Lancaster, NY 
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #15 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 320ft.   3 / 375ft.   4 / 375ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Como Lake

5+    12/5/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: ghova
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed course. Good baskets. 3 sets of tees, and good course signs. They are oriented at the blues so if you are playing the whites you sometimes have to walk out of your way to get information for the set of tees you are using. Good bulletin board for information of the local leagues and courses at hole 1. This course tests your game both physically and mentally. Lots of water that will make you think twice about taking shots that would normally be pretty routine. It is in a pretty busy and beautiful park and uses the land well. This course has some good distance holes and the water gives a new meaning to risk/reward. Overall it is a fun course to play and is highly recommended if you are in the Buffalo area.
Cons: This course does have a few cons that prevent it from getting a higher rating. There are some long walks between holes, some are due to having to walk over bridges to get to the next area but the walk between 7 and 8 is a troop, it does take you to the parking lot so you can stop at your car. This does not take away from the navigatibility though as the course is pretty easy to follow. The natural tee pads can get a bit slippery after it rains, but they are nice and flat so you can always find a good spot to tee from. There is also not much elevation change throughout the course so that is a part of your game that goes pretty much untested. Finally it is not uncommon to lose a disc or two here, the water is deep and unless you are prepared to go swimming your disc is gone. The local people are decent at getting discs back to you though and I have had about three returned to me after they had found the drink.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, has a good atmosphere, and you will leave in a good mood if you managed not to lose a disc. Sometimes there is some non-dg traffic so some caution must be used. This is only really a problem during peak summer but its something to watch for. I would not recommend this course for taking beginners to as they will probably not be able to throw the distance necessary to clear the water and the discs they lose will probably be yours. But go check it out if. If you are on your game you can score very well here, but this course can punish the errant throw.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    8/14/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout, good variety. The water holes make it worth the trip, so bust out your old/DX discs and get out to this course. Nice bridges allow for easy navigation around the lake/creek. Practice basket right near the parking.
Cons: Get ready to lose a disc or two. Three holes play directly over water, and your disc is GONE if you throw into the creek or lake. Crowds (fishing) can prevent a shot at the best hole (14) which many might not want to play anyway since it's the highest chance of losing a disc (throw straight over the mouth of the creek/lake). There's 2 or three spots where you have take LONG walks to the next hole, or to the bridge to get over the water.
Other Thoughts: Terrain is pretty flat, can hold water during spring/rainy months. Make sure you're shooting at the right basket. First time players might want to send a "spotter" to the other side of the water, because you can lose sight of your disc in some areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/15/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Bglo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice open course where you can really see your true power. The water might seem a little much for some people but it makes the course. The signature hole 14 is truly a risk/ reward hole.
Cons: -Water is really merky so if you sink a disc its pretty much gone
-Thats really the only con
Other Thoughts: Great course to play at, it was my first course and i learned to play at this course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Be Prepared....

2-4    4/20/2008   7/20/2009
Review By: RocCityDiscer
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.4 Years
Pros: Nice park setting with some cool views. Good signs to help you navigate. Course has never been overly crowded when I played there. Practice basket near parking lot. Multiple tees for every skill level at every hole.
Cons: Lots of water. Deep drainage ditches as well as a huge pond will swallow your disc on an errant shot and come into play on a bunch of holes. Too deep to get back with out going swimming.
Other Thoughts: A challenging course for sure, with lots of fun shots, and plenty of places you have to be able to throw far, but can be a bit discouraging if you keep finding the water. I have lost one each round here.

  The Lighthouse

2-4    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: cmheim
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: The course is set up through nice scenery. There are some nice par 4 to make up some ground.
Cons: This park has alot of very difficult water shots. I have seen several discs lost in each of the water holes. Some of the par 3s shold be 4s and there are some 4s that could stand to be 3s.
Other Thoughts: This is a course to def have a disc that will float for better retrieval as the water spots are all very deep and too murky to see the resting spot on the bottom.

 A nice change of pace

1    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: Pyro419
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice variety of holes, distances, mandos and hazards. No repetitive felling like some area courses. I really like the water obstacles they really throw in some diversity. Great signage and course design. really nice park.
Cons: I didnt like the walk from 7-8 it was very long and your walking up the hole1 fairway toward the tee off! watch your dome! Alot of non disc golf traffic, but hey its a park.
Other Thoughts: Before I played here all I heard was how terrible the water "hazards" were, theyre not so bad. the 3 throws that you must cross water only require smart play. Move up the fairway with 1st shot and cross the water with 2nd. except 8 which is a straight tee off over the creek. I ran into a woman who lives by the creek when i was there, she told me that after the thaw she found 60-70 discs in her yard and plans on calling all the ones with #s on them to return them. So if you lost some w/ your # you just may see them again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/24/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: chuckgalbo
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very tough course. Makes you really use all three assets of your game. Lots of birdies out there but you have to work for them. Beautiful park with lots of bathrooms.
Cons: Hole 14 has had a lot of discs thrown in it in the year or so the course has been in. People are always walking there dogs in the park and they will walk right in front of you. SO BE CAREFUL
Other Thoughts: Hole 10 is one of the hardest holes that i have ever played.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Como Lake Park Lake

5+    8/24/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: TheRicker
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New, well cared for course with lots of risk-reward opportunities. Pretty open course, but don't throw too far off line because the brush can eat discs. 3 holes play over the creeks separating the islands adding to the excitement of this course. After the first 7 holes you will pass by your car in case you forgot something or want to grab a cold one. This course has a bit of variety, not too much woods but there are some obstacles which force accurate throws. This course is very well designed and should be considered for a visit any time passing through the Buffalo area.
Cons: Some holes are not very beginner friendly, but most holes are, just skip the water if you are unsure of your ability. The park can be a little crowded on a nice summer weekend so if you can play on a weekday you will be rewarded with smaller crowds.
Other Thoughts: You might want to avoid throwing your favorite disks across the creeks until you get the layout down. You might not be able to retrieve disks from the water. ?Where is the campground nearby?

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Change of Mind

5+    5/28/2009   8/25/2008
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2009
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of you might remember this post from before and i would like to rebuttle my own words so here it goes this cousre is difficult for beginers with the amont of water so my sugestion is to invest in some floating discs before you go or be very sure of your drives. That being said the lay out for this cousre is extreemly well do you get to shoot into nice almost new chain star baskets which they are only listed as discraft on this sight they are acutualy chain stars. the signs on the cousre are very well marked you only have to walk back on two holes 8 and i think 18. This course has a grown on me since my skills have grown into being able to give this cousre a run for its money the pars are not set to high that if you shoot from the mens tees that if your above a beginer that you can make par for the course.

*Original Pros*This course is very beautiful filled with some difficult holes and some tricky skillful shots
Cons: The new set of cons are still going to be there is a lot of water on this course but if you have the confidence to make thery are makeable shots. On 16 my sugestion when your trying to shoot over the mouth of the creek is to eaither star from or shoot to the womens tees that part is a much more achiveable shot and it is a little less intimidating
*orginal Cons* They recently changed one of the holes so now you have to shoot over the river that runs through it one too many time this made this course way too hard for beginers and mnost intermediates i could suggest if you are not confident shooting over water to get yourself a floating disk before you play this course!!! Or too just pass this one by.
Other Thoughts: My orginal score for this course was a 1.5 passable on aug 20th 2008 to which i lost a disc in the river i think that this review speeks much more for this course happy playing

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites now that i'm better

5+    6/7/2009   8/1/2008
Review By: ScottMunFrigginro
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
This review was updated on 6/19/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "Very well kept course with an interesting layout. Course requires many different shots. Great sign's and mando's well labeled." 8/08

I stand by my views of very well kept and interestingly layed out. Par's are very doable if you keep your shots in the fairway. Most fairways are quite wide, so if you lose a disc in vegetation you probably deserve it. :-P
Cons: "I'm new to the sport, and i feel that a number of the over water shots unfairly punish a bad shot. I've lost 4 disc's there so far out of the 4 times i've been there (only once did i make it out even) I will go there to play the front nine when i make the trip to go out to chestnut ridge, but it's no longer fun after you've lost one (maybe 2) disc's."

well this course is very rough on non-consistent players, so BEGINNERS BEWARE! I've played this course at least 3 times this year, and so far (knock on wood) i have yet to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: Probably my favorite. This course is a great course to hit on a bright sunny day. This course isn't near as punishing as i remember it being last year, but i've had some REAAAALLLLY close calls. I even managed to par this course from the blue tee's this year! Which may not seem much, but it was quite an accomplishment for me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.