Lancaster, NY 
Como Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 230ft.   3 / 320ft.   3 / 440ft.   4 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Pro Tee



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
como lake

5+    7/30/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: jayman33
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - description: mostly flat, lightly wooded, with large/small bodies of water in play on several holes.
- signs: nice signs for every hole. good graphics, accurate distance and pars.
- hole designs: tee and basket locations are excellent with little repetition of layout except for the course being flat in general. holes are short, long, left, right, open, lightly wooded, and the best are those involving water. first 6 holes are okay and the course only gets better from there with more risks/rewards and increase in difficulty/length.
- water in play: several holes have you throwing over the water of como lake. hole number 8 is the shortest, a nice anhyzer or sidearm shot only needing to clear a 60-80 foot wide stream. later, on hole 10, you have a par 5 558 foot hole where you can go for it on your second throw to cross a 100 foot portion of the stream or lay-up. the signature hole of the course is number 14, where you a 306 foot drive from the edge of the lake out to an island corner where the basket is 30 or so feet further inland wedged between the trunks of two trees (if you look on youtube, you can find someone getting an ace on this hole...sweet!). watch out on hole 18 where the basket is slightly hidden behind the crest of a small hill - only 5 feet behind the basket is nothing but the lake! definitely recommend a spotter to block/save an errant approach.
- difficulty: moderate. water is definitely the biggest challenge on this course and can be a big risk and adds a huge fun factor.
- player traffic: not bad at all. very comfortable pace without large groups stacking up.
Cons: - tees: natural tees only. can get slick.
- hole 6 is too close to the road, even though it has a required mando that forces you to stay right. a bad throw could be a real hazard here.
- pedestrian traffic: occasionally we had pedestrians walking in the fairway. not really much of an issue.
- flow: long walk from hole 7-8. but what are you going to do? not much of an issue in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: - play during warm weather and you won't mind hopping in the water. bring a swim suit, a floater, and you'll be fine and refreshed
- a favorite in the area. if only playing two courses on a trip in buffalo, we've often combined como with chestnut to experience two very different, very good courses

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course - Lots of Deep Water

2-4    8/12/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: crandellfamily
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great overall variety built into a flat setting. Good use of brush and trees to create challenge with a relatively open landscape.

Some very intimidating shots required across and up against the water. This is the most intimidating collection of water hazards we've ever played. The water is almost always wide and deep, making it near impossible to retrieve discs. This is starting to sound little less like a positive, but it all makes the course uniquely tough and pressure-packed, especially for a short-thrower like me. I drive less than 300 at the best of times. My son and I played the whites, except 14 - when we wimped out with about a 170 foot lake crossing.

The first six holes, although short and simple for the most part, again have OK variety, and provide a good warmup to the tougher challenges to come.

Even though the water's intimidating, the red tees are very forgiving, and the fairways are wide enough to make it play OK for shorter, less reliable, throwers - except at #14. My daughter doesn't play much any more, and skipped 14, but had a great time otherwise on our family round.

Very well-maintained park setting. Fairways were well-cut. Almost no way to lose a disc except of course in the water.

Favorite holes:

3 - Dogleg left with a clear path through the stand of trees, with the need to avoid a creek that bends from right across the fairway. Decent layup choices right for those who can't cross the creek at its longest point, but playing safe adds a lot of length.

7 - Almost a U-turn dogleg right with a thick mass of brush and trees in the way of short-cutters.

8 - Fun initial throw over the water, with the basket well-protected by a blob of tangled brush.

10 - Second shot over the water. Open pin placement provides a good chance for long putts once you get close.

16 - Basket a bit hidden uphill on the left. Again, relatively open path, with enough trees and brush to force you to think where to throw.
Cons: No fixed tees. We played once after a rain, and the dirt areas of the tees were very tough to play. Second round was dryer, with a better chance for a flat runup. Very tough to find the red tees on a lot of holes.

Two very questionable basket placements. #14 basket is squeezed between two very thick trunks front and back. My son flew his drive into the front trunk, the disc dropped almost straight down, and he ended up having to tomahawk his 10-foot birdie putt. The basket at #18 is about five feet in front of a near-sheer drop into the water. Somebody obviously thought this makes for a great challenge. But the risk-reward of a lost disc isn't worth the degree of difficulty. I agree with others who recommend setting a couple people behind the 18th basket to stop long throws and rollouts. Both holes play like lapses into goofy golf territory.

Some long walks and confusing routings, especially 7 to 8, and 11 to 12. No basket to tee signs that we could see, and some of the tee signs were missing. A few simple directional signs would be very helpful. The DG site course map was a huge benefit to us. We also met a few great local regular players who pointed us in the right direction.
Other Thoughts: The relatively open layout makes it possible to rely on a favorite shot, hyzer or anhyzer - forehand or background, almost all the time.

Wind can make a huge difference. First round in the afternoon was very windy. Gusts more than 20mph. I lost one disc - the wind flipped my Wraith vertical and it nose-dived into the water on 14. Poor shot selection and execution, but still, the wind was a serious slap. 2nd round we played on a calm morning - huge difference. I don't know what the weather tendencies are in this area - it's well worth finding out.

Como Lake seems like a very nice park - my wife and youngest daughter had a fun time hiking and hanging out while we played our 2nd round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not very beginner friendly

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: Codisimus
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice park. Easy Pars, multiple tees, Large variety of holes.
Cons: Easy to lose discs (mainly in water), at least one hole is along a road.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course but proly not the best place for a beginner. I went with 6 other people (who each played doubles) who were "beginnerish". There are 3 times when you must throw over water (holes 8, 10, and 14). I throw at 8 and 10 and another throw at 10. Even with my Wahoo I skipped throwing 14 bc of strong winds. There are other times when we had to make a wall of people to keep overthrown shots from falling down into the water (hole 18). Overall This is a pretty good course but maybe wait until you are confident to throw around water

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/6/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Stetz1010
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice course - open fairways, good basket placement.
Cons: Course flow is a bit confusing for first timers - some holes require you to double back, plus the lack of signs on some make it tough to navigate. Also, a lot of pedestrians at the park may make driving on some holes more of a waiting game than anything.
Other Thoughts: I'll def. play Como again when I'm in the area, but I wouldn't play it over Chestnut or Black Diamond if I had to choose one of the three.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    7/3/2010   7/14/2010
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 70  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: course overall has a really enjoyable layout. everything from no nonsense par 3 holes to nerve-racking shots over water where disc placement is key.

accurate signs on every hole, distances, par, and obstacles included.

multiple tees on every hole, good way to mix up your round.

very scenic course, water play throughout, makes for a challenging round.
Cons: difficult to find. address on this site will take you to a mailbox. best to go with someone who has played the course before to get there.

no real markings to tell you where the course starts. perhaps a kiosk should be put in place to tell you about the course and to direct you to the first hole.

front 9 is pretty boring compared to the back 9. front 9 is pretty straight forward, and the theres a lot more risk/reward on the back.

pretty much flat. not much elevation change.
Other Thoughts: enjoyable course to play. alot of interesting holes to play were placement is key.

if you're playing the course par, its fairly easy to shoot.

good course to play if you have some experience around water, if not, bring a disc that floats.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/19/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Keegan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Liked the layout and basket placement, very fun course to play. Scenic and challenging at times
Cons: Long course and only real problem with the course is the amout of discs you can lose on the course. Bring alot of discs and use your less favorites on hole 8, hole 10 and hole 14!
Other Thoughts: I'd recommend this course to anyone

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 4 star near Buffalo...

1    3/22/2010   3/22/2010
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An excellent array of holes. The most water hazards (And I do mean HAZARDS!) of any course I've played (And that's from Florida to NY, to Kentucky, to Iowa, and all points in between!). Love the hole where you throw over the mouth of the lake to a basket sandwiched between two giant trees! Really nice scenery with the multiple waterfalls and the miniature lighthouse.
Cons: Not much roughage to make you honest; however it is made up for by the meandering creek/river. A power line will force you to stay low on a couple of holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Como Lake

5+    12/5/2009   12/11/2009
Review By: ghova
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well designed course. Good baskets. 3 sets of tees, and good course signs. They are oriented at the blues so if you are playing the whites you sometimes have to walk out of your way to get information for the set of tees you are using. Good bulletin board for information of the local leagues and courses at hole 1. This course tests your game both physically and mentally. Lots of water that will make you think twice about taking shots that would normally be pretty routine. It is in a pretty busy and beautiful park and uses the land well. This course has some good distance holes and the water gives a new meaning to risk/reward. Overall it is a fun course to play and is highly recommended if you are in the Buffalo area.
Cons: This course does have a few cons that prevent it from getting a higher rating. There are some long walks between holes, some are due to having to walk over bridges to get to the next area but the walk between 7 and 8 is a troop, it does take you to the parking lot so you can stop at your car. This does not take away from the navigatibility though as the course is pretty easy to follow. The natural tee pads can get a bit slippery after it rains, but they are nice and flat so you can always find a good spot to tee from. There is also not much elevation change throughout the course so that is a part of your game that goes pretty much untested. Finally it is not uncommon to lose a disc or two here, the water is deep and unless you are prepared to go swimming your disc is gone. The local people are decent at getting discs back to you though and I have had about three returned to me after they had found the drink.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun to play, has a good atmosphere, and you will leave in a good mood if you managed not to lose a disc. Sometimes there is some non-dg traffic so some caution must be used. This is only really a problem during peak summer but its something to watch for. I would not recommend this course for taking beginners to as they will probably not be able to throw the distance necessary to clear the water and the discs they lose will probably be yours. But go check it out if. If you are on your game you can score very well here, but this course can punish the errant throw.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite course

5+    8/14/2009   9/4/2009
Review By: OzzyMac
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout, good variety. The water holes make it worth the trip, so bust out your old/DX discs and get out to this course. Nice bridges allow for easy navigation around the lake/creek. Practice basket right near the parking.
Cons: Get ready to lose a disc or two. Three holes play directly over water, and your disc is GONE if you throw into the creek or lake. Crowds (fishing) can prevent a shot at the best hole (14) which many might not want to play anyway since it's the highest chance of losing a disc (throw straight over the mouth of the creek/lake). There's 2 or three spots where you have take LONG walks to the next hole, or to the bridge to get over the water.
Other Thoughts: Terrain is pretty flat, can hold water during spring/rainy months. Make sure you're shooting at the right basket. First time players might want to send a "spotter" to the other side of the water, because you can lose sight of your disc in some areas.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Como

5+    8/15/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Bglo
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice open course where you can really see your true power. The water might seem a little much for some people but it makes the course. The signature hole 14 is truly a risk/ reward hole.
Cons: -Water is really merky so if you sink a disc its pretty much gone
-Thats really the only con
Other Thoughts: Great course to play at, it was my first course and i learned to play at this course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.