc golfer. There is Baseball, Bicycling, Concession, Fishing, Hiking Trails, Ice Skating, Lakes/Ponds, X-Country, Sledding, Softball, Tennis plus a good sized shelter near hole number one that provides some refreshment and bathrooms (they call it a Casino for some reason that I cannot fathom). On the hot summer afternoons there is usually an ice cream truck some where in the park too!

The land available to the disc golf course is awesome. It is not necessarily what most people would consider to be epic disc golf property but in my opinion it is very unique and that makes it good. The course mostly plays through flat and lightly wooded "park like" property with sporadically placed Large Hardwood trees as the main obstacles...but then the water comes into play. Over most of the back 10 (two loops: 1-7 and 8-18) the various channels/creeks and lake come into play on most of the holes. You only need to throw across them 3 times (8, 10 and 14) but can come into play with an errant throw on a few others (9, 11, 15, 16, 17 and 18). Of the water holes #14 is the highlight. This is a 307' hole with about 285' that is complete water carry over Como Lake, with the risk of a RHBH hyzering into the channel on the left. All the water really makes for a fun round. The overall design of the course is a nice balance of right, left and straight holes with almost all of the holes offering numerous different routes and lines. There is also a good mix of shorter technical holes and more wide open bombers.

I am not sure if it was by design or not but the course seems to follow a natural progression in quality as you progress. 1 and 2 are holes that loosen up your arm. 3-7 work on your line shaping and make sure you are up for some technical golf. 8 gently breaks you into the water holes, not too hard to clear but enough that you get a little bit nervous. 9 reminds you to throw it straight but kind of lulls you. 10 gives you some distance, shot placement and pucker factor all in moderate doses. 11-13 are gotta get your deuce holes if you got the arm for it. Then 14, huge pucker factor (see other thoughts). 15-17 is the cool down period where there is still some danger but really you are just executing what the previous holes have warmed you up for. 18 you need a good pull off the tee and the basket is really close to the water but at this point it's no big deal cause the rest of the course led you up to this point, so you slam your putt, chest bump your homey and call it a day.

There are three tees for each hole and they offer a good challenge for the appropriate users. Most of the longer tees add some distance to the hole but a lot of them also offer some slightly different angles and add to the challenge. The baskets were in good condition and each hole has a very nice tee sign that accurately describes the hole and distances.

The park in general and the course specifically were very well kept.
Cons: The tees are all natural. They were not in bad condition when I played here but all natural tees become a bit treacherous when wet.

Navigation issues. First off I had no problem navigating the course but I had a map. Without the map I am not sure how well it would have gone. The walk from 7 to 8 is a good 4-5 minute stroll that takes you back along #1's and #2's fairway right back to the start of the course. There is also a little disconnect between 11 and 12. You cross between 14 and 15 and cross the bridge then turn left and wander a bit until you find the tee. I don't think this requires a re-design or anything just some warning on the bulletin board and some clear navigational aides.

Holes 4, 5 and 6. These three holes feel very shoe horned into the course and use mandos to keep the holes from being to easy (4 and 5) or too dangerous (6 along a busy road). It appeared that there was a little bit of land available after hole # 3 so possibly the tees for holes 4 and 5 could be tweaked a bit to make them play a little better.

This park was busy! There were pedestrians everywhere when I played Como. We had to wait a handful of times for enthusiastic walkers to clear out. And a couple times for dogs (not on leashes). And a couple times for Bicyclists (this includes one time having to jump to the side very quickly as the fairly chubby girl on the bike yelled at us is a remarkably baritone voice "GET OUT OF THE WAY" and by out of the way she meant off the fairway). And once for a fisherman. And one dude with a kite....

The water is a Pro and a Con. All though it makes the round very interesting, other than on possibly number 8 if a disc hits the water I am pretty sure its gone forever. Some of creeks had water in them that was very slow moving and murky and the water in the lake looked deep.
Other Thoughts: Como Lake was fun course that offered a little more than I was expecting. In my mind I pictured a pretty, wide open, park course that would be a fast, easy play. Instead I got a pretty, somewhat open, if slightly strangely designed course, that offered plenty of challenge and made me think that I would like to come back and play it again.

The channels and lake really make this course. I am very happy that the Niagara Region Disc Golf Club was able to secure such a cool piece of the park to use for a course. It was definitely getting plenty of use from Disc Golfers and Non Discers alike

My two favorite holes on the course were #10 and #14

#10 is just a great hole. It requires some distance off the tee but you want to make sure you place it well also so that you have a clear shot at the gap over the creek. If your drive is not good then you will have to lay up to the creek and hope you park your approach. A very nice true par 4 in my opinion.

#14 is obviously the signature hole and with good reason as I stated above. I did notice that at 14's tee there seemed to be a common progression from the people I played with and the others I saw play, you look at the distance on the sign, check the wind (maybe a couple times), tell yourself it's really not that far, pick your disc, put that disc back and disc up a little (just to be safe), throw it, immediately panic that your go to _insert name here_ isn't going to make it, realize that you have plenty of distance, realize you are going a little left, start to panic again that your go to _insert name here_ is going to hyzer into the water on the left, disc lands safely, you wipe a way that bead of sweat from your forehead, your heart starts to slow back down, you realize after all that you have no putt at all since the pin is between two huge trees, begin the trudge to the bridge so that you can lay up and take your friggin three.

Not hugely challenging but a pretty fun course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 como lake

5+    7/30/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: mostly flat, lightly wooded, with large/small bodies of water in play on several holes.
- signs: nice signs for every hole. good graphics, accurate distance and pars.
- hole designs: tee and basket locations are excellent with little repetition of layout except for the course being flat in general. holes are short, long, left, right, open, lightly wooded, and the best are those involving water. first 6 holes are okay and the course only gets better from there with more risks/rewards and increase in difficulty/length.
- water in play: several holes have you throwing over the water of como lake. hole number 8 is the shortest, a nice anhyzer or sidearm shot only needing to clear a 60-80 foot wide stream. later, on hole 10, you have a par 5 558 foot hole where you can go for it on your second throw to cross a 100 foot portion of the stream or lay-up. the signature hole of the course is number 14, where you a 306 foot drive from the edge of the lake out to an island corner where the basket is 30 or so feet further inland wedged between the trunks of two trees (if you look on youtube, you can find someone getting an ace on this hole...sweet!). watch out on hole 18 where the basket is slightly hidden behind the crest of a small hill - only 5 feet behind the basket is nothing but the lake! definitely recommend a spotter to block/save an errant approach.
- difficulty: moderate. water is definitely the biggest challenge on this course and can be a big risk and adds a huge fun factor.
- player traffic: not bad at all. very comfortable pace without large groups stacking up.
Cons: - tees: natural tees only. can get slick.
- hole 6 is too close to the road, even though it has a required mando that forces you to stay right. a bad throw could be a real hazard here.
- pedestrian traffic: occasionally we had pedestrians walking in the fairway. not really much of an issue.
- flow: long walk from hole 7-8. but what are you going to do? not much of an issue in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: - play during warm weather and you won't mind hopping in the water. bring a swim suit, a floater, and you'll be fine and refreshed
- a favorite in the area. if only playing two courses on a trip in buffalo, we've often combined como with chestnut to experience two very different, very good courses

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course - Lots of Deep Water

2-4    8/12/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 27  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great overall variety built into a flat setting. Good use of brush and trees to create challenge with a relatively open landscape.

Some very intimidating shots required across and up against the water. This is the most intimidating collection of water hazards we've ever played. The water is almost always wide and deep, making it near impossible to retrieve discs. This is starting to sound little less like a positive, but it all makes the course uniquely tough and pressure-packed, especially for a short-thrower like me. I drive less than 300 at the best of times. My son and I played the whites, except 14 - when we wimped out with about a 170 foot lake crossing.

The first six holes, although short and simple for the most part, again have OK variety, and provide a good warmup to the tougher challenges to come.

Even though the water's intimidating, the red tees are very forgiving, and the fairways are wide enough to make it play OK for shorter, less reliable, throwers - except at #14. My daughter doesn't play much any more, and skipped 14, but had a great time otherwise on our family round.

Very well-maintained park setting. Fairways were well-cut. Almost no way to lose a disc except of course in the water.

Favorite holes:

3 - Dogleg left with a clear path through the stand of trees, with the need to avoid a creek that bends from right across the fairway. Decent layup choices right for those who can't cross the creek at its longest point, but playing safe adds a lot of length.

7 - Almost a U-turn dogleg right with a thick mass of brush and trees in the way of short-cutters.

8 - Fun initial throw over the water, with the basket well-protected by a blob of tangled brush.

10 - Second shot over the water. Open pin placement provides a good chance for long putts once you get close.

16 - Basket a bit hidden uphill on the left. Again, relatively open path, with enough trees and brush to force you to think where to throw.
Cons: No fixed tees. We played once after a rain, and the dirt areas of the tees were very tough to play. Second round was dryer, with a better chance for a flat runup. Very tough to find the red tees on a lot of holes.

Two very questionable basket placements. #14 basket is squeezed between two very thick trunks front and back. My son flew his drive into the front trunk, the disc dropped almost straight down, and he ended up having to tomahawk his 10-foot birdie putt. The basket at #18 is about five feet in front of a near-sheer drop into the water. Somebody obviously thought this makes for a great challenge. But the risk-reward of a lost disc isn't worth the degree of difficulty. I agree with others who recommend setting a couple people behind the 18th basket to stop long throws and rollouts. Both holes play like lapses into goofy golf territory.

Some long walks and confusing routings, especially 7 to 8, and 11 to 12. No basket to tee signs that we could see, and some of the tee signs were missing. A few simple directional signs would be very helpful. The DG site course map was a huge benefit to us. We also met a few great local regular players who pointed us in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: The relatively open layout makes it possible to rely on a favorite shot, hyzer or anhyzer - forehand or background, almost all the time.

Wind can make a huge difference. First round in the afternoon was very windy. Gusts more than 20mph. I lost one disc - the wind flipped my Wraith vertical and it nose-dived into the water on 14. Poor shot selection and execution, but still, the wind was a serious slap. 2nd round we played on a calm morning - huge difference. I don't know what the weather tendencies are in this area - it's well worth finding out.

Como Lake seems like a very nice park - my wife and youngest daughter had a fun time hiking and hanging out while we played our 2nd round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not very beginner friendly

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Codisimus
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park. Easy Pars, multiple tees, Large variety of holes.
Cons: Easy to lose discs (mainly in water), at least one hole is along a road.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course but proly not the best place for a beginner. I went with 6 other people (who each played doubles) who were "beginnerish". There are 3 times when you must throw over water (holes 8, 10, and 14). I throw at 8 and 10 and another throw at 10. Even with my Wahoo I skipped throwing 14 bc of strong winds. There are other times when we had to make a wall of people to keep overthrown shots from falling down into the water (hole 18). Overall This is a pretty good course but maybe wait until you are confident to throw around water

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Stetz1010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice course - open fairways, good basket placement.
Cons: Course flow is a bit confusing for first timers - some holes require you to double back, plus the lack of signs on some make it tough to navigate. Also, a lot of pedestrians at the park may make driving on some holes more of a waiting game than anything.
Other Thoughts: I'll def. play Como again when I'm in the area, but I wouldn't play it over Chestnut or Black Diamond if I had to choose one of the three.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/3/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 75  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course overall has a really enjoyable layout. everything from no nonsense par 3 holes to nerve-racking shots over water where disc placement is key.

accurate signs on every hole, distances, par, and obstacles included.

multiple tees on every hole, good way to mix up your round.

very scenic course, water play throughout, makes for a challenging round.
Cons: difficult to find. address on this site will take you to a mailbox. best to go with someone who has played the course before to get there.

no real markings to tell you where the course starts. perhaps a kiosk should be put in place to tell you about the course and to direct you to the first hole.

front 9 is pretty boring compared to the back 9. front 9 is pretty straight forward, and the theres a lot more risk/reward on the back.

pretty much flat. not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: enjoyable course to play. alot of interesting holes to play were placement is key.

if you're playing the course par, its fairly easy to shoot.

good course to play if you have some experience around water, if not, bring a disc that floats.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/19/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Keegan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Liked the layout and basket placement, very fun course to play. Scenic and challenging at times
Cons: Long course and only real problem with the course is the amout of discs you can lose on the course. Bring alot of discs and use your less favorites on hole 8, hole 10 and hole 14!
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend this course to anyone

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 4 star near Buffalo...

1    3/22/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An excellent array of holes. The most water hazards (And I do mean HAZARDS!) of any course I've played (And that's from Florida to NY, to Kentucky, to Iowa, and all points in between!). Love the hole where you throw over the mouth of the lake to a basket sandwiched between two giant trees! Really nice scenery with the multiple waterfalls and the miniature lighthouse.
Cons: Not much roughage to make you honest; however it is made up for by the meandering creek/river. A power line will force you to stay low on a couple of holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.